Kaneohe house rental - Hale 'O Bali from deck
Hale 'O Bali from deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kaneohe House Rental Photos and Description
1 bedrm, 1 bath/shower, sleeps 4,

. Hale 'O Bali(1-4 persons) is the smaller of two authentic Indonesian homes on a private one acre tropical bayfront estate. See Java Kai(1-6 persons) at listing #943400. Rent one or both homes for 1-10 persons. The homes were built in Sulawesi, Indonesia, shipped over, and rebuilt in 1995. The glow of the Indonesian Chempaca wood exudes a warmth and relaxing, healing energy to the homes occupants.

From the private entry into the upper gardens and lily pond stroll down the 300 foot long great lawn to the shoreline garden. Family gatherings, events, and weddings are perfect here on the great lawn with Kaneohe Bay as your witness . Hale 'O Bali is a uniquely beautiful, comfortable, practical, and functional house.

We are located just off the main shoreline highway on the lush, tropical windward side of Oahu. Kaneohe town is an easy 12-15 minute drive. This town has all the conveniences of a small city.

Bayfront 200 ft from shoreline. Non swimming beach: The waterfront is a 300 foot stroll down the great lawn to the beachside garden. Take in spectacular views of the bay, the mountains, and Chinaman's Hat Island. This non-swimming beach is beautiful and calm but too shallow to be practical for swimming. Closest swimming beach is 3 miles north at the calm and secluded sandy beaches of Kualoa Beach Park. Kualoa Beach Park is one of Oahu's top beaches and is safe for all ages year round for swimming and snorkeling.

Hale 'O Bali is intimate and romantic, comfortable for 1 - 4 guests. This home is charmingly appointed in Indonesian and island furnishings. Above the master bedroom with King bed there is a loft appropriate for older children, young at heart guests who don't mind climbing a fixed ladder to their sleeping area with a double bed. There is also a very comfortable queen futon in the den. The full kitchen with granite and mahogany appointments, and teak dining area and sun room have beautiful panoramic ocean/mountain views.

Great places to visit nearby: Three miles north is Kualoa Ranch which boasts over 4000 acres of ranch land and scenic valleys. King Kong and Jurassic Park were filmed here. Activities include horseback riding/trail rides, a petting zoo, exotic animal collection, fishpond tours, ATV tours, kayaking, and other activities including a restaurant. Within 10 min drive find:

Senator Fong's Plantation, Hart & Tagam Byodo-in Temple is a replica of a famous 900 year old temple in Japan. Enjoy feeding thousands of Koi Fish in the large reflecting ponds in the Japanese gardens.

The Polynesian Cultural Center is entertaining, educational, has an I-Max theater, firedancing competition and shows.Continue north on the scenic shoreline drive to famous North Shore's Sunset & Pipeline Beaches. Monster waves delight visitors in the winter months! Summer at these beaches bring calmer swimming waters and great snorkeling. Waimea Beach Park sparkles with it's amazing sandy beaches. Hike Audubon's Waimea Botanical Park.

distance to restaurants/town/ groceries: Enjoy parking for two cars dinside the compound with landscaped gardens and fish/ lily pond. Additional guest parking is available just outside on the entry drive. Heading south from Hale 'O Bali, the closest grocery store is Times Supermarket , along with movie theaters, and restaurants at Koolau Shopping center in Temple Valley just 7-8 minutes drive. The local Windward mall (Macy's, Sears, Restaurants, movie theaters) is less than a 15-min. drive. Across fm the mall is more shopping, dining, and groceries. Continue south to Kailua Town for more great shopping, dining, cafes, and world-famous beaches (about 25 minutes to Kailua). Kailua boasts world class windsurfing on family friendly sandy beaches.

Honolulu International Airport is a 30-minute drive. Waikiki is 35-45 minute drive. Hale 'O Bali is perfectly positioned to put all of Oahu's greatest sights within easy reach. At the end of a busy day you will be embraced by the grace and warmth of your oasis called Hale 'O Bal

More Details
Hide Details

39 Reviews of Property 214400 in Kaneohe, Hawaii

Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
average rating of 4.7105265 based on 39 reviews
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
Celebration, Florida USA
5

We loved Hale 'O Bali

We loved Hale 'O Bali
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We just spent a week at Hale 'O Bali, and had a fabulous time. This home sits on the windward side, in an area that, in our opinion, is the most breathtakingly beautiful area of Oahu. We love renting a cottage instead of staying in a hotel, as it feels more like we are 'living' in the place, rather than visiting it. For us, Hale 'O Bali was the perfect choice. With it's unique Indonesian/island architectural character, rural setting with stunning views of both the ocean and the mountains, and awakening to roosters and birds chirping, just being in the house made us feel very connected to nature, and a real part of Hawaii.

The house was spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The bedroom is large, and there's a ton of drawer and closet space. I wished the shower was a smidge bigger, but that's no big deal. Over all, the bathroom was very nice. Lots of towels and plenty of towel bars to let things dry in the tropical climate, and a washer and dryer. During our visit, it rained often, which is very normal for that part of Hawaii, and why it is so gloriously beautiful. Our benchmark for a great place to stay is "is it a good rainy day house" - can you be happy there if weather or other factors keep you couped up for a while. Hale 'O Bali is perfect, because even when you're at home, you are looking out through an entire wall of windows, on to beautiful mountains, lush foliage, and the ocean. Outdoor living is great with a very large deck, nicely furnished. It is ocean front, though it is not a swimming beach. We consider this a plus, as there were no beach-goers out our window. Just lovely foliage, a huge lawn leading to the water, and a half dozen swaying palms framing the view of the ocean. For your beach fix, just hop in the jeep and go up the road in either direction, and you've got beaches galore. Although the home gives you a lovely away-from-it-all feeling, it is a short (and stunningly beautiful) drive south to Kailua and Lanikai beaches, an easy, and gorgeous, jaunt to Honolulu, and right on the way to the wonderful North Shore.

All in all, we would highly recommend this house. It is a unique experience. The owner provided us with excellent service, the home and grounds are beautifully maintained, and we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. We would stay there again, in a minute, and heartily recommend it to others traveling to Oahu.

M and J
June 2009
Owner's Response: To M& J,
It gives us such delight to be able to share the beauty,unique experience, and comfort that Hale 'O Bali provides. Thank you to you and all the other guests for sharing your thoughts about Hale 'O Bali! We hope to see you again!
Mahalo,
Leilani & Charlie
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
Poughquag, New York
5

Wonderful trip.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a great trip to Oahu. Our stay at Bali Hale was perfect for our needs. We were able to wake up and see the sunrise over the bay every morning. We spent most of our time on the deck so we could enjoy the fantastic Hawaiian weather. Our accommodations were well equipped and we used the grill often to barbecue after our days of sightseeing and hiking. It was nice that the house had beach towels, beach chairs and a small cooler that we could use for lunches on the beach. It is quiet and relaxing and we would recommend this home to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
Washington, DC
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at the Hale O' Bali for four nights in late September. The house was nicely furnished and supplied. The location is awesome. Even if you are on vacation you have to check out the sunrise. Breathtaking. The directions provided are good but the numbering system used in Hawaii can be challenging. Arriving the first time after dark was aided by GPS. Location is great for access to the North Shore, Away from the H1 traffic. Would love to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
Washington, DC
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at the Hale O' Bali for four nights in late September. The house was nicely furnished and supplied. The location is awesome. Even if you are on vacation you have to check out the sunrise. Breathtaking. The directions provided are good but the numbering system used in Hawaii can be challenging. Arriving the first time after dark was aided by GPS. Location is great for access to the North Shore, Away from the H1 traffic. Would love to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So Happy you enjoyed Hale 'O Bali! Hope we see you again!
Mahalo,
Leilani
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
5

Beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We just recently stayed at the Hale 'O Bali and loved it! We have 2 young children and the location was very accommodating. Hale 'O Bali was the perfect place to start off a wonderful vacation. The house is private, secure and beautiful. Each morning we watched the sunrise while sitting on the deck. The weather was gorgeous, only raining while we slept :) We had great neighbors - pleasant surprise. The walls are thin (think more cabin like) so I can see how others might have had a different experience, especially if they had loud neighbors. You can hear the road noise, but Hali 'O Bali has a pond/waterfall out the master bedroom window - that noise combined with the fan almost blocked it completely. There are many nice beaches close by - we recommend Kailua which is south about 20 minutes - they also have a Whole Foods & Starbucks! Our kids loved searching for lizards and enjoyed all the beautiful landscaping at Hali 'O Bali. Thank you very much for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
5

Beautiful Indonesian Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first visit to Oahu and were thrilled to arrive at such a lovely home.
It was dark when we arrived so we did not appreciate the beauty of this home until morning. It is just as described with the bay views and the majestic mountains to the sides. Views from all sides of this home.The sunrises were wonderful. It was very quiet and peaceful (except for the Roosters)

The home was well appointed, clean and comfortable. We were pleased to have
all we needed to enjoy the island. Two guide books helped us plan our days.
We were even able to listen to Hawaiian music while drinking a glass of wine taking in the amazing spot on a lovely island. I loved this location away from the hustle and bustle of the city area.

Leilani was very responsive with all our questions. She sent us great directions to the place. We did arrive in the dark and my only comment would be that the light was left on as it was hard to find the door.

I would highly recommend this property to my friends, family and anyone wanting a romantic stay.

Lisa and John
Owner's Response: We are so delighted and so happy when our guests are happy. Thank you Lisa and John and hope to see you both again!
Leilani & Bali Kai family
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
5

Perfect View, Comfortable Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I must say I was a bit anxious to arrive at Hale O'Bali, upon arrival however it was everything I expected and more! The everything from the entrance to the view was just incredible! The home as clean, well-kept and perfect for two. Lelani is a great owner as she is on-hand as needed during your stay. Beware of the rooster that awakes you at 4 am! We actually got accustomed to it though-ha! Overall this place made our first experience in Hawaii very comfortable and at a very affordable price. Once we got used to the drive it seemed fairly easy to commute back & forth from Honolulu/Waikiki to Kaneohe. We also had very pleasant neighbors during our stay to make it even more homey!
Owner's Response: Thank you for this excellent review! The wild chickens are beautiful but sometimes noisy! We do have an ongoing trapping strategy for controlling the buggers!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
5

It don't get no better than this.

It don't get no better than this.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We have traveled extensively throughout the Pacific and Far East and have found no better accommodations anywhere. Hale "O Bale provides the best of all possible worlds, from the authentic Far East ambiance of the facility to the breathtaking vistas of a Pacific Island getaway. The facilities have a comfortable, homey atmosphere and the setting cannot be bested anywhere. The location proved easy accessible to all the major attractions on Oahu without the contrived appearance of the more well known tourist facilities. Mores the pity if you do not avail yourself of this experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Bev,
Your poetic praises are humbling.
Mahalo.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
Anchorage, AK
5

Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Oahu

Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Oahu
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My two young kids and I were completely delighted with this property. The large yard, the pond with waterfall, the coconut trees along the shore were exactly what I wanted them to experience here. No Waikiki towers for us! We were able to go out each night and catch frogs and in the grass just like I did when I was a kid on Kauai.
The house with wrap around lanai was just as described. Absolutely perfect. Plenty of room for us to spread out. I can see that some people might find the road noise less than ideal but we didn't lose any sleep over it. The neighborhood rooster though..that was a different matter. We all resolved to never own a rooster. Ever.
Geraldine come over the first evening we were there and brought us basic groceries like OJ and spaghetti. What a sweet lady!
The house was clean. Everything worked. The bed was huge and comfortable. The washing machine was so convenient. I feel sorry for anyone in a hotel.
We would love the chance to stay here again. Would be great to have the rest of my family stay in the neighboring house next time.
The location was ideal for us because we could go north to great beaches, south to Kaneohe and Makapuu. Plus Chinaman's hat was right off our deck and the Byodo-In Temple was just a short jog down the road. It was literally in the middle of all our favorite spots.
Thank you for sharing your lovely house, Leilani!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Darci, You are so welcome! Hope you can come back to enjoy more of all the aloha there is at Hale 'O Bali and Bali Kai Estate. So glad you enjoyed yourselves!
Leilani
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Indonesian home, Bayfront Estate, , Romantic, Unique, Beautifully Charming,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214400
+1 8083685974
Kaneohe Oahu
Sandpoint Idaho
4

lovely spot

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We enjoyed our week at this beautiful property and well equipped house. It was nice to be away from the Honolulu crowds. We especially enjoyed the beach at Kualoa Regional Park, just down the road. The owner was very responsive and helpful.
Helpful votes: 0/1