Mal Pais villa rental - Front house
Front house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mal Pais Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 story 3 bedroom, 3 full baths, half bath, swimming pool, sleeps 6

Beautiful 3 bedroom, 3 and half bath villa, located just above the surfer town of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa - In the heart of an amazing floor and fauna, you'll be amazed by the immensity of a jungle, ocean and mountain views.Perfect for honyemooners and families!! Privacy, safety and comfort are the main idea of this vacation. You will appreciate to be away from the very busy downtown, but so close at the same time. It will take you 5 minutes to go from you villa to town and 8 minutes to go check out Montezuma or Cobano. The heart of this house is an amazing living space with a kitchen opening on huge terrace facing the pool and the breathtaking ocean view. The house contains 2 bedrooms facing the ocean with private baths, a loft style badroom on the first floor with an amazing ocean/ jungle view, fans, a spacious living area and a fully equipped kitchen with a refrigerator. The indonesian-inspired interior design features, creating an environment that invites guests to relax, while the simple furnishings offer all the comforts you’d expect at home!

Special couples: We would like to welcome couples and honeymooners for a special offer, a week in paradise for $1050, all amenities included!

The perfect gateway couples, private, you ll have the feeling of being alone in the middle of this breath taking ocean and jungle paradise!

We can arrange private chef for your romantic diner, couples massages on site, and more...

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 213764 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Peoria, IL
5

Gorgeous LARGE home for an AMAZING VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Villa Estrella is such a beautifully planned out + FUN location for a stay in the best part of Costa Rica. A gourmet serving kitchen with outdoor dining area, a perfect pool with amazing views of the valley + the ocean, BIG bedrooms + bathrooms-- I didn't want to leave! Stephanie is a dream to work with-- great communication, thoughtful help with directions + suggestions for your stay in Mal Pais. Very clean + Very comfortable-- perfect for a family vacation!
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
4

Le calme absolu au milieu de la jungle

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Après un séjour de 4 semaines, je recommande cet endroit aux personnes recherchant la tranquillité.
Tout est conforme à la description. Le matériel de cuisine est de qualité ce qui est rare dans une location de vacances.
La maison est propre, bien entretenue et le ménage est fait tous les 2 jours par du personnel aimable.
George est sympa, serviable et prodigue de bons conseils sur la région.
Ne pas emporter de réveil les singes s'en chargent très bien.
Ne vous effrayez pas de quelques visites impromptues mais vous êtes perdus dans la nature...
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Amazing, beautiful, magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Villa Estrella is a beautiful house nestled in the hills above mal pais. We stayed for 7 fabulous days and nights. Our group included people ages 70 through 3 and everyone loved it. My daughter age 4 learned to swim in the pool on her second day there!
We met George, the owner, on the side of the road where he took us on a bumpy ride to the house. You will definitely need a 4-wheel drive vehicle to access the property, but anyone who knows mal pais, knows you need a 4-wheel drive to get anywhere. He gave us a quick tour of the house and recommendations of places to eat and hang out while we stayed. We ate at both the restaurants he recommended and both were amazing. He also offered to bring us organic chickens and organic produce for our stay. My husband loves to cook and he took him up on the offer and we were all glad he did. The food was awesome.
I really can't say enough about how great the house was. We were all very sad to leave and hope to return again soon.
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Mon paradis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
J'y vais et j'y retourne. Impossible de se passer de l'Hacienda Pacacua quand on y a gouté ! J'aime tellement cet endroit que j'y ai emmené mes parents. Maintenant je peux dire qu'à tous les âges c'est un rêve. Mon fils de 5 ans adore, mes filles adolescentes adorent, mes parents (plus tous jeunes) sont tombés sous le charme de cette maison et de la paix merveilleuse qui s'en dégage. L'accueil est toujours attentif et chaleureux, la vie de Mal Pais est suffisamment près pour en profiter vraiment et suffisamment loin pour ne pas en subir le bruit et l'agitation.
Bref, c'est mon paradis...
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Amazing stay in mal paid hights

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had an incredible stay at this fabulous house overlooking the pacific ocean. The house is spacious and delightful. I loved the decoration. The spot and the view are unique. No vis_a-vis. Just the green blue hills and the ocean. We really enjoye the privacy especially in the pool from which all we could see was nature. At night we heard the monkeys and being remote from the night life allowed us to enjoy the silence or the noises of birds and wildlife. The master suite is bigger than my first studio apartment. The two bedrooms downstairs are comfortable and super clean with their en suite bathrooms. I enjoyed the outside and the inside living areas. We had a lovely house cleaner who offered to do laundry. Not far from the beach not the numerous activities rhe region has to offer A heaven vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
washington depot, ct
5

Wished We Lived Here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We are in our late 50s and Villa Estralla surpassed our expectations! The upstairs master suite was the most memorable bedroom we've ever experienced. It was like sleeping in the jungle because of the melodic noises, but Tarzan never had such luxury. The downstairs bedrooms were perfect for sons in their 20s; we all had privacy. The kitchen was well designed and the pool adjacent to the outdoor living area provided a perfect complement to the busy, dusty town and bumpy roads. There was even maid service every other day! Villa Estalla was an ideal place to return to after great days of surfing at Mal Pais, which was a 10 minute drive away. We were sad to leave this great house after eight memorable days

Stephanie was responsive with our pre-visit planning questions and George was accessible and extremely helpful once we arrived. There is nothing we would change about this place.
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Boise, Idaho USA
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family of 5 (3 young adult kids) spent Christmas week here. It was PERFECT. Really.

The location is simply incredible and remote. If you want to "get away" this is the place to do it. George and Stephanie were a fabulous resource. Made reservations for us at two amazing restaurants for Christmas Eve and Christmas day. They also made arrangements for deep sea fishing, zip lining, horseback riding and surfing lessons.

The villa itself is incredible. Three private bedrooms with their own bathrooms. The pool was perfect for cooling off in. We were awakened by howler monkeys every morning.....which prompted me to get up and look for birds (lots) and other wildlife. Even saw a deer one early morning!

You will need a 4 wheel drive vehicle. Driving to and from town/beach is over pretty rough dirt roads. We ended up spending most of our time at the villa---no need to be anywhere else!

No television. Minimal internet. Great opportunity to just chill, relax and spend quality time with our family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Whistler, Canada
5

Peace!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We stayed at the Villa in November with our 11 and 9 year old sons. It is a beautiful oasis set in the most peaceful spot, surrounded by forest, wonderful birds, monkeys and butterflies. The house is very spacious, clean and unusually decorated with a well stocked kitchen if you are cooking at home. There was enough space to hang and store our clothes on open shelves, baskets and hangers - I agree with the owner that it is best not to have closed cupboards with all the moisture and insects! (see previous review and response). I also did not have problems storing food - the kitchen and fridge are spacious and it was great to have a gas stove in case of power cuts! The house had lots of candles and a powerful torch so you are prepared!

You will need a good 4 wheel drive to get up the bumpy narrow road to the house, especially in rainy season when the road can flood, but the drive is worth it for the tranquility and views! Our sons loved having the separate bedrooms - they felt like kings and if you are sharing with other couples or families then it is nice to have the separation and privacy. It is true that it would not be ideal for smaller children, but they could sleep on the living room sofas quite comfortably if you wanted them inside the main house. The outside dining area is beautiful with a huge table - we ate outside all the time. The upstairs master room is palatial with lovely views and a comfortable bed. I would recommend this property for people who like to be off the beaten track and in search of peace. It is truly a magical place that will not disappoint!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
San Diego, CA
2

Be sure this place is right for you.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My wife and I reserved this home after telling the owners we would be traveling with our 4-year old child. Upon arrival we discovered it is not a traditional 3-bedroom home. The one bedroom that can be accessed from the interior of the home is up a precarious spiral staircase (families with children and the elderly should be warned about this). The two other bedrooms have separate exterior entrances and cannot be accessed from the interior of the home. There is no interior dining area, just 4 barstools in the kitchen. There are no dressers in the home for storing clothes. The kitchen has no storage space for any groceries and does not include salt or pepper. The three of us were allotted four towels to use for one week. No hand towels are available and there is not a single towel bar to dry the allotted four towels. We asked for more towels but were denied because of ecological reasons. An extra towel is available only in case of "emergency" we were told. There are no laundry facilities. We were allotted one load of laundry per week. The large upper deck with an expansive view has just two wood dining chairs for relaxing in. Mal Pais is almost 20 minutes away and Montezuma is at least 25 minutes away. A solid 4 wheel drive vehicle with high clearance is required to be able to access the property. On the second day (Monday) of our stay we informed the owners the home was not for us because there was not an appropriate place for our son to sleep in their "3-bedroom" home. We were not comfortable leaving him in an exterior bedroom with no direct access to our bedroom. They offered us a fraction of what we paid to vacate the property the same day because supposedly they had to turn away rentals. Based on the amount of dust and bugs in the dishes and pots and pans it was apparent the home had not been occupied for quite a while and the next VRBO reservation was not until December. We submitted a very generous counter offer to leave the following morning (Tuesday). They never responded to our request. We left the home Thursday morning abandoning our last two nights. Some of the reviews are suspicious. It is a beautiful setting with a great pool and nice patio but the layout of the home is not appropriate for everybody. The care taker Isaac and cleaning woman Milena were both very friendly. We were provided a cell phone for local calls and a USB adapter for our laptop to access the internet.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Enter TextDear Sir,

I'm very sorry that our house did not meet your expectations. I am sure you realize that our goal is to make sure our clients are happy and satisfied.

This vacation villa isn't a traditional house and is usually what appeals most to our clients, with or without kids.
We built it with all comfort of a home away from home, but avoiding ant excess…
We live in a country where electricity is still erratic, humidity is dominating and insects are kings. Cabinetry can quickly become a nest for moisture, excess of electricity use a real problem, and insects the fact of a (luckily) protected fauna and flora…Guests visiting our penninsula are mostly seeking a return to nature, something that they miss so much during their everyday lives.
Evidently this was not your wish and I guess you found what you wanted with Manuel Antonio. This place is much more developed and urbanized.
I'm sincerely affected by your disappointment, and hope you have ended your vacation in a place that met your expectations.

I accept your criticism, because I understand that we can not please everyone, and may i add that you are the first person in 4 years to have a problem with our villas, but I cannot let you jeopardize our good faith by denying the integrity of our reviews.
As a proof, you can see yours online, with all your complaints left in its entirety!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
VILLA ESTRELLA, Elegant ocean view 3 bedroom villa with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213764
+1 506 832-10672
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Washington DC
5

Pure Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I stayed in this property for a few days in March and did not want to leave. It is nestled up in the hills 7-10 minutes away from the beach which results in the most amazing views of Mal Pais and the surrounding areas. The salt water pool is a really nice touch, the master bedroom has an amazing view, and the other two bedrooms are spacious. This place is totally secluded but yet is very close to everything you need from groceries stores, restaurants, entertainment and anything else you can think of.

The people who you will be dealing with, Stephanie and George, are extremely friendly and went out of their way to make me feel at home.

I would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for a place to totally relax and take in the raw nature that is Costa Rica.

Here is a panoramic shot I took of the downstairs dinning area and pool.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/cesareperdomo/5615467082/in/set-72157626538568288

Thank you for the hospitality, I will be returning soon.
Cesar
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4