Christmas Valley house rental - 4 Bedroom w/ loft and mother in law rm., 2890 Sq. Ft., Landscaped on 1.8 Acres
4 Bedroom w/ loft and mother in law rm., 2890 Sq. Ft., Landscaped on 1.8 Acres
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Christmas Valley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2890 sq ft, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Awesome! There is no other way to describe this beautiful home in Christmas Valley with its breathtaking mountain views. The Tahoe Wolfs Den, designed for a king, is on almost 2 acres with national forest on three sides. Enjoy beautiful views from the living room and front deck. Watch for shooting stars from the very private spa on the back deck.

From the moment that you enter this mountain home you feel as though you have come home. Start winding down the minute that you step through the door. A river-rock fireplace greets you as you walk into the living room. Ten-foot-high picture windows encourage you to sit by the fire, relax, and take in the views. Step up to hardwood hickory floors, gourmet kitchen, log and rock accents, a large pine dining room table that seats eight,custom breakfast bar seats 2 and a mother-in-law room that adds a second full kitchen, games, television and foosball table.

Walk to beautiful meadows and see beaver dams on the Upper Truckee River. Hike along the river shore or fish and bring home native brown trout for dinner. For the more adventurous, hop on your mountain bike and choose from several single track trails such as 'Mr. Toad's wild ride, Round Lake trail, Hawley Grade, or The Tahoe Rim Trail.' Snowshoe or cross-country ski in the open meadow around the corner. Heavenly, Kirkwood, and Sierra Ski Lodges just minutes away.

Close enough to town but a lifetime away in serenity. This is what you have come to Tahoe for! Come see Tahoe in all its grandeur!

Keywords: Single-Family Home w/ Hot Tub

More Details
Hide Details

Teresa and I love Tahoe. It is an amazingly beautiful place with so many activities possible. In the Winter I ski, snowboard and take my snowmobile to Blue Lakes and in the Summer I hike, backpack, fish or take my mountainbike on many of the local trails available right out the front door.....We have owned the Tahoe Wolfs Den since 1997 and enjoy meeting guest from around the world.

Dana purchased this house in 1997

We chose to buy the Wolfs Den because of its location and view. The home is at the end of Christmas Valley where all of the homes have 1-2 acres and are more spread out. It is on a very quiet street with less than 10 cars passing in a day. The mountain view is spectacular and it is only a couple minute walk to the Upper Truckee River and several trailheads. We wanted to be on the outskirts of town to enjoy the peace and quiet of the mountains and not have to listen to city traffic.

We have set up the home with ski, road and trail maps for our guest to best experience Tahoe. You will enjoy quiet and get the rest that you deserve. There are hiking and biking trails available right out the front door and a beautiful meadow along the river. The home backs up to a mountain so sledding is out the back door.

79 Reviews of Property 21422 in Christmas Valley, California

Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
average rating of 4.984375 based on 79 reviews
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Chino, California
5

Guestbook Comment

Dear Dana & Teresa, Thank you very much for opening up your beautiful home for our family. It was our home away from home. We enjoyed going on ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Dear Dana & Teresa,
Thank you very much for opening up your beautiful home for our family. It was our home away from home. We enjoyed going on walks, playing in the backyard with the kids, and relaxing in the jacuzzi at night. Dana and Teresa your helpfulness and friendliness were greatly appreciated. We look forward to visiting again. Thank you again for everything!
The Almirantearena & Duhart Families
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
San Juan Islands of Washington
5

The Premier Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had an absolute blast at the Wolf's Den. The accommodations were exactly what we were looking for, plenty of beds and decks. The nature around the cabin was fantastic and there's loads of trails just down the road! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is an outdoor enthusiast. Thanks Dana!

AJ
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Berkeley CA
5

Great location, plenty of space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our group of six adults and four small children had a great time at Tahoe Wolf's Den. The location is great - the property backs up to open space and is just a short walk from the Upper Truckee river and some nice hikes. There are four bedrooms, a sleeping loft, and two living spaces. The backyard is great too, with a grassy area where the kids can run around. The kitchen was well appointed with plenty of spices/essentials. All in all a great place to stay - close enough to Tahoe to be able to go out for dinner but completely away from the crowds (even on 4th of July weekend!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
SF Bay Area
5

A very charming and comfortable house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a great stay at the house. It's a beautiful place, well equipped, designed and decorated with a lot of taste, and it's in a great location. Moreover, the owners were very nice and easy to deal with. We'd definitely want to stay here again and in fact, two people in our group of 8 are hoping to rent it at the end of this month.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We had so much fun at your cabin

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Hey Dana and Teresa,
So sorry it took me so long to email you guys, it's been a busy month!!
We had so much fun at your cabin, it was absolutely everything we
could have wanted. My brother and our friends were very relaxed and
loved everything about the place. Thank you so much for letting us
stay there, we really couldn't have asked for more!!
Sincerely,
Chris
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, Ca.
5

Our Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Your cabin had a very homey-environment. It is a rare occasion when I can walk into a place and almost immediately feel at home. But I certainly did at your cabin. The large dining room was perfect for providing an opportunity for our family to reconnect over spaghetti one night, tri-tip another, and ending with fish tacos from Maya's Restaurant. We toasted our beloved brother-in-law on his 59th birthday with carrot cake, champagne, and a complimentary bottle of wine left by the cabin owners. I loved the living room, especially at night, when we would turn on the small table lamp and gather again for a movie, music, or just to talk or read. I also enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the morning sunlight, sipping tea and staring at the tall granite and pine-covered peaks in front of us. At night, we stood on the deck and watched bats and stars glittering above us. Our eight year-old and I had great fun on the log swing and even played on it in the early stages of a brief hail storm. The fooseball game was a blast. Everyone wanted to play and try their hand at dethroning the champion (Joe)(who cheated). I could go on and on, but I think you have the sense that we just did not want to leave and so much appreciated the owners hospitality and patience. The owners were very accomodating and easily reached. We had no major complaints and would gladly recommend this place to friends. We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, CA
5

Peaceful, pristine and perfect getaway for winter and summer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We have stayed at Wolf's Den for ski holidays and now more recently for a summer wedding. The location is a "local's secret" close to major resorts yet away from the hustle/bustle of South Shore. Summer offers beautiful hiking and biking trails very close to the property. Winter provides both downhill and X-country skiing nearby. The owners are very accommodating and keep the property well equipped and maintained. We hope to return every year to enjoy the year-round beauty of Wolf's Den!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Denver, Colorado
4

Family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We enjoyed our stay in South Lake Tahoe. The location of the Wolf's Den afforded us the opportunity to do a lot of hiking and sightseeing. It should be noted however that one of the four bedrooms is not truly private -- it is really a second loft space. One of the downstairs bathrooms isn't as private as we would have liked. The two kitchens were great for our large group. We did have a problem with a shortage of bath towels and pillow cases. The provision of a landline phone and wifi was great since cell phone service in the area is spotty. We did have to purchase our own Kleenex and hand soap and we ran out of dishwasher soap.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The experience was spectacular

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed here for a week. The experience was
spectacular. We have kids (3yo and 1yo). We
could supervise them playing from the hottub.
The hosts even had a box of kid-toys. There is
a table soccer thing. And plenty of trailheads
within 10 minutes of walking. The place feels
very remote - the wilderness basically starts
behind the house.

Can highly recommend this place for families
with small kids (and everyone else).
Konrad K, Chicago IL
business
Tahoe Wolfs Den *2890 Sq Ft, 4 Bdrm, Loft, Game rm ,1.8 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p21422vb
(775)745-0515 (Nevada, USA)
Christmas Valley South Lake Tahoe
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We loved it! Perfect location, had everything we needed, and we really appreciated your attention to detail. Especially enjoyed the spa. Had a great time at Tahoe Wolf's Den and will definitely be returning.

-Judy & Dan, Southern California