Philipsburg house rental - Main entrance with parking
Main entrance with parking
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Philipsburg House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-7)

Modernized 1890’s miner’s home, 2 bedrooms, 1 bath (sleeps 5 comfortably plus 2 couches suitable for children)

Fully furnished residence in easy walking distance to historic downtown. Deck with gas grill in view of Discovery Ski Mountain (10 miles by highway). Bring your RV; two pads with water, sewer and 20/30-amp hookups on the home's property. Hundred of miles of hiking, snowshoe, ATV or snowmobile trails leaving from the home or drive a few miles to the Beaverhead - Deerlodge National Forest for more. (Visit Granite Ghost Town and other mining sites.) Fly fish the famous Flint and Rock Creeks or ice and lake fish on Georgetown Lake; all only minutes away. Skate on a regulation-size ice rink with warming house just 5-minute walk away. Ample parking for several vehicles. Golf at a Jack Nicklaus signature golf course just a 30-minute drive (seasonal). Take in movies at the historic Washoe Theater in Anaconda (30 minutes away). Live broad-way shows during the summer at the historic Philipsburg Opera House.

Attack the ski slopes or just enjoy dining and shopping in beautiful Philipsburg. Activities abound in this unique vacation destiny all from the comfort of a warm, cozy home.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Bob retired as a forestry professor from Auburn University in 2001 and he and Nancy immediately started their western adventure in Philipsburg. Originally form South Carolina, the couple has lived in Georgia, New York, Oklahoma as well as Alabama. True southerners, but with a spirit of wander and have never found a place or people they did not love. They have two sons with wonderful families (7 grandchildren) who live in the South, but love to visit MT. Bob and Nancy travel South often in their RV to spend quality time with their families. Bob is an avid hunter and fisherman and Nancy is right there with him on every excursion. Nancy brings sanity to the couple and lovingly makes their home the most comfortable place to be as you will experience when you visit.

Bob and Nancy Lanford purchased this house in 2002

Having spent many years hunting in CO, the West was not completely new to Bob and Nancy. When Philipsburg was recommended by a friend, it reminded them of wonderful experiences in CO. After moving early in 2002, the couple fell in love with the people, community and everything else they found. They opened a bed and breakfast and ran it during the summer of 2002 but found not enough traffic to support an all year business. When the idea to put their home up for a vacation rental surfaced in 2009, it seemed like a great idea because of the bed and breakfast experience.

The name 'Cozy Home' is a perfect description of this little home that has evolved from a nineteenth century mining cabin in a very warm and comfortable place to take in the charm of Philipsburg. Expect to have a restful retreat from all the exciting activities available. While Philipsburg dining is superb, it is nice to have a fully functioning kitchen with an outside grill to prepare your own meals just the way you want them. While close to town, you are far enough away to have peace and quiet if that is your choosing. Staying at the Cozy Home in Philipsburg will be an unforgettable experience.

10 Reviews of Property 215457 in Philipsburg, Montana

Cozy Home in Philipsburg
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Brigham City, Utah
5

Quaint country cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Owners were friendly, accommodating, and sweet. The home was perfect for our family and the pictures don't do it justice. It was homey and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Conway, SC
5

HISTORIC P'BURG

HISTORIC P'BURG
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I had a great time in Philipsburg; a small but BIG hearted town. Property was as advertised; quite comfortable; good location for walking to town. You do get your exercise if you walk; one way down and the return is up! You are really centrally located to all the sites around the area from Butte, to Anaconda (the Old Works Golf Course is a Jack Nickalus design and is fun to play!), to Deer Lodge (great prison to walk about), to Missoula, and of course to all the back roads (dusty as they be) that lead to great fishing spots and old historic mining ghost towns. The owners were great and enjoyable to talk to. But be aware that there is limited cell phone service; there is wi-fi at a couple of downtown locations; no phone in house so you really do have PRIVACY!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Lolo, MT
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house was perfect for our family of 5. We also had a cousin that parked their trailer in one of the RV sites. The listing was exactly where we thought it would be. Quiet and beautiful views. Actually felt it was more charming that the photos depicted. Wonderfully stocked with all you need. Bob & Laura were very helpful and had locals to help us with anything we needed. We all enjoyed all Phillipsburg and the area has to offer especially Gem Mountain, fishing at Georgetown Lake and Echo Lake, Granite Ghost Town, & Virginia City. We had a wonderful gathering at Boulder Creek Lodge in their beautiful restaurant. Great food and a great deck to visit on. We also enjoyed Donivans in Anaconda and the Corner Bar in Phillipsburg. Everyone raved about our house and how cute it was. Great deck and lots of parking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Missoula, Montana
5

Jewel in Philipsburg

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The Lanford home is an excellent choice for a Philipsburg retreat. The location is a short jaunt above the downtown area. You can walk, ride your bike, cruise down on your four-wheeler or just sit on the porch and let the view entice you. Their home is well kept, comfortably decorated and offers any amenity you have at home. The master bed is cozy and the linens are soft inviting. The home is one of comfort and happiness. Sunrise and sunset are exquisite from the porch. You will want to bookmark their location for a return visit. I will be returning again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
St Paul, MN
5

The title says it all .....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We are 3 women who stayed for 8 nights. We range in age from 31-56. This was our 1st time using VRBO. Bob and Nancy truly made this trip a great experience; their home is warm, comfortable and welcoming. It is the perfect place to return to after exploring each day. The town of Philipsburg is a jewel. We highly recommend this home to anyone visiting the area, and we cannot wait to do it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Seattle, WA
5

cozy, comfortable place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
we stayed here with some friends, and had a wonderful time. The owners were accomodating and wonderful to work with. Comfy beds, great kitchen and bbq, and a great distance from town- close enough to walk, but with enough space to feel 'away from it all'. I spent lots of time on the great porch, looking at the views, rocking in the swing, drinking coffee and reading. Everything was clean and well maintained. Lots to do for a little town- we loved the shops, the theatre, the ghost towns- wish we could have gone sapphire mining. Hope to be back, and would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Missoula, MT
5

Quiet/Relaxing/Central Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This property was on a quiet street and quick walk to downtown Philipsburg. It had plenty of room, was very clean, had a great kitchen, and wonderful views of Discovery Ski area and the Philipsburg Valley. It was also central to all of the activities we did while on vacation.

We found plenty to do, inlcuding driving over the Skalkaho Pass, stopping at Gem Mountain, taking several hikes and fishing along Rock Creek, shopping at the local thrift store, gettting treats at the local candy and ice cream store, and exploring Granite ghost town on our last day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Whidbey Island, WA
5

Couldn't have had a better stay~

Couldn't have had a better stay~
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Wonderful stay, start to finish, from the owners welcome in their lovely, convenient, and fully equipped and furnished home, to the complete bliss of watcing the thunder and lightening show over John Long Mountain range from the front porch swing. Drive up Skalhalo Pass was stunning, past some of the best fishing in the state, my husband tells me! Sapphire hunting was a good family activity, as were our nightly walks to town to find the best, local haunts for dinner or entertainment. We wouldn't have changed a thing about this home away from home. Thanks again for all the comforts, Bob and Nancy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Washington State
5

Grace and Style...A Trip Back In Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We three adults spent two nights here in Philipsburg; we felt immediately "at home", welcomed by the owners, and comfortable. We mined for sapphires, saw the sights, had ice-cream treats downtown, and slept well each night in this sweet, quiet home. There is everything you could want. We will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Home in Philipsburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p215457vbi
(406) 531-3541 (Montana, USA)
Philipsburg Montana
Three Forks, Montan
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Two friends and I stayed in this very comfortable, clean and cute home in Phillipsburg. It had everything we needed to cook, relax, sightsee, etc. It is in a nice location on a hill with a great view but within easy walking distance to downtown.