Toro Amarillo chalet rental - Full Glass to Enjoy Those Awsome Views
Full Glass to Enjoy Those Awsome Views
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Toro Amarillo Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 Queen Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 8 (Including Double Pull-out Couch.

We've been written up! Check out the April/May 2010 issue of Su Casa magazine.

Bajas del Toro is an alternative to the intense heat of the coast with average temperatures of 26C / 79F during the day and cooler nights for comfortable sleeping. We are centrally located just one hour from San Jose's Juan Santamaria Airport between the Pacific and Caribbean coasts. You can head to either coast to explore what each has to offer. A contemporary design with soaring 30ft ceiling over the living and dining area, modern kitchen with a full set of appliances, granite counter tops, and a 3rd floor loft entertainment center. The front half of the chalet is glass to take full advantage of the awesome mountain views! We share the valley with El Silencio Lodge which offers superb dining and Spa facilities.

Activities: El Silencio Hotel – A couple of steeper hills and stairs but generally a fairly easy walk to three different water falls. Stay for lunch and take advantage of some of the Spa’s offerings. The hotel is just a 15 minute walk or a couple of minutes drive from the chalet.

The La Paz Waterfall Gardens – This is really beautiful. A gentle downhill walk through various displays and gardens for birds, butterflies and reptiles. You pass by a series of waterfalls. At the end a minibus returns you to the main lodge. There is a good souvenir shop and restaurant. 45 minute drive.

Various nurseries and coffee plantations to visit.

San Jose – The suburbs of San Jose have excellent dining, shopping and cinemas. An hour away.

Catarata del Toro – You can hike down into the gorge. About 10 minutes drive.

Activities cont...: Driving towards Bajos del Toro there are a couple of places to pull over and take in the view of the Central Valley where San Jose is located. The view is staggering at night so it’s worth the 15 minute drive some evening to see the lights.

Fly fishing. There are trout ponds just a couple hundred meters from the chalet and lots of rivers – bring your tackle!

Hiking.

Canopy tours.

Hot springs.

Bird/wildlife watching.

Cooking lessons from the El Silencio chef.

Para gliding.

White water rafting.

Horse back riding.

Poas Volcano

Activities cont...: Arenal Volcano, hot springs and lake (be sure to make a reservation).

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 209647 in Toro Amarillo, Costa Rica

Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Redstone, CO, USA
5

Quiet Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Thanks to Christopher and Pilly for a wonderful month of country living. Bajos del Toro was quaint, safe, quiet and lovely. Having our coffee on the deck and watching the smoke rise from Poas Volcano was heavenly. Although the chalet is a bit of a drive from touristy attractions, it was ideal for us. We added over 110 new birds to our bird count, enjoyed El Silencio, LaPaz, Arenal, Tabacon Hot Springs, Poas Volcano, Catarata del Toro and the Caribbean lowlands. Beautifully decorated, contemporary home. It was like living in a house straight out of "Architectural Digest". The furnishings were impeccable. Everyone was friendly, helpful and kind with our "Spanglish". Beds were comfortable. Kitchen was well furnished. Take a sweater, it gets a bit chilly.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

'The Views!'

'The Views!'
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Hi Christopher,
Thanks again for a beautiful place! It was perfect for the 6 of us. What we like best:
The view,
The beautiful house layout
The views,
The setting in a small rural town with excellent views,
The comfortable beds,
The modern bathrooms with great shower heads,
The well supplied kitchen,
The hot tub,
the massage chair,
the tv and dvd player (to help entertain the younger set in the evenings),
the sitting areas,
The Uno game that was water proofed (played every evening)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
5

5 Stars!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
5 Star accommodation. Beautiful chalet, modern and with all the ammenities. Nice to have high speed internet access and laundry facilities. Next time I would travel with less since all the conveniences of home (and more) are there. The location is centrally located and we were able to travel to the Carribean and Pacific sides from the chalet.

Best of all was the assistance and hospitality of Chris and Pilly. They do everything to help you with attractions and travelling within the country.

Speaking of attractions, we were able to enjoy: hiking in National Parks, snorkelling, horseback riding, volcano sightseeing, zip lines through the jungle(my favourite), and just enjoying the incredble scenery of Costa Rica.

Hope I am lucky enough to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
West Chester, OH, USA
5

One of our best vacations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
The Chalet was great. It was exactly as described and better. Chris Downey and his friends were very helpful starting with how to get to the chalet to places to visit. Eriberto met us at Grecia and guided us to the chalet after loading up at the local grocery store. We had a great time at the chalet with plenty of relaxation and fun. The chalet was very well maintained with all the amenities.The GPS provided by Chris was a godsend in Costa Rica and I could not thank him enough for that alone. We did write a more elaborate review in the guest book comments at the home. Bajo del toro amarillo was a quiet and beautiful place to stay and we enjoyed every minute of it. We drove extensively to all the usual volcano, waterfall and rainforest destinations. We did hire a driver for the trip to Jaco and Manuel Antonio national park. It was worth the money. The mountain roads of Costar Rica need a separate forum to discuss. We had thrills of our lives driving through the mountains. Costa Ricans (Ticos) are the most friendly people we've ever met. It was a very memorable vacation. Highly recommend this chalet for the location, unique architecture and value.
A lunch at the El Silencio lodge was the pinnacle of our trip. It was fantastic and is a must for everybody who stays here. Reservations are required, even though we showed up for lunch without one and were graciously accomodated.
Thanks Chris, for everything.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Fort Myers, FL
5

Absolutely Breathtaking!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We were a group of 5 (it was a first time trip to Costa Rica for all of us). Our plane got in at night and on the scary drive up it starting raining and it was foggy and we could only marvel at the beauty of the inside of the house. The next morning every person awoke with the same expression...beautiful. The house is surrounded by mountains and the beauty of the area of Toro Amarillo is breathtaking. We loved every mintue of it.

The house slept all of us comfortably. The house is a modern thing of beauty surrounded by quaint country houses. I spent a fair amount of time cooking in the kitchen and all the appliances were modern and plentiful.

We had everything we needed at our fingertips from the internet to satellite tv to a hot bubbly jacuzzi. By the way sitting under the stars at night in the jacuzzi was simply wonderful. I can't say enough good things about this house and the entire country of Costa Rica.

The home was beautifully maintained inside and out; everything was just perfect.

This was our home away from home, and Costa Rica is definitely our new favorite destination.

Also the entire time we were there we had a driver from one of the local tour companies. Our driver was EXCELLENT (friendly, knowledgeable, bilingual)--driving would have been scary and confusing for us so having a driver was most beneficial--and I would definitely use a driver service while in Costa Rica.

We tried to see as much of the country as possible from the beach to white water rafting to caving to the volcanos to the waterfalls and we still feel like we missed a lot---this country has so many exciting and challenging activites to do.

Nos vemos pronto Costa Rica (see you soon Costa Rica!!!)

Tera & Gigi
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We typically meet our guests in Grecia which is very easy to find from San Jose (about 40 minutes). Once in Grecia we help our guests provision, lead them to the chalet over the mountain, show them the amenities and let them settle in. We also provide a GPS and cell phone for the remainder of their trip so they can travel with confidence!

Most flights arrive in the daytime hours and typically the weather is clear but when it's not we're there to assist.

Sam's party elected to use a local driver who unfortunately made a couple of wrong turns. Our lesson in this is to meet our guests in Grecia regardless of their use of local transportation.

Thank you Gigi and Tera for another 5/5! We're very pleased and proud our guests enjoy our chalet and the Costa Rican experience!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Washington DC area
5

Peaceful house, adventurous days!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and when I saw the chalet on the website, I knew this was the place for us. Our group ranged from 40-68, and we like off the beaten path. Staying at Baja de Toro was perfect for this group. If you like to be in the middle of the action, this place is not for you. 30 -45 minutes to groceries; many days we drove for several hours, but the drives were beautiful and part of the adventure of Costa Rica. The house was beautiful; waking up to the view of the volcanos/mountains was breath taking. Pilly was great--we met him in Grecias and we went to the market with him--and then followed him up and up and up to the chalet.

Breakfasts with Seleni were delicious--we had long days, so starting off with a hearty breakfast kept us going for hours before late lunches.

We hiked at El Silencio (and had the best lunch in CR there), went hiking at Arenal, visited a butterfly conservancy, toured a coffee plantation (Espiritu Sanctu), visited the Elyse Kunsler botanical gardens (where we had a private tour with the Director), volunteered at an animal rescue center, soaked in the thermal spas at Basque de Termales, hiked the Los Angeles Cloud Forest (and ziplined there) and drove the closed road to La Paz Waterfall gardens where we rode an ox cart and hand fed the hummingbirds. (You can ford streams with 4 x4's). We cooked at the house a few nights. Love the gas grill on the upper level.

The house was a good set up for 7 folks. Love the design! The kitchen and bathrooms are to die for. We only had a few issues, one of which the hot tub, which Pilly had repaired, but the repair did not work. Hot water can be a little finicky, but a little patience goes a long way. Internet dial up did not work, but I had my Blackberry from work so we had a connection to the web. (Plus who wants to spend time on the computer in CR??) Having the GPS was a lifesaver, since maps and road signs are optional in CR.

Chris and Pilly were really helpful as we planned out trip and Pilly checked in on us. Overall, we had a great trip and would recommend the house if you are willing to drive (or be driven) to the major attractions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback Donna.

Just a few clarifications: The hot tub was working but it takes 2.5-3 hours to heat up fully so you do have to be patient. Hot water is provided by an instant heater but you have to, as Donna indicates, adjust the faucet slowly so you don't overshoot the desired temperature.

We have now replaced the dial-up internet (which was not very reliable and of course slow) with a high speed connection and it works wonderfully! We have a notebook at the chalet available for our guests use.

There is a small shop in the village to pick up sundry items but major grocery shopping is 30 minutes in Sarchi or Zarcero.

There are many attractions very close by and I honestly can't think of a better location which brings you closer or places you more centrally than our chalet. Within 10 minutes there is fine dining, cooking lessons, spa facilities, hiking, mountain climbing, bird and wildlife watching in the national park, two sets of waterfalls, fly fishing and botanical gardens. Within an hour there is rafting, wildlife reserves, coffee plantations, hot springs, horse back riding, mountain bike riding (you can rent a bike), canopy tours, Poas volcano, souvenir shopping, nurseries and lots more! If you're looking for something specific, just ask and we'll let you know where you can find it!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Rest, Relaxation and Reflection

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
What can I say that Chris and Pilly do not already know about this place! I came to Toro for rest, relaxation and reflection. I achieved just that! Pilly you have been a great host. Thanks for everythying. Costa Rica is my favourite place outside home. When my life gets crazy and upside down, I will think of this awsome place.
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Delighted

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Upon arrival, even in the late PM hours, was amazing. We were so delighted with the accommodations. Pilly had food stocked in the fridge and many local fruit choices. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast made by Selene and her sister Vivianna. We could not have asked for a more delicious and authentic start to our day.
The mountains and farms that surrounded us were so beautiful that words could never describe. We loved our drives through Zarcero and San Ramon. The churches were gorgeous. We cannot wait to send Chris some of our favourites.

Wednesday evening we were delighted to have the chef from El Silencio come and prepare a delicious dinner for us. Our kids loved watching him prepare fresh trout and tilapia. We loved all the organic lettuce and veggies. We finished with a wonderful berry, frozen mint and yogurt dessert.

On our hike through El Silencio waterfalls we were fortunate enough to see a troop of Spider monkeys and four peccary. Nature abounds in this lovely piece of heaven! We so appreciated all that was provided for us. We will be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Ontario Canada
5

A great chalet in a wonderful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We are just back after 9 days at the chalet. What a great trip. We are a party of three adults and a 12 year old.

First of all, the chalet is as described and pictured. However that does not begin to describe the location in the mountains which is spectacular. We were lucky to have sunshine most days, but even so, the cloud layers rolled in and out throughout the day and night to make the mountain view dramatic.

The location is at the end of a valley at about 5,000 feet surrounded by cloud forest. It is in a small village with a convenience store, a couple of restaurants and bars (and a police station). Rancho Typico is very good.

A car is essential IMO and the rental included a GPS (also essential). We managed just fine driving on our own, as long as you are OK with getting lost, travelling along roads that are closed (no singage), or driving narrow roads at night. To us it is part of the adventure but it is not for everyone (are you a destination traveller or a journey traveller?).

Closest grocery stores are in Zarcero about 30 minutes drive. We managed our own groceries and cooking and had no difficulties. The chalet has everything you will need.

There are a number of things to do close to chalet that are outstanding: eco hike at Bosque de Paz (reservations), hike to waterfall at Catarata del Toro, hike and dinner at El Silencio Hotel (reservations), coffee tour at Espiritu Santo (Naranjo - reservations). Other tourist destinations require a couple of hours drive: Volcano Poas (the shorter road is closed right now), La Fortuna, La Paz Waterfall Gardens.

Christopher was very helpful getting organized for the trip and Pilly was there on site to settle us in at the chalet and was available if we needed him.

A memorable experience by all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Construction on the road to which Michael refers is expected to be completed in the next month. The construction on the pass from Sarchi to Toro has now been completed.
business
Contemporary Luxury Chalet Located in Quiet Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209647
+1 4164609612
Toro Amarillo Alajuela Province
Bryans Road, MD
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
This home is absolutely beautiful. The pictures on the internet is just a touch of it. It looks like something on HGTV. We had a party of 5 and we all enjoyed the home and our driver (Gustavo). He went out of his way to assure us a great time and he is very pleasant and knowledgable of the city/town. It always help when someone and in this case a native shows concern, interest, patience and promptness. Chris was very accomadating and helpful in many ways. This was the first time using HomeAway but with Chris' help made it a great experience. PG was friendly and helpful; What a wonderful vacation - This would not been possible without the assistance of Chris, Gustavo and PG; Thanks Guys!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1