Snowshoe Mountain condo rental - Fully equipped kitchen seats eight
Fully equipped kitchen seats eight
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Snowshoe Mountain Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

See our ONE-BED, ONE-BATH-SLEEPS-FOUR at VRBO #449179!

·THE CATBIRD SEAT- When you stay here, you are “Sittin in The Catbird Seat'

·ONE OF THE LARGEST UNITS ON THE MOUNTAIN (St. Moritz model @ 1008 sq. ft) Light and airy with room to move about. Compare with Rimfire at 850, Allegheny at 792, Highland Hs. at 978.

·SKI-IN, SKI OUT: Ballhooter lift and Green Circle Hootenanny Slope are right outside the back door.

* DISCOUNT VOUCHERS FOR RENTALS

·IN THE VILLAGE

·SLOPESIDE- Endless views down the slopes, across the lake, down the mountain range.

·FIREWOOD PROVIDED

·SATELLITE TV, CD, DVD, VCR SURROUND-SOUND

·All linens, towels, soap, paper products provided.

·WIFI, Voice Messaging System.

·ONSITE PARKING, onsite hassle-free check-in.

·HOT TUBS AVAILABLE

·KIDDIE PLAY GYM

·BAR AND RESTAURANT

WHAT OUR GUESTS SAY:

1/25/09 'This is our second time at The Catbird Seat, and we love it!' Alisa S., Leesburg, VA

1/31/09 'Wonderful weather! Wonderful views! Wonderful time!' The Graves Family, Wilmington, SC

9/13/08 'The Catbird Seat- Awesome unit, awesome views...' J. Evans, Thomas, WV - Wild and Wonderful!

3/15/08 'What a wonderful and special place you have at The Catbird Seat.' J.D. Sampedro

'We truly enjoyed it. We will be back' The Roberts Family, Wilmington, NC

12/26/07 'This is our fourth time staying in your lovely home. THANK YOU!' The Stewart Family, Chapel Hill, NC

6/29/2009 '...what a view!!! We just loved it. So much more room to move around...The Catbird Seat is our new home away from home' Cathy F., Saxonburg, PA

READ ON!

Snowshoe is the highest-elevation ski-slope east of the Mississippi, and the very best skiing south of Vermont. With a yearly average of 15 feet of snow, a fifteen-hundred foot vertical drop, and 1.5-mile long trails, it provides challenges for the extreme skier while accommodating the novice. Night skiing is available. The village is on top of the mountain, delivering breathtaking views to the skier and non-skier alike. Mountain Lodge offers views of the slopes, valley, and lake, and is just footsteps away from the village center with its night life, shopping, and Split Rocks swimming pool and sauna. Auntie Pasta's restaurant, a staple for many years on the mountain, with a pub is located on the lower level. Snowshoe’s fastest lift is just fifty feet from the door. Parking is included and is located directly outside. Check-in is at the front desk of Mountain Lodge – no waiting in long lines. The hotel-like lobby features comfortable couches, wingback chairs, a roaring fire, and high speed wireless internet. Around the corner is a game room for the kids.

SKI-IN/SKI-OUT: Mountain Lodge is situated in the best spot on the mountain, and The Catbird Seat occupies the best spot in Mountain Lodge! This spacious 1,000+ sq. ft. unit is one of only six exclusive “St. Moritz” models, and you are truly “Sitting in the catbird seat” with the best views around! Want company? Outside the front door is public space with high stools and tables, overlooking the lobby with its fireplace and activity. Want solitude? Light your own fire (firewood provided), watch the snow drift down over the mountains in the distance, play a game (Variety boardgames provided) or watch a movie on DVD,VHS or CABLE (movies stocked in the unit.) Movie rentals are also available at the front desk. You don’t need to ski in order to enjoy this condo!

The entry foyer has secure racks and shelves for all your ski equipment. The Master bedroom has a queen bed with TV/VCR. The second bedroom has two queens and TV. The living room has two queen pullouts with TV, VCR, DVD, AM/FM, and surround-sound. The fully equipped kitchen seats eight. Linens, towels, bath soap, toilet paper, paper towels, dishwasher soap, coffee filters provided.

SUMMER & FALL

The livin’ is easy at Snowshoe. With high temperatures in the 80’s and low humidity, Mountain Lodge is naturally cooled and does not have A/C. You can mountain bike on 120+ miles of trails on the 11,000-acre Snowshoe tract. The Raven Golf course is considered the finest in West Virginia. Other nearby activities include hiking, camping, white water rafting and canoeing. The Cass Scenic Railroad runs sightseeing and dinner excursions on an historic steam-engined train, and the National Radio Observatory runs tours on most days.

Mountain Lodge is a “no pets” building. Smoking only on the balcony, please.

Owner is a licensed agent in VA

Keywords: Lodge, Condo, Ski, slopeside, fireplace

More Details
Hide Details

Recently retired from a contracting business, but still active in real estate, we enjoy hiking, birdwatching, fishing, making music, travel. We have been blessed with five wonderful children, three children-in-law, three grandchildren, and they all love the fun that winter can be.

Michael & Kathleen, Fairfax, VA

Owner/Property Manager purchased this condo in 2002

The first time we visited Snowshoe, we decided we had to buy a place. Since Kathleen no longer skis, it had to be a comfortable place with a good view. It came down to a townhouse at Powder Ridge or this condo in Mountain Lodge. Since Mountain Lodge is in the village and offers concierge services, the choice became simple. When the real estate agent first showed us the property, he opened the curtains to show the view and said 'You're really sittin' in the catbird seat up here'. The name stuck.

No matter what time of year we come up to The Catbird Seat, the view is magnificent and the beauty is humbling. Snowshoe Mountain Company does a great job of holding events most weekends in off-season so there is always something to do.

15 Reviews of Property 73516 in Snowshoe Mountain, West Virginia

GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our second trip to Snowshoe. The unit easily accommodated 6 adults with room to spare. There was ample room for all of our ski gear, luggage and groceries. The kitchen had plenty of room (we prepared all of our meals in room) and the dining room table allowed us to all sit down and eat at once. The Catbird Seat offered gorgeous views of the slopes and lake with numerous windows and a deck. We look forward to this trip next year and hope to be able to book the Catbird Seat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Charlotte, nc
5

Awesome location at a great value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Property was very easy to book, with all of the information provided very quickly and in great detail. The rooms are actully larger than the pictures reflect and the wood burning fireplace is awesome considering the firewood is literally outside the door. We had a fairly large group and an infan and both bedrooms easily fit a pack and play and we still had tons of room. As long as the value is right we will definetly be going back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
New Orleans
5

Awesome 2nd stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Had a group of friends book this room for the second year in a row an again it was incredible. 8 people slept comfortably with no issues. Also on a perfect clear morning/night the sun set/rise is a beautiful thing in this room. Recommend for sure.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Statesville NC
4

Cat Bird

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Cat Bird is one of the nicer rooms at the Mountain Lodge. It does have a beautiful view, one of the best for sure. It was a good size place and had all the accommodations necessary for the 9 day stay. If I ever went back to Snowshoe WVA, I would look up Mike F. again. Thanks for renting :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Columbus, Ohio
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I went with a group of fellow firefighters for a few days of skiing and had a blast. We had more then enough room and the kitchen was stoked well with everything you need to cook while staying. The view is fantastic! I will rent this condo again. The best place I have stayed in the Village.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Charlottesville VA
5

Very cozy home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We enjoyed Catbird's Nest very much! Common area, kitchen and eating space is exceptionally comfortable. The views are fabulous; also very convenient! We decided to draw straws for the bedrooms. Both are comfortable, with one a bit smaller. Very nice place to stay! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Sweetwater, TN
5

Ski Trip 2013 Snowshoe Mountain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
By far the most outstanding views of snowshoe mountain down to shavers lake. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and will be back in years to come. Probably the best ever place to stay with such easy access to the slopes, walk out the door 5 feet and put your skis/snow boards on and your on your way. I totally enjoyed working with the owner, Mike Frizzel on getting the best rates on the mountain, and for him honoring our military family and friends, Thanks Mike! We always make a point to eat at Cheats Pizza, they have the most excellent pizza. A stroll through the village in and out of the shops is always fun. We always enjoy after a hard day of skiing, some time in split rock pool/hot tubs and sauna. All in All, it was a magnificent stay, Thanks again. Regards, Robert Madison
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
Richmond, VA
5

Love the Catbird Seat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The Catbird Seat is a wonderful place- far better than other units we have stayed in at Mountain Lodge. The floor plan is spacious, the view great and the fireplace is a nice touch.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
5

Excellent apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at this apartment for the weekend to check out Cass. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Being the off season it was very quiet, but suited our purpose perfectly. While we were not skiing on this trip, I can see how this apartment would be an excellent location for skiing snow shoe. The owner was very responsive and everything was as promised.
business
GOLD, Fplce, Ski-in/Ski-out, Slopeside, 5 Queen beds, Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73516vb
(703) 577-1129
Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia
5

Excellent apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at this apartment for the weekend to check out Cass. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Being the off season it was very quiet, but suited our purpose perfectly. While we were not skiing on this trip, I can see how this apartment would be an excellent location for skiing snow shoe. The owner was very responsive and everything was as promised.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway