Ithaca cottage rental - Expect to be delighted!
Expect to be delighted!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Ithaca Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

Stay in an elegantly appointed, ecologically friendly yurt set in a breathtaking discovery garden only 12 minutes south of Ithaca in Newfield, NY. Climbing Vine Cottage offers style and comfort with eclectic details throughout. The artistically-designed, fully equipped kitchen delights with nature-inspired knobs and pulls on each cabinet. Lovely hardwood dining table comfortably seats 6. Hutch holds quirky high-quality table service to make dinner parties look great. Master bedroom features full-size memory foam bed for ultimate comfort plus flat screen TV and DVD. Relax in the living room on a White Lotus full-size futon couch (makes a very comfortable bed!) in front of a flickering fire. Kids love hanging out in the clubhouse/loft area which has two twin beds, down comforters and a dome window for incredible star gazing. Expect to be delighted!

Beautiful Cottage Seeks Ideal Guest: Comfortable, artfully designed, hand crafted yurt nestled into vibrant garden seeks visitors for memorable stay. If you like nature, hiking and gorge walks, if you are tired of cookie cutter hotel rooms or antique stuffed B & B's, if you want something unique and delightful let's get together for one night or many weeks! Hey, I know I'm just a 'luxury apartment in the round' but who says places can't have personality! Please write my caretaker and come visit me!

Talk About Kid Friendly!: Climbing Vine Cottage began as a playground and school for young gardeners. Small hands helped grow fruits, vegetables and flowers for their families and our local soup kitchen Loaves and Fishes. Children have raised butterflies, caught frogs and identified bugs. The yurt was our classroom. In the garden you'll find the cedar tool shed neatly organized with high quality child-sized tools and children's gardening books. In the yurt children will be delighted to sit at the child's table for 4 and use the beading, drawing, collage and clay materials we always keep in stock. There's a play kitchen, tea set and apron, plus baskets with legos and a train set and a well-stocked children's book shelf. Additionally you'll find kid-friendly-adaptive-devices like a step stool, potty seat, and low bench.

For adults without kids don't worry, when we know you're coming we place these materials out of the way, on shelves, etc.

Perfect for a Romantic Getaway: Climbing Vine Cottage makes it easy to find the time for each other. Cook together in a beautiful kitchen or get take out. Cozy up by the fire or climb in bed and watch a DVD. Better yet, climb up to the loft to watch the stars. Explore the forest and gorge in privacy surrounded by peace and beauty.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 210422 in Ithaca, New York

Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Woodbury, NJ
5

We'll be back!

We'll be back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We're so glad we choose to stay at Climbing Vine Cottage! The warmth of the fire, the sound of the rain on the roof and the gentle quietness of the land added to our rest and relaxation. We will definitely be back in winter! And spring! And summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love when our guests have a great time here at Climbing Vine Cottage. As a thank you to our happy vacationers, returning guests save 5%.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Rochester, NY
5

Lovely, peaceful, quiet, one-of-a-kind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The photos and description of the Garden Yurt were highly accurate--in fact it's even more lovely in person! The yurt was perfect for our family of 5. Our children (10, 8, and 6) loved the garden, chickens, frogs and the children of our wonderful host, Michelle, who were as gracious and welcoming as she is. We felt at home within 5 minutes of arriving.

Property. The property is lovely--even more so in than the beautiful pictures. Tucked well back from the road, it is quiet and peaceful. There is a wonderful and challenging hike from a path right behind the yurt that will take you down through woods to hidden waterfalls and a gorge that our family felt like we discovered. The garden is "tastefully" planted with flowers and vegetables. Michelle invited us to pick and eat strawberries, lettuce, carrots. The kids could hardly believe it! The property is also within 15-20 minutes from all that Ithaca offers.

Privacy. The yurt offers a great deal of privacy, as well. Although it is adjacent to the host's home, we felt we could interact with them as little or as much as we wanted, and the placement and architecture of the yurt makes is such that you feel like you're in your own world. There is a completely private patio in the back where you can have dinner or read in the sun completely hidden with nothing but nature surrounding you.

Yurt. The yurt itself is nicely appointed--tasteful decor and modern appliances. We didn't cook extensively, but I would imagine that chefs would have a blast there--terrific large gas stove and plenty of room to prep and eat. The fans kept things cool and comfortable while we were there (though the two days we stayed were not particularly hot). We had two children sleep in the loft and one on a futon. The two younger children slept in the loft, which they loved.

Cautions/weaknesses.It's hard to think of anything to criticize. My only caveat would be about the loft for young children. Coming down the ladder during the night could get dangerous for some young children (under 7 or 8?) because it is a blind backwards climb. You could hem them in with some kind of blockade, but in the unlikely event of a fire that could be dangerous too. It is a manageable caution, especially if you're there long enough for them to get used to it. Just something to be aware of if you plan to have very small children sleep in the loft.

Overall, we could not have been happier with our stay at the Garden Yurt. We would love to return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Syracuse, NY
5

An amazing place for the child with in all of us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Michele and her father George, showed so much hospitality and warm we felt as if we were home. The Yurt was roomy, comfortable and warm a true haven. We laughed giggled and danced. Thank you so much for creating a beautiful get away
Deborah Derusha
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
4

Peace, quiet and green eggs for breakfast!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We did not know what to expect upon arrival because we had never lived in a yurt before. For those who are new to yurts, they are actually big fancy tents! This one was very clean and dry and had finished walls. Nicely decorated with all the necessary basics; stove, fridge, fresh running water, nice half bathroom. No TV and microwave which annoyed hubby, but was fine with me, we survived. Michelle the owner graciously allowed us to help ourselves to fresh eggs every morning from her hens and to whatever fresh produce was available in the garden surrounding the yurt, the tomatoes are just lovely. My three year old had the best time ever playing in the sandbox with Elsa and Frankie (Michelle's kids) and looking out for frogs and gold fish in the pond. Oh by the way, some of the eggs are green (outside not in) and all are so delicious, nothing like freshly laid eggs for breakfast. Ithaca is just a few minutes drive and all the well known chain stores are there, Walmart, Home depot etc. There are some nice restaurants too. If you like hiking you have to go to Buttermilk falls and Tremont state park, lovely gorges and waterfalls. Over all I really enjoyed our stay in the yurt and the surrounding area. Hubby said it was too quiet, oh well. You must sit out at night and look at the stars, absolutely breathtaking. One thing to consider for those who have small children, there is a rather steep ladder leading to the upper level, the ladder is not retractable, so watch the little ones they can have nasty fall down the ladder. To my relief and surprise, our very rambunctious and recalcitrant three year old, only tried to climb the stairs once! There also lots of toys in the yurt for kids to play with which I thought was very thoughful.
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Magical place for kids!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My sister and I planned a family adventure to Ithaca, descending on Michelle, George, Elsa, and Frankie's friendly hospitality and their magical yurt with three adults and three children (ages 3 to 7). The kids were instantly enchanted, claiming the loft as their "fort" and running rampant through the garden and play area. Michelle and her kids generously shared their sandbox, swing set, and entire (huge) back yard for games of flashlight tag, hide and seek, and just running around having fun. The kids gathered fresh eggs, picked apples, helped dig for potatoes ("treasure"), and couldn't get enough of the frogs and koi. Sleeping arrangements were a little tight with that many in the house, and the space is by design very open (so if the three-year-old doesn't sleep, no one sleeps :), but the one private bedroom was helpful for that. Bring earplugs, and all is well with the world. There were staples in the cupboard, a gas grill and picnic table, and the kitchen had all the utensils/equipment we needed. The whole yurt was very tastefully decorated and thoughtfully stocked, with extra bedding and an array of children's toys, including a full toy kitchen set and art table/supplies (bring paper). Yes, the garden was as lovely and charming as it looks in the photos, and there's a porch to enjoy it from with a relaxing cup of [insert your favorite beverage]. The location was 20 minutes from downtown Ithaca (so do your grocery shopping ahead of time if you can -- we didn't, and the first night's dinner was on the late side because of it) and very convenient to wonderful parks. We highly recommend swimming/diving at Robert Treman State Park (weather permitting, of course) and the beach and large playground at Taughannock Falls State Park (deep end has a platform and diving board - fun!). All in all, a wonderful place to stay that is as much a part of our good memories as the rest of our activities -- not something you can say for a standard hotel! Many thanks to Michelle and her family. We'll be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
5

Wonderful day/night spent in Ithaca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had an amazing time in this beautiful, neat, cozy, breathtaking yurt. My boys explored the surroundings, enjoyed the pond, visited the chicken. It was a sunny day when we arrived and a sunny day when we left, everything looked like in these spectacular pictures. The level of care and detail Michelle takes in attending to her guests is astounding. She has organic chocolate in the fridge for you, organic eggs, and fresh flowers on the dining table. She has a little compost container, and recycling bins. She planted mosquito eating carnivorous plants for the guests' comfort. Everything she carefully planned and executed in that yurt amazed me and pleased all of us. I apologize for taking so long in writing a review, I wrote in her beautiful journal she has at the yurt, but then I realized that you need to be there in order to read it, so this review can reach people before their arrival. If you ever think of going to Ithaca, try staying at the yurt, it is an experience that will stay with you throughout the years! Here I am, 2 years later, writing a review, and remembering everything, as if it happened yesterday!
Thank you, Michelle!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Jersey City, NJ
5

College Reunion/Wedding Weekend Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I stayed here with a group of my college friends when we came up to Ithaca for a wedding. The accommodations are beautiful! Since we're Obies, we were all very excited about getting to stay in a Yurt, and we were not disappointed. The garden leads back to it's own waterfall, so you can go hiking and exploring without leaving the property. I was very pleased with our stay, and would love to come back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Boston, MA
5

A Perfect 10!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Climbing Vine Cottage is perfect. The owner is very congenial and accommodating, and even shared her farm fresh eggs with us. It was such a great treat to go out to the coop and get our own eggs from her hens!

The location is absolutely enchanting - we were here in early March, and if it is gorgeous then, I can only imagine what it is like during other seasons.

The yurt is so comfortable - a great balance between cozy and spacious. The fire in the pellet stove added to the experience of gazing out the windows at the gorgeous landscape. Although it is extremely convenient to Ithaca (a five minute drive), we spent most of our time at Climbing Vine. I feel lucky to have stayed. We will be here again!

When we did get a chance to leave, we explored the region's waterfalls. Taugahannock Falls is about a 30 minute drive, and is set deep into a gorge - it is the tallest one in the Northeast (even Niagra!) Ithaca Falls in downtown is harder to find - you really need to do your planning for the ones near the Cornell campus! Climbing Vine has a well-appointed kitchen and Wegman's is a short drive, but there are a lot of great restaurants in Ithaca.

Thank you so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Florida
5

Amazing Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Having a son that plays college ball keeps us on the road every weekend during the season. We are always looking for unique accommodations close to the field. This rental was fantastic. My husband and kids were unable to come for the game, so I had 2 of my friends accompany me to make it a girls' weekend. We have 11 kids between the 3 of us and decided that the football weekend would make a great getaway. We landed back in Florida exactly 38 hours after we left but staying at this property made it feel like we'd had a great retreat. The listing was as described and possibly even better. The location was wonderful. It felt as though we were far removed from civilization but in fact were within 15 minutes of Cornell. The property was very well maintained and Michelle, the owner, was very nice and even checked on us when we arrived. The Yurt itself was very cozy and comfortable with all the amenities that you might need. Being from Florida, we were not familiar with the concept but are educating all our friends with the numerous photographs we took. We only had a short time in the morning but enjoyed walking around the property, hiking in the woods, and the sound of rushing water when we came to the edge of the forest. Of course, the beautiful colors of autumn were breathtaking for those of us who do not get to see them often. On the way to the game, we pulled into a state park and enjoyed Buttermilk Falls. Again, we took numerous pictures and it seems as if we had a week long vacation. There are plenty of wineries in the area and between trails, and Farmer's Markets, mountains and lakes, the area has plenty to keep just about everyone happily occupied. We always check out the VRBO website when looking into rentals and understandably, many rentals have 2 night minimums. It was really a treat that Michelle accommodated us for just the 1 night so we could have such a memorable weekend. We would definitely recommend the Garden Yurt for families, it's completely set up for young kids. Older kids will appreciate the uniqueness of the cottage and the beauty of the surroundings as well as the ability to explore and discover. Anyone in need of just a little peace and tranquility should definitely consider staying here.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Elegant, One of a Kind Garden Yurt
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210422
+1 (607) 564-7140
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Florida
5

Wonderful fun for a family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed the first week of March so there was still snow on the ground- but Michelle made sure our stay was enjoyable. The kids played in the yard and visited the chicken coop. We were toasty warm and loved the yurt! Highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2