Clayton cottage rental - Front of the cottage revealing the flat rock beach.
Front of the cottage revealing the flat rock beach.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Clayton Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Enjoy beautiful sunsets and observe ocean-going freighters while relaxing off of the front deck of this beautiful, quiet, bungalow-style, 1,300 sq ft, two story cottage. Low level light pollution provides for great star-gazing, as the sound of loons and the St. Lawrence lapping on the shore put you gently to sleep each night.

With plenty of room to move around, there's no need to feel cramped or stressed in doors or out. Take long walks. Rent or dock your boat at Cedar Point State Park for the best rates, only one half a mile away by foot or one and a half miles by car.

Visit antique stores, book stores, or great restaurants in nearby downtown Clayton, Cape Vincent, Sackett's Harbor, or Alexandria Bay with boat tours, fishing, go-kart tracks, golfing... you name it.

Keywords: Cottage bungalow; Waterfront; Modern; 1,000 Islands; Clayton, NY

The owners are four individuals who regularly use the cottage for themselves, as well as use it for rental income. Therefore, we feel that what makes us comfortable and wanting to come back over and over again, are the same things that our guests will also value. We make annual updates to the cottage and property, so those of our guests who have continually rented experience desired improvements each time they return.

We want all our guests to feel as if they have received a good value after having stayed with us.

Andy Hays purchased this cottage in 2008

This home was located right on the St. Lawrence River and was roomy enough to have guests over. The three larger bedrooms weren't cramped as we experienced others' cottages to be and has plenty of closet space. It was also fully and tastefully furnished, but the quiet...so quiet and beautiful sunsets and a sky full of stars. It was so restful that we just couldn't pass it up. We've owned it for five years now and have absolutely no regrets!! Everytime we go to the place we can hardly wait until we are there, and after we leave, we can't wait to get back!

There is plenty of room with no need to feel cramped...even on those rainy days.

Sunsets are 'to die for' is what we continually hear from our guests.

Neighbors are friendly and helpful and are not 'nosey.'

6 Reviews of Property 212046 in Clayton, New York

Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212046vbi
(440)572-1058
Clayton Thousand Islands
College Station, Texas
5

Superb Cottage and Great Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a relaxing and most enjoyable stay at Awesome Cottage during August 2012. The place was as represented in every way and is well maintained, tastefully decorated and nicely furnished with plenty of amenities. It is evident that the owners utilize the cottage and recognize and provide those things most of us need or find useful. I was impressed with the sturdy handrail and wide steps leading to and from the water. Views of sunsets are spectulator and watching the shipping go by was relaxing and interesting. Ferry trip to Canada via Cape Vincent and Wolfe Island was easy and fun. Managers were well organized and accessible with the property clean and as advertised. I plan to schedule it on my next trip to the north country and recommend it strongly. Thanks Awesome Cottage LLC!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212046vbi
(440)572-1058
Clayton Thousand Islands
Rochester, New York
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our third year at this cottage and we have already reserved it for next year. The spacious two story cottage is so comfortable and sparkling clean ! Views of the river and sunsets can't be beat. Our young grandkids were able to wade right into the water. It's quiet and private but just a short drive into Clayton for shopping, restaurants, miniature golf and a big wooden playground. We love it !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212046vbi
(440)572-1058
Clayton Thousand Islands
Pittsburgh, PA
5

An Awesome Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our third time staying at the cottage and had another great week. Property has always been clean and well maintained. Improvements at the cottage, such as the sidewalk, new shower on first floor, and steps/railing to the river, were great. Enjoyed kayaking, fishing, and watching the sunsets. We always hate to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212046vbi
(440)572-1058
Clayton Thousand Islands
Catskills
5

Awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a wonderful vacation experience. Cottage was "AWESOME' as named. Sunsets beautiful.
Will definitely consider staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212046vbi
(440)572-1058
Clayton Thousand Islands
syracuse
5

A group of professional women who rented the cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This lovely cottage is a piece of Heaven. Our group of ladies woke early to enjoy breakfast on the lovely deck and sat outside until well after dark watching the ships go by. The sky was navy blue and peppered with stars at night, The sunsets were amazing. The cottage is the epitome of a River cottage, lovely to look at, comfortable in every way. The beds were warm and cozy for early Fall. We had no problem cooking an extensive meal in the well appointed kitchen. We enjoyed a perfect day in Clayton - so much to do.In short we loved it and would love to rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rent an Awesome Cottage Directly on the St. Lawrence River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p212046vbi
(440)572-1058
Clayton Thousand Islands
Utica, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
The cottage is everything you expect. Clean and cozy my family truly enjoyed it. A really stress free enviroment everybody had space to strech out. The kitchen awesome even emeril would of enjoyed it. The only issue I thought which may want to look into down the road is some kind of Dock. Unable to fish from the waterfront other than that worth the money and plan on coming back next year.
THe security deposit was sent back within a week. Some suggestions to help rent out the cottage.

Give Military Discount to Active/Retired
also if return customer maybe a discount as well : )
Owner's Response: We try very hard to maintain and update our property on an annual basis and to have competitive and reasonable rates for all prospective guests.
Helpful votes: 4/4