Big Sky house rental - Crooked Creek Ranch and Lone Mountain
Crooked Creek Ranch and Lone Mountain
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Big Sky House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-16)

STOP! BEFORE YOU GO ANY FURTHER, PLEASE READ OUR GUEST REVIEWS.

STOP! BEFORE YOU GO EVEN FURTHER.......BREAKING NEWS........BEEHIVE BASIN RATED THE 5th BEST HIKE IN THE WORLD BY FOX NEWS TRAVEL

OK, now you can continue........

Your private 20 acre estate in Beehive Basin, Big Sky, MT with stunning views of Lone Mountain and Beehive Basin. Hike out your back door in summer into Beehive Basin or in winter into some of the finest back country skiing in the lower 48. Property borders the Gallatin National Forest and is just a 45 minute drive to Yellowstone National Park.

If big mountain skiing is more to your taste, take a 7 minute shuttle ride to Moonlight Basin or Big Sky Resorts.

This 5300 sq. ft. Durfeld Log Custom Home is situated on 3 levels. Gather in the spacious great room under the expanse of the cathedral ceiling around the Tulikivi fireplace while the family chef enjoys the amenities of the fully-appointed, open, gourmet kitchen. Relax on the wrap around deck in your own private hot tub with mountain views in all directions.

Enjoy a drink at the wet bar while the kids hang out in the ground level game room (including pool table) and entertainment center. Also, your own private sledding hill is just steps from the deck and hot tub. The ground floor with private kitchen and living quarters is perfect for extended family.

This home is built to enjoy all that Montana has to offer, whether it be winter, spring, summer or fall.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Crooked Creek Ranch is a special and unique property that we really think you'll enjoy all year round. Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions or for more photos.

Joe Klein purchased this house in 2008

Big Sky has everything you want - from the great skiing (alpine, x-cross country and back-country), fishing, hiking (and every other outdoor activity you can imagine) to just sitting on the back deck with a drink in your hand, enjoying the spectular views and wildlife.

Crooked Creek Ranch is a true year-round vacation spot

24 Reviews of Property 217092 in Big Sky, Montana

Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Boston, MA
5

Spectacular Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We rented this beautiful house for a weekend ski getaway and came away more than pleased with the property. The house is situated on a beautiful plot of land providing picturesque views of Big Sky and is completely private without an other house in close view. Everything inside the house is high end and up-to-date and included all amenities/supplies a large group needs. Most importantly, the owner and management office were extremely professional and a real pleasure to speak with. They went beyond their duty to meet a special request of our group. I highly recommend this property to anyone planning a trip to the Big Sky area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
5

SPECTACULAR CABIN!!!! with extraordinary views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Let me first start by saying that My buddies and I choose a new venue yearly for our ski trip. We have thus stayed in many cabins all over the country and have become relatively spoiled by our accommodations. There are many things to love about this particular cabin. It has all the ammenities you could desire for an adult trip, large Hot tub, pool table, large deck with obscene natural views, and a huge kitchen and entertaining area. If I had to highlight our groups favorite aspect of the property I would say that the natural beauty and isolation of this acreage is magnificent. Getting to the property in the snow is a relatively harrowing experience especially at night, but in reality this is what made the property so great. No traffic, no crowds with plenty to do around the house with your group or family. They also do an exceptional job of keeping the road plowed. The other aspect of this property that I cant understate is how well managed it is. The owner is knowledgeable and responsive along with being easy to get along with. We had a very minor problem with the hot tub early in our stay and he had it fixed within only a few hours well before we returned from skiing. The property is only minutes from great hiking and skiing and this is not overstated, the snow was exceptional. I can only imagine what the views and wildlife are like in summer but if I were traveling with a large group or a large family I would immediately book this house!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Frisco, TX
5

Amazing! Truly Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This owner has left no stone unturned with this property. The area is superb and the property is so comfortable with amenities flowing. We were a smaller than probably usual group, and felt completely at home and at ease. Our trips to Yellowstone and Idaho did not disappoint, and I must point out the hiking around Beehive Basin - it is worth every bit of the trip! I've been to the area before, but this trip was flawless in every way, from the wonderful chef's kitchen to the hot tub, the very helpful caretaker who visited to give us insight into the areas animal sightings, and better-than-Ritz Carlton beds! I will stress that the owner was the best I have ever worked with and we have traveled the world in similar scope of properties. We will INDEED be back! The view from each deck is memorable, still to this day. This property is a memory-maker.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Big Timber, MT USA
5

CHOOSE THIS ONE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Are you looking for a getaway for your family? For a girls getaway? Or for a romantic getaway? This Crooked Creek Ranch on 20 acres is ideal for all of the above. We just returned from spending 4 days over Thanksgiving with our 3 adult children, their spouses, and 8 grandchildren ranging in age from 1 to 15. This house suited us very well with everyone able to have their own space. We all enjoyed sitting out in the hot tub as it snowed. Marshmallows were roasted in the Cauldron as we talked about the breathtaking view. There was a great hill for sledding and the kids also built a hugh snow fort. With a wide range of ages and interests it was nice to have several TV's for our use. The home was well supplied with most anything you would need other than your groceries!! The property was clean and well maintained and one of the reasons we are giving this property a 5 star rating is because we dealt with the owner direct and he was so very helpful in answering questions with a quick response at all times. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a prime getaway location.
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
San Jose, California
5

Relaxing Stay in Beehive Basin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here in August with extended family. The layout of the cabin let us enjoy staying together while having plenty of space to spread out. It had all the amenities we needed while away. We saw most of our wildlife on the deck each evening - the pictures don’t do the views justice. It is located outside of town near a beautiful hiking trail. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Woodbury, MN USA
5

An awesome property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I've stayed at this location 3 times now. Two winter trips with 8+ people, and most recently a summer trip for a 50th wedding anniversary for my parents and my siblings. In total, we slept 17 very comfortably in all of the beds in the home (we had 4 couples, or 8 adults, and 9 kids). It was an excellent property for multiple families. The lofts pictured in the upstairs bedroom are loved by the younger kids. The house is magnificent, and the pictures (as great as they are on the website) don't capture the quality of the log construction and the luxury of all the appointments. We spent a ton of time out on the beautiful deck with a fire burning in the "cowboy couldron", as it's called. The scenery is second to none, and the solitude of the place is unbelievable. We felt like we were the only house in the valley. The views of Lone Peak and Beehive Basin are wonderful. We had a moose and her calf walk right up to the house one evening, and had several sitings of the pair during the week. Also had several mule deer walk the property during our week there. Make sure you have a 4-wheel drive with snow tires if you go there in the winter. There are many steep and winding hills to navigate. In general, this home is a gorgeous property that will be sure to please all. It is the "real deal" log home/mansion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Wenatchee, WA
5

One word, eleven letters: S-P-E-C-T-A-C-U-L-A-R

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
In a word, this place is spectacular. The house is an architectural marvel, the landscape is downright glorious, and the activities available on and near the property made for one of the best vacations our family has had. Weeks later, our kids are still lamenting that we had to leave and still pining for the fun they had at Crooked Creek Ranch with cousins and other family.

One of the most striking parts of Crooked Creek Ranch is how remote it is within the mountains of Montana, yet its ability to still provide the creature comforts that families want on a vacation. Grilling on the deck or hanging out by the fire pit while moose walked by was an unforgettable experience. Further, the house is laid out that people can be in different areas doing different activities (talking, playing cards, cooking, etc), but still feel as if the group is hanging out together.

The property was very clean, well-decorated and all of the hard supplies we needed were there waiting for us. The owner was responsive to our questions and we had every confidence he would be on-hand by email or phone if needed (but he wasn't). The travel into Big Sky and Yellowstone was easy and it was always nice to return to the seclusion of Beehive Basin after a full day of activity.

If you are considering a vacation to this area, save yourself the time and go with Crooked Creek Ranch now. It is exactly as advertised. You'll leave with many, many timeless pictures and happy memories. Your time will be so pleasant, you will definitely find yourself moved to write a 5-star review just like this one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Oskaloosa, Iowa
5

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I can only echo the previous praises of Crooked Creek Ranch. It was the perfect spot for our summer family reunion. I'd only been there a few hours before I was plotting when I could return!

The house is gorgeous: the gourmet kitchen made even non-cooks want to get into the action, the grand master bedroom was palatial, and the views of snow-capped Lone Peak and other mountains through the large windows and from the wrap-around deck were breathtaking; but it was the little touches that put it over the top: the availability of three Pak 'n Plays for babies, the supply of insect and bear spray (don't confuse those two!), the drawer knobs being made from antlers, the huge lazy Susan in the middle of the round dining table, the 4" memory foam mattress toppers, reading lamps on both sides of the beds, the ample supply of towels and much more.

Our group included 8 adults and 4 children; there was room for 4-6 more. The house and surrounding area provided activities for all ages. The Beehive Basin trail passes within 100 yards of the house. The rafting on Gallatin River, golfing and rock climbing were enjoyed by our active set. Others basked in the sunshine and fresh mountain air while reading, snoozing, or chatting. The children loved the pool table, hot tub and the Wii games. Yellowstone is about 30 minutes away. But you don't have to go there to see local fauna: We captured a great video of a moose munching grass about 75 feet from the house!

The owner was exemplary. He was pleasant and easy to contact before the trip, and always attentive. During our week he called several times to make certain everything was satisfactory. Our deposit was returned promptly. I recommend heeding his advice and making your first trek to the house during daylight.

Another word of advice: do your grocery shopping in Bozeman....the food prices in Big Sky are horrendous. Other Big Sky shopping was marginal at best, but that just gave us more time to spend at this wonderful house. I would/will return in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Mandeville, LA
5

Our stay at Crooked Creek Ranch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I visited Big Sky MT for the first time this July 2013 and stayed at Crooked Creek Ranch near the Beehive Basin Trail. We had a wonderful time at the home and surrounding areas, hiking, rafting, eating, photographing the local animals and visiting Yellowstone from the West entrance.

The visit at Crooked Creek Ranch was very accommodating and relaxing and placed in a beautiful setting with great views. All the comforts of home were available. While being a very large home, it still had a cozy feel. The owner was very helpful in giving tips and suggestions of things to do during our stay. The people of the town were laid back and friendly, and there was never a lack of something to do. Wish we could have stayed longer to fit in more, but we will be back! Would highly recommend it to anyone who loves outdoor activities. They have something available for all levels of ability and interests.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 20 Acre Beehive Basin, Big Sky Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217092vb
(312) 961-8544 (Illinois, USA)
Big Sky Montana
Libertyville, Il
5

Illinois Renter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and friends decided to go on a road trip to see Yellowstone. I found this house online for us and couldn't have been happier with my choice. We were a group of 15 (3 families), which included 8 children between 6 & 11. This house was a perfect fit for us, with some room to spare. Each of the couples had their own beautifully stated en-suite rooms. 2 of these rooms included lofts with 2 twin mattresses - those were great for our younger children. The basement was a little kid-camp with the 2 bunk rooms, jack&jill bathroom, tv/game room with kitchenette and a billiards room. It was great at the end of a long, site-seeing day to go back to a very private location, cook a big meal (in the extra large kitchen - tons of room for many helpers) for everyone and relax on the deck overlooking the mountains. Our kids absolutely loved the hot tub which was situated on part of the deck that stood out over the downhill portion of the property. This house is located very high up on the mountain side so provided us with beautiful views in every direction. There is fantastic hiking right out the front door! The Beehive Basin Trail was ranked #5 in the world recently. Our kids did just fine on this trail, with the exception of some areas with deeper snow. We also had the chance to experience the extreme weather changes that come in Big Sky. Started our day out site seeing and it was about 75, came back to the house mid-afternoon just before a storm rolled over the mountain and brought moth-ball size hail. About 3 hours later proceeded to lightly snow. What a beautiful place, we will definitely return again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1