Great space, location, view; disappointing finishes
We stayed here for a mini family reunion with 4 families sharing the space. There was definitley enough room for everyone, and if I could, I would rate this property with 2 1/2 stars. 2 doesn't seem like enough but 3 seems like too many.
First the positives: you can't beat the view. It is probably the best view of any house I've rented up in Tahoe. The location is great, with wonderful hiking trails right outside the front door. And it is dog friendly. And as stated before, the house is big, with plenty of room for a large group.
Now for the negatives: Regarding the space, there is a great kids/teenage hang out room downstairs with a big TV and pool table, but the picture on the TV was unwatchable, and the pool table was on wheels and not level, and only one cue stick had a tip.
The property was obviously staged for the photos. It shows this lovely dining table all set with plates and flowers, but when we arrived there was this tacky vinyl tablecloth cut to fit the table. I understand they're trying to protect the furniture, but isn't that what you pay a security deposit for?
As for cleanliness, it was substandard. When we arrived, the downstairs beverage refrigerator was full of mold (I immediatley brought this to the attention of Lori and she had someone over first thing in the morning to clean it). The kitchen drawers had food crumbs and dust in them, the oven was full of grease and smoked the first time we turned it on, and the bath mat in our bathroom was completly moldy.
As far as maintenance, you could tell that the upstairs bathrooms had been renovated, but they left the holes in the wall from when they moved the towel rack. Most of the bedroom doors had holes in them, and one bathroom door was coming off the hinges.
I think by far the most disappointing thing about the house was the furniture on the deck (or lack thereof). They have this huge, beautiful deck, with that amazing view, and they have cheap resin chairs and loungers (some so cracked you didn't want to sit on them) and portable tables from walmart. That deck needs and deserves some nice furniture to relax on and enjoy the view.
In all fairness, I brought all of these issues to Lori after our stay, and she was very apologetic, and said she would get with the owner to rectify all the concerns. And she refunded us an extra $50 for our disappointment.
Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I am very happy you enjoyed the views, space and location. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations but we realize we cannot please everyone although every effort is made to do just that. I always encourage guests to report anything as soon as they notice it as many things can be remedied very quickly to ensure you enjoy every moment of your stay. To address the review, there was a bit of mold in the down stairs refrigerator (a small refrigerator, dorm size) that I was not aware of and was immediately cleaned for the renter and has since been replaced with a brand new one as well as one in the garage. As for the cleanliness, the crumbs were cleaned from the drawers and bath mats have been replaced. The “smoke” from the oven was only burn off from the oven just being cleaned.
The TV downstairs has been and is still working fine so not sure what the complaint was there and all pool sticks are functioning , tips have been replaced and wheels on the pool table are so kids and parties can change room and level table (without scratching the wood floors). The dining table is covered by a vinyl cover that is easily removable, as most guest find it easier to clean for daily dining, but can easily be removed with an ounce of effort.
We are continually upgrading the property and the home was just painted, both the exterior and interior (no more holes from the towel bar). The door hinge issue was from a previous renter which I was not aware of and has been remedied. Additional metal deck furniture has been added and the other resin deck furniture is there for ease of storage and moving (since there are 24 chairs and 3 large tables). We love the fact that people from all over the world come and enjoy our house as much as we do. Best wishes to you and your family. We do appreciate all your feedback.
“The Review for Rewards Scam” is a known VBRO strategy some renters use to pressure innocent homeowners to refund money in exchange for not posting unwarranted negative rental reviews.
Helpful votes: 2/4
Did you find this review helpful?