Launiupoko chateau / country house rental - Privacy, Luxury, Views Forever and Rainbows!
Privacy, Luxury, Views Forever and Rainbows!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Launiupoko Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Enjoy amazing views, privacy, and easy access to all of Maui

This 3BR/3BA handcrafted home is perfect for a relaxing 'friends and family' vacation for the independant traveler. It has all the amenities you need for a short or long term stay. It's about 5 minutes to downtown Lahaina by car, and its easy to bike or hike all around the surrounding area. This Bali-inspired home has teak floors, ceramic tiles in the bedrooms, two glorious outdoor showers, one indoor one, an amazing oceanside lanai for relaxing and dining, and a wonderful outdoor hot tub with amazing views in all directions. .

We love this neighborhood! The spacious lots, the amazing views, the peace and quiet - these are the elements of our Maui Shangri-La. We are excited to be able to share this very special property with you.

Jan Hendrix purchased this chateau / country house in 2007

The property has amazing unobstructed views. The neighborhood is very upscale, and this house is a super value-oriented offering compared to the mansions surrounding it! This is a vacation home for 'real people'. Please check the guest comments to see how many people have loved it here over the years.

The neighborhood has a 7 mile running and walking trail to which the home offers easy access. It's so easy to visit all of Maui from this location. It's about 2 miles to Lahaina, so having an elegant dinner in Lahaina is as easy as can be.

47 Reviews of Property 213296 in Launiupoko, Hawaii

Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 47 reviews
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Seattle WA
5

Guestbook Comment

Unbelievable Views! Thanks for the best vacation ever. The 2 bed cottage had everything we could possible need and we loved the wrap around deck ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
Unbelievable Views! Thanks for the best vacation ever. The 2 bed cottage had everything we could possible need and we loved the wrap around deck with views of Water and Mountains. The furnishings inside and out were very nice. One of our favorite things was waking up to the many exotic sounds of birds blending with the quite. We were close to town if we needed but we quickly learned the quiet was soothing our senses. The stars at night were breathtaking! The last day we could view a submarine in front of the house. Will return.

Mahalo.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
5

Makila Plantation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Fabulous home, beautifully maintained, spectacular view of the ocean. Easy access to beaches and to Maui. Owner is terrific....attentive, available and eager to make sure your stay in Maui is everything you want it to be. Photos on the website don't do the property justice - you have to see to believe.....Would recommend this home to anyone vacationing in Maui. Mahalo to Jan!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Kapolei
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Serenity, solitude and seclusion.
View, sunset, stars,
Private drive, comfy bed, outdoor shower, lanai, big yard, flora and fauna.
Great location to lots of great dining or fully equipped kitchen.
Cable, TVs, hot tub.
Good fortune address makes a blessed home away from home and anniversary spot for two or family reunion or couples retreat.

Mahalo nui to Jan for her great hospitality and a wonderful experience as it was more than a vacation! If you have ever dreamed of living in Hawaii and who hasn't? Then this is your chance. This hale offers serenity, solitude and seclusion. From the awesome ocean view to the sunsets and star gazing. Paradise is here!

The home is beautiful! From the teak counter tops, hardwood flooring and comfy bed. My husband and I had a standing reservation on the huge lanai for morning searching for whales and nightly sunsets. Oh and don't let me forget about the outdoor shower. I never want to shower indoors again. Spoiled by the flora and fauna of the property offering privacy and natural beauty. It was like showering in your own little waterfall.

We have worked with Jan for ten years now. This is our 3rd rental with her and she does not disappoint in the homes she offers; as well as the added touches such as full size shampoo, conditioner and body wash, and a fully stocked kitchen up to and including the ice cream maker.

From the moment you begin driving up your private drive and arrive at the porte cochere you feel at home. We did not want to leave once we were there but when we did venture out, the location offers great access to loads of eating and activity options.

Well, we felt very blessed for having spent our tenth wedding anniversary here and look forward to our return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Grants Pass, OR
5

Classy chateau in amazing maui

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
There is nothing not to like about this property or for that matter the owner Jan, and i am afraid this hidden gem will very soon become extremely popular. Sorry Jan, I don't have any constructive criticism to offer, only unabashed praise.

Located in one of the dryer locations in maui, Launiupoko (for the week we stayed, this location had the best weather in maui), this is a 10 year old chateau that exudes class and elegance. Stay here if you like panoramic views of the ocean and west maui mountains. Because of its elevation, I would assume its well suited to whale watching (visited in early whaling season, so saw none). The lawns are manicured and a delight for children to run on. They don't make houses like these anymore-carved doors, elegant wood panelling, teak floors are some of the standouts. Jan has done a brilliant job of furnishing the property-it seems that she has outsourced the furniture from around the world! She stocks the home nicely and I couldn't think of anything I could not find here that I would in my own. The two outdoor showers are a delight. The chefs kitchen is well equipped. Although the inside of the house is so nice, you will still be spending most of your time on the lanai outside gazing at the ocean and molokai island, sometimes looking at ships in the distance and at other times trying to see see if the blip in the ocean was a whale or something else! Jan is enthusiastic about recycling, which I very much appreciate and is very important to me.

I treated this home like my home, and I'm sure other guests will be inclined to do the same-I can't give a higher accolade than this. Thank you Jan for letting us stay in your home, thank you for your kindness and generosity. We will visit again and soon!

Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Littleton, Colorado
5

My month in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Mahalo Jan for the most soul satisfying month, August 6-Septenber 3, 2012. The Ohana was more than advertised and served my needs perfectly. It is well appointed, fully equiped, peaceful and the ocean/mountain views more than amazing. Your activity list was comprehensive and your contacts provided excellent service. The Saturday Farmers Market just down the road provided fresh produce, as did all of the trees planted on the property, and the Olawalu fruit stand was also convienent. MaLa Ocean Tavern is a must visit restaurant, reservations necessary. This is the place for privacy and easy access to all activities and sites Maui has to offer.
Maui No Ka Oi,
Kathy
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Hamburg, Germany
5

A perfect place for a vacation trip near Lahaina

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
During our seven days stay on Maui we lived at the Palm House, a very gorgeous cottage next to Lahaina (10min by car). The view is amazing: in front of you the ocean and behind you the West Maui Mountains.
The Palm House is very well furnished: two bedrooms (1 kingsize / 1 queensize), a nice living room with flatscreen & DVD, two bathrooms and a full-equipped kitchen with an amazing view to the ocean. The balcony is very big and includes different seating areas and a BBQ (gas).
We enjoyed our stay at this quiet and peaceful place very much. Breakfast at the balcony including whale watching and amazing sunsets at the evening.
We came all the way from Germany and are very glad that we found this gorgeous place at Maui. We hope that we will come back one day! Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Danville, CA
5

What a Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We loved our stay at the Ohana Cottage. It exceeded our expectations. The views are amazing. It is quiet and serene. Each cottage has a lot of room and all the comforts of home. We hope to return next year. We will not stay anywhere else.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Hillsborough, NH
5

Wonderful place to get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the 1BR/1BA. The cottage felt like home right away and provided us with the feeling that we were locals, even if only for a week. If you want to avoid the resorts and time shares this is the place. I regret not staying here for the whole two weeks of our trip to Maui. Jan is very helpful and provided a comprehensive list of what's what in Maui that would rival any hard or soft-bound guide book. It felt as if we didn't just rent a cottage, but that we hired a travel agent! There is fresh fruit on the property that will enhance your stay. Ever made a G&T with a just-picked lime? Jan provided us with more beach toys than we could utilize during our stay. She also called during the first half of our trip to see if there was anything else she could provide. Do not hesitate to stay here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Colorado
5

Four times in Maui - this was the best place we've ever stayed!!!!

Four times in Maui - this was the best place we've ever stayed!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
If you are considering staying on a private property in Maui - West Maui Cottages should be at the top of your list! The homes are just perfect, they have everything you need, the location is fantastic (GREAT neighborhood!) close to town, very private, the list goes on and on!

We went with another couple - there were four of us and the 2 bedroom 2 bath was ideal for us. We went deep sea fishing while in Maui and we were able to bring home a ton of fish an make dinner any night we wanted to. It was very relaxing.

Jan (the owner) is so accommodating and the experience just couldn't have been any better.

Our family of 8 (my husband and myself, his parents, grandparents and brothers) is planning a trip for next year and we will be staying at the West Maui Cottages!!! It feels like our home away from home. :)

You will not be disappointed!

P.S. The price is the icing on the cake! Nothing else compares!

ALOHA!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hawaiian Plantation style home on 6 acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p213296
+ (808) 662-0857
Launiupoko Maui
Temecula,California/US
5

Whales,Sunsets & Adventures in Paradise

Whales,Sunsets & Adventures in Paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Upon our arrival @ this property, it was exactly as advertised. The location & directions were very accurate.The property was much more attractive & homey than the pictures & description.The owner has paid attention to detail & put much emphasis in making this property very appealing & comfortable.There was 5 people sharing this property,(3BR,3BA) over the course of 9 days,so the layout & space was very important.
It is very clean & well maintained.The views, front & rear are spectacular.We spent each morning looking for whale activities, with many sightings to our surprise.Evening activities included cookouts, relaxing conversations, reading & taking in the breath taking sunsets, associated with this property. We met the care takers & had great conversations as well as receiving very useful info for the property,amenities, driving instructions & various activities throughout the island.The owner left detailed info & instructions concerning the use of amenities on the property. The washer & dryer was
very useful & convenient.The living room & kitchen were very well laid out,comfortable,useable & spacious. The bathrooms clean & tidy.A couple of times we had questions & the owner was obtainable & replied in a very timely manner.All of members of our family were pleased with their living quarters & use of the facilities. The pricing is affordable & appropriate for the 3BR & 3BA property. During our stay we visited downtown Lahaina for many various activities. We took the road to Hana as our first adventure.Many photographic opportunities made this trip very pleasing. Be careful of the winding road & one lane bridges.We stopped @ many open markets & botanical gardens along our journey.We attended the feast @ Lele's & was thoroughly entertained & enjoyed by all . We dined @ Leilani's & enjoyed the entertainment of Harry & J.D., Beach Bums, Top Cat & Kimos We also strolled & took in the Art & Wine tour in downtown on Friday evening.Other activities included trips to Plantation Resort in Kannapali,Napili Beach, snorkeling & snuba @ Molikini island & crater, Zip Lining @ Eco Adventure & paddle boarding.This property is in a excellent secure & very appealing area. Would recommend to everyone. Enjoyed working with Jan, her expertise & professionalism. Looking forward to returning.

Aloha,
Joanne, George, Ruth, Sue & Gary
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1