Northport house rental - Early morning fog over Knight's Pond –a view from the house
Early morning fog over Knight's Pond –a view from the house
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Northport House Rental Photos and Description
Lake and Mountain Views with 4+ bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 8-10

Perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, this wonderful back-to-nature retreat features a recently built, three story vacation home perched on a bluff with spectacular views of a pristine undeveloped lake called Knight's Pond, and an idyllic guest cottage tucked in the woods (optional) as well. Its like having a lake all to yourself, with mountains and ocean nearby. The house is spacious, crafted with handsome pine interior floors and woodwork, and artfully decorated in the traditional Maine style. A romantic guest cottage is available for larger groups. The lake is surrounded by land owned and managed by the Nature Conservancy, and provides excellent swimming, camping and boating. This private island of natural beauty is surrounded by tens of thousands of acres of conservation woodlands, and is just 1 1/2 miles to the ocean and 1/3 to the nearest neighbor! There's a delightful sandy beach on the lake, and incredible hiking trails all around the area! Though it is located in the 'backwoods', it is only a short drive to Camden, Belfast and other coastal towns.

Just move in an enjoy the beauty and solitude: There are several living room areas for guests to find privacy and quiet. A canoe is available to guests, and we suggest bringing your own kayak, either for lake, river or bay. Biking on nearby roads or on the many islands in the bay is outstanding. Incredible wilderness hiking is right out the door on a variety of trails around the lake, along the Ducktrap River, on the hills and mountains, or even right down to Ducktrap Harbor on Penobscot Bay. For those who love ocean water, there are many different types of charter craft operating locally. Salt water and fresh water fishing opportunities abound. In addition, ferries to Islesboro, Monhegan and Vinal Haven are within driving distance.

While the location is unique for its spectacular setting in one of the few remaining wilderness settings in downeast Maine, it is only a short drive away to many of Maine's special coastal attractions and communities. There is always something to do, hiking, fresh and salt swimming, canoing, island hopping, exploring seafaring towns and villages, golfing at a world class golfc ourse overlooking the ocean, sea kayaking in Penobscot Bay, mountain climbing, sitting out on the harbor, deep sea fishing in the bay, antiquing, browsing the art colonies of Blue Hills and Castine, Rockport and Camden, enjoying some of the fine cuisine in the numerous world class restaurants scattered around the area. There are few locations anywhere that can compare. Come and see for yourself, or browse the web for the Camden/Rockport/Belfast area attractions to find out about this beautiful and fascinating area of Maine!

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 215503 in Northport, Maine

Idyllic Nature Retreat Surrounded by Lakes/Mountains/Ocean w/ Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
business
Idyllic Nature Retreat Surrounded by Lakes/Mountains/Ocean w/ Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215503
+1 (508)655-1657 (Massachusetts, USA)
Northport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Louisiana
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family had an absolutely wonderful stay at this 3 story home in the woods. The cottage was perfect for 2 to 3 people to stay in with more privacy. The entire property is very private and quiet. It's close to Belfast and Camden for sight seeing and shopping. There's lots of space for a large dinner area and for groups of people to visit. We were in Maine for our daughter's wedding and had different groups of relatives visiting us at this rental. All were very impressed with the beauty of the woods and water views from windows and deck. We all just wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the area which has much to offer. The house and cottage were clean and everything was in working order. The owners were helpful and pleasant. The property around the house is rustic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idyllic Nature Retreat Surrounded by Lakes/Mountains/Ocean w/ Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215503
+1 (508)655-1657 (Massachusetts, USA)
Northport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Great Family Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This was a perfect place for a young three generation family to spread out and relax. Knight's Pond was warm enough to swim in late June and all enjoyed fishing and canoeing. It was a pleasant five minute walk to the pond. We spent much time playing yard games in the yard outside the cottage. We swam at the Lincolnville Beach. Belfast is close for groceries and shopping and sightseeing. We sailed on the 1901 Friendship Sloop in Belfast and went deep sea fishing in Southwest Harbor. Both were great trips. The Wentworth Grocery in Northport was well equipped also. I would recommend this property without reserve to a family or group who want to spend a relaxing trip together and are not looking for high end amenities. Internet access. was spotty but all cell phones worked. A television and dvd player were available to play movies. No laundry facilities are on the property but we found a nice laundry facility next to the co-op in Belfast. The Co-op also has a great wine selection that is reasonably priced and a nice bakery/dine in restaurant. The house and cottage are clean, bright, welcoming and just the right size for such a group. The owner was welcoming and communicated well with me prior to our visit. My family agreed that we would not hesitate to return. Our collie and lab enjoyed the visit also. There are lots of stairs to get into the house and a steep driveway that might be a problem for anyone with mobility issues, but for us, it was not an issue.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Idyllic Nature Retreat Surrounded by Lakes/Mountains/Ocean w/ Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215503
+1 (508)655-1657 (Massachusetts, USA)
Northport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
New Haven, CT
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
I stayed in the main house and cabin with a large group of young friends. Everything was clean and cozy, with beautiful bedrooms, rocking chairs gathered 'round a wood stove, etc. It's possible to cook for 12 in the medium-sized kitchen, but requires some resourcefulness! Bluff is not as dramatic as I'd expected from the pictures, and water is at least a 5 minute walk from the driveway of the house, but view of the hills and lake are still breathtaking. Lots of trails to walk on and explore. Made much use of the canoe and fishing rods at nearby boat launch, and built a lovely bonfire. Beware that cell phone reception can be extremely spotty, depending on the carrier, but there is fine reception and free wireless in town. We didn't do much in the way of exploring attractions, though there are many charming towns within driving distance. Owner provided great communication and service. All in all, we had what we needed and I loved the place. My friends and I are looking to come back next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Idyllic Nature Retreat Surrounded by Lakes/Mountains/Ocean w/ Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215503
+1 (508)655-1657 (Massachusetts, USA)
Northport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Kewadin, Mi
4

A week in the Maine woods

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
My family and I spent a week in this nice house surrounded by woods. It was quiet and comfortable. While there is not a view of the bay, there is a nice lake just a short walk away. You can swim or take the wonderful canoe that is provided. We were able to hike right from the house to summits that provided beautiful views. A short drive away brings you to Belfast, a nice town with good seafood and shopping or a bit longer drive takes you to other, larger towns or different hiking trails. The house itself has a nicely equipped kitchen. It has a TV although we couldn't get any reception so we used it for the WII we brought. The house doesn't come equipped with wireless but we did use the phone jack for dial up internet. The guest house was perfect for my brother-in-law who needs peace and quiet for his painting. We enjoyed the house and the time we had together in it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Idyllic Nature Retreat Surrounded by Lakes/Mountains/Ocean w/ Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215503
+1 (508)655-1657 (Massachusetts, USA)
Northport MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
CT, USA
4

northport, me 2008

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Property is 'back in the woods', but relatively close to Camden and the coast. It is 2 properties on a hillside: a 3 story house and a cottage. House is spacious and well equipped for a large party. Cottage is really cute and suitable for a single/couple.

Beach access is down dirt road approx 6 tenths of a mile. Beach is also public so all beach items and canoe must be transported back/forth.

-House/cottage well equipped
-Porch of house gets a lot of sun (awning/umbrella would be great
-Beds are only doubles (1 queen)
-Wireless (advertized) not available
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8