Gulf Shores house rental - Tropical Dunes: 45 yards from the Gulf waters
Tropical Dunes: 45 yards from the Gulf waters
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description
5 BR 4 1/2 BA Oceanfront Vacation Rental Gulf Shores, Alabama USA

NEW UPDATES:

- The boardwalk to the beach has been completely redone in 2013

- New range (2013)

- Completely new paint outdoors and indoors (2014)

- Brand new deck (2014)

- Updated several TVs. All bedrooms and living room are now digital (2014)

- New door with extra insulation (2014)

- New living room 50' LCD TV (2013)

- New dishwasher (2014)

- New table and chairs for outdoor deck (2014)

Tropical Dunes is a luxurious 5 bedroom, 4.5 professionally decorated Gulf Front beach house. It is located in Fort Morgan, in the beautiful “Dunes” gated community with access to 2 swimming pools (one partially indoors), workout room and hot tub. The warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico are only 45 yards away. This peaceful community borders a nature reserve.

All amenities are located conveniently close to the house. The pools are 50 yards away. Everyone will enjoy the easy boardwalk beach access. Parents will appreciate the beach cart we provide to assist with easily and comfortably transporting beach gear down the boardwalk.

Families will have a wonderful time at Tropical Dunes. We offer several amenities especially for small children including: children friendly plates and cups, 2 pack-n-plays, high chair, booster seat, security gates, bed rails, beach toys, board games, and a DVD & VHS library. For the older kids you will also find an game console and an assortment of games.

Throughout our common area you can enjoy unparalleled views of the Gulf of Mexico. For additional viewing enjoyment we provide a 50” TV in the living room and plenty of seating space. In the dining area you will find seating for 15 people. The kitchen is fully accessorized for large groups providing every detail to make cooking a pleasure.

One of the most pleasant times to enjoy the breath-taking views is at sunset when our two large covered Gulf Front decks provide family and friends with the perfect location for a relaxing drink while enjoying the views, the warm breezes, the changing colors of the sky and frequently opportunities to see dolphins playing in the water.

After a full day of frolicking at the beach the comfort of our bedrooms will provide the perfect setting for privacy and relaxation. We have two Oceanfront suites with blackout curtains for a sound nights sleep. We have one suite on the main level and the other four upstairs. You will find TVs in all bedrooms. All our bed spreads are custom-made. Our sleeping arrangements are flexible: 4 king size beds, 1 bunk (single over single), 1 custom bunk (double over queen) and 1 queen sleeper.

In order to keep you connected while at Tropical Dunes you will also find Wireless Broadband Internet.

Tropical Dunes is the perfect spot to build unforgettable memories with friends and loved ones. Make sure you read our guest book and view our virtual tour.

More Details
Hide Details

86 Reviews of Property 217041 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
average rating of 4.895349 based on 86 reviews
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
birmingham, AL
5

Untitled

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
This home is a perfect family vacation home. The bedrooms are large with private baths. There are two large decks which are great for eating, sunning, and hanging out and watching the ocean. The beachfrint location is fabulous!!! You are at the end of the beach and do not have to fight crowds for a spot in the sand!! We had 2 families and gramma and all had plenty of space. Thanks again for sharing this home with us!! Hopefully we will be back!!
Helpful votes: 14/17
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
4

Spring Break

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The house was very nice. It was tastefully decorated and plenty of room for all of us. We had 14 people.....7 adults and 7 children. It was an easy walk to the beach and easy for the children to come and go. I only wish you had a covered porch so you could sit out when it was raining. We had three days of rain when we were there!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
huntington, in
4

great stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house was as advertised. It was the perfect space for the 12 of us. Quick and easy access to the beach. Comfortable accommodation. Fully stocked kitchen was nice. This house was a great place for us to unwind and relax for the week. Unobstructed view overlooking the gulf out two levels if balcony was my favorite amenity.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
4

Family Fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this very nice beach house that had everything we needed! The house is well furnished and the layout was perfect for our large group.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Collinsville, IL
5

CELEBRATING OUR 50TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great Accommodations. My wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at this home along with our son and daughter-in-law, daughter and son-in-law and our 5 grand children ages 19, 17, 16, 15, & 8.
The home was a perfect fit for all, plenty of room for sleeping and entertaining. Large dining are was perfect 11 of us could sit at one table. Great deck facing the gulf that is in the shade from 10:00 AM throughout the day.
Access to beach requires a short walk on boardwalk which was very convenient and easy to walk on.
We would rent this unit again if we return to Gulf Shores.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Louisville, Ky
5

Charlotte S.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 16 Had a lovely stay at the Tropical Dunes. We enjoyed the pools, the ocean views and the spacious house to spread out in. The kitchen had every item you would ever need and we got to share a meal as a family in the huge kitchen. The rooms were large, beds were comfortable and each separate family had there own space and bathroom which was very nice. There was something for everyone we were ages 2-67. Any beach item you would need is provided. The views from the deck
Were spectacular and we spent lots of time out there enjoying the dolphins. Our vacation could not have been better and neither could this house. Thanks for the use of your beautiful home and thanks for allowing us to make some memories with our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Austin, TX
5

Great Family Vacation House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This house was a good choice for several families to stay together. We each had our own space and a bathroom to ourselves. The bedrooms are arranged far enough apart that we could not hear the other family members; babies crying during the night, young adults staying up late and old folks getting up early. The web listing is accurate as to the distance from the beach and well worth the walk to be on a beachfront that wasn't overcrowded. The two decks were nice to hang out on with plenty of chairs and a table. The house was well equipped with plenty of kitchen items, tv's, games and beach toys. We enjoyed the pool that was available for our use a short walk from the house. It was nice having a full size washer and dryer to do our beach towels and swimwear. The kids had a great time the day we went in to town to ride go karts and play putt putt. I would recommend this property to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Asheville, NC
5

Happy Nana!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family stayed at Tropical Dunes last year and we were all so excited to return. This home offers so much in amenities. The home is very pretty and well appointed. It is located on the beach and offers two pools if that is your pleasure as well as an exercise room. We like the privacy of being a little farther out since we are there to gather as a family and we have five grandchildren all under the age of 7. I read some of the comments and I am sad for the owner as we have just not experienced the issues that are being written about. Anyone who knows me, knows I am a stickler for cleanliness and this home has always been clean when we arrived and stocked with everything and anything you would need for the beach and in the kitchen. We look forward to many more annual beach trips to "Nana's Blue House on the Beach". Sorry, Carla - that's what the kids call it. As for me, I thank you Carla, for taking such great pride in your home and giving us a great home to gather each year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Knxville, TN
4

Everthing we wanted without the crowds

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a perfect get away for 5 couples not interested in crowded beaches. The house was lovely with plenty of room. There were more games and toys than we needed, yet we managed to take advantage of them. I would have given this an "Excellent" rating if the grocery, etc. wasn't such a drive; however, the remoteness was exactly what we wanted. The staff certainly deserves an "Excellent" because we accidently left a travel jewelry case that the cleaning staff found and shipped to us! Their honest and integrity is rare in the industry. It is teams like this that make VRBO a great company to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Single Gulf Front Home, 2 Pools indoor/outdoor WiFi hot tub by NATURE RESERVE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p217041
770-330-1354
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
2

Not horrible, just very disappointing

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The first thing that had to be done when we arrived was wash down all the countertops. There were crumbs on the surfaces. Then it rained really hard our first full day, and we had to use our towels to mop up the deluge of water coming in around the windows in both the dining room and living room. Then to top it off, we fought ants all week. First they came in around the doors then they started coming in around the electrical outlets. The pictures on the web are out of date and misleading. You cannot walk out directly onto the beach, you must use the boardwalk which takes you down about four houses before you turn back toward the beach. In fact, you can't even see the street level from the beach because of the dunes. It at least doubles the distance to the beach if not more, especially if you sit up your stuff in front of the house. This also means that you can't sent your young children to the house alone to use the bathroom because you can't see them get there. You have to get up and go with them. They also do not mention the view of the drilling platforms. That wasn't exactly my vision of the beach, and it certainly takes away from the beach experience. Not to mention that we paid $2000 more for this place than we've been paying in Destin. It was our hope to find a place that we could return to year after year, but this place isn't it. It certainly wasn't worth it, and we won't be back.
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, it rained for 7 days straight during this family's stay. We understand that it’s hard to be in a good mood when you spend your entire vacation in the rain, and it comes across in their review. We have rented this property for 10 years. I have NEVER had a review like this before. We have almost 80 reviews – all positive! This is almost a record at the VRBO site!
I would like to point out that we did not receive a single phone call or email from this guest during the entire stay! If we had been contacted, we would have done everything within our power to help make these guests more comfortable.
1. The rain and wind came from all directions during 7 days. Gulf front properties are totally exposed to rain and wind and ALL of them will have leaks of some sort when it rains this much. We have spent more than $10,000 on preventive work, but nothing is 100% bullet proof.
2. Ants and potentially other insects will look for a safe harbor with so much rain. We pay monthly for pest control services. A simple phone call would have taken care of this issue immediately.
3. Misleading pictures: if you look at our VRBO site you will easily see that our main picture of the house shows the boardwalk right in front of it! So I am not sure how our pictures can be misleading. It might be possible the guest inferred something that was not there? This is a gulf front home. A simple Google map search would have shown that clearly. I am puzzled by this comment.
4. The house is located at the Dunes Subdivision, it says as much in the VRBO site for the house. "Dunes" are piles of sand which are higher than compacted sand. Yes, they do obstruct some of your view at ground-level! Walking your children to the house is at your total discretion. We have a 9 and 11 year old and are totally fine letting them do that. But other people are entitled to think differently.
5. Anyone who has ever spent a vacation in Gulf Shores is aware of the fact that there are natural gas rigs on the horizon. We do not advertise that fact but do not hide it either. A small research on the subject or a simple question would have revealed that.
6. Perhaps what this family did not like about Destin is what drove them to change to Alabama in the first place. If that was not a good choice, I do not see how we should be blamed.
Summing up I would say most of these comments show a disappointment with the weather and the location, rather than our specific property.
Helpful votes: 4/6