Mal Pais villa rental - The sunset from Casa Verde (looking toward Santa Teresa)
The sunset from Casa Verde (looking toward Santa Teresa)
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Mal Pais Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms (king), 3 bathrooms, Private Pool, Sweeping Views, Full Time Staff

Enjoy the true serenity of Costa Rica. Our rain-washed jungle hillsides framed out by the grandest sunsets in the southern hemisphere will surely deliver the vacation of your dreams. We are running specials all summer long, inquire today!

Read more at http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257#BOiveOYJP1juRybX.99 Please Visit our website for more information: http://malpais4rent.wordpress.com

This luxurious 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom villa is located just above the surf towns of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa on the hillside looking over the beach. In the heart of amazing flora and fauna, you'll be absolutely taken by the immensity of the jungle, ocean and mountain views. It will take you 5 minutes to go from your villa to Mal Pais and 10 minutes to go check out Montezuma or Cobano. The heart of this house is an amazing living space with a kitchen opening on a huge terrace facing the pool and the breathtaking ocean view. This house contains 2 bedrooms, with king-sized beds, each with private bathrooms and walk-in showers with waterfall shower heads. Each room has double french doors that open to the amazing plush mountains and ocean view. A half bath is located on the terrace that opens up to the refreshing salt water pool. There is also a spacious living area and a fully equipped modern kitchen. A large sectional couch could also sleep another 2 visitors. Entertain yourself and guests by grilling dinner on the Argentinian style bar-b-que pit on the deck looking out over the incredible view. Relax in the salt water pool, or read a book in the cozy hammock, while listening to the echoes of the howling monkeys. The inspired interior design features local art, creating an environment that invites guests to relax and enjoy. Pura Vida!

Feel free to pick up the phone and call Natalie the owner. She is friendly and readily available by cellphone. 870-692-7364

More Details
Hide Details

We built the house in 2006 to open up the beauty of the Nicoya Peninsula to guests from all over the world.

Natalie Donham purchased this villa in 2006

It's cozy and relaxing, with a breathtaking view. What more could you ask for?

One of the major perks to our property is our private road between Mal Pais and Montezuma. You can cut through and split the peninsula in half the time!

15 Reviews of Property 211257 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 15 reviews
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Casa Verde was incredible! Watching the sunset from the pool with a cocktail in hand is a must. The experience and accommodations are first rate. From the moment i sent my initial inquiry - which was answered in less than an hour by the owner, to the gracious property manager and grounds keepers, the property and exclusivity is unmatched. Great fruit trees on property and banana leaves to steam fresh caught fish in. The monkeys, parrots and iguanas serenade every morning through open doors and windows. Being high above the dust and activity of Mal Pais is awesome. Lots to see and do nearby, but a 4x4 vehicle you will not be able to do without. Roads are rough (loved every second of it).

Casa Verde is well maintained and has a washer/dryer. We used it daily! It gets pretty dirty down in Mal Pais and it was nice to have the option of doing your own laundry.

We cooked dinner most nights and traveled with our own spices. The kitchen is well appointed but like most vacation rental homes, you will need to bring your own condiments, spices, sugar/flour etc. or purchase at the store. Tons of markets from which to choose - we favored the Super Ronny #2 in Santa Teresa. It wasn't the closest, but had the best selection of meats and produce.

Lots of great restaurants about 15 minutes from the house in Mal Pais. We liked the "Sodas" that catered to the locals and were much less expensive than the other restaurants. Sodas are the Costa Rican equivalent to a taco shack- really great food, cheap prices. We had casado everyday for lunch at many different places in Santa Teresa, Mal Pais, Manzanillo and Montezuma.

We surfed for a week in Playa Hermosa (Santa Teresa). This spot is great for beginners as it has a nice long sand bar and pretty good waves for more experienced regardless of tide. Rented boards from Nalu - as recommended by the property manager. She was right on! Nalu was great, offered nice boards at a good price.

Would stay at this property again - all around amazing experience!
Sarah
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
4

best vacation ever!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented Casa Verde in Malpais from only web search. We'd never been to Costa Rica, and knew nothing of this rental or location. That's the beauty of it, a vacation of potential: exploration and surprise. We paid, scheduled vacation and flights, all without guarantee. San Jose was pretty ugly, crowded, dirty. The car rental went smoothly enough, but the trip over was rough, the last 45 minutes on a road a rancher would be disappointed with.
When we finally made it to Casa Verde, we knew we'd lucked out. It was awesome. Lovely landscaping, spectacular views, delightful architecture and comfort.
The best part for me was sleeping 7 nights with open windows and doors, with the sounds of rain and thunder, geckkos, bats, monkeys, birds, frogs, lizards all around. Not one single mosquito in 10 days, and the temperature was perfect for sleeping, about 70 F.
Get out of San Jose ASAP, be confident in Casa Verde. You'll be delighted. There isn't much for home cooking: pots/pans, plates, glasses, silverware yes, but no spices, oil, sugar, flour, etc. Eating at restaurants gets expensive, most entrees at any restaurant work out to about $12/person. The grocery stores are adequately stocked and close, but not cheap either. We enjoyed the DVD's, the books, guidebooks, etc. We did a lot of driving, walking, sightseeing, day-trips. The pool was perfect.
We've made similar trips elsewhere: France, St. Croix, Seattle. This was the best.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Wonderful Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed at Casa Verde for six days. What a wonderful home. The views, the atmosphere, the privacy and the help we received upon arrival made the stay unforgettable. There were a few items that would have made the stay perfect. A few kitchen cooking utensils were missing and salt and pepper. The book about house along with recommendations was an added bonus. What may help future visitors would be a map of how the reach the home from the ferry at Paquera as well as a recommendation to rent a four wheel drive vehicle. It sure was handy for the steep muddy roads.
All and all our time at Casa Verde was wonderful and would highly recommend this home to anyone wanting the closeness to activities but desiring a tranquil peaceful home to spend time at.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
California, USA
1

** BEWARE ** ** BEWARE ** ** BEWARE **

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
** BEWARE ** ** BEWARE ** ** BEWARE ** ** BEWARE ** ** BEWARE **

This property is far from what is advertised and completely misrepresented It is dirty, animals living in the kitchen, no screens, 25 minutes from town, and the owner is completely unreasonable with resolving our issues or returning our money. After driving 10 miles up a road that required a 4x4, my fiance and I arrived with the rental agent to a house that looked like no one had rented in years. The property was overgrown, dirty, about 20 minutes farther than advertised, and animals living in the kitchen. I contacted Andrew, the "owner" and he said "too bad." The pictures and reviews look like they were stolen from a travel book, and the reviews look like he stole them from another property's description. I would not let my dog stay there. Do not rent this property or give him any money. His deposit was far more than any other property that I rented, because he knows once you see the property in person, you will run. The owner Andrew gives Costa Rica a bad name. This is not a safe property for anyone to stay at. ** BEWARE **
Owner's Response: Well, this is not the norm folks. We have nothing but raving reviews about casa verde. Unfortunately this client showed up to the Costa Rican Jungle and was afraid of bugs. Not much we can do about that. Please see our other sites for more great reviews about Casa Verde on homeaway property number 211257
This is just funny to me. We offered to reimburse his booking (against our policy) if he could find a replacement tenant or we could. This was the busiest time of the year for us and he showed up Drunk to the house 2 hrs late in the Dark and refused to sleep there. I recommended that he go back and see it in the daylight and he refused.

Not to worry, casa verde is amazing and our rates are far below market. Please feel free to contact Tropisphere as well, costa ricas premiere real estate web service.

Andrew
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Stockholm, Sweden
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Died and went to heaven, this is by far the most beautiful place on earth!
We'll be back
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Tranquil paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We just returned from our 16 day trip to CR and for our first week, we stayed at Casa Verde.

Words cannot describe the tranquility and beauty of this property. We initially arrived after dark to the house so it wasn't until the next morning when we woke up and could actually see the view of the ocean and the valley that this house sits upon; we nearly wept.

Based on the website's information, the house was everything we expected and more! The drive up to the gated community from the main road takes about 7 minutes and I definitely wouldn't try to do it without a 4x4 of some sort. It's a rough road but doesn't have scary cliffs or anything. The house lies at the top of a very large hill and the valley below is breathtaking. The one other house that you can see in the distance doesn't spoil the view whatsoever.

Each of the two bedrooms are decorated beautifully and the whole house sort of has that inside-outside feel because the main living area and dining room are actually outside on the covered veranda. You truly are with nature here. There were several troops of howler monkeys that would move through the valley and around the property; we loved waking up to them. The main living area has huge rafters on the roof that lent their space to a few creatures, which we loved. Bats, house geckos, iguanas, and butterflies all shared the space with us. Totally cool.
Around the property, we saw howler monkeys, lizards of all types, we had a resident coati, and too many types of birds to count but a flock of parrots would fly by every morning at about 6am.

For our meals, we drove down to MalPais, which takes about 10 minutes. Some times we had to search a bit for places that were open but, by far, our favorite restaurant there was Casa Del Mar. Pasta Basta and Zwart(breakfast) are also must-eats. No matter where you go in MalPais, the locals and the tourists are all extremely friendly and helpful, even if you don't speak Spanish (we didn't).
The other nice aspect is that the gated community provides a shortcut to Montezuma. It's about a 15min drive to get there. We did the tour to Tortuga Island which was only $50 for a full day per person and an amazing experience.

If you are looking for a place to get away and RELAX, I promise, Casa Verde will not let you down. Email the owner and he'll likely respond within minutes. I'm already recruiting travel partners to go back as soon as possible!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Exceeded Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Every time I see pictures of this house (online or one's that I took), I become sad: I grieve because I am not there now. I will never forget the wonderful time I had there and hope that I can return numerous times. <br><br>

If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful, beautiful home that can't be found anywhere else -- in the world -- then this is where you want to stay. When you're ready to go out, the unique, small-town-feel, internationally diverse, surf town is waiting for you. This is not a town overrun with tourists (thankfully).

<br><br>Some of the best cuisine I've experienced was in Malpais (my wife as well -- and she's a culinary school graduate and amazing chef). The restaurant exploration is pretty much inexhaustible for a vacationer.

<br><br>There's great surf on their beaches. (If you don't know how to surf already, I HIGHLY recommend using a long board and taking surfing lessons right away.)

<br><br>Spanish is not required -- you can get by just fine only speaking English (we did).

<br><br>Even writing this has been a double experience: I delight in the memories that I had here and I grieve that I'm not there now. I really hope that I'm able to visit this unique, beautiful place again (soon).
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
4

Casa Verde

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Our family of four stayed at the Casa Verde for almost six weeks in Dec/Jan 2010/2011. Our first impression when we arrived at the house was, "Wow the view and privacy is way better than what we had hoped for from the pictures." The sense of space and privacy of the property was was the perfect compliment to the relative buzz of the beach scene. From the house the view cascades off of a hillside with jungle in the foreground and beautiful ocean views behind that. Amazing sunsets. The design of the house is semicircular with a covered outdoor living area which all focuses toward the views westward. The pool is awesome, big enough to even get a bit of excercise, well maintained too. House is perfect for a family or two couples. The rooms are on opposing ends of the house each with an awesome bathroom. Don't be afraid of a few spiders! Saw plenty of wildlife all around the area.
Very important to have a four wheel drive vehicle if you are going to stay here. From the location of the Casa one can choose to go to ST/ Mal pais or go to Montezuma almost just as easy from the back route. There is much exploring to do and you can save a good deal by shopping for food and then cooking at home. They have some nice skillets and plates, etc. Super Ronny's #1 is a good market it ST. Also, we enjoyed going to Luz de Vida for some afternoon susnset beach trips. They have a pool , happy hour , and beach bar, and you can rent surfboards there for 6$ for a couple hours. Playa Hermosa is good flat beach for kids.
Overall, we loved the Casa Verde and would return again. It was so nice to be relatively secluded but so close to the action at the same time. 4x4 mandatory. We would indeed recommend the place to friends, and have. Also, we had the oppurtunity to meet the owner, Andrew, and he was a great guy. I can say that on the business side of things that the customer service was tops too. In conclusion, we just stumbled on this place via the net, and were incredibly happy we did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Little Rock, AR, USA
5

Spectacular Accomodations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My husband & I spent our honeymoon here in March and it was wonderful! The view of the ocean is amazing. Just wait til you see on those sunsets! The house is nestled in the hills overlooking the jungles and ocean. At night you can hear the howler monkeys in the trees so it has that tropical exotic yet cozy feel to it. The community is great for an adventure vacation. You've got gorgeous white and black sand beaches depending on which towns you visit nearby, mountains, jungle and rainforest. Mal Pais is a friendly little surf town with good food, coffee houses, and rental cars, much less the most beautiful beaches. And Montezuma has plenty of restaurants, shopping, and fun touristy things to do...horse-back riding, zip-line tours, etc. We took a boat out to the Isle of Tortuga one day and it was so much fun! The food anywhere you go is so fresh and healthy. You feel so rejuvenated when you lay down at night, like you've been at a spa all day. The layout of the house is really cool. King sized beds, beautiful tile in the bathrooms, you feel like you're at a four-star resort with the pool right outside your bedroom door. In fact, we left the doors open at night to feel the breeze. No air conditioning was necessary! I can't wait to go back. This is an ideal stay for those of you wanting something modern and exotic but would like a little of both relaxation and adventure. It definitely has a nice balance for any age.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Villa, Salt Water Pool with Incredible Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211257
+1 8706927364
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Chicago, IL
4

Amazing home in an amazing area!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We Absolutley loved Casa Verde. The house is amazing, views are awesome! Pool is much bigger than it looks in the pictures. The area is perfect, you have many options for beaches all within a 20min drive. Tons of restaurants from cheap authentic food - sushi.
There are resident bats so if your squeemish that might bother you, and a resident lizard we named Philipe. We didnt have any monkeys come real close to the house but we could hear them loud and clear at sunrise. My husband saw one good sized spider in the bathroom.Very minimal bugs.
The roads in the area are challenging but so fun to drive, make sure you have 4wd!
We found that we didnt have to spend alot of money on activities, just driving to different beaches and exploring kept us entertained. The only tour type thing we did was a horseback ride in Montezuma to El Churro waterfalls. The horses were from El Pinto ranch and they were great.
There are no spices in kitchen which I found disapointing since I did alot of cooking.
Not a real good music library(there was about 10 cds I would say and mostly rap) but they have a ihome so bring your ipod!
If your going to be buying beer try checking into prices on the mainland, it was almost $9.00 for a 6pk of the cheapest! We spent a fortune, lol.
Panga buffet in Santa Teresa was one of our fav restaurants. We also got to watch American football on their big flat screen!
La Yunta soda was the cheapest food we found and it was good. They dont speak english but were very helpful.
We did go to the renowned Mary's in Mal Pais. I was not thrilled. It was pricey for what it was and everything was saturated in butter. The resident cat was nice!
The caretaker George and the rest of his staff were great & provided us assistance when we needed it.

The only real downfall to Casa Verde was the reservation process was a little difficult. The price on homeaway was not listed correctly, so it was disapointing to me when I found out I would have to pay quite alot more. I was a bit worried that the house was a scam due to the price descrepency and some of the ways the reservation was handled. But rest assured it is not and I hope everyone else has a good experience when reserving. And despite all that said we hope to go back next year.

Tips for improving - Spices and potholders in the kitchen would be nice.
We had to use the pillows in both bedrooms, so some extras for us 2 pillow people would great.
thanks!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5