Vacation Homes in Marco Island house rental - Front of house with circular driveway
Front of house with circular driveway
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Vacation Homes in Marco Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This luxurious home, located at 1800 Canby Ct. has been completely remodeled by Jonathan & Beth Hondorf who are renowned designer and builder. It offers 2,050 square feet of air-conditioned living space. The 1,680 square feet of screened-in lanai deck includes a heated 35-foot swimming pool, and an eight-foot spa with a covered area which includes an outdoor grill for outdoor dining.

The home has high ceilings throughout, with light flooding in from all directions. The living and dining rooms have 18-foot ceilings with 12-foot-long sliding glass doors that completely open up, connecting the living area with the lanai. All doors leading to the pool are fitted with special child-proof locks.

The kitchen is completely outfitted for any and all culinary delights and has a large eat-in breakfast area. The spacious master bedroom has a king-size bed, walk-in closets, and a large bath with a separate walk-in shower, soaking tub, and two vanities.

The other bedrooms have pillow top queen-size beds, and there is an inflatable air mattress on a frame for extra sleeping needs.

This waterfront home has a large boat dock for sunbathing. It has water and power along with a fish cleaning table. With its direct access to the 'River Area' and Gulf, it's perfect for mooring up to three boats. Many native fish, Manatees, and Porpoise frequent around the dock.

The private yard is extensively landscaped in native species and fruit trees with meandering paths and boardwalks. We maintain it in a sustainable, environmentally sensitive, method that does not use toxic chemicals. This ensures a safe environment for the native birds a well as our guests. The xeroscaped yard does not require artificial watering thereby preserving our most precisous commodity: water. This means more native birds and a Red Hawk that frequent the yard.

This home has quality finishes, updated features, and amenities needed for a relaxing tropical vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

Building Contractor and environmental preservationist whitewater rafting in Desolation Canyon, Utah

Jonathan or Elizabeth purchased this house in 1989

Marco Island is a unigue area in Florida that combines the natural habitat with the developed environment.

We try to MAINTAIN THIS PROPERTY IN AN ENVIRONMENTALLY SUSTAINABLE WAY where we minimize the use of toxic chemicals and harsh environmental practices. Our landscaping is Florida natural landscaping with native species of fruit and flower varieties utilizing xeroscape practices. We minimize the use of pesticides, fertilizers, and heavy watering. It is not an out of control, poorly maintained, landscaping which some may think upon first observation. Guest should take this into consideration and not compare to others that use very toxic, harsh, and water wasteful maintenance practices. This allows for a safer environment for our quests and helps protect the very delicate local environment encountered in south west Florida.

38 Reviews of Property 211564 in Vacation Homes in Marco Island, Florida

Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
average rating of 4.181818 based on 38 reviews
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Paramus, New Jersey, U.S.A 07652
5

This Place IS Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I have recently returned from our 5th November vacation in 6 yrs. at 1800 Canby . We continue to return because there is no better place to stay on Marco---or anywhere else, for that matter! You open the front door and are greeted by a living room with high ceilings, which gives a sense of roominess, and comfortable chairs and sofas. A dining area right off the kitchen features a beautiful glass table and wonderful lighting. The kitchen itself has various layers of lighting, all the cabinets you could need, and a cozy eat-in area. The 3 bedrooms are all very well kept and perfect for entertaining guests. (we, of course, keep the master bedroom for ourselves). The best feature, however, is the lanai which is completely enclosed by wire screening and includes a private pool, hot tub, propane grill and eating area which is under an overhang and therefore protected from any storms. This is clearly the center of our activity, being accessable from the living room, kitchen and master bedroom. The view of the lagoon from here is stunning in its beauty, picture postcard perfect in the daylight. The word that perfectly sums up the times that we have stayed here is RELAXATION! We heartily recommend "our Florida place" to anyone who is considering a trip to southwest Florida.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Columbus,Ohio
5

A great stay in sunny Marco Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed in Marco the first two weeks of February 2013. This rental property covers all of the bases. We enjoyed the hot tub, the lap pool, and just sitting on the lanai to enjoy the canal view. We especially appreciated being able to bring our two small dogs. The listing photos accurately reflect the house and amenities. The property was clean,though you will see a bug from time to time which is normal in Florida. The owner was quick to answer a few questions we had about the pool. We would definitely stay in this house again! And we LOVE the beaches at Marco!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Florida
5

Our Second Stay For the Bells

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was our second stay in this wonderful home. We had another great time. The house is always very clean and neat. It has all the conveniences of home. We can't wait to book another week next summer.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your business and we are glad to have you as returning guests. As always we enjoy your stay and proud to meet your vacation needs. See you next year!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
5

Frist time on Marco Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We are a family of five, with three kids 9,5,and 3 and loved our stay in this home away from home rental! The kids loved having a pool, just to see our kids get excited about the stay there made our day/week! The house is very roomy and inviting and the layout is great. We never had an issue with anything at all. Everything was great! We definatly enjoyed our stay the whole week! We went and enjoyed the beaches near by, we had a blast at both the beaches we went to our favorite that would have to be Tiger Beach though. We also did two air boat rides, and walked many nature trails and visted wildlife sanctuarys. We went to nearby resturants and the grocery stores are close too.Over all our week in Marco Island was a great experince all the way around, it was great to go out and do all the fun stuff and come back to such a welcoming home to stay in. Thanks for sharing your wonderful home with us, we hope to visit again sometime in the future and we will defiantly recomend your home to our friends and loved ones. Thanks again
Owner's Response: Thank you Todd and Christine. We enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to having you return like many of our guests often do time after time. We are glad you enjoyed our home and it met your every need. We work hard to ensure that every guest's vacation is a pleasant stay at our home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Marietta, GA
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just spent 2 great weeks in this wonderfull home.
It is a great location close to everything.
This home was just as describe with enough room that nobody ever feels crowed.
We will try and stay at this home again.

Thank You
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are glad that you had a great time and that our home met all of your needs and expectations. We enjoyed having you as guests and look forward to your return.
Thank you for your business,
The Hondorfs
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Cincinnati, Ohio
1

worst experience we have had with a vacation rental property

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
In more than 20 years of renting vacation condos, villas, and houses, as well as owning Florida homes that we rented as vacation property, this by far was the worst experience my husband and I had. Because our daughter and her family (4 people) were joining us for this trip, we needed a house with at least three bedrooms. Contrary to the VERBO introduction this is a two bedroom home. The so called third bedroom is an office with a double bed, no closet and a small chest of drawers. Because this is next to the living area that has a vaulted ceiling no ceiling and no closets. There is a double bed in this room.
The house was built in the 1980’s. Very little renovation has been done since. There are holes in the trim around the sliding glass door from rotting wood which could accommodate a family of rats easily. The furnishings look like they have never been replaced from 20+ years ago. The leather coach in the living room has no spring left. The two televisions are the old CRT styles and are small to fit the cabinets they are in. The so called stereo system is a portable unit and it did not work.
The patio furniture are plastic chairs and are very stained and some broken. The first day we got there I had to wash and scrub them but it hardly made any difference because of years of mildew.
Beware of the master bedroom shower window made of see through glass blocks. People outside of the shower can see in clearly especially at night with lights on.
The “Xero” landscaping means the weeds are over grown and the limbs and leaves all over the yard make the house look like an abandoned home. My husband worked on a whole day cleaning it before our guests arrived.
I scrubbed the kitchen and bathroom floors. Other than wiping, it looked like they had not been thoroughly cleaned in a very long time. All the bedding with exception of the office bed (sheets, bedspreads, mattresses were old and worn out.
The latch to the screened door to the dock was broken and did not shut. If we shut it by force it could not be opened from outside.
There were so many things wrong that I could go on and on. We had already paid for a two week rental
and knew we could not get our money refunded. So we stayed and made the best of it.
Owner's Response: It is most unfortunate these people that lost their vacation home in Florida chose to stay at our home, damage it severely, and then wrote a very inaccurate and degrading comment. The first days of their arrival they had some minor issues which we promptly took care of. They then demanded that my gardener remove 'all yellow leaves from every bush in the yard'. During their stay they stated in writing that they enjoyed our home and made no mention of the issues they falsely mention here. Upon departure they had severely damaged our home by soiling and damaging our couches, broke two pieces of furniture, and soiled bed pillows which they attempted to hide in a bag in the closet. My professional furniture cleaner stated it was the worst they had ever seen. It is unfortunate that the bitterness from their financial problems would be taken out on other homeowners that open their homes to renters. They were one of the worst renters we have ever had in 20 years of renting our home.
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
4

Great memories

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We are just back from 10 magnificent days spent in Marco Island. We (a family of 4 with two children 10 and 16) really enjoyed the space and comfort of this house. It is spacious, easy to maintain, well equipped and quiet (there were no neighbors during our entire stay). The pool is well heated and great to swim and Jacuzzi very relaxing with a fantastic view over the water and boat deck. Shops are just around the corner and access to public beaches a short 5 minutes drive away (or 20 to 30 minutes by bike). Naples (where there is a lot to do and great places to eat) is only 20 minutes away. We loved our stay and will keep fond memories of these 10 days.Enjoy !
Owner's Response: We were very pleased to have been able to make your vacation an enjoyable stay at our home and on Marco Island. Pleased that you found the home to satisfy your every need and comfort. We work very hard at maintaining and outfitting our home in order to satisfy our guests. You were wonderful guests and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Plantation Acres, FL
5

Simply outstanding, a rare gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had the immense pleasure of staying here the last week in September of 2011. My husband and I have been frequent renters in Marco for over 5 years. We come at least twice a year, once in a house big enough for all of us, our daughters, their husbands and their kids and of course hubby and I, and later in the year in a house for just us. Let me advise you that this is one of the nicest houses that we have ever rented!. The owners are super, the property is well appointed, the neighborhood is really nice. The house is located on the intercoastal and each day we saw Dolphins swimming by. As is our custom, we also rented a boat for a couple of days and docked it right outside our kitchen window. The lap pool is great, the hot tub simply wonderful and the house is set up perfectly.
Trust me when I say that you will not go wrong renting this house. But always remember that we have first "dibbs" whenever we want to return.
When you visit do not forget to go to Snook Inn, go on the Dolphin Explorer and rent a boat from Rose Marco Marina, you simply cannot go wrong.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
5

great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Onto Canby Court: I have a more critical eye than most because one of my areas of expertise is in hospitality consulting regarding customer comfort; specifically with higher end hotels, so i tend to expect a little more from folks. I am happy to say I could make a huge list of all the fabulous stuff like the maps and brochures provided, the bicycles, fishing tackle, etc. but the best thing about this home is the owners, Jonathan and Beth.

They were welcoming, warm, attentive and caring about all concerns. We had to call them about the tiniest thing and they could not possibly have been more accommodating.

You are 3 minutes from publix. 7 minutes from everywhere else including Winn Dixie. Side note: oddly enough on Marco the Winn Dixie is much nicer than the Publix.

Back to Canby Court:The water views from this home are just lovely, from the kitchen, living room, dining room and master bedroom, water- water everywhere! At night the neighbors have the canal lit up and it romantic and ever so charming.

And one of the best parts of Canby Court? It is quiet. There is land on either side of the home and this offers no loud parties, no loud neighbors. If you are wanting a place to host a loud, obnoxious party then this home is not for you, as you will stick out like a sore thumb. Although for a family with children it couldn't be more perfect.

And to put icing on the cake, my deposit was returned lickity split.!

Thanks Jonathan and Beth, see you next time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Luxurious Marco Island Waterfront Villa with Pool/Spa Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211564
+1 720-524-4356
Vacation Homes in Marco Island Marco Island
Port Hope, Michigan
5

A great week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Thanks for sharing your lovley home. The four of us and our pet really loved everything. The home had ever convenience and appliance you could use. It was quiet, peaceful and and a grea place to reach any beach or shopping area.

I would highly recommend this home for anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed their stay as well. By communicating their desires and needs clearly and timely we were able to insure a pleasant vacation in our home. We were glad to be able to accomodate their desire to stay at the home longer once they arrived. We look forward to a having them back in the future.
Helpful votes: 4/7