La Ribera El Borne apartment rental - bedroom view from bathroom
bedroom view from bathroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

La Ribera El Borne Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 double bedrooms, 2 complete bathrooms, sleeps 7

New duplex apartment decorated in the rustic style, in the Borne neighbourhood, one of the most fashionable areas of the city. The location is unbeatable: 5 minutes walk from the Ramblas, and next to the church of Santa María del Mar and the Picasso Museum.

The apartment has two separate living spaces. The first comprises a cosy lounge-diner with AC/heating, a comfortable sofa bed and fully equipped separate kitchen. In the second there are two double bedrooms, one with double bed and ensuite bathroom, the other with two single beds, a single convertible bed and ensuite bathroom. Exposed wood beams, stone walls and tasteful decoration create a welcoming, homely environment.

The area: Underground: Jaume I (L4)

Neighborhood: Born

A few minutes from: the church of Santa María del Mar, Picasso Museum, Borne market, the Cathedral, Plaza Jaume I, Las Ramblas, Ciutadella park, Barceloneta beach, Gothic quarter.

The neighbourhood: Borne, also known as La Ribera, was originally the artisan quarter of the city. In medieval times, it was the centre of the city’s trade and industry.

In the 13th century Born was connected to the Gothic quarter and its historic walls and its absorption into the centre of the city was complete with the opening in the 20th century of the Via Laietana.

Nowadays it is one of the liveliest and most fashionable neighbourhoods in Barcelona. Designer clothes shops, modern, minimalist restaurants and the latest cocktail bars draw visitors and residents alike to the area’s narrow streets.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 212194 in La Ribera El Borne, Spain

Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 7 reviews
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
1

Apartment in desperate need of repair

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We just got back from a 3 week, 5 city trip to Spain and this was by far the worst maintained apartment we stayed in. It has severe water damage in the kitchen and living room area. The kitchen was also infested with cockroaches and other bugs. We were only there for 4 days and the four of us had a serious discussion about getting a hotel after the 2nd night.

The Good:
-Location is awesome, tons of restaurants and shops right outside the door.
-Apartment has functional internet and washer and dryer
-The guy who met us was really helpful and suggested several good restaurants in the area.

The Bad:
-Although the guy who met us and showed us around, told us about the water damage and said it was going to get fixed (it's spain and everything takes a long time he said). We didn't realize how bad it was until the 2nd day. The water still leaks and this apartment should have never been rented out.
-I don't know if the water damage has caused a breeding ground for insects or what the deal was, but the kitchen was seriously infested. There was even a cockroach in the refrigerator.
-The apartment wasn't very clean in general, the bathrooms especially needed a good cleaning.
-As mentioned in other reviews, the air conditioning only works downstairs and not in the bedrooms.

Basically I really wish we had not stayed here. We should have demanded our money back when we first got there, this was most definitely a lesson learned.
Owner's Response: This summer we had an unexpected incident: the apartment above, which it is not managed by us, had an uncontrollable problem with a pipe and the ceiling of our kitchen was badly damaged. Apparently it attracted some cockroaches and the heat we got in that period did not help.
In order to repair this issue the apartment has been closed for a few weeks and we are happy to inform you all that the problem is now solved.
Also, I would like to underline that the first customer who is complaining, he never called us during his stay to notify us about this problem. Surprisingly, we only received an email one week after his departure and suddenly this review. I'm sure that if the problem would have been mentioned during the first days of his stay we would have found an immediate solution.
And regarding the second customer, as we own several units in the same building, he was immediately changed to an apartment next door in the same floor and we gave him a good economic compensation for the caused inconvenience.
We aim to offer a quality service to our customers to make them feel at home. Unfortunately, pipes can break and we cannot change or avoit it but as a good professionals we always help and find the best solution for our customers.
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
4

Great location....

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I stayed here with a couple of friends to celebrate a big birthday! Silvia answered my many e-mails patiently. Ricardo was very helpful and check in was smooth. The apartment was very spacious for the 3 of us and having 2 bathrooms was great. We found the bedrooms to be noisy, but the lounge area is double glazed, so we slept in there and that was fine. I think because of the location and all the shops and other stuff going on, it's going to be noisy. The price you pay for such a convenient location, I guess! We walked everywhere and loved El Born and the area around it - so atmospheric and interesting, lots to do and a beach as well! We loved Barcelona - it's got it all!

Thanks Silvia and Ricardo.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
4

Fine for the price

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed here for a few nights in early September. Best part about the place is the location - lots of great shops, restaurants, and shops all within about a block of your door. Jaume metro stop is almost right out your door.

Owner was extremely friendly and helpful, everything was clean, new and neat, everything worked etc. (do bring soap though)

Low points:
- quite hot upstairs in the bedrooms in the late summer, AC was only effective in the downstairs living room portion (where we slept)
- there was a breakin next door while we were there - slightly worrisome.
- very loud at night if you're not out there partying with the others ;-)

Overall, worth a look, especially if you like the Borne area of Barcelona.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
Napa, CA USA
5

Barcelona Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We loved our Barcelona Hideaway! Location was perfect - lots of places to shop and eat. Convenient to tourist spots and transportation. Pablo, the manager, was very helpful. The apartment was even better than the pictures! We would love to go back and stay in the very same place. The 4 of us would highly recommend this property. The Senior Gypsies
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
Australia
5

Barcelona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Great place to stay. Would highly recommend. Really feel like you are at home. Isabel and Mike are the most welcoming people and the special extras made all the difference.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
1

appartement infesté: location mensongère

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Nous avons loué cet appartement en septembre.En octobre , nous avons été alerté par un locataire de ce dernier qui faisait une appréciation très négative avec une présence de CAFARDS.Nous avons immédiatement téléphoné mais il nous a été confirmé que tout était réglé, le problème résolu et que le locataire était spécial!! Lorsque nous sommes arrivés, nous avons bien senti l'insecticide mais nous sommes restés méfiants...Le soir même apparaissait le premier CAFARD, puis 5 le lendemain bref, sur notre insistance, on nous a changé d'appartement.
Nous sommes très déçu sur le mensonge de nettoyage et sur le fait de payer un appartement avec CAFARDS!!!
J'ai pris des photos et caché dans l'appartement des cafards écrasés pour con
server une preuve
Il n'y a pas de nettoyage et il n'y en aura pas car je suis retourné dans ce dernier pour constater qu'il était près à recevoir de nouveau locataire avec un nettoyage de surface.
Bonnes chances à vous et bonne chasse.
Owner's Response: This summer we had an unexpected incident: the apartment above, which it is not managed by us, had an uncontrollable problem with a pipe and the ceiling of our kitchen was badly damaged. Apparently it attracted some cockroaches and the heat we got in that period did not help.
In order to repair this issue the apartment has been closed for a few weeks and we are happy to inform you all that the problem is now solved.
Also, I would like to underline that the first customer who is complaining, he never called us during his stay to notify us about this problem. Surprisingly, we only received an email one week after his departure and suddenly this review. I'm sure that if the problem would have been mentioned during the first days of his stay we would have found an immediate solution.
And regarding the second customer, as we own several units in the same building, he was immediately changed to an apartment next door in the same floor and we gave him a good economic compensation for the caused inconvenience.
We aim to offer a quality service to our customers to make them feel at home. Unfortunately, pipes can break and we cannot change or avoit it but as a good professionals we always help and find the best solution for our customers.
Helpful votes: 13/18
business
Lovely, rustic & new apartment, Barcelona centre, Ideal for families, safe area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212194
+34 650200242
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
italia
5

a

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Bell'appartamento in ottima posizione per conoscere ed apprezzare la città. Ideale per 4/5 persone, vicinissima alla cattedrale ed alle ramblas ci ha fatto trascorrere veramente una bella vacanza.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/14