Tulum house rental - Casa Luna Sombra
Casa Luna Sombra
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Tulum House Rental Photos and Description
Newly furnished, 2 bedroom,1 bath, Ceiling Fans & A.C., Sleeps 5, Non-Smoking

Fully Equipped Home, South of Cancun. 2 Bedrooms, 1 King and 1 Queen size bed, plus a fold out Swiss cot. Newly Remodled Full bathroom . Enjoy the backyard patio,table,chairs and Mayan hammocks facing the jungle.Outdoor shower and gas grill.This home is 15 min. North of Tulum and 5 min South of Akumal . 5 min from the Mayan Ruins, A 10 min. walk will bring you to a beautiful white sand beach..Xcacel Beach is rated one of the best in the Caribbean. 30 min. north will bring you to the beautiful waterfront town of Playa Del Carmen, Great for shopping, dining or take the ferry to the Island of Cozumel for the day! Hidden Worlds Cenote Park, Zip Lines, Xel-Ha & Xcaret Natural Water Parks are only minutes away. Welcome to Casa Luna Sombra ! We now accept Visa & Master Card

Home sleeps 5 people Max. . This is a non-smoking property. $250 security deposit is required. Daily housekeeping is available for $25 per day Home is a 2 min. walk to bus route to Tulum & Playa Del Carmen, Taxis service from your door.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 212156 in Tulum, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 13 reviews
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
Willimantic, CT / USA
5

Most fun we've had in a long time!!!

Most fun we've had in a long time!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
My wife & I stayed down in February for two weeks & had a blast. The beach is a short walk, fantastic snorkeling, the town is a short ride, restaurants, grocery store, internet, video rentals, etc. Amazing scuba diving spots are a short ride away, ocean reef & caves, Mayan ruins, too much to list it all!!
Location was perfect, just far enough away from all the tourist congestion, but if you need a beach with a bar it's available.
Casa's were neat & clean, we even had the maintenance guy stop by to see if every thing was O.K.
More than enough room for four adults.
Recommend all to check this place out. We can't wait to get back down again!
Thanks so much, we'll see you again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola Nate & Steph, It was great having you stay at our casa,and thanks for leaving it so clean. We look foward to your return. Best Regards! Don & Norma
Helpful votes: 14/15
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
Wisconsin
4

Great location, beautiful area; quiet and cosy

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If you are looking for a quiet secluded Mexico gateway, this is the place! While everything is very close (10 mins. to Akumal, 15 mins. to Tulum and a 15 mins. walk, or 2 mins. drive, to the nearest pueblo of Chemuyil), this location provides the laid-back feeling that is simply not present in the all-inclusive resorts and hotels.
I would recommend renting a car for the length of your stay because there are no grocery stores or eating places in the small village where this casa is located. However, in Chemuyil you will find several small groceries (called "Super" by the locals); a couple of markets to buy fresh (very fresh and yummy!) fruits and veggies; three good restaurants which cater to expats (while prices are still much lower than in similar restaurants in Tulum or Akumal) and a number of food carts/local eateries/holes in the wall, which I highly recommend. Super tasty and very cheap!
The Xcacel Beach is very beautiful, not crowded at all, and is a popular place with the locals too, which contributes to the Mexico experience. However, it is open only from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. If early morning walks or runs on the beach are important to you, you may wish to consider alternatives. I was unpleasantly surprised by this.
Overall, a great and affordable place to stay, relax and get to know Mexico a little better.
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed staying in our casa.We were told the reason that the beach is open from 9 to 5 is because it is run by the goverment as a turtle sancuary. It is rated as one of the best beaches in Mexico and we are happy we get to enjoy it.Thanks for leaving our casa so clean and neat. Hope you return soon!!!
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
5

Super clean, well equipped, quaint, cozy, all with a Mexican flair-

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Fell in love with the hammocks in the private backyard, while watching stars at night with a bit of tequila - heard and observed some wildlife (not dangerous, just interesting) - everything was superbly well equipped (kitchen, bathroom, linens etc..) and intelligently organized; ei, shower outside = no sand inside, gallons of fresh water, comfortable beds (Pat still wishes for the bed at Luna Sombra). We saw King Angel Fish, stingrays, all kinds of tang while snorkeling near live coral at Xcalak,. Ate fresh coconuts from the beach too. Our son of 11 was comfortable & secure at Luna Sombra. It is suspected that he enjoyed the beaches , cenotes, climate, and hammocks more than his parents.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
5

Great house in an amazing area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I had a great time at Casa Luna Sombra. It was very clean and comfortable with everything you need, including lots of beach gear. We also liked that there were plenty of movies to choose from in the evenings after a day in the sun.
There is so much to do in the area. Xcacel beach is a short walk and perfect for those who like natural and not so crowded beaches. But if you want a beach with restaurants and action, that's nearby too! Our favorite was Akumal beach where you're guaranteed to see sea turtles every time. We also loved exploring a couple cenotes. There are many to choose from in the area.
Having a car is always ideal but if you aren't going to have one like us... we found it was really easy to take the "collectivos" (Comfortable mini-buses with A/C) It's a short walk to the main road from the house and the collectivos pass every couple of minutes.
We would definitely recommend this house to all! Thank you Don & Norma. We had such an enjoyable and relaxing vacation at your place.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
Edmonton, Alberta
5

Sweet Casa, For a Lovely HoneyMoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Its a very sweet and lovely Mexican house, in a very quiet town.
We rent it for our Honeymoon, we didn't to go to a busy Resort. We love quietness and being like at Home, And really experience Mexican Life.


There is a lot to do close by, Caves, Cenotes, Beaches,
Our favorite beaches was Akumal and swimming with Turtles. Dos Ojos very nice cenotes. Etc... it will take long time tell everything, why you don't go check by yourself.

If like us you like a quiet vacation renting a little casa, is the way to go.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
5

Sweet little Casa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Casa Luna Sombra is a sweet little mexican casa. Don and Norma have done a beautiful job making it comfortable and relaxing. It is a good choice for those seeking a more complete experience of the area. We spent our time exploring local Cenote's , beaches and ruins. All within an hour of this casa. We swam with the Sea turtles at Akamal and climed the ruins at Coba.The mexican locals are all very friendly ,but I will brush up on my spainish for our next visit.
I would rate this trip with any we have taken to Europe for relaxation and beauty.
I let friends know about it with the knowledge that we may be competing for time there in the future.
Thanks Don and Norma.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
5

Great vacation place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed week in May at Casa Luna Sombra, and could not be happier with the place. There were 4 of us (2 couples), and there was plenty of space for all. The house is very clean and cozy, equipped with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. I was surprised how well the air-conditioning units worked and how fast they cooled the place down, considering it was very hot and humid outside. There is also an outdoor shower that is perfect for after-beach use. The backyard faces the jungle, we hung out there at night listening to the sounds of wilderness. In the mornings we even got to see coatimundi, cute raccoon-like creatures. The houses on both sides of us were unoccupied, so it was quiet and private. The beach is close enough to walk, but you can drive there also. There is a one dollar per day charge because it became a protected area as the sea turtles lay eggs there. We found that Tulum beaches, which are near by are by far superior to any other that we've been to. You just can't beat white sandy beaches and turquoise water. Resort and pizza place there will let you use their palapas and chairs if you buy food or drinks. Also we discovered a great restaurant Mezzanine, a Thai fusion, but has a variety of American dishes too.
The location of the casa was perfect, it was close enough to tourist attractions, yet away from crowds of tourists. We felt very safe there. The town of Chemuyil is right around the corner, and the locals are very friendly. Leos Pizza is good and inexpensive, and most importantly the staff is English-speaking. We had a great experience staying in Casa Luna Sombra, and would love to stay there again. There is so much to explore around that area! Coba ruines, cenotes, Tulum, Akumal, and much more! Thank you, Don and Norma for making the rental experience smooth and easy =)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed the use of our casa in the Mayan Riviera.Hope all of you are able to return very soon. Hasta Luego, Don & Norma
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
Renton
5

reaxing and private

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed at Casa luna sombra for a week in early March and had a grerat time. Although the casa are small and squeezed together, there was no one staying on either side of us. And the back yard opens to the jungle where cotimundes come to call in the evening and sometimes in the morning. They love tortillas.The town of Chemuyil is easily within walking distance, and they have a bakery that supplies the stores but are happy to sell retail. The beach is spectacular,about a 15 minute walk, free to residents of Chan Chemuyil. All in all, very relaxing and for an older couple like us, an excellent value!Only complaint is no clothes washer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy to here that you enjoyed staying at Casa Luna Sombra.I am sorry we don't really have the room for a washer and dryer at this time,but an addition is planned for the future that will accommodate a laundry room.Laundry services are available in the neighborhood (sorry I forgot to tell you) You can get a large load done for about $20.Wash, dried and folded.Hope you return soon ! Muchas Gracias, Don & Norma
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
California
3

Cute Place

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This is a cute place, well decorated, new appliances and nice small bathroom. There are plenty of towels, which is good because it is humid and they don't get dry quickly. We were happy to have a car, as it would be quite a long walk to the beach (across the highway) but when you get there, it’s an amazing beach. The water is warm and it’s not overly populated. There is a lifeguard and he took us on a short walk to the cenote. When we arrived at the little casa, after traveling for 24 hours, we were looking forward to a hot shower and dinner out, but there was no hot water and the caretaker couldn’t get there until the next day. He arrived in the morning and thought we were sleeping so didn’t light the pilot on the hot water heater (it’s outside and would not disturb anyone, so just not sure why he didn’t go ahead and light it), then he didn’t come back until several hours later to light it. After that, we could get the pilot lit, but it wouldn’t stay lit, so we were without hot water most of the time we were there, which was very unfortunate. The owner would not compensate us for the inconvenience. For the price during high season, it was a nice place and away from the crowds, and a 15 minute drive to Tulum. Be advised if you go there that this is the second house with the same number on the street, not the first one. We went to the first one with this number and it was under construction and we were a bit afraid that we had been scammed or we were on the wrong street, but this house is in the second block. We couldn't figure out how to prevent the ceiling fan to stop, we think because the remote didn't work, so we were cold. This is probably rare, but it did get down in the low 60s in late December, so we didn’t need any of the fans. These are all things that could be repaired. If the owner fixes these things, it will be a great place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow,from time to time you find you can't make everyone happy,but we try.We were not told there was a problem with the hot water until 1 week after check-out.(No E-mail or phone call) Our caretaker was called only once and was not aware a problem still existed after that.He was never told there was a problem with the cieling fan/light.Solution: New hot water heater and 2 new cieling fans have been installed.Most people can walk to the beach in about 10 min,but if you want to bring a lot of stuff there is plenty of parking at the beach.Our caretaker now lives in the neighborhood,10 doors down.This guest was offered a good discount on any future stay but declined the offer.New upgrades include a new bathroom and landscaped backyard.
Helpful votes: 2/6
business
Casa Luna Sombra, Tulum/Akumal - 10 min walk to beautiful Xcacel Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212156
+1 8028960003
Tulum Quintana Roo
Florence, Ma
5

Home Base Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My wife and I stayed at Luna Sombra for six days in early June 2010. It served as a perfect home base for exploring the Riviera Maya. Clean, simple, well located and well priced--we could not have asked for much more.

Since the neighborhood of Chan Chemuyil is very quiet in the offseason (May to November), I highly recommend that you study-up on local restaurants and activities beforehand--or buy wifi access from Benito one block over and do internet searches while there. Don, the owner, and his caretaker Gilberto, are also very friendly and willing to provide all of the information and recommendations that you could need. Also, while the offseason is a very hot time to visit-- it is also sea turtle breeding season! Take advantage of it.

Highlights from our time there: 1. Snorkeling Yal Ku lagoon in Akumal, 2. snorkeling Grand Cenote (any cenote visit it well worth it), 3. swimming at the absolutely fantastic local beach (Xcacel) 4. Night time sea turtle walk and daytime snorkeling at Akumal Bay. Don't be afraid to venture into the own of Chemuyil either. You may or may not see other gringos (if you're a gringo :), but it is a welcoming place with great restaurants.

Seeing all of the mega-hotels in the area, we were very glad we stayed at Luna Sombra. We had to work a little harder, not knowing Spanish and not having hotel guides at every turn, but I also felt that we experienced the little wonders that Mexico has to offer that you can't see from a hotel compound.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9