Puerto Plata villa rental - Playamor's Pool and Deck
Playamor's Pool and Deck
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Puerto Plata Villa Rental Photos and Description
5BR Oceanside Vacation Rental Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

This luxury oceanside villa features a panoramic view, a private pool, and a housekeeper/cook. It has five bedrooms and eight baths; and it comfortably sleeps up to 16 persons.

Let our spacious new luxury Villa Playamor pamper you in paradise. Our 6,200 square-foot villa is perched on a gentle hillside overlooking the beautiful mile-long Cofresi beach, one of the finest beaches on the Dominican Republic's north shore. Playamor is only a fifteen-minute walk from the spectacular new Ocean World marine eco-park.

Villa Playamor is designed for couples, small groups, or large family reunions. Gather with friends and family on the large terraces overlooking the beach and mountains. Enjoy gorgeous sunrises and sunsets, and the constant cooling trade winds. Or escape to the privacy of your air-conditioned bedroom and private balcony.

Playamor can sleep ten adults in private bedrooms with private baths.

The villa also has the capacity to sleep another six guests on convertible beds in other rooms.

Couples can expect an intimate experience with the upper private terrace being just right for romantic dinners and cuddling in the moonlight. The discrete staff will afford you all the privacy you desire. The private walled pool is perfect for a midnight skinny dip.

Small groups and large families will appreciate the two large family rooms, and the porches and terraces. Our dining table normally seats 12; and the porches can be set up for informal dining. But, if your family is like ours -- and you would like a little privacy from time to time, you will also appreciate the personal space and quiet time afforded by your large bedroom, private bathroom and balcony.

Relax on the porches; catch rays poolside; play and swim at the beach; or participate in one of the many North Shore tours and attractions that can be arranged for you by our American manager.

When you're ready, our bilingual housekeeper will serve you her fresh pina coladas and tasty snacks poolside or on the porch. Then she will pamper your palates with a dinner that you can choose from her extensive culinary repertoire.

If you decide to eat out, there are a number of excellent restaurants within a short walk or ride from the villa.

Your kids will love the beach and the pool. And when it's time to come in out of the sun, they'll enjoy the ping-pong table, video games, and DVDs that we have provided.

For our handicapped guests, Playamor was designed with your special needs in mind. The entire main floor and the pool area are wheelchair accessible. Your private bath is designed to allow wheelchair access as well. If you need special assistance, our staff can arrange to have someone available as needed. And should you need medical care, there is a 24-hour medical clinic only a few hundred yards from the front door and we have an American trained doctor on call for visits to the villa.

Playamor shares beautiful Cofresi Beach with two world-class resorts and the new marine eco-park, Ocean World. The coral sand is cool on the feet and soft to the touch. There is ample shade provided by swaying palms and lush sea grapes for those who have had enough sun but still want to enjoy the atmosphere. On one end of the mile-long beach there are rocks and coral that invite snorkelers. There are usually breakers for body surfing in some areas; but the rest is just right for wading. There are no rip tides, no dangerous undertows, and no jelly fish at Cofresi. The only sharks that you'll see are in the shark habitat at Ocean World.

Quaint Dominican souvenir kiosks are set along the beach area; but you will not be hassled by hawkers on the beach itself. That is not allowed. Beach chairs and water toys are available at stands up and down the beach.

For exciting nightlife, the casinos and Caribbean discos in Puerto Plata provide an electric atmosphere.

More Details
Hide Details

Norman Spencer is a Pediatrician and Harletta is a nurse. They are proud parents and grandparents and their family thinks Playamor and the Cofresi area are the greatest place in the world. Norm and Harletta make their permanent home outside Nashville, Tennessee.

The Spencers purchased this villa in 1995

We found the Dominican Republic by a happy accident and fell in love with the wonderful people. They are always friendly and helpful. Playamor sits above the beach area so that we can take advantage of the cooling trade winds and lovely views.

25 Reviews of Property 217930 in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Knoxville, TN
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2007
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
I stayed at Villa Playamor for a week for Spring break and loved it so much I came back for a return visit this past summer. My experience met and exceeded every expectation. The staff was wonderful and took care of our every want and need, the location was gorgeous, and the food was superb. There were plenty of activities within easy walking distance, e.g. the beach, OceanWorld, a casino, several restaurants/bars. Also there was a wide variety of excursions in which they would pick you up and take you on a Jeep safari, snorkeling scuba diving, shopping, you name it. I would highly recommend Villa Playamor or Simply Paradise to anyone planning a trip to the Caribbean.
Helpful votes: 8/11
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Amazing Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
If you are looking for the vacation property of a lifetime Villa Playamor is the property for you. The pictures do not do this place justice either do 5 stars. The house is impeccably maintained and the views are amazing. The staff was cordial, professional and efficient. The first evening our group of 12 pooled $200 per person for food, beverages, gratuities which more than covered the week. Please note this group is big eaters. The excursions that were set up were extremely affordable in the $50 price range. I really suggest the tour which includes the waterfalls and countryside tour you really get a feel for the surrounding areas. The Cattamaran Tour is another great value and lunch is included. The pool at the villa was warm and inviting. The patios provided a great setting for this group of friends can relax and unwind. The villa is stocked with many dvds, books and games. Our group really enjoyed an evening playing Taboo. The beach is a 5 minute walk and the casino is less than 10. Speaking of the casino stick to blackjack as these slots are not loose. I would definitely suggest a day trip to Caberete Beach which was absolutely beatiful. Overall, Villa Playamor was the highlight of trip and for one cannot wait to return again. This is the perfect place for family reunions, group trips, a destination wedding or a business retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Terrific. We are glad you had such a wonderful time. We will pass the compliments to our staff.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
5

The Best Family Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Norm,
I cannot begin to put into words how much my family enjoyed our vacation this summer. The villa is more beautiful in person and the staff is absolutely THE BEST!
Thank you so much for everything you did to make our vacation wonderful. It exceeded all of our expectaions. We are just waiting for the next time we can visit the DR again. Perfect in every way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our family is very proud of the wonderful staff we have at our villas. We are always thrilled with reviews like this and will pass along your words to the Playamor staff.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Nashville, TN
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This was my second stay at Villa Playamor and both visits exceeded my expectations. The villa is spacious, clean, beautifully decorated, with amazing views of the ocean. The villa staff is helpful, hard working, and friendly with infectious smiles. Your stay here is completely carefree without worries of cleaning or cooking thanks to Nelly and Rosemary. Our group of 11 varied in age from toddler to adult and all had a fantastic time. I would highly recommend if dining out to try La Parillada Steakhouse in town--big portions, great food all at a reasonable price. The jeep safari tour was a hit with the waterfall climb in addition to the catamaran tour to get out at sea. Also, if looking for a beautiful, clean, sandy beach venture out to Cabarete (approx 50 min taxi ride from villa) and spend the day--lots of shops, bars, restaurants. Similar to another review, our group collected $200 per person at the beginning of the week for a "kitty" that was used for food, alcohol, and tips. Agree with having a calculator handy to convert currency. A big thank you to Dr. Spencer for sharing his piece of paradise with us. I hope I am blessed enough to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time. Thanks for the recommendation on the La Paradilla, we need to check it out! Norm Spencer
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Nashville, TN
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This was my second stay at Villa Playamor and both visits exceeded my expectations. The villa is spacious, clean, beautifully decorated, with amazing views of the ocean. The villa staff is helpful, hard working, and friendly with infectious smiles. Your stay here is completely carefree without worries of cleaning or cooking thanks to Nelly and Rosemary. Our group of 11 varied in age from toddler to adult and all had a fantastic time. I would highly recommend if dining out to try La Parillada Steakhouse in town--big portions, great food all at a reasonable price. The jeep safari tour was a hit with the waterfall climb in addition to the catamaran tour to get out at sea. Also, if looking for a beautiful, clean, sandy beach venture out to Cabarete (approx 50 min taxi ride from villa) and spend the day--lots of shops, bars, restaurants. A big thank you to Dr. Spencer for sharing his piece of paradise with us. I hope I am blessed enough to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Gallatin, TN
5

Visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Went with a group of childhood friends and spouses. Had a wonderful time. The staff is very cordial and quick to accomodate. The villa is lovely and had plenty of room to spread out and relax. I only have two suggestions for making travel a little easier. If traveling with a large group, make a food/drink bank to draw from for when groceries are needed (maybe start with $150 per person). Have someone in the group bring a calculator for converting the currency at stores/restaurants etc. All in all I would definitely stay at this villa again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
It's the ******* Family and I can't tell what a wonderful time we
are having.Your staff is to die for and we will be returning next summer.Nelly and
the rest have made us feel so comfortable.I am so happy and I send you a sincere
THANK YOU. I will reccomend your villa to all my family and friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Norm,
I am happy to report that our trip to DR was wonderful. Your staff, particularly Nelly, is excellent -- I even improved my Spanish with their help. I thought I'd mention a few things that you might want to modify on your website.
• The catamaran with Cat Sailing was excellent; the primary contact is Mr Elliot, who owns the boat. (809-299-2668 cell phone) for Sunday private cruises at $1200 for the first 10 people and $60 per person thereafter vs the $78 for open booking the rest of the week. The crew was very friendly, helpful and very safety conscious of younger swimmers.
• The zip line, Yasika Adventures, was enjoyed by all and the parents were impressed with the thorough safety briefings and attention to safety during the rides. It is highly recommended by all who participated. The cost was $80 per person if booked directly rather than through an agent. (809-650-2323)
• Both of the above picked us up at the Villa after Gabino explained the access.
• It is recommended that meal planning be done for several days in advance so Nelly doesn't incur multiple taxi fares.
• The suggested menu items were largely excellent but I would recommend sticking to chicken and pork, the beef tended to be tough but not due to Nelly's cooking.
• We didn't try the Safari Jeep trip, largely due my wife's condition, but everyone thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the beach.
• My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Mercado Nuevo open market, bringing back old memories of our living in Iraq, Pakistan, and Turkey many years ago.
• One curious note -- it didn't seem the the Dominicans have "cottage industries". Most of the souvenir items were imported from Haiti or made somewhere else. We expected to see hats woven from palm trees and pottery items.
• Overall, all of our group were impressed with the friendly, helpful nature of the Dominicans, who seemed to have pride and resourcefulness. Case in point
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Hi Norm,
So sorry I haven't gotten back with you to let you know how totally awesome our visit was!!!! Catching up on 8 days of laundry and kids schedules for when I was gone has been quite an undertaking, but so worth it. I returned home with renewed energy and felt very rested. Your villa is beautiful. We had no problems at all. Nelly is a dream...the food...wow. To not have to set an alarm, but know I had a delicious home cooked breakfast waiting for me was an enormous treat. Nelly is so nice and was always so helpful.
We took the Jeep Safari tour and had a great time laughing and seeing DR. My sister and I were scared beyond words going up and down that waterfall, but later were able to say it was totally worth it. We had a guide named Rafeal who was awesome and the young camera guy Andy was great. We privately wondered if the "Domican made statues" were from China but we all bought a few anyway. We also took a City tour with Vincent and we basically told him where we wanted to go. We loved the Botanical Gardens/cable car. We all bought jewelry at the amber museum. We made Victor take us to a local marketplace for fresh fruit...what a neat experience. Crazy!
Our favorite restaurant quickly became Ahora's. We would often walk down there for late night appetizers and drinks (like we needed more to eat!!!) and would watch the World Series, UT Game, and Titans game by the ocean. We never made it to the beach, though we went for walks 1 to 2 times a day around the complex. We opted not to go to Ocean world, but 3 of our guests went on a newly opened (6 months) zip line that they raved about!
Everyone was so kind and helpful. Gavino and Gus and Nelly's helper and Alphonso? the pool guy. It was a wonderful trip..combined we all took about 800 pictures
Thanks again! Cyndi 10/08
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Playamor, Luxury fully staffed beach villa including cook
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217930
866 376-0317
Puerto Plata Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Dear Norm,
Just wanted to drop a note to say a huge "Thank You" for
sharing your wonderful DR home with us this past week. We
just returned, and are already relishing the memory of the
amazing time we had at Villa Playamor.

The staff you have assembled is top-notch. Every detail was
even better than described - from the moment we met Gabino
at the airport, to each and every meal made by Nelly - every
detail of the trip was perfect!

Thank you once again for a wonderful family trip. We are
hoping to return one day soon.

Best to you in 2009!
12/08
Helpful votes: 1/1