Coral Bay cottage rental - Exterior of Windwardside Guest Cottage
Exterior of Windwardside Guest Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Coral Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1BR Oceanview Vacation Rental St. John, Virgin Islands USA

This charming, cozy and romantic cottage (perfect for a honeymoon) has gorgeous views from the covered porch and private hot tub. The interior has a queen-size, four-poster bed, a small seating area, a kitchenette and a breakfast bar. The covered porch has a dining area and two lounging chairs where you can enjoy the trade winds while watching the sailboats pass by. A shower garden opens onto an uncovered deck. There you can have a relaxing evening soak in the hot tub under a starry Caribbean sky.

20 Reviews of Property 210721 in Coral Bay, Virgin Islands

Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Magnificent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our first visit to St John and now that we’re in love with the island we can’t imagine staying anywhere other than the Windwardside Guest Cottage - except perhaps another Calabash Cottages property. We just can’t gush enough about this sweet little bungalow. Its setting is spectacular; the view will knock your socks off! A teeny note of caution for those less adventurous, the last mile approaching the cottage is slightly intimidating (steep, quite a drop down [thus the fabulous view!] and mostly not paved/bumpy). However, don’t let that sway you – you get used to it by your 2nd or 3rd try and it’s worth it.
The cottage was perfectly appointed for two. Everything you’ll need for your stay is there. The little galley kitchen will surprise you by how well equipped it is, between it and the grill we were very set to have most of our dinners in, and we’re not talking PB&J here. The cottage was spotless and extremely well cared, particularly given how rough an island environment can be on metal, wood, etc. It appears as if it is tended to regularly.
The level of service from this team was top-notch. Margaret & Diane answered all of our pre-arrival questions & provided great tips for our stay. Beth (aka Yoga Beth) met us at the ferry dock & generously spent about 2 hrs with us. In addition to what was promised (ferry pick-up, rental car retrieval, grocery stop in the big city, follow-me to the cottage), Beth took us to the National Park Visitor Center so we could pick up our tickets for a hike the next morning. She also provided us some wonderful “local’ tips on beaches for snorkeling and restaurants not to miss. Beth never once made us feel rushed; she really introduced us to the concept of island time. Oh almost forgot Warren from Dynamic tours, the car service from the airport to the ferry in St Thomas which was recommended & we highly suggest using it. It made our arrival & departure so smooth. Warren was warmly welcoming & completely reliable, there for us at the airport despite that our flight was over an hour late & then he called at the end of the week to find out which ferry we were taking from St John so that he’d be waiting our arrival. Lastly, Susan (the owner?) called us the last night to be sure our stay had gone well. Really, this is stellar service that is rare to find these days.
Thank you Calabash Cottage team. …..and for prospective future guests reading this: don’t hesitate, this place is a gem!
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jon and Lynne, for your detailed review. I know how helpful it is to future guests to hear from people who have already stayed with us. I am so glad that that you enjoyed your week. I will pass on your appreciation to the rest of the team. We hope to see you on your next visit to St. John. Thanks again for staying with us. Susan
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Wonderful Romantic Getaway - Picturesque, Private and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Surround yourself with the natural beauty of Coral Harbor water and the lush green mountainside into which this lovely cottage has been built. We stayed for a week in this romantic getaway. We took multiple pictures from the four-poster bed of the water below, just to show how beautiful this setting was. The view from this cottage is outstanding, and as the ad says, we watched many sailboats entering and exiting Coral Harbor. We also watched a little hummingbird come back time after time drinking from the beautiful flowers growing just below the deck. Whether you're showering, enjoying champagne in the hot tub, or eating dinner on the deck, you have the same view of the hillside and the harbor below. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, away from the hustle and bustle of the crowed hotels and city streets, this quaint tropical cottage is definitely the place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
KALAMAZOO, MI
5

THE PERFECT SECLUDED GET AWAY - BEST ISLAND VIEWS POSSIBLE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
MY WIFE AND I HAVE TAKEN SEVERAL CARIBBEAN TRIPS AND THIS WAS OUR ABSOLUTE BEST.

ALL THAT THE OTHER REVIEWS SAY RE THE TRIP ARRANGEMENTS SUCH AS PLANE CONNECTIONS, JEEP RENTALS AND STAFF ATTENTIVENESS ARE VERY TRUE.

THIS COTTAGE IS VERY SECLUDED, PERFECTLY SIZED AND FEATURED TO MAKE YOUR STAY THE BEST IT COULD EVER BE. ESPECIALLY THE HOT TUB - SO VERY PRIVATE AND TO LOOK UP AT THE STARS WHILE LAYING THERE WITH A DRINK IN HAND IS JUST THE BEST EXPERIENCE ONE COULD WISH FOR - GENTLE BREEZES KEEP YOU COOL AND COMFY WHILE SLEEPING AT NIGHT AND THEN TO WAKE UP TO THE ISLAND VIEW - OH MY !!!

THE SNORKELING IS TO DIE FOR - VERY MANY LOCATIONS WITH OVERFLOWING OCEANLIFE FROM RAYS TO TURTLES TO BARRACUDA ( NOT A CONCERN ) TO STARFISH TO OCTOPUS TO SHARK - MORE THAN ONE COULD HOPE FOR.

WE HAD SUCH A WONDERFUL TIME WE SO HATED TO LEAVE - WE WILL BE BACK AND STAY LONGER EVEN THAN WE DID THE FIRST TIME.

WE CANNOT SAY ENOUGH GOOD RE ALL THE FEATURES OF THE COTTAGE, THE STAFF, THE FOOD ON TH ISLAND, THE SNORKELING AND THE FRIENDLY FOLK ON THE ISLAND.


PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT PASS UP THE CHANCE TO SEE ALL THAT THE COTTAGE AND THE ISLAND OF ST JOHNS - US VI - HAS TO OFFER - YOU WON'T REGRET COMING TO SEE THIS ISLAND PARADISE WHICH BYW IS VERY EASY TO GET TO BUT OH SO HARD TO LEAVE !!!

TODD / LAURIE
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Brighton, Michigan USA
5

The Windwardside Guest Cottage is Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We just returned from a wonderful week long stay at the Windwardside Guest Cottage (Feburary 24-March 3, 2013). The cottage is even nicer then the pictures on the web site! The view from the porch looking down on Coral Bay is incredible. Diane and Susan were both terrific to communicate with prior to our arrival and made sure we had all the information we needed. Diane is just a local phone call away if you need any information during your stay. The cottage is very clean and well maintained and fully stocked even down to beach towels and snorkeling gear. I was pleased to learn that some of the electrical energy comes from five solar panels mounted on top of the porch – very Green! You will need a four wheel drive Jeep to get to the cottage and Diane took care of arranging that for us as well when we made our cottage reservation. Bruce met us in Coral Bay and made sure we got to the cottage as the first time up the road is a bit tricky. Bruce also answered our questions about the cottage and offered his insights on good snorkeling spots. The WIFI worked great in the cottage and so we streamed NetFlix movies on our Kindle at night. Pack your swimming suit, tee shirt, shorts, sun glasses and sun screen and head over to Waterlemon Cay, Haulover Bay, Salt Pond or Hansen’s Beach for some great snorkeling and Miss Lucy’s or The Shipwreck for fun dinners. Don't forget to have at least one lunch at Skinny Legs! Sure hope we can stay at the Windwardside Guest Cottage again in the future! Special thanks to Diane for her great communications!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Scituate, MA
5

Best little cottage on the Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our trip to Calabash Cottages couldn’t have been better from start to finish. Prior to departure, Susan and Diane made sure that all of our travel arrangements were coordinated. They arranged for a private driver to pick us up at the St Thomas airport to drive us to the Red Hook ferry dock and for a second driver, or greeter, to meet us at the Cruz Bay, St John ferry dock. And, when I phoned Diane at 7am on the morning of our flight and told her that we would be catching an earlier flight, she still managed to rearrange all the pick-ups and accommodate our last minute travel change. Our greeter in St. John was Bruce. He took us to the Courtesy rental car company which gave us a discount because we booked it through Susan and Diane. After picking up our rental Jeep, he then had us follow him to a local grocery market and gave us suggestions as to what to buy and where. After waiting for us to shop, he gave us some driving tips for the island and we followed him to Coral Bay and made another stop at a local market in Coral Bay so that we would know where to shop on the other side of the island. The drive up to the cottage is not for the faint of hearted, but it is totally worth it. Upon reaching the cottage, we were amazed at the quaintness, the view, the privacy, the top notch attention to detail; it was perfect. Bruce showed us around and made sure that we knew where everything was. And to top off this first class pick up treatment, Bruce spent the extra time to tell us about some of the best snorkeling locations, the best eating locations, the best off the beaten path beaches, the best hiking trails, the best times to go, etc… making sure that we really were ready for our trip.
During our trip, we made sure to get up early and hike the island and visit every beach. We hiked the Lind Point Trail early in the morning to have Solomon Beach and Honeymoon Beach all to ourselves for quite a time and then hiked Margaret Hill and Caneel Hill to witness the amazing views. We hike the Lameshur Bay trail all the way to Reef bay, enjoying a strenuous hike and the ruins along the way (and back again!) and enjoying the entire bay to ourselves. The south beaches of Salt Pond Bay and Little Lameshur Bay are just as great as the famous north shore beaches and less crowded. We did go to Hawksnest Bay and Trunk Bay early in the morning and enjoyed the hike to Peace Hill to see these views of the north shore bays from there. We hit the Brown Bay Trail and the
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Paradise Found!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I visited St. John for the first time and had an amazing vacation! We are already planning our next trip! The Windwardside Guest Cottage was the perfect place for our romantic getaway! It was clean, comfortable and Susan and Diane were so helpful and accomodating from day one of booking my vacation. We had a problem with the water going out and they were there to fix it within 10 minutes of our call-what wonderful service! I loved waking up to the spectacular view from our cottage-it really is breathtaking! The outdoor shower was awesome too! There are some wonderful restaraunts nearby and its a short drive to many beaches! It was really relaxing to end our busy day of exploring to get in the hot tub and look up at the stars. If you are looking for a small, cozy romantic place to stay on the island, look no further. This little cottage is perfect!
Owner's Response: Thanks for such a lovely review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Susan
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
5

Great Headquarters for Snorkeling and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I was traveling by myself on this trip and this little cottage was perfect. Very private with a fantastic view. I loved the outdoor shower with large plants. I used the hot tub at least once a day and found it to be very relaxing. It was a 2 mile drive to Saltpond Bay which is known to have some of the best snorkeling on St. John. I took underwater pictures of two turtles there and a spotted eagle ray. The one turtle was over 3 feet long. I plan to come back to this location every year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
St. Louis, MO
5

Had a great trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had a great vacation on St. John and the Windwardside Guest Cottage was a big part of it. The cottage was exactly as described. The view of Coral Bay was wonderful. We loved the hot tub under the stars. We enjoyed the outdoor shower under the watchful eye of the lizards and geckos. We grilled on the BBQ and ate outside on the porch. We made good use of the snorkling equipment, beach chairs and beach towels that were provided. My wife really enjoyed our breakfast visitors, the bananaquits; they really love that sugar. One bird also had a fondness for OJ with a touch of Cruzan Pineapple Rum in it! The road up to the cottage is memorable but we had no problems with it, very bumpy though! Susan and her staff (Diane and Adam) were absolulely amazing. They helped arrange our transportation from the airport to the ferry as well as our Jeep rental. They were helpful when we had any questions about the island and were very responsive when the heater on the hot tub stopped working.
Island recommendations:
Solomon Bay Beach - worth the hike on the Lind Point Trail; gorgeous beach; there were never more than 14 other people with us while we were there
Jumbie Bay Beach - if arrive late afternoon maybe you will have the entire beach to yourselves (like we did) - AWESOME!
Hike to Rams Head. What a view!
The Ranger led Reef Bay Trail Hike was fun and informative.
Had dinner at Skinny Legs and Shipwreck Landing and breakfast at Donkey Diner. All were good.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
Northern Illinois
5

Wonderful- Simply Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
All your worries melt away walking in the door. A beautifully maintained villa, all the comforts of home- with a view that's purely AMAZING.
A romantic retreat from the stressors of everyday life. Clean as a whistle.
Don't forget to read the journal books on the shelf as they contain years of similar testimony. Dont hesitate on this decision book it!! Money well spent! Best vacation weve ever had.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Windwardside Guest Cottage: Quaint cottage, Quiet Location, Hot Tub, Great View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210721
+1 340 776-6368
Coral Bay St John
kansas
4

Windwardside cottage 2009 visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
went for an anniversary trip. Great service, incredible view from balcony. Fantastic trip and we'd go again to St. John. Cottage was good. Only disappointments were the hot tub was more like a 'barely warm' tub and the bed was just ok for comfortability. The trip was fantastic as a whole.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review of Windwardside Guest Cottage. I was puzzled that you did not like the mattress but then I realized that you actually stayed with us over a year and a half ago. We have replaced the mattress in the interim. The one currently in the cottage is very comfortable. In fact, my husband and I as well as two staff members thought it was so comfortable that we ordered the same one for our homes. I'm disappointed that you had a problem with the hot tub. We encourage guests to call us with any maintenance issues and we do repair them as soon as possible. If we are made aware of any problems we do whatever we can to get them resolved and that usually means within an hour or two. We take our guests enjoyment of our amenities very seriously so I am sorry to learn that the hot tub did not work well for you during your visit. Susan
Helpful votes: 2/2