Pine Island house rental - Sunset view of the aquatic preserve
Sunset view of the aquatic preserve
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Pine Island House Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedrooms 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

The rates shown are for the Efficency Cottage. Two other larger cottages, a one bedroom and a 2 bedroom, which are part of the same complex are also available. Please call for rates and availability.

You'll love Fernando's Hideaway's peaceful, artistic, fun island bungalow ambiance. Whether you're a nature lover, boater, fishing afficiando, artist, writer, love to golf or love to shop Fernando's Hideaway provides just what you need.

The charming cottages have sunset views of the bay. Wake up to a peaceful morning watching the birds and fish catching their breakfast.

While relaxing you can watch manatees, dolphins, and fish jumping just for the pure fun of it.

Enjoy fishing from the back dock or exploring the bay and surrounding mangrove islands by kayak.

Within walking distance from the Hideaway you'll find gift shops, ice cream shop with locally made ice cream, coffee shop with coffee roasted fresh on the premises, restaurants with fresh seafood caught off of the local fishing boats. There's even live music for those of you who like to have an evening out without having the worry of driving home.

The colorful art district has some of the areas most talented artists on display.

Neighborhood parks have basketball courts, tennis, heated swimming pool, fishing pier and boat ramp.

Local festivities and activities include Octoberfest, fishing tournaments, Blues Festival, Calusa Blueway Kayak weekend, Mangomania, The Christmas Parade in the park and the Christmas Boat Parade in the canals, Taste of Pine Island, Seafood festival, Mullet Toss, Art Shows and Sales during Valentine's weekend and Calusa Creative Coast Weekend.

Ask for availability of 2 bedroom 2 bath home with den next door.

Additional fee, Call for details (sleeps 5)

Escape to a quaint fishing village on an island that is near and yet off the beaten track. Explore on island time while staying at Fernando's Hideaway!

Keywords: cottages, bayfront, fishing, kayaking, art district,

southwest florida, island, boating

More Details
Hide Details

Micheal Gordon moved from Philidelphia to Matlacha to find some tranquility but instead found Anna DeMeo his partner in this property. Both Anna and Michael live in Matlacha, and are available to answer questions about the area and it's many activities.

Anna or Michael purchased this house in 2005

The lovely waterfront location and the friendly small town community. Old Florida at it's best! Quaint, off the beaten path of tourist traps, but still only 10 minutes away from all the ammenities of the town of Cape Coral and Fort Myers.

Cool breezes, Abundant wildlife, beautiful sunsets.

It's like being on a houseboat without getting seasick!

You wake up in the morning to see the pretty bay right

from your bed. The birds fly overhead and the dolpins

come to greet you. A short walk to the coffe shop for

breakfast and conversation with the town folk makes it just perfect!

12 Reviews of Property 210039 in Pine Island, Florida

Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 12 reviews
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Midwest
5

Fabulous in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This place exceeded our expectations and so did Anna! What was so great? The view of the water and birds from the very comfortable bed, couch, dining table, and kitchen. The deck and dock were wonderful, fishing and kayaking were great (nice kayaks supplied), there is a well-equipped kitchen, beautiful decor outside and in, including the amazing lizard-design in the bedroom floor tile. Very clean (and I am very fussy about this)! Surprisingly quiet for such a convenient location - an easy walk to the wonderful coffee shop although Anna supplies their good coffee if you want to stay in - and it really is hard to pull yourself away from this spot - we wanted to move in permanently! Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Switzerland
5

Little paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We traveled a lot all over the world but we never had such a superb place like Fernando's hideaway. As walk-in guests we found the place to stay and relax. We enjoyed the nice location and of course the excellent service of Anna and Mike.
We will come back soon...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Werner and Esther traveled a long way (from Switzerland) to find their little island paradise.
We were enchanted to have such a lovely couple spend time at Fernando's and our friendship grew quickly. It was a pleasure to sit on the back porch and enjoy freshly made Mango smoothies with mangoes picked right in Matlacha! Looking forward to seeing them again
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Michigan
5

Fernandos Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I love going to Matlacha each year and here are just a few of the reasons.
I can't wait to go down to the dock to see what's swimming around the underwater light...It's like having your own aquarium...In the morning, I can't wait to get up to see what's out in the bay...when the tides are low, the bay is filled with the most wonderful birds - vibrant pink spoonbills, fabulous storks, blue herons, etc.. Afternoons are perfect to watch for dolphins - All this brings so much peace & quiet to the soul...
Then there's the cottage itself...It is small - made for comfort--spotlessly clean & filled with all the "extras" one would never expect in a rental. Anna & Mike make you feel as though they prepared everything just for you...It's as if you are their family and they want only the best for you..
The friendliness of the island itself----The total package is certainly a perfect experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Conneaut Lake, Pa.
5

ooh, la, la!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The only aspect of our experience that was not absolutely perfect is that we were bumped from returning next year. Everything after Coconut Moon is second rate. We only hope that we will be able to return to paradise in2014. We loved it and we love Anna!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Amazing visit

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We all loved hearing you sing, and playing the guitar and harmonica on the back deck at Fernando's and at Bert's.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Finger Lakes Region-NYS
5

This place is amazing, and I really don't wanna do this...

This place is amazing, and I really don't wanna do this...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I would rather not write this review. If you read this and most of the others you will want to come here too.
Why would that be bad? because you might be the person who fills the calender spot I want when I return.
{:-)!
What amazed me most was that I didn't want to leave the island at all. I usually can't sit stll-gotta go explore or I might miss something...but as soon as i got here, sat on the deck and watch a pleican nosedive in very shallow water for some Matlacha sushi this place took on a charm of it's own.

Other than hitting the publix for the nice selection of Belgion Ales I had no need or desire to leave this
oasis from cement high rises and chain restaurants. Besides-I had hooked up With Josh Harvel who is a kayak fishing guide-"Yaknitup" googled will get you to him. Armed with fishing knowledge and Annas kayaks My week was spent on the water -and not just fishing-the 'yakin is awesome! Other than that walked "downtown" once or twice a day! Perfect Cup ,Andys,Berts, The ice cream-the Pizza Bella all great!

I stayed in the waters edge efficiency. Comfortable bed, very clean and the water front deck the best place to relax. Had a great time with the neighbors-shared the fish I caught with them and got to enjoyed
later on prepared by them to perfection!

Anna-is the absolute best hostess-bar none! The entire compound(7 of us) ended up at Bert's thurs night and Anna got me a shot to jam with the band and had all of us up and boogien'.

I had a great time and would really give Fernandos. Anna. And Matlacha 6 stars. But you won't like it here-so look elsewhere my friend-maybe Hawaii?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
michigan
5

the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This will be our 3rd year of renting and we can't wait to get there! coconut moon is a clean cozy cottage and well kept. The outside provides lounging in the sun and enjoying the bay - so gorgeous. We kayak and although this year we have our own there are kayaks available. Anna is a dear and always ready to help with our needs. Matlacha is charming and down to earth with great art and music - not to mention our favorite place - Berts Bar. we will come back again and again. Wish we could buy the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Gainesville
5

Great Florida Hide-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
A friend and I spent three days and two nights in Coconut Moon, the 2/2 house. What a fun, relaxed, tropical paradise! It might seem crazy to go to a Florida fishing village in August, but I've never had a better vacation. The house was bright, airy, clean, and well furnished. There was even fresh fruit in the kitchen, and a personal note from the owners. I could see the water from my bedroom window. Although there's no beach, there is plenty to do. Fernando's has kayaks and an easy way to get them into the water. My friend and I (and we're no kayak experts!) paddled to breakfast one morning! Yummy breakfast, do it yourself coffee. Wish I could remember the name of the restaurant! The local bar, Bert's, served up a live band and a full cast of local characters for memorable night time entertainment. I also had great food at the Pizza Bella. I even spent an afternoon exploring nearby Pine Island. Another plus: Matlacha has lots of galleries with local art and crafts, and friendly proprietors. Everyone I met was so down to earth and genuine, including Anna Demeo, one of Fernando's owners. I'd stay at Fernando's again in a heartbeat, and I'd love to take my family there and rent the whole complex!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Dayton, Oregon/ USA
1

sunseekers

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
1st Red Flag--No credit cards accepted for payment so there is no recourse if dissatisfied. Paid one full month rental + cleaning deposit + tax in advance by check. Owner forgot our arrival date and had to get lock box code to get in. No hot water, air was not on, coffe pot was dirty, most dishes were dirty and light shade was full of dead bugs. Also had two Geikos in the room and droppings on the floors. It was a beautiful location so we cleaned room to make it as comfortable as possible but then the bugs started biting relentlessly despite Deep Woods Off and within a few days we were litterally covered with bites from outside and I suspect inside the room. After 10 days we told the owner we were going to have to leave and she said she understood our reasons. Could not believe our refund amount after being charged the weekly rate for 2 weeks plus another cleaning deposit and another tax. We left the unit much cleaner than we found it!

We are senior citizens and were not treated honestly or even fairly by the owner. Would not recommend to anyone!
Owner's Response: Owner response: Summertime in South Florida can be hot, rainy and buggy. Some people can endure these conditions more than others. We are disappointed in the guest's comments about the issues of the home. We take pride in the condition of Fernando's Hideaway, and want our Guests to be completely satisfied with their stay. We have received many compliments and have had many repeat, satisfied guests that continue to come back. One needs only look at all the other reviews to see the wonderful remaks written by our guests. However, no one can please everyone all of the time. As to the issues stated in the review: We do not use credit cards because of the extra cost. We save energy by leaving the water heater and air conditioner either off or on low when the cottages are unoccupied. We use lock boxes for keys so that guests can let themselves in, which is esp. helpful for late arrivals. I did not charge the guests twice for tax and cleaning, but rather gave them a refund. Our home is always professionally cleaned and prepared for our guests arrival. During their stay, the guests did seem satisfied, and did not bring any issues to our attention with the exception of the mosquitoes. Our Guest's satisfaction is important to us, and we prefer them to address any concerns immediately, instead of expressing dissatisfaction after check out. When I returned a portion of their rent because of their early departure, they said nothing about the items that are listed in their review except the for the mosquitoe bites. About 80% of our guests are seniors and we love them all!
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Fernando's Hideaway in Matlacha
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210039vbi
239-357-3776
Pine Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
SE FL
5

Perfect peaceful long weekend found here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Everything about this place was wonderful- the view, the cottage itself, and the ammenities. The cottage is tucked away on the bay, so as soon as you walk back to it you immediately feel away from it all. It was nice to not have to haul our kayaks, as there were multiple available for us to use there. Kayaking in the bay was beautiful; watching the sunrise and set over the water was breathtaking! My husband got to fish and I got the relaxation I needed! The owners are extremely accommodating and friendly- definitely could not have asked for a better experience. The island of Matlacha is quaint and quiet, perfect for a getaway. There are mutliple restaurants and shops within walking distance. And if you want a beach, Ft Meyers is not far away. I recommend this place for anyone looking to escape to quiet paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thank you kindly for your review.
So glad to have such appreciation of our lovely island and Fernando's Hideaway!
Helpful votes: 5/5