Huddleston cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Huddleston Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Avoid the noise and crowds of condos with this remodeled, two-story cottage; a wonderful lake retreat in the woods. Enjoy clean lake water, sailing, fishing for champion striped bass, jet-skiing and water-skiing -- all while taking in fantastic views of Smith Mountain and the main channel (Marker R-2/C-1).

The natural beach combined with a floating dock will keep the kids entertained while mom and dad enjoy the fantastic view, covered dock and screened porches. For the fisherman, the citation stripers await your arrival. Mitchel's Marina is within walking distance for launching boats, food and tackle. A deep water boat slip adjoins the floating dock. The house is 1500 square feet. The upstairs contains two bedrooms, a full kitchen, family room and screened deck. The downstairs has a full bath, extra bedroom, den, washer and dryer and screened porch.

ITEMS NEEDED AND PLACES TO VISIT:

All you need for a complete vacation is your bed linens, towels (bath and lake), soaps, paper products, trash bags and toiletries. Rental periods are weekly from Saturday afternoon at 4:00 pm until Saturday morning at 10:00 am. A $200.00 refundable security deposit is required.

Nearby: The National D-Day memorial is 30 minutes down the road in Bedford VA. If you want some variety you can drive, motorcycle or hike the scenic Blue Ridge mountains or the Peaks of Otter which are just 45 minutes away. 'Explore Park' near Roanoke and Thomas Jefferson's Poplar Forest residence near Lynchburg are less than an hour away. NASCAR's Martinsville race, held twice a year, is also a one and half hour drive. Booker T. Washington's and Jubal Early's childhood homes are a short drive from the lake. Charlottesville (Monticello and University of VA) and Blacksburg, VA (Home of Virginia Tech) are just two hours away. Ferrum College is one hour away.

Keywords: cottage, house

More Details
Hide Details

37 Reviews of Property 354074 in Huddleston, Virginia

Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
average rating of 4.882353 based on 37 reviews
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Richmond, VA
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the house. We were looking for a relaxing time and found exactly what we were looking for. The area is pr...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
We had a wonderful time during our stay at the house. We were looking for a relaxing time and found exactly what we were looking for. The area is pretty secluded so if you're looking for privacy, you'll find it.

There was a family of deer that would come around the lake in the mornings. The screened in porch is a great feature and was a great spot to enjoy the views of the lake.

The owners were very accommodating regarding any questions we had. I would visit again....
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Saudi Arabia
5

We had a blast!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We (My wife, 2 daughters ages 6 months, and 3 years, 2 nieces ages 6 and 8 years, and I), truly enjoyed our week at this house. I am from this area, but have lived in Saudi Arabia for 11 years. We rented another lake house one cove over last year, but really fell in love with this one. From the moment you walk in, you feel right at home. We loved the "feel" of this house from the start. We also loved the views from the dock, and did our fair share of swimming. Alice and her father-in-law, Dale, are more than helpful and resolved any problems we had (only very minor problems) very promptly. She even refunded a part of the rental for a minor problem faced with the TV. I would recommend renting a boat...hard to fully enjoy the lake without one at least for 2 days. I would recommend this property to anyone, and next time we visit the SML area, we will definitely try to book this property early. Thanks again Alice.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Lovely week at the the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I, and our two girls (ages 7 & 8) enjoyed a lovely 4th of July week vacation at the lake. The house was not fancy, but it was clean, and big enough for the four of us. It has a nice location in a fairly quiet cove, and close to Mitchell's Marina where we rented a boat for the week and ate several meals. I enjoyed relaxing on the screened-in porch, and down on the covered dock during the mornings and evenings, especially early in the week. Once the 4th of July holiday arrived, it was a bit less peaceful on and near the lake, but that is to be expected. We would definitely consider staying at this property again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Midlothian, VA
4

Midlo Lender

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nice dock, well stocked kitchen, good layout of rooms and comfortable mattresses. Enjoyed boating on the lake and looking a t the lovely homes from the water.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Great house, great cove, great lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a great week at this home in SML. The description and reviews helped us pick this home Plus we knew the area as friends had a place in the next cove south 5 yrs ago. Nothing "fancy" but served our purpose. It is in a convenient location within walking distance to Mitchels Marina and also easy drive to new Trading Post convenient store. There is a canoe and sailboat for use around the cove. We believe having or renting a boat is a must to see more of the lake. We decided on a pontoon boat for 2 days from Mitchels. We would probably do 3 next time. We used theFlat Screen TV very little, dock and upper screened in porch a lot! The owner was very helpful and even called to see how things were going mid week. I have already recommended this house to family and friends and hope to go back myself!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I have just returned home to Alabama after spending four days at your vacation home at Smith Mountain Lake. My four sisters and I thoroughly enjoyed every day we were there---and, you made it so easy for us to add an additional day to our stay.
As we drove through the area, each of us commented that we were so glad that we chose your home as our rental. The house was clean, well maintained and beautifully landscaped. We felt totally at home, safe and totally relaxed as we enjoyed the lake and scenic area.
We dedicated one afternoon and evening to fishing from your dock. It has been a long time since we enjoyed fishing as a "sisters' activity", but it didn't take us but a few minutes to start pulling fish from the lake. Thanks for the memories.
All types of restaurants and foods were available to us within a short driving distance. The sweet potato pancakes soon became a favorite.
Thanks for your prompt return of the security deposit--it was in my mailbox when I returned home.
Alice, thank you for providing a wonderful home and vacation spot for "five older sisters" to spend time together in a safe and very enjoyable environment. Your number will be the only number we will call when we choose Smith Mountain Lake as our reunion place.
Thank you again for making the rental so easy and following up to make sure everything was satisfactory to us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

5 of a Kind - Sisters Annual Get-together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My four sisters and I leased this property for our annual get-together. The owner was most gracious in accommodating our requests. This home and grounds were beautifully maintained. The serene wooded surroundings and the beautiful lake were perfect for a much needed getaway. Time spend lounging on the dock was most precious. Catching up on each of our families' happenings, reminiscing childhood memories and perhaps adding new ones, too. The restaurants were within a short driving distance and their menus offered a wide variety of excellent choices.
Would I recommend this location for your vacation........without reservation. Oops, you will need to make a reservation.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

FABULOUS vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Great, relaxing, cozy spot for family and friends. The cove is a wonderful fishing, and swimming hole. The dock is great for drinks and hanging out. House is cute and plenty of space for friends. Had a blast! Can't wait to do it again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

HAD A BLAST; KIDS HAD SO MUCH FUN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This was one of the best vacations yet. The water was so clear. The grill was one of the best i've ever used. The flat screen TV good bonus; however had so much fun outside, we did not get to use it. The key to kid fishing is salmon eggs and a very small hook. They are now experts; caught 3 each. A very quiet and cozy little home. Downstairs very cozy also; great for other couple or teens. Very clean, well maintained, very quiet, will definately return. Huge dock both opened and covered one. Can't wait for the water to warm up for swimming. The owners are so nice and very helpful in every aspect of renting, vacationing and filling out the application for the place.
God Bless!
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our vacation home and for the kind words! It was a pleasure having your family at Smith Mountain Lake. We look forward to your return. All the best, The Whiteis'
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation to Remember on Smith Mountain Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354074vb
+1 469-247-4632
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Feels like our second home.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family has stayed at this property for 8 years in a row - that in itself should tell you how much we love it!
It'a a great location - quiet neighborhood, sandy beach, dock for fishing, swimming, or tying up your boat.
The cove this house sits on is a beautiful location - fairly secluded but with open water and mountain views, plus close to a marina.

The house itself is great. with modern appliances (but no automatic dishwasher - no big deal for us though.)
There are two screened in porches for lounging around, eating, or just looking at the lake....although we spend almost all of our time down on the dock. The dock has electrical power, a table and chairs, and is a fantastic place for hanging out, swimming, or fishing.

Back to the house - it's been constantly maintained and upgraded during the 8 years we've been going there - most recently with a new flat panel TV to go with the satellite TV service. There's also a DVD player, and another TV on the lower floor.
New this year is also a nice gas grill.

Did I mention there's a canoe and sail boat there for your use also? Very nice.

The owners are great and a father-in-law lives next door who is also great and helpful.

We love this place and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great relaxed time at Smith Mountain lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2