Healdsburg house rental - Enjoy the peace, solitude, and beauty while Kayaking at Northwoods Lodge.
Enjoy the peace, solitude, and beauty while Kayaking at Northwoods Lodge.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Healdsburg House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Northwoods appeals to its guests with its spectacular riverfront setting, spacious river view deck, charming decor, exceptionally comfortable beds, outstanding cleanliness, high quality amenities, the private dock and kayaks, a beautiful, tranquil and even 'perfect location', with easy access to all wine country attractions, plus outstanding customer service.

Northwoods is a charming and peaceful riverfront getaway that has everything you'll need for a great wine country stay for two to six guests. Located less than one mile from Healdsburg, Northwoods is the perfect choice for summer fun, or cozy winter getaways. There's a fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, river views, an expansive deck, a 4-5 person Marquis spa, a private dock with kayaks, and a Weber gas BBQ grill. You'll love the contemplative stillness, sitting on the dock surrounded breathtaking scenery. The only likely interruptions will be the kerplunk of a fish, or croak of a bullfrog. You'll come away refreshed!

There are 3 bedrooms, with comfortable queen size beds and fine linens. A fourth sleeping area is the upstairs sitting room. It has a twin size daybed, plus a twin size trundle that rolls out from beneath. There is one full bath is upstairs, and one full bath on the lower level. Overnight occupancy is limited to 6, plus any children under 3 years of age.

The décor includes vintage, northwoods style birch and willow furnishings, plus leather seating in the living room.

NORTHWOODS is just one of our four beautiful, vacation homes in Healdsburg. Call us for information on them all, or visit our WineCountryLodges website to view our more than 80 photos per property.

For larger groups, our Firefly Lodge is just 4 doors away on the same riverfront lane and sleeps 8 guests. Also nearby is our Riverwood Lodge that sleeps 8 and our Old River Lodge that sleeps 6. Note: Due to the peaceful and residential nature of the neighborhood parties and special events are not allowed.

All four of our beautiful riverside settings are tranquil. The soothing sounds of the river de-stress and relax those needing a break from hectic urban life. Listen to the sounds of nature and unwind while enjoying the charming accommodations, comfortable beds, the cozy fire, and a slower pace, while being a short mile, or so, from the hub of this world class wine producing region. At Wine Country Lodges, we've been inviting guests to enjoy the unique pleasures of Sonoma County Wine Country for over seven years.

- “Three couples just stayed at the Northwoods Lodge and had a wonderful time. It was so nice to have our own private place to come 'home' to after a day out visiting the wineries. At the end of the trip we spent two days in Napa. We were so glad that we spent most of trip in Healdsburg. It has great shopping, restaurants, and is small and quaint. The wineries are on quiet back roads with beautiful scenery. We hope to come back!”

Anonymous, Aberdeen, SD

For more guest testimonials, please visit our website and click on the online guestbook.

Keywords: House/Private Home

More Details
Hide Details

Wine Country Lodges’ history in Sonoma County started with its founder, Lisa Neisingh. Lisa was raised in Sonoma County, where she enjoyed vacations with her family at their riverfront cabin on Healdsburg’s Fitch Mountain and where she learned to swim with her cousins in the Russian River. Wanting to continue to share similar getaway experiences for additional families and friends, she bought Northwoods in 2007, as Wine Country Lodges’ fourth riverfront vacation home. With Northwoods she wanted to convey a relaxing, back-to-nature environment, she chose upscale, rustic, and charming antique 'Northwoods' style furnishings to make guests feel welcomed and relaxed. The home and its accommodations provide the perfect atmosphere for those wanting to create special vacation memories while bonding with family and friends in a relaxingly, peaceful and unspoiled riverfront setting. Wine Country Lodges continues in the tradition of welcoming guests and is now owned and managed by Lisa’s children Jared B Pickrell and Jill Jensen. Our family enjoys filling these wonderful riverfront homes with comfortable furnishings, relaxing amenities, and providing an array of adventurous and leisurely activities for our guests to enjoy.

We Look Forward to Welcoming You to Healdsburg’s Riverfront Wine Country.

Wine Country Lodges LLC purchased this house in 2007

Lisa acquired Northwoods as a fourth riverfront home addition to Wine Country Lodges. Northwoods has an ideal riverfront location and is just four doors away from our first vacation home, Firefly, providing excellent close accommodations for many groups desiring adjacent accommodations.

FOR PHOTOS & TO BOOK ONLINE VISIT: www.winecountrylodges.com

It's breathtakingly peaceful setting on the river is one of our guests' favorite things about Northwoods Lodge. A year ago a guest proposed marriage to his sweetheart in that most inspiring setting! In the summer, with our dock right at the water level, there's so much to do, or just sit in the deck chairs and watch. The water is warm, and clean, and the swimming is fabulous! The canoe traffic glides peacefully by. We make kayaks available to you, too. The home itself is as charming as can be. It's neat, tidy, appealing and supplied with everything you'll need to feel at home. It's furnished for comfort, from leather in the living room, to our very comfortable pillow top beds. The decor and antiques are laid back, rustic,and refined all at the same time. The large, beautiful, river view deck, shaded by redwoods and bay trees, is a cool place to relax in the summer. We keep the hot tub sparkling clean and bubbly for your enjoyment, and we provide zero gravity, recliner chairs on the deck for your relaxation. There are plenty of tables and chairs, to, to help you enjoy outdoor living. We furnish a 'fishing' room, well stocked with poles, tackle, fishing guide books, and the regulations and information you'll need to know. You'll find Northwoods Lodge to be a wonderful home to return to after a day away touring wineries. It's so close to Sonoma and Napa Wineries, and only one mile from Healdsburg. The location is 'perfect'!! We look forward to welcoming you soon!

39 Reviews of Property 212356 in Healdsburg, California

Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
average rating of 4.8157897 based on 39 reviews
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
san francisco
2

Would not return

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures are very nice and accurate. There is christmas, hunting, bear decor everywhere.
The house was clean, hot tub worked, view of the river was nice.
The layout of the house is very cramped, in the kitchen is a giant picnic table. You are unable to walk through the kitchen, living room, patio without carefully stepping around this silly table. We could not get the dishwasher to function? When we plugged it in it sprayed water everywhere.

The most disappointing part about our weekend getaway was the neighborhood. There are houses directly on each side of the Northwoods house - almost connected. Closer than my neighbors in the city. You practically are sharing the deck space with the folks on each side of you. Quite certain they could hear all of our conversations and we could smell their dinner and cigarettes, and hear their dogs and children.

We spent most of Saturday away from the property exploring Healdsburg, and were unhappy to return to the part of Fitch Mountain that is very crowded with houses.

This house is very overpriced. I would not recommend to anyone.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
South San Francisco
1

Not a Great Experience.............

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed at the Old River Lodge from July 16 thru 24th. We have rented numerous homes in Maui, AZ, CA, & WA. All have been wonderful. This one was definitely NOT.
Upon arrival we were not able to get into the house using the code provided. After numerous phone calls, we finally got hold of Lisa. She advised that she had been busy and didn't change the key code. When we went to use the hot tub, we found that it was cold. Called Lisa. She said she could be there in a couple of hours or could walk me thru resetting it. We did it. That took hours to heat up. She blamed the last tenants but made no apology.
When we had talked to Jen (owner's daughter) about renting the house, we explained that there would be two small children. She said that there was a beach and the children could wade in and walk out to an island. We got there and there was no beach. There is a small dock. In order to enter the water, you must step off of the dock, onto underwater rocks, grab a broken pipe sticking out of the ground and climb into 5+ feet of water! Precarious for anyone and definitely not for children. We spent the week driving to the local beach. We had explained to them that there would be 4 adults and 2 children but that they would rotate in and out. Come Sunday, son and g/f were still there and other son and family arrived. Shortly there was a knock on the door and Lisa was there demanding to know why we had 3 cars in front of the house and how many people were there! We explained that there was only going to be 4 adults and 2 children there overnight. She went away.
The following Saturday, we showered in the third floor bathroom. Prior to that we had only taken baths upstairs. Suddenly we had water pouring into the kitchen downstairs thru an area that had recently been patched. We called Lisa. She accused me of stopping up the toilet. I explained that the toilet was fine and it was the shower. She arrived an hour later and poked holes in the ceiling. This created quite a mess. She went upstairs and saw that there was no water on the floor and that the toilet was working. I explained that it appeared that it was the same area that had previously leaked. She was extremely upset and said she had to curl her hair and was going to be late to the Water Festival. My son told her to go ahead and he would clean up the mess. No apology. just don't use the shower! Told we will not get deposit back for a list of 'invented' infractions!
Owner's Response: We the respect this guest's right to vent her frustrations, however exaggerations that seem retaliatory do need to be corrected. We've just finished our investigation of the damage done by water flooding and damaging a ceiling. This guest chose to make many exaggerated assertions while waiting for our investigation to conclude. A thorough plumbing check completed yesterday has revealed a fault in our plumbing, and absolves the guest of any responsibility or deduction from her deposit refund. Please know that we never speak to guests as reported, saying we will be several hours before help arrives, or are to busy curling our hair, or any such thing, and that we try very hard to give every guest great customer service! Regarding this guest's comments about the dock and river access, we are actually thankful for her comments. The dock and river access has remained much the same since 1935. The pipe the guests says is "broken" was actually installed there in the concrete by the owner in the 1930's as a loop of pipe set into concrete that is used to secure boats. We do our utmost to be environmentally friendly, and try to be sensitive to the river's edge. However, as this guest suggests there probably modernizations that we could accomplish to the concrete dock, and we will plan that shortly, because it's our desire that all guests find their stays to be totally enjoyable. Hopefully this guest will have a better feeling about her visit after she learns that she was not responsible for the damage, and we look forward to completing our transaction with her shortly.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
Bloomington, WI
5

JD

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This house was great! It is well maintained and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The deck with hot tub was relaxing and offered great views of the river. I would definitely recommend this place to any of my friends. It was so nice for the six of us to have such a wonderful place to sit around and relax after a day of touring the Korbel Winery and the Armstrong Redwood Forest. We also enjoyed other wineries in the area and shopping in Healdsburg. We were wishing we could stay longer to enjoy tubing or kayaking down the river as we saw so many going by as we sat on the deck.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
San Jose
5

Fantastic Deck!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Six of us stayed at the "Lodge" and we particularly loved the deck. The views of the river were fantastic and we felt like we were in the forest. Outside of sleeping, we spent the whole weekend on the deck. The house is very comfortable and for the most part, has everything one would need for a great weekend with friends and family.

Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
Weed, CA. USA
5

wedding weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Excellent! We would love to come back and stay for Steelhead season sometime. The Russian River Kayak & Canoe race brought back memories from my growing years in Hldsbrg. The house was perfectly appointed, meeting all our needs. Keep up the good work, Lisa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
Inver Grove Heights, MN
5

Northwoods Lodge in Healdsburg is Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The Northwoods Lodge was a wonderful place to stay for us two couples to share while sightseeing and wine tasting! We pulled up to the house and were welcomed with soft lights on inside and the gas fireplace going. Everything about the house was cozy and comfortable, decorated in a charming way. This spot in Headlsburg is in a perfect location as your base for traveling around through wine country. We really liked the fact that we could make our meals at "home" after a busy travel day. The hot tub on the deck overlooking the river was fabulous! This is the second time we've rented from Wine Country Lodges and again, we were extremely pleased with the accommodations! We highly recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
Inver Grove Heights, MN
5

Northwoods Lodge is Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The Northwoods Lodge was a wonderful place to stay for us two couples to share while sightseeing and wine tasting! We pulled up to the house and were welcomed with soft lights on inside and the gas fireplace going. Everything about the house was cozy and comfortable, decorated in a charming way. This spot in Headlsburg is in a perfect location as your base for traveling around through wine country. We really liked the fact that we could make our meals at "home" after a busy travel day. The hot tub on the deck overlooking the river was fabulous! This is the second time we've rented from Wine Country Lodges and again, we were extremely pleased with the accommodations! We highly recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
Palo Alto
5

Wonderful home in Sonoma

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We stayed in the Northwoods Lodge just outside downtown Healdsburg for a family vacation. The home was well kept and very clean. The owners provided useful information about area resources to help plan our visit. The owners are responsive to questions about the home and the process of booking the home was very easy. We were pleasantly surprised by how quickly the owner returned our security deposit. We highly recommend Wine Country Lodges and plan to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
Palo Alto
5

Wonderful home for family vacation in Sonoma

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We stayed in the Northwoods Lodge just outside downtown Healdsburg for a family vacation. The home was well kept and very clean. The owners provided useful information about area resources to help plan our visit. The owners are responsive to questions about the home and the process of booking the home was very easy. We were pleasantly surprised by how quickly the owner returned our security deposit. We highly recommend Wine Country Lodges and plan to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Northwoods - Favorite Riverfront Getaway in Healdsburg - Hot Tub, Kayaks, Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212356
+1 866-786-2778
Healdsburg Sonoma County
London, UK
5

Simply wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
A beautiful property with fantastic amenities and breathtaking views over the river. We were very sad we could not stay longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway