Quadra Island cottage rental - The Cottage with Sundeck
The Cottage with Sundeck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Quadra Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-6)

Welcome to the Hummingbird Cottage!

The cottage was recently renovated. We had to jack up and level the floor, replace much of the frame with new timbers. The metal roof is the original except for three new bright skylights. The recycled exterior siding was simply nailed “backside-out” exposing a fresh looking cedar surface.

The interior was completely redone, with new maple tongue-and-groove flooring, drywall, and a Pacific Energy woodstove. The kitchen is fully equipped with butcher-block countertop, stainless steel fridge and a Premier Peerless gas stove.

The bathroom is bright with glass block windows, the tile floor is heated and the neo angle shower has glass walls and door. The master bedroom has windows that “peek” into the woods, a solid maple floor, and a queen size wooden bed. The sleeping loft has been furnished with double and a single bed built by the “owner” using local alder which was milled on site.

The renovated cottage-on-lake is ready for your use, with a wrap-around deck on the waters edge. Enjoy the sunshine and view, or head down to the dock or beach for a swim, or a for some boating with the provided kayaks, canoe, windsurfer and small row boat with electrical outboard motor.

We have included some photos documenting the renovation, as well as some of the many things you can do there.

The place is a Family and Pet Paradise, or Romantic Retreat, surrounded by lake, forest and access to private ocean beach and dock.

Explore the West Coast with forest trails, ocean and lake shore to explore, an island within swimming reach, free use of kayaks, canoe, windsurfer and boat, a deepwater dock with boat launch, peace, quiet and stunning scenery.

The Bold Bay Heritage Cottage is a 700 ft2, including the sleeping loft. It is literally right at the lakeshore. The cottage is one of two recreational buildings on a 110 forested acres of private property which reach from the lake to the ocean, a perfect base for exploring island living on the west coast.

Village Bay Lake connects to a park-protected chain of lakes. The chain provides excellent day or overnight canoeing and kayaking opportunities, with calm warm water, sandy beaches, rocky bluffs and access to hiking trails leading to view points and the ocean.

Enjoy BBQ lunch on the deck, or play games on the landscaped and grassy yard, including badminton, croquet, bocce, volleyball and more. In town you'll find both basics and luxuries including fresh produce and other delectable treats at the weekly Farmer's Market.

A canoe, two kayaks, a windsurfer, and a small rowboat with an electrical outboard motor are available at no charge.

The shoreline of sheltered Crescent Channel (also called Bold Bay), provides beachcombing and shell fishing (oysters and clams). An on-property deepwater dock with boat launch is available to those who want to take advantage of some of the best salmon and prawn fishing on the coast, or just get a little closer to the marine life.

You may choose to bring your own boat and arrive by boat. The southern shore of Quadra Island, and other nearby Discovery Islands are home to some of nature's most spectacular wildlife including bold eagles, dolphins, orcas, porpoises, and seals.

Feeling deprived of the day's news and e-mails from friends? Turn on radio, and check your emails using dial-up Internet. Local telephone calls are free. Long distance call can be made using calling cards, or direct at a cost of 5 to 10 cents per minute for most calls (calls to some countries are more expensive).

If you have pets, bring them! Dogs love the forest and the lake.

Perfect for family exploration, quiet retreats, and romantic getaways, Bold Bay Heritage Cottage can be yours - one week at a time.

Keywords: Lake, Cottage, cabin, recreation, waterfront, ocean, island, swimming, boating, kayaking

More Details
Hide Details

Welcome to Bold Bay on Quadra Island!

We first discovered Quadra Island over 30 years ago, and have spent our holidays and as part-time residents ever since. Our by now (mostly) grown children, join us when they can (my daughter is with me on photo attached). We split our pleasure time on Quadra Island with our working life in Vancouver.

We look forward to meeting you!

Reidar and Margery Zapf-Gilje purchased this cottage in 2007

The Bold Bay property is unique as it stretches from the Lake to the Ocean. It offers West Coast Island living at its best.

The Bold Bay property is steeped in history, with local first nations use of the bays and lake, and later by homesteaders. You can see signs of old trails, docks and foundations; and even find an arrowhead if you are lucky.

5 Reviews of Property 211674 in Quadra Island, British Columbia

Sunny Lake Cottage, Forested Property with Ocean Dock
average rating of 4.25 based on 5 reviews
business
Sunny Lake Cottage, Forested Property with Ocean Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211674vbi
++1 (604) 617-6623
Quadra Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
vancouver
5

Teenagers Paradise!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I went to bold bay with my family during the summer and had an absolute blast. While I stayed we went kayaking, canoeing, and swimming everyday!! On one of the days, the owners took my brother and I out tubeing and waterskiing, what an adventure. Prawning just off Bold Point shows off true west coast lifestyle, an was such a unique experience. The endless activities around the property kept us constantly occupied, whether we were out on the water, hiking around through the beautiful trails, or simply playing soccer or badminton with the family. This area is perfect for families large or small, and will be enjoyable to adults and kids alike. There is truly something for everyone. The local artist studios made a great daytime adventure for a little cultural experience, and the bread from the saturday farmers market was divine!! I will definitely be coming back to Quadra Island as often as possible :) I recommend this vacation property to everyone I know because not only is it relaxing, but it also feels like home,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny Lake Cottage, Forested Property with Ocean Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211674vbi
++1 (604) 617-6623
Quadra Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Nanimo, BC
4

Great Little Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed here in June of 2010. It's a beautiful cabin, very sunny and bright, with a lovely view over the lake, and has a well-appointed kitchen, and comfortable bed. It was a delight to be able to take our two dogs to such a gorgeous place - they had a blast. We really appreciated the wood stove (firewood provided) on cool evenings. The cabin is at one end of a chain of lakes, which are great for exploring by kayak or canoe. The dock is a great place to hang out with a book, as is the wrap-around deck. The part of the property that fronts the ocean (accessible by car) has tons of oysters - yummeh! The owner is very pleasant and helpful. Quadra has a ton of hiking within a short drive.

As noted in the listing, there is no internet or cell service. Which was kind of nice :)

A few minor negatives: The cabin floors and counters were not perfectly clean when we arrived, with crumbs and pet hair in evidence. A quick vacuum solved that problem, but it was a little off-putting. We were not able to use the canoe for the first few days of our stay, as it was leaking, but it was very promptly fixed by the owner when he arrived halfway through our visit. As one reviewer below noted, the neighbouring house is fairly close, but no closer than other cabins in "cottage country" - it would only be an issue if one were expecting to find oneself at an isolated cottage.

I would certainly stay here again, and would recommend it to others - we had a truly lovely, relaxing holiday.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: The guests rented the cottage in early season, and on very short notice; which did not give us the chance to touch up the cottage and watercrafts. We mentioned this to the guests, including the canoe that needed fixing; and that we would do so as soon as we would be able to. We arrived a few days later, as we live and work in Vancouver (except during the summer), and looked after the concerns raised. In hindsight, it would perhaps have been better not to have accepted the booking.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunny Lake Cottage, Forested Property with Ocean Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211674vbi
++1 (604) 617-6623
Quadra Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Nanaimo
5

Best Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My husband and I and our 3 teenage children spent a glorious week at Sunny Lake Cottage last summer. We can't wait to go back! Our hosts made sure we had everything we needed for a wonderful vacation. The cottage itself is reminiscent of a brand new higher end Ikea showhome. Jumping in the warm, clean lake water, hiking near the ocean a mere 10 minute walk away, exploring China mountain, and endless bbq's on the deck made great memories. ...Reading that summer novel under the tree overlooking the lake....priceless.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Lake Cottage, Forested Property with Ocean Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211674vbi
++1 (604) 617-6623
Quadra Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
The weather was perfect and the lake temperature perfect for long swims. We paddles to Main Lake and could have gone beyond. Especially enjoyed mama Merganzer and her brood of 8, the Osprey, Eagle, Beaver and the three otters who visited the dock. Boating to Heriot Bay and prawning were wonderful. You truly have piece of heaven here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Lake Cottage, Forested Property with Ocean Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211674vbi
++1 (604) 617-6623
Quadra Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
British Columbia
3

Neighbour very close

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Long and two ferries from the mainland to find both cottages are very clost to each other. 110 acres is misleading and romantic getaway is overstated if you have even moderately loud neighbours. Make sure you ask if anyone else is allowed to use the dock before you rent.
Owner's Response: The neighboring property is in separate bay with its own private dock. Check photos on the VRBO website. One of the photos is taken from the private dock for the Hummingbird Cottage guests towards the cottage. The adjacent rental property (the Lakehouse) and dock is shown in the background.

The guests at the Hummingbird cottage have exclusive us of their dock and beach. The dock is never used by anyone else.

The guests have access to the larger property including access to the ocean beach and our ocean dock with free moorage.
Helpful votes: 3/5