Twisp house rental - Lodge is on left, bermhouse on right
Lodge is on left, bermhouse on right
 
  • Bedrooms10
  • Sleeps25
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
Minimum Stay nights
 

Twisp House Rental Photos and Description
9 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, 3 half Bathrooms, Sleeps 25

The place to go to get away from it all....Situated in the renowned Methow Valley (foothills of the North Cascade Mountains), this private retreat is nestled in a secluded basin all its own, at the end of the road. The property's 160 acres is surrounded by thousands of acres of National Forest wildlands, with the nearest private property over a mile away. There is great hiking and skiing right from the door, and a wood-fired sauna to cleanse and rejuvenate you. The Lodge features a rustic, wood interior with a handsome rock fireplace. The cathedral ceiling and skylights in the 800 square foot living room provide an inspiring atmosphere for rest and renewal. There is ample space for family and friends, but it's also cozy enough for a quiet romantic getaway. The newly-constructed Bermhouse has hand-finished artisan interiors. It's a perfect place for family reunions, weddings, or a quiet break from the rest of the world! To guarantee privacy, we only rent to one group at a time.

Winter fun!: in the winter we have about 10km of professionally groomed ski trails winding through the property, with several slopes to choose from for back-county skiing, snowboarding or sledding. For the most part, the only people in this valley are our guests, so there's a good chance you'll get some freshy snow!

Spring, summer and fall: Spring, summer and fall have their own attractions -such as a blanket of wildflowers covering the land, or the joy of swimming in cool, clear mountain waters. There are a variety of hikes right from the door of the lodge, taking in views of the Methow Valley, old-growth ponderosa pine trees and snow capped peaks. Our favorite is a loop hike that takes about an hour, and circumnavigates the valley with views of the Sawtooth Range. You can also hike to the top of Lookout Mountain, with 360 degree views of both Sawtooths and North Cascade Ranges - takes about a half a day. Or sit by the seasonal creek, flowing down from Lookout Mountain into a pristine pool. There is fishing nearby, wildlife to watch, or just hang out in blissful peace and quiet!

There are modern media-amenities - TV, DVD player, wifi access, but we also have some good old-fashioned games, great to bring family and friends together.

Notes:: This property is solar powered! It operates just like normal for the most part, except that we can't handle crock pots, and we have non-electric means of making coffee, with thermoses to keep it warm through the day. We strive to be environmentally-friendly, by recycling and composting food waste, and ask our guests to do the same!

Caretakers live on the property, around the corner from the main house. They are well-practiced at being invisible, and their objective is that you have a very quiet and peaceful stay!

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 208889 in Twisp, Washington

Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
bothell;washington
5

Logos Church

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
very nice for big groups or 4-5 families. nice and quiet area is nice place for activities, fishing, hunting and you have many trails arround.We are comming back next year maybe in september.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
Seattle
5

Magical!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I've stayed in many vacation rentals and this was one of my favorites! The setting is magnificent, with a mix of open meadow/grassland and forested hills that seem to envelop you and go on forever. The lodge is comfortable, clean, light, airy and sunny, and decorated with a handmade-artistic style that feels very appropriate to the wild landscape. My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights, and felt we would have enjoyed a much longer stay. The owners have clearly put a lot of care and effort into this place, and it is truly somewhere to relax and reconnect with nature. The property sits at the edge of National Forest land and wilderness areas that are gorgeous and offer tons of backroads and trails to explore.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
seattle
5

truly amazing property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
our group of eight, 5 adults, 3 kids, had a blast. we've already made plans to return. we've rented cabins all over the pacific northwest, and this place is now one of our favorites. couldn't recommend it more highly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
5

wonderful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We loved staying at Skaltitude. Couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting. We loved the privacy, the quiet and the slow pace, and our dog enjoyed the endless opportunities to play . .ALL day long. :) The cabin was rustic, cozy and comfortable. And the wood-fired sauna was fantastic! The entire space definitely grew on us each day and we were very sad to leave.
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
Seattle
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This place is a fantastic way to get away from it all! You walk out the door and go skiing, or snowshoeing or saunaing... It's great. The central fireplace adds a homey and warm feel. We have been with friends for the past 2 years and have always had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
Lynwood, WA
5

a perfect get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We very much enjoyed Skalitude. It could not have been a better choice for the get-away we needed. We look forward to finding you this spring/summer and bringing the bigger family. We may also need to make early February an annual visit – it was just great.
The dogs are amazingly tired. Don’t know when they’ll recover.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
Bellevue
5

Five years and counting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
It's our fifth year coming here and we love each year as much as the last. We had a great time skiing and snowboarding and sledding.
thank you!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
seattle
5

Skalitude

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We've stayed at Skalitude, winter, spring and summer seasons, a few times over the past couple years. An absolutely lovely setting for those of all ages, and dogs too! The cabin comfortably accommodates 2-3 families (depending on the number of children), and group dinners around the dining table make memories. PLUS, the berm house is a really cool, private place to stay for anyone looking for an even quieter place to rest one's head, and an exceptional educational experience in how we can all be better stewards of our land. Great sledding and skiing in winter, and in the spring and summer, Lookout mountain is a wonderful hike, right out your backdoor! Making snowpeople and jumping into the sauna in winter is fun too; just be very careful to heed the stove carefully. Skalitude is magical for all, and Lindsey and Will are gracious hosts and caretakers.
Owner's Response: We are always trying to improve the place, our main goal is having happy guests and we are always grateful for opportunities to share this wonderful land!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
Ferndale, WA
5

Family get together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Nice setup for a few or many. The main house was nice and cozy with 3 bedrooms. Having 2 bathrooms that you could access from outside the home was convenient and the bunk house was so much more than that! You could easily sleep over 20 but it was not too spacious for our group of 12.

Location was great for hiking and enjoying the outdoors. We would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular, Secluded Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208889
+1 509 341-4761
Twisp Methow Valley
Seattle, WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Thanks for the great week! The whole family (17 of us) had a blast - - the last two days at the Carleton Beach were fantastic for everyone. We all marveled at how beautiful the evenings were, eating out in the yard under the tent with the sun setting to the west.