Raymond cottage rental - The A-Frame is secluded & Serene
The A-Frame is secluded & Serene
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Raymond Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 BR + sleeping loft +1st Floor sleep sofa. + Porch Bunk bed. Sleeps 8 1 Bath

Please check our availability calendar. The A-Frame is seasonal rental.

If you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing, summer vacation rental on a tranquil lakefront setting in the Sebago Lakes region of southwestern Maine, consider the rental of our very secluded A-Frame-style cottage. It's situated in a cove on the western shore of Crescent Lake in Raymond, Maine. The aframe cottege home is just three-eights of a mile from the main road (RT-85), along with only three other private homes. It's a fantastic location for couples or families with small children to reconnect. We supply your family with a canoe and two ride on kayaks.

On the first floor of this modern is a small but fully functional kitchen, an enclosed porch, a large deck overlooking the lake, a living room/dining area, and a full bathroom. The second floor has 2 BR, plus a 3rd Floor sleeping loft for 2 with two twin size beds. The living room has a sleep Sofa and Child's Screened Sleeping Porch has a Bunk Bed which accomodates two children.

The A-Frame has under gone major renovations in the spring of 2010 and 2011. The roof is new, the deck and railing is all new, all the windows have been replaced with double hung windows for better ventilation and viewing out. The Loft has all new pine paneling. The bunk beds in the loft have been replaced with larger twin beds. New wall to wall carpeting in the first floor, second floor and the Loft.

Best of all we remodeled the bathroom. The tub and shower are all new.

We have added a bunk bed on the side sleeping porch and have received many kudos from the kids. The whole A-frame has been resided and painted.

The second floor offers a master bedroom with a queen-size bed and lake view, and an open second bedroom with two twin beds. The third-floor loft has two twin beds. (The loft is not recommended for small children due to the steepness of the staircase leading up to it.)

This lakefront summer vacation rental offers fun for every member of your family. The sandy beach allows for a shallow entry into the lake. The L-shaped dock can accommodate your own 18-foot boat. Included in this summer rental is a 17-foot canoe and two Kayaks. We also provide a mooring bouy to park your own larger water craft.

There is a outdoor fireplace to gather around while toasting marshmallows in the evenings. The swimming in the clean, clear water is wonderful. The kids will enjoy the swim platform! And our well water is good to drink.

Bring your fishing gear, the fishing is great! Many bass tournaments are held during the year. We have two small

motorboats available to rent.

The lake and local area is wonderful for hiking, canoeing, swimming, fishing, or just plain relaxing. The view over the lake is simply beautiful; the loons are both audible and visible. A kayak ride down the Tenny Rivwer conects you to Panther Pond, which is about twice the size of Crescent Lake.

Choose 'A-Frame of Mine' and experience a tranquil setting for your next summer vacation!

.Please Note: State of Maine Lodging Tax increases to 8% starting 10/1/2013

More Details
Hide Details

37 Reviews of Property 215894 in Raymond, Maine

Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 37 reviews
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
ct
5

Week getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I can't even begin to explain how much fun our family had. It was amazing from start to finish! The house was the perfect size and had everything you need for a relaxing week. I am already looking to book for next summer. We spent lots of time on the dock fishing and swimming and even kayaking. The fire pit was fantastic for cooking and enjoying cool nights. The deck was amazing with gorgeous views. We enjoyed dinners in and out and lots of shopping at local stores. We will back for sure, great for kids of all ages. Thanks so much it was just what we all needed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Rochester, MA, USA
5

Perfectly relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The A-Frame was just what we had hoped for - a nice, simple place to enjoy a week on the water. Two of our sons joined us, along with their girlfriends. The sleeping arrangements are best for one set of adults and multiple children, as there's only one queen bed and the rest are twins.

We had terrific weather and made use of both kayaks and the canoe. If you want to rent one of the owner's aluminum boats, be sure to reserve early as we didn't realize that they have another larger cottage (the Lodge) next door and they also can reserve the boats.

We were thrilled to discover a bald eagle nesting just across the lake and at one point it sat in the pines right above the A-Frame! We also saw a porcupine, coyote and turtles - along with a few fish that my husband was happy to have caught.

A very relaxing vacation - with everything you need right there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
5

Wonderful lakefront house for a weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This A-frame house is absolutely perfect for a weekend getaway! The house is located on a quiet sidestreet and is just a few steps from serene Crescent Lake. The deck, yard, and dock are very private, and the house comes with free use of a canoe, kayak, or Sunfish. The owner Nancy provides a personal touch by giving recommendations for restaurants and suggestions on where to go fishing. The house itself is nice in terms of accommodations, with standard kitchen facilities, an up-to-date bathroom, and a comfortable bed with a great view of the lake. At only a 2.5 hour drive from the Boston area, this house provides an ideal weekend getaway for relaxation and fun in the sun. We can't wait to go back!
Owner's Response: We look forward to this young couple's return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Buckland, MA
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family had a wonderful time at the A-Frame. The A-Frame was clean, we were very pleased with the outdoor deck. It was large and the view from the deck was incredible. The sunrise was fabulous. I have wonderful pictures to enjoy for years. My husband, myself and our 3 sons, plus 2 girlfriends enjoyed our stay. We went swimming and boating. We loved having fires in the firepit and just sitting around talking and laughing. The weather was beautiful. There were plenty blankets, pillows and beds. The bunk beds on the porch were a hit with the boys. The A-frame was well stocked and I can't think of anything that the owners failed to think of for supplies, etc. The owner made us feel very welcome and was there when we arrived and also there the day we departed asking if there was anything they could improve on. I could not think of anything. What a wonder, peaceful location. We would definitely recommend the A-frame to our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Kingston, MA
5

Another great week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Nancy and Deke -

Thanks again for another great stay at the a-frame! We couldn't have asked for better weather and love the new additions to the house. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, beautiful sunrises, and the full moon coming up over the lake. Went out fishing every night in the motor boat and enjoyed a campfire on our return. Looking forward to 17th summer at the a-frame!
Donna, Dick, Laura and Tom
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Oley, Pennsylvania
5

Maine Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family of 6 decided to visit a Maine lake this year in lieu of Lake George, NY for something different. After reading all the reviews, we were certain this was the spot for us and after experiencing it for ourselves we were NOT disappointed.

We had a fabulous time and the A-frame was the perfect size for us. Considering we visited Maine during a heat wave and had extreme temperatures of 95 and above with little relief in the evening, but we placed fans in front of the windows upstairs to bring cool air in prior to bedtime and they worked out just fine.

We have two teenagers, a 7 and a 5 year old that loved the lake. They swam, kayaked, and canoed each day and could not get enough. We are not a big fishing family, so I cannot comment on the fishing aspect of the trip, but the floating dock was the highlight of their trip. Jumping and swimming off of the dock was the best part of their trip.

We also took many trips around the area to get the most out of Maine since we are from Pennsylvania. We went gem hunting in West Paris, which we absolutely loved. We saw the Snow Falls Gorge and visited Portland as well since it was within driving distance for us. We went to one waterpark in Saco (Aquaboggan) which the kids enjoyed and we still had time to sit by the campfire when we returned. .

We visited Wyndham and had one or two nice dinners out to enjoy the Maine cuisine, but mostly the kitchen had plenty of room for our normal family cookouts that we enjoyed each night.

Overall, we had a great time. We travel often along the entire east coast, and we would definitely stay here again if we decided to travel to Maine again.

In addition, the owners met us upon arrival and departure and we were impressed that they travel up from MA to do so for each of their tenants, it was a very personal touch to our vacation. I had a few questions before and during our stay and they were always very attentive and efficient with getting us anything we needed.

We enjoyed the opportunity to visit at a very reasonable and affordable price! Thanks

Dawn W (Oley, Pennsylvania)
Dawn
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Nashua, NH
4

Relaxing Week

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Thank you for a very enjoyable week. We spent a week in late August at the A-Frame. We have two children (aged 7 and 4) who absolutely loved swimming, jumping off the float, canoeing, kayaking, and sitting by the campfire. The weather was perfect the entire week. I would recommend this camp for a family of 4 who wants a rustic get-away offered by a cottage. The owners were very nice and responsive. With an eastern exposure, the master bedroom gets a beautiful view of the lake at night and sunrise (there are pull-down shades if desired). The downside of the eastern exposure and abundance of tall trees is that the cottage does feel a little damp. Also, being there in August, the third floor attic was very hot and somewhat unfinished, so I wouldn't recommend young children sleeping on the cots up there. There are small windows on both ends, but not much other ventilation in the attic. The two second floor rooms were fine though, and there was lots of giggling by our two children sleeping together in the next room, as they have separate rooms at home. All amenities were provided as described, including numerous life vests of all sizes, watercraft in good condition, a well stocked kitchen, and lots of firewood. Crescent Lake seems cleaner and healthier than other lakes we have visited in Maine. Although we didn't catch any fish from the dock, there is plenty of plant life for oxygenation, and during dawn and dusk we did see some jumping around. We took a nice canoe ride around the lake and up the adjoining river, where fishing was plentiful (the kids caught two striped bass and one sunfish as we paddled along). After a couple of days, the kids completely relaxed and the usual bickering went away. The town of Windham is about 10 miles away, with many activities (One day we went miniature golfing and out to dinner). So, although the cottage is "campy", this was a wonderful vacation that enabled us to enjoy the beauty of the outdoors. Just plop in a chair, put up your feet, read a book, and watch the kids play!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: For all those interested in fishing on Crescent Lake:

Here are the results of the second Fishing tournament held on Crescent Lake. The first was held on July4, 2009 with equal results.

August 19, 2009

Mr. E.....,

Our bass tournament on Crescent Lake on August 9, 2009 produced the following weights and winners.
This was a American Bass Anglers Weekend Tour Tournament and was the last tournament before the state fish-off. The winners advance to the states and then to the National Tournament in Florence, Alabama on September 30 through October 3.
The reason we choose Crescent Lake as one of our six qualifying tournaments is because it is a fish factory and the bass are always ready to hammer our lurers.This tournament was also a test for our club as we limited the number of fish to 4 instead of 5 fish as an experiment. .
Joe L.... won the tournament with 4 fish that weighed 15.86 pounds. He also had lunker that tipped the scales at 5.63 pounds. In second place was Shawn H..... with 3 fish that weighed 12.41 pounds including a 3.64 largemouth.In third place was Wayne H..... with 3 fish that weighed 9.41 pounds.
The weather was HOT, and sunny with a hefty breeze all day. The boat traffic was heavy all day and the beach was full of sunbathers. I would have preferred a little rain to keep the boaters off of the water but that' life.
Normally when we fish Crescent Lake the winning weights will be 16 to 20 pounds with a five fish limit. Even fourth place on a normal day would be in the 12 pound range.
It's too bad that the invasive plants have found their way to your lake. What we need is a few years of old-fashion ice that comes early and stays late to kill off these plants.
Yours on the water,
Wayne ......
Northeast Bassmasters and
State of Maine Director of:
American Bass Anglers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
richmond, texas
2

Third trip to Maine

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This was a third rental property in Maine and each time we've been very lucky with the property, however, this A Frame is a little run down, worn out furniture, disgusting pillows and the cleaning crew didn't remove the trash before we moved in. The really poor part of this vacation was the lack of fish- infact there were no fish. We were told by some locals that this lake has been deeply effected by imported fish and some new type of water plant, killing off the locat fish. The trash remained on the property for the entire week, we wasted $80 in fishing licenses and about $60 in fishing polls, we left on the property. On the upside, the property provided life jackets, one canoe, two sit on top Kayaks and a mini Sail Fish- lots of fun, great fire pit, with wood and plenty of sitting areas. The location was very close to the NH White Mountains and also close to Portland and Freeport- great location. I wouldn't recommend this property to a friend unless it was updated and cleaned inside, the bathtub was gross infact, we scrubbed it before using it. I would also suggest that this property be only used for a family of 4- the third floor is difficult to use, it's like an A Frame attict poorly modeled to house two beds
Owner's Response: We have been renting this property to tenants for 29 years and have many returning tenants.We greet all tenants upon arrival and meet them for departure. We address all complaints immediately. In fact we ask if there is anything we can improve when the tenants are departing the property. If we do not know about a problem we can't correct it.The American Bass Anglers are holding a fishing tournament on the lake in August and the Maine Bass Federation held a tournament on July 4th. I think it highly unlikely they would select Crescent Lake if it had a reputation for few fish.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
July 4 thru July 11, 2009
What a beautiful place, we wake up to 3 families of wild turkeys walking by the front - by the lake. The weather was hit and miss,the fishing not so good, but we had a fantastic time! What a fantastic place for family fun. Thanks for sharing all your equipment,kayaks and motorboat,life jackets etc.
This is a place we would happily return to. Thanks
Nickie, Pat, Nolan and Sam
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded and Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215894
(781) 444-3146 (home)
Raymond Sebago Lakes Region
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Despite rain and clouds 6 out of 7 days it was a great week. We kayaked 5 out of 7 dayss,fished(Caught a large mouth and small mouth bass and yellow perch) managed to have fun on our last night here and heard the loons. The sun came out on Friday and that was just what we needed!
Thank you so much for this slice of heaven! It was beautiful despite the weather! Thanks!
Amanda,Annette, zake and Bridgette
Helpful votes: 1/1