Coral Bay cottage rental - Bedroom Veranda
Bedroom Veranda
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Coral Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Lovely spacious cottage with ocean view in very quiet area

Astral Cottage is a charming new cottage in a secluded setting with tropical gardens and a full-size hot tub. This cottage is designed with two stories. The lower floor has a lovely sitting room that opens onto the hot tub deck. This top quality spa is an excellent spot for star gazing. The kitchen is a lovely whimsical room that takes advantage of the tropical setting to give guests an open air insect-free cooking and dining experience. Under roof and fully screened, you are surrounded by the local fauna, tropical plantings, banana trees, etc. The kitchen is very well equipped, has terra cotta counter tops and teak furniture.

The bedroom is located on the second floor to afford a beautiful view of Coral Harbor and the Moravian church from the four poster bed. It also has a covered deck, with a beautiful ocean view. The Cottage can be rented with the main house for larger groups but when rented individually, the two share no facilities other than the parking area.

13 Reviews of Property 215741 in Coral Bay, Virgin Islands

Astral Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Sunderland, Vermont
5

Wonderful Cottage in Coral Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
For Vermonters who had experienced lots of snow and sub zero weather this winter staying at Astral Cottage was a real treat. The location was wonderful. The cottage itself was extremely clean, well-maintained, and offered a real nice view of the Coral Bay area. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, and cooler were well used as we explored many of the area beaches and snorkeled them all. Enjoyed the hot tub several times. Did a kayak/snorkel with Hidden Eco-Tours (KayakSJ) and a sail/snorkel with the Kekoa catamaran. Both were wonderful. Area restaurants (Shipwreck, Aqua Bistro, Asolare, and Tourist Trap) quite good. Many thanks to Margaret, Diane, and Brian for all the excellent support in the booking, getting us there, and getting us home. Thanks also to Susan and her husband to a rapid response when the water pump needed some care. Want to come back to this cottage. Perhaps we'll bring some friends and take the main house as well. Until next time. Wade and Roberta Devlin-Scherer, Sunderland, Vermont.
Owner's Response: We are very happy that Astral Cottage provided a respite from such a cold weather, it sounds like you really took advantage of your stay. Thanks again for staying with us and also for taking the time to write a review. I know that future guests appreciate hearing not only about your experience at the cottage but about the activities you enjoyed. The crew will also be happy to hear that you enjoyed their help. Hope to see you again if you return to St. John! Susan
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Fantastic honeymoon hideaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I would give Astral Cottage, Calabash Cottages, and all of their staff 5 out of 5 stars for every component of our stay. The place was exactly as pictured, even with the same view as in this photo! We enjoyed waking up every day to that beautiful scenery with nothing but the "jungle noises" around us. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!
The best part is that the place is set up so that each cottage houses only 2 people. This meant that there was a great deal of privacy and we felt isolated (in a good way!).
Amazing place to stay for quite an affordable price (especially compared to the resorts on the island), and gives you the sense of being in "home away from home".
The staff were super helpful, even when our water filter stopped working at 7 am one day and we called them to report it, they fixed it within 20 minutes (and you have to drive up a dirt road on the side of the mountain to get to the house!).
Owner's Response: Thanks, Gina, for such a nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope we see you on another visit to the island. Thanks again for staying at Astral Cottage. Susan
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Wonderful honeymoon stay at Astral Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed in Astral Cottage for our honeymoon and we loved everything about it! The cottage was perfect for us. We loved the split level layout and the view from the balcony could not be beat. Everything was clean and neat and even better than we expected. Susan and her staff provided excellent customer service to us while we were planning and our trip and once we arrived. We really appreciated being provided with a greeter who met us at the ferry dock, took us to get our rental jeep, get groceries, and then guided us out to the cottage. He also provided some really great recommendations on restaurants, beaches, etc. We were very happy we stayed in Coral Bay and really enjoyed the slower pace as compared to Cruz Bay. All in all, we had a wonderful time here and hope to come back one day!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Great Thanksgiving GetAway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Astral Cottage. We had rain showers at night which encouraged the frog chorus to provide a most magical sound. The views of Coral Bay are terrific and Susan was terrific in checking in on us and helping us get a car arranged, etc. The east end of the island is definitely where you want to be and you can't help but find great snorkeling and some great walking too. The cottage is indeed up a dirt road (you want a 4-wheel drive jeep), but there is no noise or traffic. There are several great places to eat close by and yet you can cook at Astral too (or barbecue on the provided gas grill). We found coffee and breakfast on the deck or in the screen enclosed kitchen quite nice. You won't be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I cannot find words to describe the beauty of St. John and Astral Cottage. My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon, and it was the perfect spot for us! It is truly secluded and private, and it allows you to feel so close to nature and luxury all at once. We were so content that we spent the first entire day just enjoying the cottage, and we spent every night watching shooting stars from the hot tub. This place is romantic and adventurous!

It was great having Bruce, our greeter, meet us at the ferry and take us on a shopping trip. The roads are part of the fun, and Bruce made it very easy to navigate the terrain and settle in. The cottage is clean, fully equipped, and in our opinion it had everything.

We highly recommend Astral Cottage and cannot wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Incredible place for our anniversary trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife and I visited St. John for our 10th anniversary, and we chose to stay at the Astral Cottage based on the pictures and other reviews. We weren't disappointed! I had a blast driving to the out-of-the-way location on the east side of the island, and even climbing the steep hill in the jeep was fun. The cottage itself was fantastic, and just what we were hoping for.

The views of Coral Bay were great, and we loved eating our breakfast on the 2nd floor deck off the bedroom, where we could enjoy the view. We loved having the kitchen for breakfasts, and we bought fresh fish and fruit at the market and used the grill for several of our dinners, to save money.

It was great to have WiFi available, so we could look things up and plan our days. We barely used the living room area, only watching a movie once during our week-long vacation, but it was nice to have it there, and would have been needed if we were more than just 2 people (we did use the downstairs bathroom a few times).

I would highly recommend this place. It's absolutely breathtaking, and a wonderful location.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Chattanooga, TN
5

We're returning visitors, 5 years and counting...

We're returning visitors, 5 years and counting...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The easy comfort and privacy of Astral Cottage make this a relaxing getaway for us two. We prefer the quiet life, so the balconies and the pretty gardens (including a fruiting banana tree) offer plenty of serenity. The open screened two floors provide views of Coral Bay from sunrise to sunset. All the great turquoise beaches are just a short drive--and the beach chairs, snorkel gear, and cooler are provided. We BBQ in or head to any of the different restaurants nearby, or hop over Cruz Bay for fine dining or head out on a boat.
The home is nicely furnished, all the necessary reservations are quickly handled by the owners, and they stay in contact frequently with helpful suggestions. Little is left to do but pack, and each year we find we need less and less...
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Weatogue, Connecticut
5

A magical place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I don't know where to begin! The cottage was one of the most beautiful and serene places I have ever stayed. I would be selling it short by saying it was "an upscale treehouse" yet the privacy and the lush surroundings almost made it like Swiss Family Robinson meets Four Star hotel. The view was spectacular, and on one rainy (brief!) morning, we viewed a beautiful double rainbow while sipping coffee on the balcony off the bedroom.

The management staff was incredibly attentive, answering questions well in advance of our trip and checking in with us during our trip to make sure everything was meeting our expectations.

The only negative would be the road leading up to the cottage - a bit bumpy! However, I think this is a small price to pay for the expansive view and privacy obtained once the cottage is reached.

I would definitely recommend staying in this cottage, especially if you desire a bit of peace and quiet on a less traveled part of St. John.
Owner's Response: Dear Monica and Mick,

Thank you for the lovely review. Knowing that you have been to St. John numerous times makes it that much sweeter to us that you were so pleased. I hope we see you again. Susan
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Astral Cottage......absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We looked for weeks for the perfect spot for our 25th anniversary trip. The cottage delivered on everything the pictures promised and more.

Susan and her staff were awesome. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Every detail was explained in advance and lots of extra information and advice was offered when we arrived.

The house is nestled into the foliage on the side of a hill with stunning views from every window and balcony. Very clean and well maintained, with attention to every detail.

The island itself is amazing with one gorgeous beach after another.
Our new favorite thing to do....snorkeling! We saw many different kinds of coral, fish, turtles, a manta ray and even a shark! The snorkeling gear, coolers beach chairs, etc. was all provided at the cottage.

When it rained during our visit, we were happy to just stay at the cottage and enjoy the hot tub, the hammock and the grill. Just the most perfect place in the world to relax and unwind! We'd recommend this
cottage to anyone looking for a perfect romantic getaway.

Our thanks to Susan, Paul, Diane and Jenn for everything!
Can't wait to see you all again!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Suzy and Paul,

Thanks for your visit and your kind words about Astral Cottage. We are very happy that your stay was so enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St. John! Susan
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Astral Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215741
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
madison wi
5

one week in paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My husband and I just returned from a week at the Astral Cottage. It was absolutely wonderful! The view and location are amazing. Every morning as we sat on the deck with our coffee we marveled at the view. We were 10 minutes from several beautiful uncrowded beaches with great snorkeling, also close to great places to eat. The "cottage" is actually a beautiful luxurious home. It really is as beautiful as it looks in the photos. It is very private so perfect for a romantic vacation. (The shower is a special treat. You have to experience it to appreciate it.) everything we needed was supplied- snorkel gear. beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, full kitchen set-up (including coffee grinder and blender). It was perfect!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3