South Bank & Southwark apartment rental - View from the South Bank of The River Thames
View from the South Bank of The River Thames
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

South Bank & Southwark Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Garden Apartment - 2 Bedrooms + Sofabed - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 2-5)

Our Southbank garden apartment, in the new heart of London, is 100 yards from The Thames behind The OXO Tower between Waterloo Bridge and Blackfriars Bridge.

Our apartment is on the first and second floors of a small, modern block of 16 apartments. The first floor comprises of a living room with sofa bed (suitable for a child or teenager) and full kitchen. There are patio doors onto a beautiful, planted deck with a table and chairs for al fresco dining. There is also a double bedroom and shower room on this floor. On the second floor is an en suite master bedroom overlooking the garden deck. There is an elevator.

We are very close to the cultural heart of London including The National Theatre, Hayward Gallery, Royal Festival Hall, National Film Theatre, Tate Modern, Globe Theatre and The London Eye. There are lots of places nearby to eat and drink to cover all tastes and budgets.

Location: We are ten minutes from two tube stops (Waterloo and Blackfriars), which have 5 lines between them as well as British Rail services. For the most picturesque walk along The River, we use Embankment Station, which takes 15 to 20 minutes depending on how many photos you take!

Eating: We have plenty of places nearby to eat including two very good restaurants in The OXO Tower, which have great views. There are lots of less expensive restaurants within a short distance, many overlooking The River, and a couple of pubs on The River that serve food and drink throughout the day.It truly is the best location in London!

More Details
Hide Details

David and Julia have always loved the culture of London's South Bank and when the opportunity arose to purchase an apartment they couldn't believe their luck.

They have a six years old son, Sebastian.

Julia is a professional, classical singer having trained at The Royal College of Music. Since the birth of Sebastian she has been a full time Mum fitting in the occasional concert.

David is a full time Dad and says it's the best thing he has ever done!

David and Julia Batchelor-Walsh purchased this apartment in 2005

The South Bank is the vibrant cultural centre of London. Our apartment is near The Tate Modern, The World's most visited art gallery and a host of other attractions including The Globe Theatre, St Pauls, The National Theatre,National Film Theatre, Hayward Gallery, The Royal festival Hall, London Eye etc etc.

We are within walking distance of theatreland and Covent Garden and there are lots and lots of places to eat and drink to suit all tastes and budgets.

Public transport is fabulous particularly the RV! bus which stops outside our apartment block and runs, mainly along The River from Tower Hill to Covent Garden via Waterloo. It is a very frequent service. Taxis are abundant.

45 Reviews of Property 212202 in South Bank & Southwark, United Kingdom

South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
average rating of 4.837209 based on 45 reviews
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
Glasgow
5

Superbly located London apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Superbly located apartment a stone's throw from the London Eye, with many of London's top attractions within walking distance. We never had to travel more than 6 tube stops to go anywhere that we wanted to go, including the O2, which we went to via a sunny boat trip on a Thames Clipper, and returned via the underground.

We were there on a sunny week, and the patio garden was greatly appreciated, as was the piano, which our 12 year old son loved.

There are lots of good local restaurants within 10 minutes, and Borough Market on Thursday, Friday and Saturday is fabulous for picnic fodder, fruit, cheese and mouthwatering cakes.

Apartment is well equipped and clean, with everything that we needed for our week's stay. Welcome groceries were much appreciated.

We will definitely book this again for our next trip to London.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, Louise. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay in our apartment.

Best wishes

David + Julia
Helpful votes: 31/31
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada
5

An Excellent Place to Stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Where to begin? This apartment is excellent for so many reasons. Four of us, two couples, stayed there for nine days. David, the owner, graciously greeted us and showed us our accommodations. We lacked nothing in amenities including breakfast items in the fridge and cupboards. Although the apartment is only 750 sq. ft., one of the bedrooms and its ensuite is on the second floor so the apartment feels larger than it is. That bedroom also has access to an elevator - very convenient when dealing with luggage. The location of the apartment is also perfect; within easy and enjoyable walking distances to many of London's major attractions as well as grocery stores, pubs, and restaurants. The Jubilee Walk along the south bank of the Thames is less than a block from the apartment, and while we were there it was set up with lovely kiosks for one of the city's Christmas Markets. The apartment is very clean, and it is situated on a quiet street. A good night's rest after 10-12 hours of sightseeing was always available. London is a great city and this is a great apartment. Although we tried, we didn't see all that the city and its surrounds have to offer, of course. We hope to return, and when we do, we hope that this apartment is still available. David and Julia, you have a gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Nadine and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David and Julia
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
5

Very clean and excellent location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Thank you David! Loved the location of the flat and it was very clean!!!! We hope to come back and stay there again in the future..
Owner's Response: Many thanks Stephanie and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
5

Perfect location; great flat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Four of us stayed in this flat; it was a great location and fulfilled all of our needs. It was comfortable and close to much great sightseeing. David was very helpful and accommodating. We highly recommend this flat!
Owner's Response: Many thanks Carlotta and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best wishes

David
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Subject: Back home Date: Mon, 28 Oct 2013 18:03:08

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Dear David,

I would like to tell you that we 4 really enjoyed our holidays in London.

Your flat is great. Thank you for all the breakfast-things in the refrigiator.

Even the weather was fantastic !!! So we had a wonderful view from the London Eye.

If we decide to come back to London your flat will be the first choice for us!!!

Best wishes

Martina, Thomas, Radka and Ansuze
Germany
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
5

An amazingly comfortable and unforgettable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a beautiful little place to stay, the welcome we Recieved was superb. Fresh food in the fridge was a touch we felt went the extra mile. The comfort of staying in the accommodation matched that of home, spotlessly clean, easy to use appliances and a wonderful shower! I have never stayed somewhere where I prefer the bed to my own but this accommodation was just that. The location is brilliant for exploring London literally on the doorstep of the Thames and close to many sights that we wanted to see. I cannot fault this accommodation it was as much a joy to come back to after a days exploring as it was to explore London! I will definatly be going again.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Sarah and Amy. It was a pleasure to have you stay and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David, Julia and Sebastian
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
5

Comfort in a superb location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This South Bank flat was perfect for me and my daughter. We found the flat to be comfortable and well equipped. We were cozy in January and enjoyed having our separate bedrooms. We particularly liked being so close to the Tate Modern and everything the South Bank now offers. . We ate well in several of the nearby restaurants. We discovered the Borough Market too late in our stay, but plan to explore it more thoroughly next time. The weather was mild for January so with the easy walk to the Thames footbridge we mostly walked , though buses and tube were not far away when needed. David stayed to give us a warm welcome although our train was two hours late arriving from the north. We found the listed information to be accurate and helpful. Our whole stay was smooth and thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely recommend this flat to friends.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Gennifer. Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
5

Comfort in a superb location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This South Bank flat was perfect for me and my daughter. We found the flat to be comfortable and well equipped. We were cozy in January and enjoyed having our separate bedrooms. We particularly liked being so close to the Tate Modern and everything the South Bank now offers. . We ate well in several of the nearby restaurants. We discovered the Borough Market too late in our stay, but plan to explore it more thoroughly next time. The weather was mild for January so with the easy walk to the Thames footbridge we mostly walked , though buses and tube were not far away when needed. David stayed to give us a warm welcome although our train was two hours late arriving from the north. We found the listed information to be accurate and helpful. Our whole stay was smooth and thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely recommend this flat to friends.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Gennifer.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
Juneau, AK
5

London at its best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
It only took David a few hours to respond to my initial inquiry about the flat, and he provided a wealth of knowledge that made the decision to stay here very easy. I stayed here with my mother-in-law, sister-in-law, and niece (first trip with the in-laws!). The simplest way to describe the overall experience is "perfect", and the price is one of the best you will find. Trust me, I scoured the London rental listings for weeks.

The flat had plenty of space for the four of us, very clean and well cared for. We drank our morning coffee/tea on the garden deck, in the sun - for a flat in the middle of London, it was surprisingly quiet too! The location couldn't get much better - we are a family of walkers, and everything you could possibly need is indeed within walking distance. I, being the London veteran, navigated the Underground for our group, and we were able to hit all of the major tourist attractions for a very modest sum. It felt good to come "home" at the end of the day.

To top it all off, David, Julia, and son Sebastian (watch out, he's a charmer) are wonderful people.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Hannah for writing such a positive review. I hope you will visit again soon.

Best wishes

David
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
South Bank...the New Heart of London. Garden Apartment.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212202
+44 7973912224
South Bank & Southwark London
5

All the comforts of home and then some..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I rented this flat with the intention of having 1 other person join us. They ended up backing out at the last minute, which worked out great for us. I am a very light sleeper and my husband snores a lot..so I appreciated being able to use the other bedroom on those nights. He likes showers and I like baths, so we each had our own separate bathrooms which were fully stocked with towels and toiletries. When we arrived to the property, the fridge was fully stocked with bread, milk, butter, orange juice, jam....cereals. Enough that we didnt need to go grocery shopping until the next day. There is a fridge, freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle..everything you could possibly need. We were there for 2 full weeks, so the washer/dryer was very handy..and there was a drying rack for the delicates. We were a 1 minute walk from Southbank. We literally ate at every restaurant they had to offer..and most of them were wonderful, but if you are looking for a quick bite to eat away from the crowds of Southbank, there is a place called Dr. Inks right around the corner from the flat that does wonderful hot meals. They were not busy during the day. There is also a sandwich bar called Jams next to that, that offers wonderful hot breakfasts. We drove to the apartment.. It was nice knowing our car was in secured parking, we were never worried about it. There was a huge patio area outside the flat, with lots of plants and trees. There were metal shutters on every window. The best part for me, being such a light sleeper..once that shutter was down, it was pitch black. I have never slept so sound, actually overslept a few times! The only slight problem we had (which wasnt really a problem) was the internet..it seemed slow downstairs BUT it worked perfectly fine upstairs, which did the job..as we werent there to play on the computer anyways. David and his wife were lovely. They were both very friendly and helpful. The location couldnt have been better. We had 2 train stations to choose from, both within walking distance. We enjoyed sightseeing during the day and just walking along the Southbank at night. The best part for us was that the flat had an entrance on both levels. So when my husband brought in the luggage he took it up to the top level and straight into the bedroom..rather than us having to lug it all up the stairs. There was also a lift/elevator. I never heard a sound from any of the neighbours or the traffic. We would gladly use this flat again!!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Joyce.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David, Julia and Sebastian
Helpful votes: 12/12