Captain Cook house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Escape from the tourist and street noise in this spacious Hawaiian style, 4-bedroom, 3 1/2 bath home. Just a two minute walk to the beach. Awesome views in every direction.

This home is right next to both the ocean and the bay. Three of the four bedrooms have a queen bed and full bathroom (w/bathtub). The lower bedroom (suite) also has a twin trundle bed. The loft has two twin beds. Fully equipped kitchen (including blender, juicer, coffee maker, coffee grinder, baking pans, etc.). This home is situated on Manini point at Kealakekua Bay. This beautiful house is in the perfect location for your vacation.

This is an incredible place to stay, relax and enjoy the sounds of the ocean, watch the sunsets and feel the cool ocean breeze. From the east bedroom, you will wake up to the sun rising over the mountain outside your window.

Enjoy complimentary fresh, local fruit and flowers upon arrival!

We are Dennis and Beth. We have been married 20 years and have two boys (11 and 14 years old). We live in Sebastopol, California (Northern California), in the wine country. We have the best of both worlds by living, working and raising our boys in northern California and having a vacation rental in one of the most beautiful places in Hawaii.

I went to school at Honaunau Elementary (at the top of the hill, just above the Aloha House). My family still lives and works there. My father has a mango and coffee farm just up the road from the Aloha House.

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

The Aloha House is walking distance from the water. We even put our dive tanks on at the house and walk to the ocean! The house location is perfect as a home base for exploring the island in all directions.

We purchased this property near Kealakekua Bay in 2002. We built the house as a vacation rental with Rental Guests in mind. Making sure each bedroom has its own bathroom, etc. We chose this property because it makes such a perfect location for a vacation rental guest.

Waking up early to see the dolphins in the bay, Snorkeling, Relaxing, Exploring the island.

14 Reviews of Property 213808 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
4

Great Location & Amenities

Great Location & Amenities
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We've stayed in the Kealekekua Bay Area several times and enjoyed these accommodations more than others we've stayed at (this was our first stay at Aloha House). The house was clean and well cared for and met all our expectations from the description on the VRBO website. We prefer the 'local' flavor of the area as well as the peacefulness of the neighborhood. The locals are very friendly and the sites available in the area offer activities of both historical and naturalistic interest. We typically swim with the dolphins in the bay and the place of refuge. We also charter a trip with John Float at Dolphin Essence. We recommend the Sunrise Cafe just south of the top of Napoopoo Road, and the Keii Cafe just north of Nopoopoo Road. We also recommend Lava Java in Kailua Kona and Merrimen's up at Waikoloa. The snorkeling at the little Park just down the road is spectacular with the marine life, turtles and the occaissional dolphin pods. All in all a wonderful trip and look forward to future vacations at Aloha House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Noblesville, Indiana
5

typically cynical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I've stay in some good and some not so good VRBO homes in and out of the U.S. I have to rate Aloha House as exceptional. The home was clean and well kept and everything worked, the pictures don't do it justice. There's great view from the deck, which also has outdoor dining area big enough for the whole family. You're literally at grandpa's pace a 3 minute stroll to the ocean. There's a small beach at the park, which is a launch pad to some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii. I'd also recommend renting a Kayak and paddling out into the bay. It is also 15 minute drive to the Place of Refuge State Park which is well worth visiting. The nearest shopping is about 15-20 minute drive, so it's pretty convenient but you don't want to forget the eggs. Of all the VRBO I've stayed at and I've stayed many, this is one of the few I'll gladly stay at again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Madrid Ia/Midwest
2

So Surprised With House

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Pros: Location was nice. Very close to ocean. The lanai was great. Great outdoor space. A good assortment of beach equipment. Unfortunately, our stay was ruined by the bugs. We found a couple of cockroaches in the house. Also, the tiny black ants were everywhere. It did not matter how much we kept the food put away, and the counters clean. We tried to keep everything we could in the refrigerator. The house is in need of a very deep cleaning. Its is rented so much, that it is not getting a proper cleaning. If you clean it up and get rid of the ants, it would make a big difference.
Helpful votes: 14/17
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Portland Oregon
5

Fabulous Vacation Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
My husband and I have stayed at the Aloha House twice and have visited the Big Island many, many times. We love the Aloha House - easy access to the water, very comfortable accomodations, clean - just so lovely. I keep a picture of the Aloha House on my refrigerator so I can dream of my next trip. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The pictures you see on the website are accurate. You don't have a direct ocean view - there are one row of homes between you and the ocean - but you can see the ocean from the back deck and can hear it as you fall asleep at night. We hope to stay here as often as possible. It would be a great place for us to return to with family as there are plenty of bathrooms and lots of space. Less then a block away you can rent Kayaks and spend the day on the water or boat over to captain cook for great snorkeling. Located on a very a quiet street, the Aloha House is a great place to relax and spend your vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
New York, NY
5

Had a great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Aloha House was a terrific find for a family vacation celebrating my mom's birthday. For less per night than it might cost to rent a hotel room for two, 4 adults and 2 tweens enjoyed the huge lovely wraparound lanai where we lounged around and ate all our meals, ample & tidy bedroom and bathroom space (important for 6 people!), and a kitchen & outdoor grill that met all our cooking needs. This is not a "right on the sandy beach" destination -- Manini Beach is small & rough -- but it's just steps from a shoreline walk looking out across the bay at spectacular Captain Cook (plus a kayak-rental area, though we opted for a snorkel boat daytrip from the Kailua-Kona harbor) and a very short local-road drive to Place of Refuge & the fine snorkelling at "Two Step". Plus it's nicely situated between the white-sand beaches to the north and the volcano sights to the south. We took several beach daytrips and an overnight trip to Volcano & Hilo. A perfect base for all of our expeditions in a real neighborhood, scenic & friendly, not the trafficky hotel-strip-mall zoo further up the Kona Coast. We were happy to be out of the hustle and bustle, awed by the sunsets, and super grateful for hot showers, laundry facilities, plenty of beach towels, and quiet nights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Queensland, Australia
4

Great Stay at the Aloha House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We stayed at the Aloha House during December 2009. We arrived tired and weary late in the evening, but from the moment we walked up the stairs and entered this beautiful home, we immediately felt relaxed and happy and very welcome. This bright and modern home was immaculate. It is a family friendly home and exudes a warm and welcoming ambience. Upon our arrival there was a huge bowl of fresh fruit. The house suited us so perfectly, especially considering the fact that we were a family with two grown-up kids and their partners as well as two younger children and I can honestly say that the photographs on the listing portrayed the house exactly as it is. Everybody had their “own space” which was important to us – the two younger children loved sleeping in the loft and we spent many happy evenings on the beautiful deck overlooking the garden, sipping a drink and simply relaxing and enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the area. In the mornings we would enjoy breakfast on the deck, with colourful geckos joining us – the kids loved photographing them. The area of Kealakekua Bay is very beautiful and tranquil as well as historical. We found the people in the area to be friendly and helpful. If you are after a quite and peaceful time, then this is the area for you – we also found that booking the house was extremely trouble-free, easy and friendly. The house is very close to the Kayak rental and a short stroll to Manini Beach. We also met Sandy, the care-taker, a lovely lady who gave us, as first-timers to Hawaii, many tips and useful information. Although we did not actually get to sample the hamburgers in Kealakekua Bay, we did hear about them – there is a shop in the area that apparently makes very good hamburgers and ices. My only suggestion is that if you want to get around the island, I would recommend that you have transport available.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Australia
5

So beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We stayed in the house for about a week in December, 2009. Here's what I loved about it...
1. The welcoming feel - when we arrived late at night after a hectic few days travelling all the way from Australia, we felt instantly at home. Things like the fresh fruit basket on the counter and the friendly little notes around the house were lovely. The owner even came to check everything was OK during our stay.
2. The location! I don't think we realised what a beautiful spot we were in until we woke up on our first morning. It is a five minute walk to the very picturesque beach where you can watch the sunset. Also, it's a short drive away (or walk, if you're keen) from some beautiful snorkelling/swimming spots (where we saw some gorgeous turtles). It was so quiet and I felt really safe where we were (which is really important when you're in a foreign land).
3. The state of the house and property - the house itself was impeccably clean when we arrived and the property was obviously very well maintained (grass freshly mowed etc).
4. The layout of the house. I went on holiday with my boyfriend's family (there's a lot of us!) and we still felt like we had so much privacy. My boyfriend and I stayed in the 'granny flat' which had its own en suite and this was perfect for us. The kids even had their own loft which they loved!

I could go on for ages, but I just want to say that I definitely recommend staying here! The cost is so reasonable for what you get.

PS. Make sure you go to the Bubba Gump restaurant in the centre of town (Ali'i Drive, Kailua-Kona). Beautiful food and very cheap!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
CA
5

A vacation bliss...!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Staying at the aloha house with my family and friends was a real privilege. We created there unforgettable memories. The aloha is a perfect vacation rental, one minute away from the Manini beach, where snorkeling is enjoyable, 2 minutes away from a kayak rental to become the adventurous explorers of the Kaleakekua bay and a short drive from the mystical Ki’ilea bay, which is one of my favorite refuge on the island. The only downside is that it is so serene and comfortable that we didn't want to leave. We made fresh juices in the morning before our water-oriented activities and spent blissful evening hours on the large lanai, which is the best part of the house. I highly recommend a visit to this home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Arizona
5

10 day stay early June 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I recently stayed at this property with my daughter, my dive buddy and her husband. This was a great location. The house has all that you could want or need, all you need is food, if you intend on making yourself at home, which we did. The furnishings are quite comfortable, premises were clean and well maintained. The house was well equipped with cooking utensils, towels, sporting equipment, washer/dryer, internet access, long distance, etc. We truly loved spending the early mornings sitting on the lanai, watching and listening to the birds, and other wildlife on the property (the geckos were everywhere). The foliage was also exquisite.The ocean is literally a stone's throw away, and there are at least three beaches within walking distance of the house, depending on the amount of people you wanted to see. There was alot of reading material in the event you just wanted to veg for the day. Other literature at the house gave you suggestions on activities and eating establishments in the area. The Big Island has so much to do, and even with ten days on the island, we did not come close to seeing all that we wanted to see. The arrangements were easy to make, and we got all that we were promised. There was a local caretaker, in the event we needed any immediate assistance (which we did not). We have already received our deposit refund. This property fits any type of scenario, whether it be a romantic getaway, a family vacation, a group of friends spending time together. You do need a vehicle to get around, as there is so much to see.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Last Minute Specials - Book 7 Nts, Get 2 Free*! Beautiful 4b home-steps to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213808vbi
(707) 889-1105 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Carmel Valley
5

Relaxing stay at Aloha House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We stayed at the Aloha house with our family the week after a beloved family member passed away. It was the absolute best medicine- complete and total relaxation. The house was peaceful and well equipped. The grocery store is just up the hill, so we had everything we needed. Mannini beach is so close we could take a morning swim, and then the kid could go back and forth as they pleased. We loved sitting out on the upstairs porch for hours on end, and we ate all our meals there. We picked incredible limes from the garden and made our own margaritas- YUM! I love this part of the Big Island and am eager to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1