Kilauea cottage rental - Very private, free standing 500 sq. ft. cottage amid tropical lushness.
Very private, free standing 500 sq. ft. cottage amid tropical lushness.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kilauea Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Studio + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 2-4)

'We loved Bird Song Cottage and recommend this charming retreat without reservation! You'll never want to leave it's magic.'

Relax and renew on a PRIVATE six acre Retreat surrounded by expansive views and stunning beauty. Drive up the Coconut tree-lined private driveway to this Free-Standing Cottage amid Lush Tropical foliage & Fruit orchards, where there are No Other Buildings in sight! Enjoy Romantic Seclusion! Get to know the REAL KAUAI, away from the bustle of the resorts.

Interior decorated in a simple elegance with Balinese & Oriental furniture (including four poster queen bed). Fully Equipped kitchen has Granite counter tops, & Full size fridge. Private outdoor shower and Romantic soaking tub are nestled amidst flowering foliage. Two Private Patios and Yards are ideal for Sunning, Dining, or Lounging in the Double Hammock.You are surrounded by Natural Beauty and Gentle Breezes. Extensive list of amenities help make your stay carefree.

Owners live a mini walk away.

Within 1 1/4 miles is a spectacular undeveloped and unpopulated beach - great for shelling, snorkeling, whale watching, sunrise photos, or unwinding. It's a nice easy 20 to 30 minute walk or a few minute drive. Many other beaches are only a 5 - 10 minute drive away, as is Kilauea Lighthouse, Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens, restaurants, groceries, wine/beer and spirits, fish market, pizza and bakery, shopping and much more.

The owners live a short walk away and can help you with information about Kauai's hidden treasures, guided tours, site-seeing, adventures, wedding or vow renewal ceremonies, candlelight catered meals, hula instruction, private yoga classes, or professional massages by some of Kauai's best therapists. In the cottage are guide books and articles about much of the available and abundant 'things to do' here. And after your day's adventures you can come home to your own private, romantic get-away. Take a hot bath under the stars with a glass of wine. Or meander in the moonlight while you listen to the waves breaking on the reef in the distance. Relax in the hammock for two, and catch up on your reading, or pop a DVD in the player and chill out with your favorite home-cooked meal.

Tropical fruits growing on the property (in season) include papaya, mango, banana, passion fruit, lychee, avocado, grapefruit, orange, lime, lemon, tangerine, eggfruit, and breadfruit (all organic). The owners have a large organic vegetable & herb garden available to you as well. There is an abundance of tropical foliage and flowers on the property, as well as a small hardwood forest of teak, mahogany, rosewoods, neem, and rainbow bark eucalyptus. There are walking paths to explore the valley. You'll see and hear many beautiful birds. Some nights the canopy of stars will take your breath away. The almost constant and gentle trade winds keep the air so clean and fresh it's almost like food.

So let yourself luxuriate in the magic of this place and feel at home here. We welcome you with our hearts and the 'aina (land). You'll go home relaxed, renewed and rejuvenated.

More Details
Hide Details

94 Reviews of Property 209730 in Kilauea, Hawaii

Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
average rating of 4.982456 based on 94 reviews
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
Lander, Wyoming
5

The PERFECT little tropical retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I've rented a dozen cottages on Kaua'i over the years, and Bird Song is, hands down, the BEST. The cottage is bright, airy, comfortable, cozy, spotless and beautifully decorated. It features very high-quality bedding, a nicely equipped and well-designed kitchen, big windows and sliders everywhere, a roomy seating area and dining alcove, two lanais, and a secluded outdoor shower and soaking tub. Bird song is nestled in expansive, completely private grounds, surrounded by tropical trees, colorful shrubs and fragrant flowers, with the ocean visible beyond the big trees in the front yard. Beside the cottage is a grove of fruit trees, with pink grapefruit, oranges, tangelos, mangoes and bananas that guests are invited to pick. I arrived to a basket of fresh-picked fruit, a personal note and a notebook of information about island activities, shopping, beaches and restaurants.

Wild, glorious Larsen's Beach is just down the road from the cottage, the sweet village of Kilauea and wonderful Banana Joe's fruit stand are just a few miles up the road, and there are many more picturesque, uncrowded beaches all the way up the North Shore to the end of the road, many with world-class snorkeling. Two weekly farmers' markets in Kilauea are not to be missed for fresh, organic fruit, vegetables, flowers and baked goods. NaPali Catamarans, in Hanalei, is a great outfit that takes a limited number of guests on morning and afternoon cruises up to the spectacular NaPali Coast to see its remarkable, soaring, deeply pleated cliffs, sea caves and pocket beaches. It's one of the only companies whose boats leave from Hanalei instead of way down on the south side of the island.

Carole, Bird Song's owner (with her husband Lee) was spectacularly welcoming, graciously inviting me to check in very early because I had contracted a nasty respiratory infection and faced a long day of wretched illness between checking out of my previous rental at 10AM and the usual 3PM check-in for Bird Song. I will go back to this cottage next year for at least a week, and very much look forward to seeing my angel Carole again!
Owner's Response: April was definitely citrus time this year. We also have an organic vegetable and herb garden near our home, and are happy to share the abundance with our guests.

Thank you Nancy, for choosing Bird Song. Looking forward to seeing you again in April next year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
5

beautiful location, loved the outdoor tub!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
very sweet couple that rents the house
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
Atlanta, Ga.
4

Terrific place to stay!!!.Five stars...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a great time at this property over 9-nights at the Xmas and New Year’s Holidays. This is my second experience with renting a place in Hawaii via VRBO.com, and it was just ax good as the first.

Pros: 1) This is basically a million-dollar property - The cottage sits on 3-acres in a prime location within long-walking distance to the beach; 2) The furnishing of the cottage is really very nice, with a complete kitchen. The outdoor shower is great, and has hot water which is sometimes necessary in the morning at later in the evening; 3) We went out every morning and picked fresh grapefruits and oranges, and then brought them back to the kitchen to make fresh juice!; 4) Carole was very gracious, giving us a tour of her personal garden.

Conversely, I am not able to conceptualize any cons per-se regarding this property. Only thing I would mention is that you are better off arriving in daylight rather than the dark - since otherwise what is super-easy in the day is a bit more challlenging in the dark. Else, just bring a flashlight...

This was a terrific rental and we would be very hard-pressed to find a better one not only on Kauai but literally at any vacation spot! Shizue and David, Atlanta.
Owner's Response: Thanks very much David and Shiizue. It was a pleasure meeting you and your boys.
We now have some reflectors at the driveway entrance which give a bit more ease at night, as well as some new, stronger solar lights on the stairway up from the parking area. It's much more illuminated now when checking in at night or coming home late after a day exploring the island.
Thanks for all your feedback and great suggestions.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
5

Ideal Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were looking for a place that would provide a much needed getaway from our hectic lives, yet still have all the conveniences and comforts for our 3 year old daughter. Bird Song Cottage was the perfect solution. The quiet and tranquility were exactly what we needed. And when we were ready to venture out, the beach chairs, mats, boards, and snorkel gear were incredibly convenient. We definitely hope to be back!
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
Edmonds, WA
5

Wonderful! Like staying in the garden of Eden.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful little cottage situated in the middle of a fruit orchard. Going up the driveway you pass through a line of coconut trees and park off to the side by banana trees and papaya plants. The cottage itself is secluded and very cozy and clean. It has everything a couple wanting a romantic getaway needs. A nice big four post bed with a veil, a bluetooth cd player to get some music going, and a soaking tub just outside to relax in after a long day of island activities. If you want a romantic honeymoon getaway the Birdsong cottage is the place to stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Cottage was incredibly peaceful, private....

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you for sharing a piece of paradise with us! Bird Song Cottage was incredibly peaceful, private, and you had everything we needed for an amazing time on Kauai.
We especially loved the beach chairs, mats, boards, and ice chest. And the fresh fruit was awesome.
Thanks for being so easy to work with and for allowing us our privacy while at the cottage.
Kerry & Tony Kaai Denison, TX
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"We had an absolutely lovely time here."

"We had an absolutely lovely time here."
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I’d been looking forward to the outdoor tub under the stars and the quiet cottage for many months, and it did not disappoint! Things we really loved: the outdoor shower and tub; the orchard – mango's so good!; all the cozy amenities like great Hawaiian tunes for the CD, funny movies and plenty of homey stuff to keep us comfy. Thank you Carole for always being so pleasant to interact with and providing the sweet respite. Bree and Davey Portland, OR
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
5

Best vacation ever! A true gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We've booked 8 nights and hoped for a nice place away from the crowds and landed in paradise!

This place is magic, nestled in a tropical garden, away from it all, the Bird Song Cottage is wonderful, very well maintained cottage with everything you could look for and even more.

The kitchen is fully-equipped with toaster, fridge, juicer, stove, oven, general kitchen supplies, even spices and oil. To the front and the back you'll have a nice patio, one shaded with deck chairs, a hammock and the front patio overlooking the garden, you can even see the sea.

Great quality bed, we're both quite tall and heavy people and slept like babies!

I loved the outdoor shower and outdoor bath tub. Enjoying a bath while the birds are singing around you shaded by flowers and palm trees was definitely a memorable experience!¯

Carole even offers you a great collection of beach gear - beach chars, snorkel gear and beach towels. We've used it numerous times, great as the beaches at the North Shore are made for snorkeling.

The overall experience with Carole as a host was great! She was very responsive, helpful and welcomed us with some fresh picked fruits and a nice welcome letter.

I can only say that the images don't even describe how wonderful this place is. We had the best time and will definitely come back.

Thanks a lot Carole & Lee!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
5

This is paradise!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We've booked 8 nights and hoped for a nice place away from the crowds and landed in paradise!

This place is magic, nestled in a tropical garden, away from it all, the Bird Song Cottage is wonderful, very well maintained cottage with everything you could look for and even more.

The kitchen is fully-equipped with toaster, fridge, juicer, stove, oven, general kitchen supplies, even spices and oil. To the front and the back you'll have a nice patio, one shaded with deck chairs, a hammock and the front patio overlooking the garden, you can even see the sea.

Great quality bed, we're both quite tall and heavy people and slept like babies!

I loved the outdoor shower and outdoor bath tub. Enjoying a bath while the birds are singing around you shaded by flowers and palm trees was definitely a memorable experience!¯

Carole even offers you a great collection of beach gear - beach chars, snorkel gear and beach towels. We've used it numerous times, great as the beaches at the North Shore are made for snorkeling.

The overall experience with Carole as a host was great! She was very responsive, helpful and welcomed us with some fresh picked fruits and a nice welcome letter.

I can only say that the images don't even describe how wonderful this place is. We had the best time and will definitely come back.

Thanks a lot Carole & Lee!
business
Private Tropical Beauty, Ocean/Mtn. Views, Orchard, hi spd internet, on 6 acrs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209730
+1 808 828-6797
Kilauea Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

...the perfect spot for our romantic getaway.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
As soon as we pulled up the driveway we knew we had picked the perfect spot for our romantic getaway. The furnishings of the cottage exceeded our expectations with an emphasis on the soaking tub (heavenly). We loved the location, as we were able to make multiple trips around the island without feeling like our destination was out of the way. Joe and Cristina, Brookdale, CA