Maple City house rental - Overlooking Shetland Creek
Overlooking Shetland Creek
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Maple City House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Are you looking for respite from the world? Stay a million miles away but just down the road from Glen Arbor in this beautiful new log home. 'Cabin on the Creek' is a great up-north retreat! Tucked in the woods on Shetland Creek, this 4 bedroom 3 bath log home will sleep 10 people with 1 Queen, 2 Full, 2 Twins, and 1 Queen sofa-bed.

Relax by 1500 feet of creek side waterfront and enjoy the peace and quiet of 20 acres of woodland. You may just see the trout make their spawning runs in the spring and the salmon in the fall. Deer and squirrels visit almost daily.

Decks off of upper and lower level of house overlooking the creek. Only a few miles to Lime Lake, Little Traverse Lake, Sleeping Bear National Lake shore or Lake Michigan. A/C, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, fire pit, charcoal grill, cable TV/DVD/VCR, WIFI, linens provided. Will consider your well-mannered dog. No smoking.

Keywords:

33 Reviews of Property 211482 in Maple City, Michigan

Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
average rating of 4.969697 based on 33 reviews
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
Knox, IN, U.S.A.
5

Lifetime Dream Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife has talked of her ideal vacation for years: a cabin in the woods and a book to read. This past fall, we made that dream a reality. First of all, the Cabin on the Creek was the perfect setting--the location, the view, the cabin itself, the wonderful provisions and all the personal touches that made it feel homey. We spent most of our vacation holed up in the cabin. When we did leave to go sightseeing, we always talked of going back "home," meaning to the cabin. It just felt like our home for our stay. Though the weather was cool and often wet, we felt snug and cozy in the cabin, with the gas fireplace on most of the time, music from the CD player playing and comfortable places to sit on every floor. We were enjoying ourselves so much, we asked for an extension on our stay, which was kindly provided.
The workmanship on the cabin itself is topnotch in every respect, and all the special decorating touches make it so inviting. Every kitchen appliance we could think of was provided. Having a full bath on every floor is really plush. The view of the creek and surrounding woods is breathtaking.
My wife found a book on a shelf at the cabin that she had been wanting to read--and finished reading it the day we finished our stay! The perfect ending to a perfect dream vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
4

Winter Cabin Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The cabin was great and everything was as advertised. We had enough space and everyone fit comfortably (4 adults and 4 children). The only problem was that the downstairs was much colder than the rest of the house. The kitchen was well stocked and the internet had great connection. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
Ann arbor
5

Cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The vacation this summer was great. The cabin was in a good location. We were 15 minutes to Leeland or Glen Arbor and only 5 minutes to a beautiful beach on Good Harbor. After spending the days out exploring the beautiful areas around there it was nice to return to such a comfy place. the kitchen was well stocked and the place was quiet and serene. It is definitely a place that we would return to again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
Reed City, MI
5

family vacation of 11

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This vacation home is a very clean and comfortable place to stay, with the owners being very accommodating. Our lab enjoyed the stay most of all because he didn't get left behind. The surrounding area has much to see and do. Be sure to kayak the Crystal River and see the Sleeping Bear Dunes.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
Atlanta
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I stayed at the cabin with my sister, cousin, her two children, and two dogs. The cabin is very clean, comfortable, and spacious. It is fairly deep within the woods and very tranquil. I felt safe and really enjoyed the serenity. The home is very well equipped and the beds are really good. We were part of a larger group -- the other 12 stayed in a rental home in Glen Arbor. We had all 17 over for dinner one night and the home accommodated everyone easily, including the kitchen and utensils etc. The young children played energetically in the creek and surrounding area. We used the fire pit (wonderful) and made smore's. We saw deer, including two baby deer very close to the home. This part of the world is beautiful; lovely farms, lots of woodlands, and a lake around every corner. The weather was perfect for all the activities we did. It was a very nice vacation and I would definitely return to this rental home. I strongly suggest getting the homemade sausages at the small grocery store in Maple City. They are delicious. There is so much to do and so many great small towns to see and lakes to visit that it is almost overwhelming. This locale deserves a second trip for more discoveries.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
Northern Ohio
5

Relaxing week in Michigan at a lovely cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It is back in the woods yet you pop out onto M-22 and your at the beach in four minutes (or Glen Arbor/Leland in less than 10). Beautiful craftsmanship, clean, comfy furniture, kitchen was well equipped and everything worked well. The deck was a great (enclosed) place for the dogs to hang out while we had coffee and visited next to the creek. The bedroom on the main floor was perfect for my mom and the master upstairs had another great view of the creek. We hope to be back very soon! Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
5

Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Cabin on the Creek is simply the BEST pet friendly rental we have ever found. Clean, quiet, spacious, and in a GREAT location. It was perfect in every way for our annual family vacation, and we hope to be regulars in the years to come. Thanks Ed and Dawn!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
5

Relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family stayed at Cabin on the Creek June 11th-15th, 2013. Ed was so gracious...and patient with my family, as our plans continued to change on whether my sister's family or our kids' friends might join us! It ended up just our family of four and we couldn't have been happier with our stay! The cabin is situated in a beautiful outdoor setting in the woods, the inside is absolutely adorable, decorated to the "T" right down to the tableware and glasses to match the cabin's motif!! :) It is very well equipped with all the kitchen and cooking utensils one would need. One thing that wasn't in the kitchen that we were hoping for but NOT a big deal AT ALL was a crockpot. We were wanting to throw something in, forget it and come back to a meal waiting on us...a crockpot would be perfect for making a pot of soup during the winter stays. The only other suggestion though we didn't need it since none of us slept downstairs is some baseboard heating; otherwise pile up with the bountiful blankets that are provided. The owners obviously take great pride in their property, pay attention to detail and have thought of pretty much everything to make their guests truly feel at home and comfortable during their stay! I hope we can come back and stay at Cabin on the Creek again in the near future!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
St. Joseph, MI
5

Winter Wonderland Pooch Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our first trip with our dogs, as well as our first time renting a home in Northern Michigan. When we first started discussing a potential winter getaway, Cabin on the Creek is exactly what we pictured in our heads - we were delighted to find it everything we had imagined, and more. The woodsy location is perfect for long walks with the dogs, and they loved watching for birds and squirrels out the many windows and on the two porches. The house and property are beautiful, and the cabin boasts every amenity you could need (linens, toiletries, DVD player, wireless, even Hunting and Fishing Trivial Pursuit, which is surprisingly super fun!). Adorably decorated and perfectly "up north," we were cozy and comfortable and felt right at home. We're already looking for a weekend to revisit Cabin on the Creek!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Furnished Log Home on Secluded Shetland Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211482vbi
(231) 228-5796 (Michigan, USA)
Maple City Northern Michigan
Southwest Michigan
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed here with 3 other couples (8 total) in November when the leaves had already fallen. Our goal was to use this as the home base and tour around the region stopping at various wineries closer to Traverse City for wine tastings. The Cabin itself is well maintained (still virtually brand new) and VERY clean. The kitchen is a good size and is pretty well equipped. As for location, it feels remote but Maple City is just a few minutes away and TC really isn't far either. In general, everyone slept very well and had a great time. We would definitely go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway