Newry house rental - Ski Esta -- Summer Glory!
Ski Esta -- Summer Glory!
 
  • Bedrooms10
  • Sleeps38
  • 13 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Newry House Rental Photos and Description
10 bedrooms, 12 full bathrooms, 3 half bathrooms, sleeps 38

Welcome to Ski-Esta! a luxury rental home designed for large, extended family vacations, located in the beautiful mountains of the Sunday River area of Maine. Whether you come to ski, snowmobile, hike, fish, mountain bike, golf or to enjoy any of the many other year round area activities, our home is the perfect place to experience it all! Book now and enjoy the many resort quality amenities that we have to offer: Swim in our indoor heated pool with built in spa; relax in 3 multi-person steam rooms; dry off in the Finnish Sauna; watch a movie in a cinema quality home theater room; enjoy our Chef' Dream Kitchen with its 60' Wolf Dual Fuel range; seat 40+ people in our dining room and kitchen; Relax in one of three outdoor hot tubs -- one on our 50ft. roof deck; enjoy the main deck fire pit; play pool or ping pong in our game room; 2 offices with full computer, fax, and wireless internet; 14 pair boot dryer; dog shower. Book Now! This spectacular home will exceed your expectations!

Construction Completion Details: Interior Finish Details: Each bedroom has custom made/designed bedding and window treatments. All of the furniture was purchased either from specialty retailers and craftsmen or in High Point, North Carolina -- the furniture capital of the USA. The house features a number of custom built-ins -- two window seats, sleeping platforms, entertainment units, cabinets, mud-room seating, ski-pegs, hat/mitten/boot shelving, bay window seat, etc. The design work in the flooring in every room is outstanding and unlike anything you have every seen before. The magnificent arched timber trusses and the one of a kind 40 foot masonry fireplace are truly unique. The central staircase is mahogany with black iron balusters. There are 7 custom showers (slate, travertine, marble, granite, glass, onyx, pebbles) including a slate mosaic and copper pencil dog shower!. The kitchen will not only please your family chef but may very well earn a feature magazine spread. No expense has been spared in making this the ultimate retreat!

Our Commitment to our Guests: We have been helping extended family groups make memories and solidify bonds that will last a lifetime. Our homes are geared to facilitating an unforgettable vacation experience for large family groups. They are uniquely designed to provide ample space for everyone to gather, cook, dine, etc. as well as a private space for each family that they can retreat to. Amusement for kids (both young and old) as well as toys and gadgets for the adults make our homes a place that you don't really need to leave in order to find relaxation and entertainment. Our homes are also a special place for couples that have chosen them as the location for their family wedding. We our proud that over the years, over 30 couples have started their married lives in our vacation homes. In addition to hosting large family groups in our homes for the last 13 years, we too vacation with up to seven families every year and put our homes through the same paces that you will. You will be amazed at what we offer!

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 211445 in Newry, Maine

INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
average rating of 4.976744 based on 49 reviews
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
Portland, ME
5

Great Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We recently had our wedding at the Ski Esta, and we couldn't have asked for a better venue. The house was great for a wedding. Plenty of rooms for our friends and family. Pretty sure the most talked about thing at our wedding was the toilet in the half bathroom on the first floor... to know what I mean you'll have to rent the house. Sophia was great to deal with and always responded quickly with any questions that we had. Sophia and Walter thank you so much for letting us have our wedding at the Ski Esta.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
5

Beautiful House and Awesome Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at Ski Esta for 3 nights in January. The house is absolutely beautiful and the views were amazing. Sophia the owner was very easy to communicate with regarding our reservation.

We had some warm weather during our stay so the skiing wasn't great but the pool, movie theatre, and game room made up for it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
5

An Amazing Place To Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had about 20+ people at Skiesta and were all very impressed with the property and home amenities. Having the movie theater, game room, and pool was very convenient with all of our kids. Would 100% recommend this to anyone and would love to stay there again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
St Croix, USVI
5

Family Vacation, A lasting memory

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family and I stayed here for the Christmas holidays and my what an amazing time it was. From the moment that we saw this house online we feel in love with it and the chance to stay there. The owner Sophia was so helpful in answering all of my concerns. While at the house I called her over a small issue and within the hour someone was there.
I plan on going back again and again.

Thank you Sophia for a lasting memory
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
4

Wonderful House!! Only Problem: Housekeepers were extremely rude.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I stayed here as a guest for a wedding and it goes without saying that the house is impeccable and incredibly elegant. My favorite part was the hot tub on the roof! Many of the other reviews have already covered all the great points of this place.

However I did want to mention that the housekeepers were EXTREMELY rude to us on Sunday morning as we were packing up to leave. This is the only thing that kept me from giving this place a full five stars. Never have I witnessed such unfounded anger and resentment. We were just a couple minutes past the checkout time and they came storming in and started screaming in our faces (literally) as we were working hard to clean up and leave the house. If the owner of this place has any good sense he will fire his housekeeping team immediately and hire a new one. There is no excuse for the poor behavior that marred an otherwise wonderful and unforgettable weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were very concerned about the guest comment and immediately reached out to our head of housekeeping to understand what happened. Here is their point of view on the issue:
"When I arrived at the house that morning at 10:00 I started my routine with getting the closets unlocked and checking the garbage cans in the kitchen. When I entered kitchen I couldn't believe what I saw -- you could not see any of the counters they were so covered with everything. After checking the first 6 garbage cans and heading over the the last set I spoke to the lady at the sink and asked her if she understood that it was a 10:00 check out. Her response to me was (Well we just had a wedding here yesterday and that they were going as fast as can) ,that's when I noticed there was 15 or more people all around just visiting having a great time. I then told her that I had a contractor here now who needed to start on the granite counter cleaning and re-sealing process and that I also had 4 showings coming. I then left the kitchen to proceed with the clean. Upon entering the first few bedrooms, we had to remove garment bags and suitcases off the beds so we could start our clean. Finally after finding 31 beach towels all in one dryer soaking wet one of my girls came to me and said that the group was talking about how rude I was and who was I to come into the house like that. At that point I felt I needed to defend myself (now probably about 30 minutes since I had entered the house). I then went downstairs to confront the person that was having so much to say, and that's when I informed them again about what I was facing and that this is my job and that I wasn't being rude and that in fact they were rude because they didn't bother to abide by the contract and how would they feel if when they arrived at 4:00 for their check-in that the house wasn't ready because the guest before them didn't respect the check out time in the contract that they signed or to bother to follow the check-out process. I am sorry if the guest felt that it was being rude to do my job and to remind her of her obligations under the contract she signed. As far as the anger she expressed - yes, I was beyond angry that they could be so upset with me when they were the ones that defaulted on their contract not me. Regarding the part stating they were only a few minutes late leaving the house, it is not true, they didn't leave until 11:30 which was an hour and half after check-out time."
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I recently had my wedding at Ski Esta, and stayed for 5 nights with my family and bridal party. It is an understatement to say that this place is absolutely breathtaking. Every guest commented about the gorgeous home and fantastic views. The home is impeccably maintained, with every comfort accounted for. The entire home is conveniently (and tastefully) labled, with instructions and suggestions for everything you could think of. The home comfortably accommodated all of our guests, and there was plenty to do to keep everyone occupied. It was on the one hand large enough to give everyone space, but at the same time was very warm and welcoming. The first comment from my whole family was how immediately comfortable they felt when they first arrived.

The owners were very helpful prior to the event, and if we had an issue during our stay, they had staff available. I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Ski Esta, my family and friends who stayed there all agree that it was the perfect setting for a memorable weekend. And - my husband and I booked it and planned our entire wedding without ever having stepped foot inside until our arrival! Needless to say, we were not disappointed!
Owner's Response: Thank you Haley! So glad it was such a good fit.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
Bethel, ME
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We took our Senior Class to Ski Esta for their Senior Gala which is hosted by our Alumni Association. From hors d'oevres on the deck to guitar hero in the game room, everything was perfect. One of our Seniors claimed it was the best event he had attended in his four years at Gould. Thank you, Sophia and Walter, for a perfect venue at which to hold our event.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
Maine
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This was the most perfect long weekend ever!! We started out by getting married at the covered bridge and then had the reception party at the house, our guests are still talking about the outstanding accommodations and the best wedding they've ever been to! We had out family stay with us for the weekend, it the perfect place to gather everyone at. Plenty of space and activities for all! Everyone loved it...so much so, that I think the next wedding in the family is going to be planned for here too!Thanks Sophia for all the awesome pre-stay communication! Thank you to your staff for a beautifully, clean and well maintained home. I give it the best ratings and recommend it for everyone!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I certainly want to congratulate you and Walter for creating such a luxury home. Our group was reluctant to leave when Friday arrived and left with wonderful memories to share with colleagues and friends. Please accept my sincere thanks for your generous donation for our retreat. Our group is already putting together details for the annual 20th retreat to be held the last week of April or the first week in May of 2011. If you and Walter would like to consider another form of donation for rental of the home to the group for next year please let me know, they’ve already indicated SkiEsta is where they want to meet... Priscilla DormanExecutive SecretaryPenquis PO Box 1162Bangor, Maine 04402
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
INDOOR POOL, 10BR, sleeps 38, 3 hot tubs, theater, roof deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211445
+1 610 925-4775
Newry Bethel - Sunday River area
Philadelphia, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The house is fabulous!!! We stayed at Ski Esta back in February during the big snowstorm (it snowed the entire time we were there!). There were 35 of us in the house, and at no point did it ever feel crowded. The house is gorgeous and has the most amazing views of Sunday River. We couldn't have asked for anything better! The house has everything (and more) you could ever need/want. We are already trying to plan our next trip!Sophia was also wonderful to work with. She was able to answer any question that I had and was so helpful during the planning process.
Helpful votes: 1/1