Staniel Cay house rental - Dazzling beaches, gorgeous views, privacy
Dazzling beaches, gorgeous views, privacy
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
 

Staniel Cay House Rental Photos and Description

With over 800' of gorgeous beachfront, on 10+ private acres, Crow's Nest, situated atop the highest point of sunny Staniel Cay, features the finest views in all directions: sunsets over the harbor, sunrises over the ocean, myriad cays and inlets up Pipe Creek to the north, and a long white sandy beach to the south.

Additionally, there is a protected sandy beach and swimming hole on the blue lagoon (other side of the property) where the Crow's Nest gazebo enjoys views down the length of the inlet, and the Crow's Nest mooring provides a protected harbor for a boat.

Overlooking the beach, Crow's Nest is a spacious contemporary cottage with 2,200 square feet of living space. The octagonal living room takes advantage of the spectacular views in all directions. The cozy tropical furnishings compliment the sparkling azure waters, dazzling coral sands, and abundant underwater splendors. Experience paradise.

-- Lounge on the expansive screened porch -- and enjoy the ocean breezes.

-- Soak up some sun in the very private patio area.

-- Dine overlooking the ocean beaches.

-- Wake in the loft to watch the sun rise over the ocean.

-- Shower with views of the harbor.

-- Prepare dinner with one of the best views in the world

Crow's Nest is ideal for two to four people. It is a very special place for us. We treat Crow's Nest with care -- and we want our guests to, also. We want you to enjoy Crow's Nest as much as we do. Please call us with any questions you may have.

We require a 50% deposit to confirm your reservation -- with the balance due 30 days prior to your planned arrival date. The rental fee is nonrefundable unless we are able to rebook the dates that you reserved.

The small island of Staniel Cay offers the rare mixture of a quaint village, Bahamian family island culture, beauty, and tranquility.

The people are some of the friendliest you'll ever meet.

Crow's Nest is less than one mile from the village. The village includes the Isle's General store, Pink Store, Blue Store, Mt. Olivetti Church (everyone is welcome), a beauty salon, several straw shops, a clinic, All-Age School, a telephone office and tower (with Cingular and Verizon cell coverage), and the Staniel Cay Yacht Club.

North of the village are Thunderball Club and Restaurant, Pirate's Trap, and pristine rugged land that's ideal for hiking and exploring.

In addition to the Staniel Cay restaurants, you may want to experience dining at some of the nearby islands.

The warm waters are crystal clear, with varying azure hues. You'll find an abundance of brilliantly colored marine life in less than fifteen feet of water throughout the cays.

Of special note is Thunderball Grotto (so named because James Bond 'Thunderball' movie scenes were shot there).

The grotto is a naturally hollowed-out cay, opposite the Yacht Club. Schools of beautiful and tame fish live there in a setting of colorful sponges and coral.

If you visit, you'll swim through a surface entrance to the interior cave that is lit by a hole in the 'roof'. Once inside, you'll discover the 'hidden' passageways out.

Several miles farther north is the beginning of the 22-mile Exuma Land and Sea Park, a wildlife and underwater preserve. The park stores many treats for the visual explorer. And an island just south of Staniel Cay is a wildlife preserve for iguanas.

Whether underwater or above, the Exuma Cays are spectacular.

More Details
Hide Details

Pam and Glenn, now retired from creating software solutions for the financial services industry, spend their winters on Staniel Cay. Crow’s Nest always has been their children’s’ favorite place since they were infants.

Pam or Glenn purchased this house in 1984

Crow’s was built in the late 1970’s by the original developer of Staniel Cay, who selected it as the best location on the island for his personal residence. Atop the highest point of the island, in the middle of 10+ acres, it is a historical icon that is visible by island-goers from miles away. Situated in the middle of a long white sandy beach, with views in all directions, Crow’s Nest enjoys the most spectacular vistas on the island.

Crow’s Nest has been welcoming guests since 1985. Many of our guests have returned year after year, making it their vacation home. Crow’s Nest’s charm, breezes, amazing views, privacy and comfort offer you an unparalleled out-island Bahamian experience in the beautiful central Exumas. The island’s amenities are only a few minutes away. Great snorkeling, the swimming pigs, iguanas, Thunderball Grotto and more are right here in the Staniel Cay area.

10 Reviews of Property 217838 in Staniel Cay, Bahamas

GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Boston, MA
5

The perfect view of the perfect island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
Crow's Nest's amazing bluff location will stun even Caribbean regulars. It sits high upon a bluff on Staniel Key in the Exumas. A bluff in the Caribbean? It's true!

The master bed room atop the octogon-shaped house provides 360 degree views across the Keys. The rest of the house has a warm, cozy feeling and is tastefully decorated with local art and natural objects. The rustic feeling of the house is combined will plenty of modern amenities- full kitchen, XM radio, DVD player, etc.

The island is a friendly, neighborly place who know the owners well and treat their guests with kindness and attention. The island boasts three terrific restaurants, a beautiful park with walking trails (which the owners helped to build), and several other beaches, shops, and places to visit.

There is plenty to do on and around Staniel Key. The Thunderball Grottoe, made famous by the James Bond movie, is a fabulous local spot for snorkling, and the Exuma Park nearby has many other diving spots. There are several Whalers and other small boats available for rent on Staniel to explore the surrounding islands.

Crow's Nest sits atop a tropical paradise which is not to be missed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Wayzata, MN
5

Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Crow's Nest rests on the best vantage point of the island. Windows on all sides affords 360 degree views, from the ocean to the bay. The house has a laid back beachy feel but with all the amenities you'll need. While we tried not to check email, we loved that it had fast wireless just in case. The loft bedroom with sunrise views are an incredible way to wake up each morning.

The ocean side beach is beautiful, wide, and private. We saw two people on it the entire week. Snorkeling is good right off the house. When it got windy, we simply went over to the lagoon side where there is your own private gazebo and swimming hole. Go at high tide to get a little more depth. There are other great beaches too. We went to Pirate's Trap on the north side and another one just SE of the airstrip on the lagoon side (Hoi Chi Beach?), both great at low tide to get some fun tidal flats.

Pam and Glenn are great owners and hosts. They give 5 star treatment. They provided all the information we needed, and Pam helped us place a food order on the mail boat. While we were there, she even had someone come out and do the windows one more time so the views were crystal clear.

We rented a boat to see the swimming pigs, iguanas, and grotto. Well worth it. See my friend Coral at Island Rentals. She has a 15 foot zodiac that was perfect for two people. If there is any breeze, I wouldn't get anything smaller because the channels can get rough. Bring apples and bananas for the pigs!

We got fresh fish from Sandy at the Government Dock. Call ahead or head down around 3pm. They'll be a half dozen fish that they caught that morning, and they'll clean them right there. Can't get much fresher than that.

We never really went to the Yacht Club as the vibe is very different than the serenity of Crow's Nest. Lot of money (and HUGE yachts) at the Club. It's interesting to go have a peek and a drink though. The kids will like watching the nurse sharks and sting rays.

Definitely get a golf cart. Rent from Berkie who has the best prices.

For air travel, we took Flamingo Air. They're definitely cheaper, but next time, I might pay the extra for Watermaker Air. Flamingo's schedules are not very reliable, and that can get worrisome if you have a tight connection. I had airplane envy when I saw Watermaker's planes next to ours.

Overall, a wonderful way to spend a week. I still can't get over the colors. Thank you Pam and Glenn!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Wayzata, MN
5

Beautiful 360 Degree Views Feed the Soul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Crow's Nest rests on the best vantage point of the island. Windows on all sides affords 360 degree views, from the ocean to the bay. The house has a laid back beachy feel but with all the amenities you'll need. While we tried not to check email, we loved that it had fast wireless just in case. The loft bedroom with sunrise views are an incredible way to wake up each morning.

The ocean side beach is beautiful, wide, and private. We saw two people on it the entire week. Snorkeling is good right off the house. When it got windy, we simply went over to the lagoon side where there is your own private gazebo and swimming hole. Go at high tide to get a little more depth. There are other great beaches too. We went to Pirate's Trap on the north side and another one just SE of the airstrip on the lagoon side (Hoi Chi Beach?), both great at low tide to get some fun tidal flats.

Pam and Glenn are great owners and hosts. They give 5 star treatment. They provided all the information we needed, and Pam helped us place a food order on the mail boat. While we were there, she even had someone come out and do the windows one more time so the views were crystal clear.

We rented a boat to see the swimming pigs, iguanas, and grotto. Well worth it. See my friend Coral at Island Rentals. She has a 15 foot zodiac that was perfect for two people. If there is any breeze, I wouldn't get anything smaller because the channels can get rough. Bring apples and bananas for the pigs!

We got fresh fish from Sandy at the Government Dock. Call ahead or head down around 3pm. They'll be a half dozen fish that they caught that morning, and they'll clean them right there. Can't get much fresher than that.

We never really went to the Yacht Club as the vibe is very different than the serenity of Crow's Nest. Lot of money (and HUGE yachts) at the Club. It's interesting to go have a peek and a drink though. The kids will like watching the nurse sharks and sting rays.

Definitely get a golf cart. Rent from Berkie who has the best prices.

For air travel, we took Flamingo Air. They're definitely cheaper, but next time, I might pay the extra for Watermaker Air. Flamingo's schedules are not very reliable, and that can get worrisome if you have a tight connection. I had airplane envy when I saw Watermaker's planes next to ours.

Overall, a wonderful way to spend a week. I still can't get over the colors. Thank you Pam and Glenn!
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
5

A Week in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Crow's Nest, and Staniel Cay are simply wonderful! Although I had been to Staniel before, I had stayed on a sailboat, and didn't get very far past the marina and bar at the Yacht Club. Staying at this great property (with its incredible view!) and getting to explore and enjoy the island was infinitely more fun. The people of Staniel are welcoming and friendly, and the island is safe and easy to get around on via golf cart or bike.

The best part, though, was Crow's Nest itself. It is everything the owners say, and then some. Its location at the very top of the Cay allows an amazing, panoramic view and unparalleled privacy and peace. The wrap around porch allows you to enjoy sun or shade in comfortable lounge chairs any time of day. The beds are great, and the kitchen is fully stocked, so food prep was quite easy. The living area is cool and breezy at all times, and we did a lot of lazing around watching movies and playing games at night. In the master, you can lie in bed and watch the sun come up over the ocean -- pictures don't do the view justice! Best of all, the owners provide quite comprehensive documentation, information and advice in advance, so you know exactly what to bring and expect plus they are just really nice. On island, the caretakers are friendly and helpful as well.

We had several good meals at the bar and in the restaurant at the Staniel Cay Yacht Club, plus went to some themed parties there (it is a social hub for the island!). We also had a great meal at Taste of the Sea, and shopped at all three of the local groceries.

Through Nikki at 3 N's Vacation Services (office at the airport) we hired a wonderful guide who took us via boat to some of the popular destinations around Staniel. Don't miss the iguanas at Bitter Guana Cay, or the swimming pigs at Big Major Cay, the Thunderball grotto, swimming with the sharks at Compass Cay and snorkeling at the Land and Sea park. All ages will enjoy the amazing sights and waters of the Exumas!

We also spent a lot of time just sitting and reading on the private beach area with gazebo that is part of the property.

I would recommend this property to all without hesitation, and hope to go back again soon myself!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Houston, Texas
5

Crowsnest in August

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Our first stay at Crowsnest was absolutely amazing. The place is very well kept (looks exactly like in pictures online) and very spacious. As we stayed in august, the interior rooms were a bit hot during the day as there is not a/c however the wrap around porch that is screened in is fully open to the ocean breeze and you can comfortably read/nap out there all day long if you choose to stay in the house during the day. The nights were much more comfortable in the house and as long as the weather permitted opening the windows for the breeze the upstairs bedroom stays confortable as well... If you are the type to enjoys your AC set to 70 degrees or below at night you may want to rethink an August stay at Crows nest, however, My husband and I slept great at night listening to and enjoying the ocean breeze.

The true beauty of Crowsnest is that it is the highest point on the Cay atop a large hill giving a spectacular 360 view of the beautiful Exuma Sound. I would have to say that at least in August, renting a golf cart is an absolute must as the 1-3 mile hikes to the restaurant/ boat dock, lagoon... (everything else on staniel).. would be very unenjoyable(thats coming from an avid exerciser).

Another great thing about Crowsnest is that the kitchen is fully stocked with pots/pans, placesettings, even left behind spices for cooking. There are plentiful games/cards, a small library of novels and local guide books to look thru, stereo system (we even found a Jimmy Buffet CD in the house), etc. The local house keepers are very nice and helpful and the stores were fairly well stocked the entire week of our stay (basics of course... cereals,cookies bread, lunchmeat, frozen steaks, seasonal vegetables & fruits, condiments... definitely more expensive though) but dont forget to bring your own snorkel gear! I would definitely recommend renting a small boat to "island hop" (consider a slightly larger Boston Whaler if the water is choppy during your stay to ensure you enjoy the boat ride!) Compass Beach, Thunderball Grotto, the swimming Pigs and the "Aquarium" coral reef at Land and Sea park are all sights you wont want to miss!

Your going to love the relaxed feel of Staniel and the ambiance and privacy of Crowsnest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Livingston, AL
5

July 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This was our eighth or ninth stay at Crow's nest. Our stay was excellent as usual as well as the accommodations and experienced no problems. Berkie and Vivian are wonderful hosts and we always enjoy being around them. Isle General store has a good selection of every day food items. We rented aboat from Berkie and explored the islands from Warderick Wells to White Point. Snorkling is must as designated in Pam's notes. An evening at Foul Cay is a wonderful experience but make reservations well in advance. The food was also excellent at Staniel Cay Yacht Club and at Thunderball. Our intentions are return again in mid 2010. Pierce and Louise
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Buffalo
5

GREAT PLACE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
Crow's Nest is perfect. The house has everthing you need. It's location is beautiful. Every morning you wake up and watch the sunrise from your bed in the loft. The island itself is wonderful. It's quite, clean and everyone is very nice. Thanks to Pam and Glen for making our trip so nice.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Little Rock, AR United States
5

Crow's Nest June 2008

Crow's Nest June 2008
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We used this as our last "family vacation" with our daughters, the oldest is leaving for college so we wanted some great memories.The Crow's Nest and Staniel Cay did not disappoint. The people on the island were so friendly and helpful, you could just sit and visit with them for hours. The beaches are amazing, water that looks that it couldn't be real because the colors are so vivid, right from the window.
Definitely rent a boat to see the other little islands, iguanas, and definitely feed the pigs at Big Major! Have the conch fritters (to die for) at Thunderball Restaurant and dine at the Yacht Club at least once. It's a Bahamian cultural experience.
The Crow's Nest is laid out great, there is always an ocean breeze. We were very comfortable and secluded.
With no cell phone, cable or internet, out teenage daughters could have cared less because of the sheer beauty of the island and having much to explore and a whole new culture was fun to learn about. Wonderful place to get away. It was kind of hot at the end of June. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Sarasota, Florida
5

Crow's Nest, Staniel Cay

Crow's Nest, Staniel Cay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Location, Location, Location. The Crow's Nest in Staniel Cay has it all if you're looking for a unique small island getaway experience. The owner's information package is very descriptive and accurate with no hype at all. The house has absolutely THE best location on the island perched about 90 feet above the sea with uninhibited 360 degreee views. In addition to great sunrises, sunsets and spectacular night sky viewing, the elevation ensures natural air conditioning via the constant sea breezes. The floor plan is very functional and the furnishings well suited to a laid back island vacation. We really appreciated the well equipped kitchen as we enjoy cooking most of our own meals on vacation. Each afternoon we would meet the local fishermen as they came in and we picked out fresh fish that they filleted on the spot for our evening meal. It doesn't get any fresher than that!!

Most of our days were spent snorkeling and exploring Staniel Cay and the neighboring cays with a rental Boston Whaler. Pam (one of the owners) provides great information (including GPS Coordinates) for places for diving and exploration. The Exuma Underwater park is particularly good for snorkeling as the fish are protected there and as a result are amazingly tame. Even the sharks are mellow.

We were glad we rented a golf cart for getting around the island and making our daily trips to the local markets or the Staniel Cay Yacht Club for local color. The local fresh baked Bahamian bread is not to be missed. Our favorite was the coconut bread. Local residents were all very friendly and helpful....everybody knows the Crow's Nest and that serves as a useful introduction.

In the last two years we've vacationed on Great Exuma and the Caymans and frankly, we prefer Staniel Cay and particularly the Crow's Nest for a most enjoyable and memorable experience. Staniel cay is today the way many islands in the Bahamas used to be 30 or 40 years ago and the Crow's nest provides a private, comfortable and relaxing setting to enjoy the beautiful waters of the Exumas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
GORGEOUS BEACH, FINEST VIEWS, CHARMING, PRIVATE & ROMANTIC HOME - Crow's Nest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217838
+1 781 259-4140
Staniel Cay Exuma
Palatine, IL US
5

Crow's Nest

Crow's Nest
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
Hard to get to, but definitely worth the effort. The house and location were fantastic. The panoramic views from the house (sunrise AND sunset) were gorgeous. The beach was readily accessible and the lagoon was an excellent respite when the seas were heavy. Pam the owner was easy to work with and gave us good advance information to help us prepare for the trip. Berkie the caretaker was an enjoyable character & met all of our needs. We bought most of our groceries, rented a golf cart and rented a boat from Berkie which made everything easy. (We highly recommend the golf cart to get around the island and a boat is a must to explore the various cays).
The website gives a very accurate description of the property and may actually be a little understated.
The food at the Yacht Club, Thunderball Club and Sampson Cay was very good. Snorkeling Thunderball, Rocky Dundas, Compass Cay and the aquarium are a must and there are other great places too numerous to mention. Pam will give you recommendations. The Land and Sea Park was superb, but we recommend renting the 17 ft boat with the 85 horse motor tp make the trip easier.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4