Would not stay here again....
Submitted: June 28, 2012
Stayed: August 2011
The photos of this house are way nicer than the actual house. I'm very sad to say that, but it is true. We rented this home (myself, my husband, my 2 children and my parents) for a week last Summer (August 2011). We did not expect five star accomodations, but this house was not as it is pictured. When we arrived, the house was not cleaned well. The refridgerator was full of someone else's food, the griddle was so filthy we had to use oven cleaner and a paint scraper to get it clean (I would not have cooked any food on it the way it was left for us), and the dining room table was sticky - every time we put a paper plate down on it, the paper stuck to the table and we were left trying to scrape it off. While it seemed as though there were clean sheets on the beds, the matress pads and extra comforters were thrown on the floor, and most of them had stains. The bunk beds were utterly disgraceful. Luckily we only had two children in the room w/ the bunk beds, so neither child had to sleep under one box spring that was literally ducked taped together underneath. It was really gross. The basement were all the exercise equipment and the entertainment equipment was located was filthy - there were old wine bottles and beer cans all over the place, the pool table was not functioning, nor was the foosball table, and NONE of the exercise equipment was in working order. One of the reasons we chose this house is for the exercise equipment, and were unable to use any of it. We also had a problem with the water getting cold and the hot water heater needing to be reset regularly. We were not told about this issue until we arrived, and it was a bit of a problem when there were 7 people who needed showers and the water took over an hour to heat up. Overall I was EXTREMELY disappointed with the house, as the photos were beautiful and most of the other reviews (most of them much older than mine) were good. Overall I was EXTREMELY disappointed with the house, as the photos were beautiful and most of the other reviews (most of them much older than mine) were good. I would not recommend this home to friends, and I would never go back. The owner did refund me $50 for the cleaning issues we had, but in my opinion it wasn't nearly enough. I would've appreciated an apology for the state of the home. I just hope these issues have been fixed since last Summer as I would hate for anyone else's vacation to be ruined. Sadly, the home COULD be beautiful if it were kept up
Owner's Response: Well, did you enjoy that!! If these claims are true, then why did she stay??? We would have refunded her rental if she chose to leave.
We take very seriously any comments regarding the Chalet and strive to please our clients. In this case she made claims that could not be confirmed and claims that could be confirmed. We sent an independent appraiser to evaluate her statements and found each one to be utterly false. Sadly, from time-to-time we come upon rentors who stay for the full rental period and then try to get a full refund of their rental. By the way, they destroyed the griddle and the dining table which I had to replace -- but I did not charge their security deposit as I was entitled to do.
These people are not welcome at the Mountain View Chalet every again.
Helpful votes: 2/3
Did you find this review helpful?