London cabin rental - View of lake from main deck
View of lake from main deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

London Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

This 9 year old custom built log cabin offers all modern conveniences while still keeping the Kentucky rustic charm. Located just 60 miles south of Lexington on Kentucky's best kept secret, Wood Creek Lake. Sit back, relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility of it all. Seclusion, private dock on the property and plenty of space to stretch. Pileated Wood Peckers, flying squirrels, otters, ducks, 'BOB' the squirrel and on rare occasions a bald eagle are some of the wildlife to enjoy.

The property is located on a penisula that has a one mile circular road and no real traffic. Bring your bike, take a walk or have unlimited use of a golf cart included in your rental.

The loft overlooking the main cabin interior area features 2 single beds and is a great spot for kids. The main level has a master bedroom with queen size bed, open kitchen-living area, a large full size bath and walk around deck. The lower level features a walkout basement, bedroom with a full sized bed, open familyroom, oversized hide-a-bed, utility room with full size washer and dryer and porch. The cabin, pontoon (optional) and canoe (optional) come with all amenities. The only thing you need to bring are your personal items.

Fishing is the main sport here including largemouth bass (holds the state record), crappie, smallmouth bass, bluegill, trout, and catfish. Swimming is allowed with the water bath temperature in the summer (that's when the catfish, at night, bite the best). Water skiing and jet skiing are just 25 miles away.

For a map of the lake go to the URL below. The color picture shows about the northern half of the lake. Scroll down to 2nd map, we are where the 'B' is in boat Ramp. If I do not respond to an e-mail please call me. I have my I phone with me at all times.

Keywords: Custom Log Cabin, Lakefront, Private, Golf Cart

More Details
Hide Details

I have recently retired and enjoy my time at the cabin and traveling.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

We have lived in a number of states and I feel there is tremendous value on Wood Creek Lake. It's easy to get to, quiet, relaxing, great fishing, clean water and no water sports (which are just 25 miles away at Laurel Lake if you would like to take a day and do that).

Centrally located on the lake. Go north one day, south the next and explore the whole lake. If you have your own boat, you can launch at one of my neighbors private ramps. Peace and quiet is what we offer the most, I quarantee in the summer you will not see another house. We have full time neighbors around us (each have 200 private feet as well) that we rarely see but are always there to help if need be. We are also on a very private road for walking or biking (it's 1 mile around the peninsula). Golf cart useage included in rental.

14 Reviews of Property 217966 in London, Kentucky

Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
5

Family of 4 get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We wanted a quiet place to go and get away, and this was PERFECT! Our boys loved swimming off the dock, we used the boat and grilled out every day! Fantastic 5 day vacation!!! Thank you!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Meghan,
We strive to see that everyone has the same experience as your family did. Isn't that what a vacation is all about? Chuck
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Cincinnati
5

Peaceful and relaxing but also lots of fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We immediately booked this cabin after my sister and her family had a wonderful time there. If you love to fish this is the perfect place for it! My husband and boys loved it! We had all of our groceries for the week and only left the cabin one night to rent a movie and get an ice cream. The cabin was clean and spacious and the owner made everything easy. It was a low maintenance vacation but we all loved it. Didn't miss the TV one bit! One thing- although it's a nice gesture for previous renters to leave their leftover condiments, coffee, etc. for the next person, I wish they wouldn't. How do I know that a child didn't lick on the ketchup bottle or that somebody didn't sneeze in the sugar? I had to clean out the fridge before we could use it. Certainly just a suggestion and not at all a "damper" on our vacation. Deposit was returned promptly as promised.
Great family vacation! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kristin, Glad you and your family had a fun time. We have always felt it was nice having the extra condiments in case you ran out. I think we will still continue to do so and if it doesn't work for a party they can just toss them. Chuck
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Cincinnati
5

THE TRUEST SENSE OF 'A CABIN IN THE WOODS' EXPERIENCE!

THE TRUEST SENSE OF 'A CABIN IN THE WOODS' EXPERIENCE!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I decided we needed to get away for a few days and spend some quality time together. We wanted to be in a cabin, in the woods, with incredible views of a lake. Somehow, someway, call it luck, we found the most perfect place. If you are looking for the truest sense of a cabin in the woods and the feel of being away from it all, this place is it. Even though you are not even 20 minutes from everything, we felt like we were all alone deep in the woods. I personally loved the views from the porch. The quiet serenity that surrounded me was just what the doctor ordered. I just can't get over how perfect the setting was. Being able to access the lake so quickly was also nice. One more thing that I definitely cannot leave out are the nighttimes at the cabin. You just get the feeling you are so faraway from everything that it just brings you and your family closer together. I highly recommend this place to every family looking for quality time spent together and it is all due to this wonderful cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Lexington, KY
5

Incredible weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What an incredible cabin on a beautiful lake! This cabin is located about an hour southeast of Lexington, making it an easy drive. This is a fantastic place to unwind and leave the city behind.

The cabin has an open floor plan, but with the great back deck, you won't want to be inside. But when you are, the bed is super comfy with great pillows. We cooked on the gas grill, drove the golf cart around the peninsula, and took to the lake via canoe. The water is as smooth as glass with many great spots to stop and swim, Flat Rock, being on of them which is not far from the cabin's private dock.

I truly love this lake cabin so much so, if it were on the market, it would be mine!

Thanks Chuck for the prompt reservation response and for sharing your awesome home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Simply Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay was perfect - we enjoyed the beautiful, spacious cabin overlooking the lake - plenty of room for our 4 boys to sleep. We enjoyed cooking out on the deck and the beautiful view over the lake. We spent hours upon hours at the lake - diving off the dock, swimming in the wonderfully warm water, fishing from the dock and canoe. We rented the pontoon boat and spent a day swimming, fishing and exploring the beautiful lake.
Chuck was so helpful before we came and while we were there - he called to make sure everything was good and was available by phone to answer a couple of questions while we were there.
Our time couldn't have been better!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Alexandria, Ky.
5

Very nice cabin in a tranquil setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We felt like kids in a treehouse in this cabin-the view to the lake is awesome! I spent the mornings sitting on the deck, wrapped in a light blanket, sipping hot chocolate while watching the morning fog evaporating off the lake. We didn't realize the cabin had two levels - it is very spacious and comfortable. In addition, we found it to be well-stocked and clean. There was plenty of wildlife to enjoy...we even watched a pair of otters swimming and playing by the dock. The setting is very serene, the lake is quiet (especially on weekdays), and the location is convenient. The owner is very accomodating. I would recommend this cabin to anyone wanting to escape for some real rest and relaxation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Ft. Mitchell KY
5

Relaxing Setting on a Quiet Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family thoroughly enjoyed the Cabin and accommodations. Our two small boys enjoyed the loft and treasures to be found there. The steps were quite a workout, but we managed! The fish were biting and we enjoyed the mostly quiet lake during our stay, there was hardly any boat traffic. Mr. Simonis was very accommodating and helpful from the onset of booking to the deposit return. We would definitely come back to stay at the cabin.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Mason City, IA
5

What a gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We recently stayed at this property and found it to be outstanding in every respect. A friend had described it as "relaxing in a hillbilly sort of way" which made me think it might be more rustic than I'd like. In fact, it is a new, spacious, clean, and comfortable cabin with all the necessary conveniences. The owner is very accommodating and helpful. The view of the lake is magnificent and we ate all our meals on the porch just to enjoy the view. I was surprised that I didn't get one mosquito bite and I'm normally a mosquito magnet. The loop around the area is perfect for a morning run or walk. I'd recommend renting the pontoon boat to enjoy the many inlets around the lake. Also, watch out for the swimming rabbits!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
Pataskala Ohio
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We would recommend this property to anyone who wants to relax and get away. We had a great time and really enjoyed the lake. The cabin was nice and spacious. We sat on the upper deck and watched the wildlife. We took peanuts for "Bob" the squirrel. The photos do not give justice. We brought our boat and fished the lake. We would love to come back with the family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wood Creek Lake, London Kentucky. Home of the Record Large Mouth Bass
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217966vbi
(614) 572-7994 (Ohio, USA)
London Kentucky
North Ridgeville, Ohio
5

Lake Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
The cabin and lake were beautiful. We had a wonderful time on our 39th anniversay. The fish by the dock were really hungry and it was a blast catching and releasing them. The porch swings were a very nice touch at the end of the day. Recommend taking a trip to Cumberland National Park. The sites are fantastic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1