Huddleston house rental - Living Room overlooking Lake w/Fireplace
Living Room overlooking Lake w/Fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description
Hot-tub,3 fireplaces, Canoes, PoolTale, dogs allowed, fence,

This private Smith Mountain Lake log cabin, with 3 fireplaces, screened porch, hot-tub & decks is nestled in a wildlife preserve, looking right at Smith Mountain Lake and the Blue Ridge mountains. No one across from you and nestled on over 300 feet of waterfront and 2 acres, this home is 5 minutes from restaurants, marinas and 10 minutes from grocery stores and other fun gift shopping. This home offers nearly an acre of fenced in yard for the dogs and small children, The home features a private dock with deep water & capability for swimming, and boating in this quiet, no-wake cove. Jump off the party deck and yes you can use this lift, only home at the lake. It's perfect for children, adults as well as the dog! The home also has 2 canoes for the use of tenants, not just one. Natural steps and large wood steps go into water as well for easy access for small ones or dogs.

Relax at night by one of the 2 fireplaces upstairs with the wood provided for the wood fireplace upstairs or propane fireplace downstairs and enjoy one of the books offered from the library or one of the games. Newly renovated home offers 3 fireplaces to sit and relax by. Play pool on a pro size pool table by the downstairs fireplace or play ping pong , or just settle for the dart board with some drinks in the fridge and watch the ball game there..

All the TV's offer Cinemax & HBO with several TV's. The master bedroom has a TV as well. If you cannot play or watch TV alot then perhaps the copier and the wi-fi high speed internet is the way to go.

Sit at night by the bon fire near the shore..also on the dock and decks we offer several loungers, several Adirondack chairs, tons of comfortable outdoor furniture and more.

Rental Features:

3 Fireplaces, pool table, ping-pong, fenced in yard, 2 canoes, log cabin, hot-tub, walk-in steps to water,high speed, gas grill, screened porch, wif-fi, kayak rentals offered, dogs allowed, fire-pit, several decks, full dock use w/lift, privacy, convenience

FirePit outside, please check fire bans.

Deck and dock furniture include 4 loungers, 4 Adirondacks, 4 wicker deep chairs with coffee table, 1 rocker, 2 benches, 2 outdoor dining tables, one at upper dock seating 4 and one at lower deck seating 4, one in screened porch seating 6, over 6 side tables for your convenience and a large umbrella on upper deck of dock. Screened porch also offers dining table as well as 6 chairs and a bench.

Subdivision Amenities:

wildlife trails, privacy, seclusion, no wake zone for safe swimming

Animals: Dogs only, largest fenced in area over 1 acre

FirePit outside, please check fire bans.

The trails are for physical exercise, such as hiking and walking only, in order not to disturb the wildlife, no 4-wheelers or ATVs.

More Details
Hide Details

The quiet, no one across from you, 5 minute paddle to the open fetch and then you are int he middle of the lake, most convenient spot on the lake for all boating 5 marinas within 1 mile, and the open area at the dam. The views of the mountain are spectacular. The neighborhood is great for walking hiking and biking.

Private, convenient - 10 minutes to restaurants and grocery stores..

7 Reviews of Property 80592 in Huddleston, Virginia

Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Maryland
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This house had it all. It was very clean and the fenced in yard was perfect for our dog. The bottle of wine the owner left for us was a nice touch. We really enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You for staying with us, yes we also appreciate the effort to submit the review. Althought we have had a huge repeat clientele over the past 5 years, they do not submit, just write the wonderful notes in the guest book. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back next year, or later this year.
Helpful votes: 23/24
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Birdsboro, Pa.
5

WE'LL BE BACK !!!

WE'LL BE BACK !!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I have wanted to write my review since we were there in Oct. but life gets in the way and today I was on the site showing another friend the home. What a perfect time to finally say what a wonderful vacation we had. The dogs loved the place and our one dog decided to become a " dock dog" as she is a great swimmer, but we have no where to take her at home to do the dock dog type activity. Well she learned the first day and it was just a joy to see her having a blast. So many places to sit and although we had been to the property about eight years ago, my how things have changed. !!! Just wonderful what they have continued to do with upgrading the property and going green, what a wonderful touch. Makes you feel as though you aren't hurting the environment while having a wonderful vacation. My only suggestion would be for two couples going as friends, to have the one bedroom down stairs with a nice king size bed in it and the twin beds upstairs in the other room so when you want to spend time alone it is like each having their own apartment. But no matter the bed arrangement, we are already talking about Oct. 2014 and it seems like a long way off, but we can't wait. !!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for coming back.. Yes there is alot of adds to the property, each year we try to do more. We want people to enjoy the property, since it is our home and we enjoy making it as comfortable as possible. We look forward to having you again, thanks for the suggestions, we will have to see on that one- alot of people like to have the kids downstairs in the summer...But we might can obtain twins where they can be pulled together for a King downstairs to have your own space, for all our couples in the fall.. Thanks again and look forward to having you back. The Owner , Leslie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Alexandria, VA
5

Cozy and romantic for a winter retreat with pets

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I meant to write a review when we returned from a winter week at the cabin, but life got in the way. Now, months later, I am sofa shopping and looking for something just like the luxuriously cozy, leather-look microfiber couch at the cabin last December (not the light beige one in the photos). That couch is the perfect metaphor for the vibe of the cabin: rustic elegance, incredible cozy comfort, yet durable and family friendly. My husband and our dogs spent the week between Christmas and New Year's at the cabin last year and loved the experience. It was so quiet and peaceful, the stars were so bright from the bubbly hot tub at night, the adorable kitchen was so well-equiped for cooking delicious meals, the views of the lake were so soothing, and the many decks and outdoor seating areas were so perfect for finding a patch of sunshine at any time of day, so that we could spend time outside with our dogs even though it was in the 40s-50s. Speaking of dogs, our suburban pups had a blast in the huge fenced in yard, smelling the deer that visited in the early mornings. This is the kind of place that makes you fantasize about owning your own lake house. Oh…and early morning coffee curled up on that fabulous couch by the fire with the lake sparkling in the sunlight through all the many windows is a memory I will treasure. We will definitely be returning!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! We would love to have you back...it may even be a white Christmas...so please let us know asap...thank you
The Owner
Leslie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Philadelphia, PA
5

The Best Home/ Cabin at Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Having vacationed here for over 12 years, we discovered Log cabin retreat this past year. It was always booked, each fall and summer, so we felt lucky to get it for this past fall..( You have to book about 9 months to one year out to obtain this home...)..
When we arrived we realized the photos do not do justice.
The home is like a peaceful resort...the owner has thought of everything. The firewood, the wine, the spices, sugar, and more. The new chairs and loungers, I could go on and on.. The guest book is full of fantastic reviews not sure why the owner does not put them on here, maybe they should, since the reviews are glowing.
We highly recommend this place, even has a printer, we had to use it... We already made reservations for next year and will keep booking this home...By far the best home on Smith Mountain Lake, and we have experienced alot of homes over the years.. Thank you to the owners for making us and our pups feel welcome- they loved the fenced in yard...See you next year..
Linda
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. Yes we noticed you called right away so we welcome you back again next year. Sorry it took so long to be able to vacation with us, but now that you are in - you do have priority. So let me know if you need anything else..
Welcome Back
Leslie
Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Maryland
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is my second time vacationing in this home and once again it was amazing. The owners think of everything! Thank you so much for opening your beautiful home to us and our four legged family members. This time we brought some friends and they too were amazed at just how awesome this home is. Word of advice...rent a pontoon...so much fun!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Nokesville, Virginia
5

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family and I recently returned from a lovely week long stay at the Log Cabin Retreat. The house is perfectly situated on a very quiet area of the lake and provided all that was listed in the description ---and then some. The views from the house are spectacular and the no-wake zone location made for much relaxation as we floated around on the rafts or took a quiet rides in the canoe.
Looking forward to future visits.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying in our home. We would love to have you back, soon. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Log Cabin Retreat, hot-tub,fencedyd,highspeed,pooltable,3 fireplaces,pooltable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p80592vb
+1 540-797-0460
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
North Carolina
5

Beautiful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My husband and I just returned from a weekend getaway for our anniversary at Log Cabin Retreat. It was absolutely amazing. The house is wonderful and the bottle of wine was a wonderful touch. We hope to return for many years. The house is in a very quiet area of the lake. The only negative thing we have to say is regarding the parking. It is a little difficult parking a boat trailer as there is not much room to turn around. Other than that (which was manageable) the place was fantastic.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/16