Dauphin Island house rental - Welcome to Harmony!
Welcome to Harmony!
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Dauphin Island House Rental Photos and Description
HGTV Featured Home in Gated Community with Community Pool/Beach/Tennis

Is your week booked? Check our other listings, 152737 with private pool, and 211477, located on beautiful W. Fowl River.

This beautiful home is located on a cul-de-sac -- just a few minutes walk from the private community beach, swimming pool, tennis courts, and playground. Kids and adults alike will enjoy the ground-floor game room which has a snack kitchen, small pool table, and is adjacent to the outdoor living space with gas grill and outdoor dining area and deck overlooking the dunes. The ground-floor also features a bedroom and bath. The main floor is the main gathering area. The spacious dining table is ideal for family meals and games; and the comfortable living area is adjacent to the screened porch and open kitchen. Two bedrooms with queen beds and a full bath complete this floor. The master suite is on the third floor -- with access to the upstairs screened porch and a luxurious bath with separate tub and shower. A bunk room is adjacent to the second bath on this level. Make sure and scroll to the bottom of the listing to see a link to our web album with lots more pictures of our home!

A study with a porta crib (and fax machine!) provides a quiet getaway for reading, games, or sleeping!

Pets are Not allowed, And No smoking, please.

Amenities include a telephone, air-conditioning, satellite TV, a VCR, stereo, linens, a washer, dryer, and a gas (barbecue) grill. The full kitchen includes a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, ice maker, and cooking utensils.

Activities (on site or nearby) include hiking, biking, golfing, tennis, fishing, wildlife viewing, shopping, sightseeing, swimming, boating, sailing, water-skiing, surfing, windsurfing, parasailing, jet-skiing, and shelling. Also close by are restaurants and museums.

There's a lot to do on Dauphin Island! Visit the Dauphin Island SeaLab and Estuarium, Fort Gaines (a historic Civil War fort), and beautiful nearby Bellingrath Gardens. The whole island is a bird sanctuary. And especially during the spring and fall, you can see many different types of birds on their migratory trips.

Charter fishing is great.

You can charter boats for both fishing and sightseeing. Enjoy taking a boat ride to see the historic Sand Island Lighthouse.

You can also take a car ferry ride across Mobile Bay to visit the Gulf Shores area -- with its water parks and outlet malls. There are several seafood restaurants on the island, as well as a chocolate shop, bakery, and an ice cream shop! You can ride bikes on the bike trails which cover most of the island!

Our home is just a short drive to Mobile, Alabama, where you can visit many area museums such as the Exploreum Children's Museum or our brand new Mobile Museum of Art. In season, enjoy a Bay Bears baseball game, and the Mardi Gras! Mobile has a wonderful family-oriented Mardi Gras celebration.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family built our Dauphin Island getaway in 2002, as a place to escape, relax, and build family memories with our own family of 3 boys. We live in nearby Mobile, Alabama and are custom homebuilders, so if you decide you need your own Dauphin Island home, we can help with that, too!

Julie purchased this house in 2002

We love the East End of Dauphin Island for its quiet, residential feel. Located near the end of a cul-de-sac, we love the beautiful dune views and quiet street. Our neighborhood has a private community pool, private neighborhood beach access, and a tennis court. You can easily take long walks on the beach, down to the Audubon Bird Sanctuary, and back to the neighborhood via the bike/walking trail.

Because this is our personal family home, it is equipped how we like it to be! You'll find lots of coffee cups (Julie prefers tea, however), dishes, and cooking utensils. The kids will enjoy the big bucket of sand toys, scooters, and bikes, which we are happy to share with you though we can't 'guarantee' them. Our home was designed to provide a comfortable main living area for gathering with the whole family, yet also provide several different 'getaway' spots such as the back deck, hammock, or 3rd floor porches, when you just need a little quiet time!

20 Reviews of Property 216921 in Dauphin Island, Alabama

Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Clinton MS
5

Home at Harmony

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We spent a week of R & R. Easy access to a private beach. Loved the pool for night swims. We cooked our meals and enjoyed the mini reunion of our entire family from 2 yrs to 80 yrs. Plenty of room for everyone. Went fishing and everyone caught something. The locals were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed Hamburgers from The Loon Restaurant and pastries from the Local Bakery. The guys went golfing - bring your own clubs. The ones you rent were not much to write about. Otherwise is was enjoyable. The girls took the Ferry to Gulf Shores for some real shopping. Everyone enjoyed the relaxed home feel of the house and the quiet community.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

A great place to stay with children!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just got back from a week stay at Dauphin Island. Our family had a ton of fun on the island and at the house. It was perfect for little kids. We had 6 kids under 6 years old. They have a Nintendo 64 and a bunch of board games, puzzles etc.. It was just a short walk to the beach and they also have a bunch of bikes, wagons, scooters etc.., that we used to get there (even thought it's just a couple minute walk). The house was super clean and is in fantastic shape. We've rented a bunch of vacation houses and this is defenetley at the top of the list!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi, Greg, thanks so much for your kind words. I'm glad your family enjoyed our home, and that you made use of all the kid-friendly amenities! I hope you'll return!
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

10 year Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay at the Harmony home was amazing. My wife and I were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and fount this house to be a perfect blend of 1st class charm and a casual, inviting mood. We stayed with 2 other couple friends who were also celebrating 10 year anniversaries and the 3 levels of this house made an absolutely perfect fit. The neighborhood was quiet and the beach was only a short walk away. The bikes provided by the owners allowed to ride all over the island enjoying the warm sea breeze.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Chris for your kind words. I'm so glad that the anniversary celebration was a success. Your group is the perfect example of why our home is great for not only large families but for smaller groups to enjoy their own space. I hope you'll return!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
5

harmony

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is an amazing house. It is close to pool and beach. The house has everything for the kids too (beach toys, puzzles, games, general toys, and a ton of books) There is a beach cart and a wagon and coolers to bring stuff to the beach along with umbrellas and beach chairs. Cable tv and internet to research our day trips to new orleans and mobile. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out. We were a family group of 8 adults and 2 kids.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Memphis
5

Sunrise Sunset

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A spectacular vacation home and setting. We had seven adults and we could have added three or four more easily. Plenty of room. The house was clean, comfy, quiet, and completely stocked. Plenty of cookware, dishes, towels (also toys and games, if you bring the kids). The screened porches caught the southwest breezes from the Gulf. The hammock and chairs on the back deck provided lots of space for stargazing. The ice maker was very popular. The bikes were a nice bonus and made it easy to get to the Lighthouse Bakery, Skinner's Seafood and the Lending Library. It's not the most beautiful beach in the world. The natural gas rigs sort of disrupt the horizon. But the beach is a 2-minute walk (through lovely dunes) and it's perfectly situated to see the sunrise and sunset, not to mention the moonrise and moonset. The owners made everything easy; they were helpful and attentive but from afar. We did nothing and took all day to do it. It could only have been better if the house had been on the beach. Still, we didn't want to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, David, for your kind words. I'm glad that your group had a wonderful stay at our home. So glad you got to enjoy all the sun and moon scenery at our private white sand beach. We always enjoy our time there, away from the crowds! Thanks again for your stay!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Kansas City, MO
5

Gunnar&GwensMom

Gunnar&GwensMom
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed at the Harmony house from 3/17/2012-3/24/2012. This house had everything you could possibly need. It was stocked with high end amenities in every room. The guests in our group ranged from 7yrs old to 65yrs old and there were goodies for everyone. This house had every board game imaginable, a lending library for every age group, Razo scooters, fun cruising bikes, sand toys, beach umbrellas and tennis rackets. The home is at the end of a nice quiet cul-de-sac that made it nice for the kids to play without being worried about cars coming by. 3 of the bedrooms in this house are attached to bathrooms - so it's perfect for entire 3 families. There is so much room for everyone to have their own space and relax (inside or out). The locals were more than accomodating. We had a good time at the Pelican Pub and enjoyed a nice dinner at Barnacle Bills. The beach was a quick 4 minute walk to the soft sand beach. Tennis courts, playground, pool and shower house are so close too. The owners of this property called us to make sure the stay was going well and insure that we were enjoying ourselves. We hated to leave and look forward to going back. Thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jim, for your kind words! We work hard to keep our home in great condition for your family and ours! Hope you'll come back soon! And thanks, Gunnar and Gwen's Mom, too for letting me know you enjoyed our amenities!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Macomb, MI
5

A spring Break that really was a break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This place has it all. All you have to do is show up and have a good time. Even with rainy days there is plenty of space and lots of things to do. In a private gated community we felt safe letting the kids run a bit. The beach was great and the watter warm enough for swimming (in March!) We really hated to go home. The owners keep the place well maintained. What more could you ask for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jim, for your kind words! We work hard to keep our home in great condition for your family and ours! Hope you'll come back soon!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Houston, TX
5

Wonderful spring break!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Three generations thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful getaway! The home is so spacious and well laid out. There are several areas to get away and enjoy a good book. Two separate tv areas kept the kids occupied and we all enjoyed the screen porches. Pizza from Island Rainbow was yummy and the shrimp poor boys from the Common Loon were large and delicious. The bakery is a do not miss, especially on Sunday.
The kids loved all of the sand toys and bikes. The only downside was the fog. Apparently it is common here in the spring. Most days it burned off and it did add a spooky atmosphere as it would roll down the street.
This was our first visit to the lovely Alabama beaches but I suspect it will not be our last!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your stay! We're glad you enjoyed all that Harmony has to offer, and glad you took our hint about the Lighthouse Bakery and Island Rainbow being on the "do not miss" list! In fact, we visited BOTH today while doing our "between guests" work! So glad that you have discovered Dauphin Island!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
St Louis, MO/ Houston, TX/ Augusta, GA
5

Everything Needed and Wanted for a Great Family Get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We rented this home for a 3 generation family get together and get-away. Family ages ranged from 2 to 60's and we had everything we needed; from crib through bikes & toys, dvd player, gas grill,etc. Short walk to beach passing the pool and tennis court along the way; all of which got good use. Quiet beach island, but enjoyed fun day at water-slide and jet-ski rentals.
Highly Recommend. Owner very friendly and helpful.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words! We love having families sharing our home with all the generations! So glad you made good use of the neighborhood amenities, too! Thanks again for your visit, and come back soon!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dauphin Island Harmony Custom Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p216921
+1 251 533-1357
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Lebanon, Tn
5

One word....."WOW!"

One word....."WOW!"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our family, and 2 other groups of friends, just returned from 7 days of Heaven at the Harmony Beach home. I have never stayed in a place so well equipped to provide every possible need!! We loved the bikes, the outside seating, the hammock and we seriously appreciated all the beach chairs, umbrellas, and wagons!! What a huge help for traveling to and from the beach. Our weather was perfect. Only one day of clouds. We highly recommend eating at the Island Rainbow, the Pelican Reef, and Beaudeens. All serve great food. The house is as beautiful as the pictures show. Very comfortable beds, and plenty of room in the house to spread out. There were 9 of us total and never once did we feel cramped in the house. The owners have done an amazing job of keeping everything organized and made us feel very welcome to be there. It was an excellent experience and we highly recommend Harmony Home to anyone looking for a relaxing place to spend their vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that your family and friends had a wonderful time at Harmony Beach home! I especially loved seeing the photos you posted on our Harmony Beach Home facebook page! We look forward to having you visit again. Thanks so much for your stay and your kind words!
Helpful votes: 4/4