Coral Bay house rental - Courtyard facing bay
Courtyard facing bay
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Coral Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Astral Ridge is a rare find! To be able to enjoy this sublime view, from sunrise to moonrise, from such an elegantly beautiful home is transporting. The classic Caribbean style of this home is enhanced by beautiful tropical garden areas and lacks no amenity. The courtyard welcomes the visitor to enjoy a sunny afternoon beside a tranquil stone-edged swimming pool or to enjoy a good book from the shade of the covered porch.

The newly built home consists of two buildings on either side of the courtyard: On one side is a lovely bedroom with a four poster bed that looks out over the open air hot tub, the Caribbean Sea and nearby islands. There is a large, well appointed bathroom with interior and exterior showers that also boast gorgeous views.

On the other side of the courtyard you will find the living room, dining room and kitchen as well as a second bath. The mahogany kitchen is a beautifully designed blend of modern convenience and inviting charm. The dining room looks out over one of the nicest views to be found on the island and has an additional seating area that encourages the guest to linger.

The Coral Bay location of Astral Ridge is ideal in that it provides the visitor with quiet seclusion while still being close to restaurants and beaches. There are six different restaurants within two miles of the villa ranging from ultra-casual beach side cafes to fine dining. Salt Pond Beach is a few minutes further and offers one of the finest swimming options on the island. Kayaking, sailing, hiking and snorkeling are all nearby and snorkeling gear is provided for your use.

Keywords: Private secluded villa rental on St. John Virgin islands with ocean view, spa and pool. Romantic tropical house / villa with water view, hot tub. Perfect honeymoon home, couples getaway in Coral Bay. Nearby beach, restaurants and shops. Internet access.

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 21726 in Coral Bay, Virgin Islands

Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Exceptional Property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We have stayed in multiple properties over the years and I have to admit often times the pictures are not exactly what the property looks like upon arrival. This is not the case with Astral Ridge!! The property and views are exquisite! The house is beautifully decorated and well stocked with everything you need for a perfect vacation! I have never seen a view as beautiful and private as what is offered from the pool, deck, hot tub, bedroom, etc... I would highly recommend Astral Ridge!
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We're happy that you chose Astral Ridge and happier still that you enjoyed it so much. Susan
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Ohio, USA
5

S&S

S&S
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Astral Ridge is the most beautiful villa situated on a hillside with million dollar views! My husband and I celebrated our 35th anniversary, visiting St. John for the first time. We've been to other Caribbean locations and this was one of our favorites. The service we received from Susan and her staff was exceptional all the way around. St. John is top notch for hiking and snorkeling. We saw sea turtles several times and highly recommend the Ram Head hike from Salt Bay Pond Beach! We loved staying on the East end of the island, away from the crowds and nightlife. We had easy access to beautiful beaches and great restaurants. The pool and hot tub were great amenities, along with a fully equipped kitchen, living area, outdoor showers, grill, snorkeling equipment, etc. Everything you need for an awesome vacation. Not to mention the views from the villa, situated to catch both the sunrises and sunsets (and starry, starry nights) while listening to the tree frogs and watching the hummingbirds. The landscaping was lush and beautiful - giving you both tropical beauty and privacy. You do need a 4WD to get up the road and driveway, but it's the perfect top-scale getaway in the middle of a secluded tropical paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We celebrated our honeymoon for a week at Astral Ridge. It was so lovely!! Susan was SO helpful is setting everything up for us (rental car, ferry ride, transpiration to the ferry from the airport) and was so responsive and nice. Our flight plans got really screwed up on the way down and Susan stepped right in to change our transportation arrangements and times for us as soon as we told her about the delay. It was so great to not have to worry about changing everything around ourselves. She also offered to have someone go to the grocery store for us since we would arrive after the stores closed and wouldn't have anything for breakfast. So sweet and thoughtful. The property itself is spectacular. The view is UNREAL. The pool and hot tub were clean, the bathrooms were a great size, and the living spaces were awesome. The kitchen was well supplied with pots and pans and dishes and cooking tools. We mostly cooked for ourselves every night (Starfish Market had the best groceries, avoid the smaller markets) but we did go to Aqua Bistro (not far from the house) a few times. Definitely rent a Jeep when you book Astral Ridge. Getting up that hill is a challenge and you HAVE to have 4 wheel drive. The view at the top is worth it though!! It was a little buggy when we were there because it had been raining a lot before we arrived so buy some bug spray if you want to sit outside for awhile. There isn't AC in the unit but each room has ceiling fans and that was enough on most nights. The house is about a 15-20 minute drive from the small downtown area but it's a beautiful drive and you pass a lot of amazing beaches on the way! We had such a great stay and would definitely recommend it and would certainly return! Thank you so much!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Amazing location overlooking Coral Bay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This property is even more impressive than portrayed in the photos. The views from the patio area are absolutely incredible, including the landscaping surrounding the property. Everything was very clean. The kitchen was stocked with all necessities (pots, pans, utensils, etc). Brand new grill outside with accessories. Beach chairs, snorkeling gear, coolers, umbrellas, etc were all included and extremely helpful.

The property is very close to several different restaurants/bars (Aqua Bistro / Skinny Legs / Tourist Trap / Chateau Bordeaux all recommended) and convenience stores on the East End of the island.

We especially enjoyed Salt Pond Bay, Maho Bay, Francis Bay, Jumbie Beach, Ram's Head Trail Hike, etc. Use the provided books at the house to plan your trip!

Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Mill Valley, CA
5

Truly Paradise in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My new go to 'happy spot'....my desktop picture...my facebook cover picture...I can't believe we were lucky enough to spend a week at Astral Ridge. We loved staying up for days! Surely the stargazing, the hot tub, the lizard watching, the sea....all kept us in a blissful trance. Miss Lucy's for late lunch and take out...Trunk Bay and Hawksnest beaches...all just incredible. We live in California and the easy trip to Hawaii has kept us from St John for a too long 7 years. Now, we are so hoping we can return to the beauty and bliss of another Astral Ridge stay sooner, so sooner than that! Thank you Susan and Diane...a truly magical, memorable place....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
United States
5

Spectacular Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Diane and Jenn were awesome during the planning of our vacation and our arrival. They were both very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home right away. Housekeeping had welcomed us with a beautiful vase of tropical flowers and greenery from our gardens.

Words and pictures cannot fully describe the beauty of this place. Although we are from the Carolinas, I must admit that I am spoiled to closed windows and air conditioning in the summertime. After the first night we quickly realized that windows and AC would have ruined this experience. The fresh, cool breezes felt great and the surrounding tropical flowers and trees make the house smell wonderful.

As mentioned by other guests, the driveway is rough and does take some getting used to. By the end of the second day, my husband and I both were managing the 4-wheel drive very well.

I was a little intimidated by the lizards at first but we got along just fine. My husband and I developed an adult beverage that we fondly named 'Lizard-ade'.

We spent many hours just lounging on the patio, in the pool and hot tub and taking in the incredible view. But, we also enjoyed exploring the island. We highly recommend Salt Pond Bay, Vi's Beach, Overhaul Bay for kayaking with Jenn (yes, the same one) and many other beautiful beaches. We truly enjoyed eating at Shipwreck Landing, Aqua Bistro, Donkey Diner, Miss Lucy's and Skinny Legs.

Coral Bay is on the casual side of St John so we learned very quickly that we packed too many dress up clothes. Next time, and there will be many next times at Astral Ridge, we will pack swimwear, shorts, t-shirts, cover-ups and flip flops.

What a spectacular getaway to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary and our 60th Birthdays.

Thank you Susan, Diane and Jenn. We will see y'all again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank's for spending your anniversary at Astral. Letter's like yours are the best part of our job. We appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review will be looking forward to your next visit. Susan
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Outstanding Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Words really can not describe this villa. The pictures are spot on. It is a wonderful, romantic sanctuary and you will not be disappointed. It is very secluded and private, even with Astral Cottage directly behind it. The roads do take a bit of getting used to and you will have lots of friendly geckos (lizards) to keep you company. We would not hesitate to visit again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Astral Ridge is an awesome get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I just returned from a week at Astral Ridge to celebrate our 50th birthdays! The house was everything and more. Gorgeous view, wonderful amenities, lovely and captivating landscaping(lots of hummingbirds), and ultra private. We love staying in Coral Bay as it is fun and quirky, and close to the best beaches (Francis, Maho, and Salt Pond). We also spent a few days just lounging at the house, relaxing and enjoying the pool and the view, and the stars from the hot tub by night. The house is wonderfully equipped and very comfortable! We cooked the majority of our meals, but enjoyed eating breakfast at Donkey Diner, dinner at Aqua Bistro and Skinny Legs. Great snorkeling at Waterlemon, Francis (turtles!), and Salt Pond. We had an amazing week and look forward to visiting again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Brandon, Mississippi
5

Beyond My Most Elegant Dreams!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Let me start by saying we'd originally booked Astral Cottage, but to my surprise my honey upgraded us to Astral Ridge! I would've been happy with the cottage, but WOW! Astral Ridge is amazing! When we returned from beach hopping, we went b/t the hot tub and the pool. There were many vanilla rum and root beers consumed here every afternoon. We grilled out twice and soaked up the views.

The views are amazing and the pictures do not do this home justice. It's even more beautiful in person. The vegetation has grown and you cannot see Astral Ridge from the cottage at all. You can see the cottage from the parking area, but not the hot tub and hammock. Complete privacy for both homes.

The kitchen was better equipped than mine at home! Coffee grinder, blender, all utensils you will need. There were spices and other non-perishables left from previous guests as well as some alcohol and mixers. Before you buy these things, I suggest looking at the house first. We liked Starfish Market the best, although Lilly's was good for little things.

The road up is not that bad. I guess being from Mississippi and having experience with "off-roading" we thought it was fun. It poured every night around 0200-0400, but the road was never muddy in the morning.

As far as no airconditioning, I keep my house at 73 degrees in the summer and only got too hot one night. I can probably blame that on too much rum and sun :-). The floor and ceiling fan was enough for us.

I was a little nervous when i found out there werent any locks on the doors, but after the first night I never really thought about it again. I live outside a city with a ridiculous crime rate and it was nice to sleep with the windows open and enjoy it. There's a safe to lock your valuables in. I must warn you about the 2 peeping toms I encountered EVERY NIGHT in the shower. As soon as I turned on the light, Larry and Leonard the lizards would hop on the window sill and eat the bugs that were coming to the light while I showered! Tell me lizards aren't smart. I miss them.

Diane called and checked on us when she could catch us at the villa. Jen was wonderful with suggestions and surprising me with the upgrade!

From Skinny Legs, to Miss Lucy's, to Francis Bay to the Stinky Donkey Dip and the morning rush hour of goats, I enjoyed every second of my stay at Astral Ridge. Unfortunately we have to skip a year before returning, but I would not hesitate to stay here again and have already recommended it to others!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Astral Ridge: Elegantly Beautiful, Pool & Spa, Gardens, Quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21726vb
+ (340)-776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Most gorgeous place we've ever been!

Most gorgeous place we've ever been!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We spent a week at Astral Ridge for our honeymoon. The view has to be the best on St. John! We were totally secluded (minus the tiny lizards that live on the property.) We utilized the pool and hot tub almost daily and used the kitchen to cook breakfasts. We were conveniently located to many great food spots. My husband enjoyed fly fishing on the flats at Johnson's Bay.
Brian will meet you as you exit the ferry from St. Thomas and take you to get your rental car and groceries, then escort you to the villa. He had many helpful recommendations for places to eat and snorkel.
Diane and Susan will help you anything else that you need. They will arrange your jeep rental and transportation from the airport to the ferry if so desired.
Best honeymoon ever! We are already planning a trip back next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3