Chocolate Hole villa rental - Kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling
Kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Chocolate Hole Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 or 4 bdrm & Loft bdrm, 2 or 4 bath & half bath. Sleeps 2-10.

Ocean fun right at your door! Drive down a long private drive just minutes from Cruz Bay and find yourself basking at the edge of crystal clear emerald waters. Beach Walk Villa is one of the most affordable, relaxing, and fun properties on St John. Occupying the main house above a smaller private suite, complete with kitchens in main house and lower suite. Our villa is only twenty feet from swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking on a magnificent Tropical Reef! The sounds of the gentle surf from inside the villa are too soothing to describe. Our pool is the crystal clear waters of Chocolate Hole Bay. We provide snorkel gear and kayaks free for your use. The best pool on the island is the sea itself and just steps from your door! Take a hike down the rocky shoreline and sun bathe on Chocolate Hole Beach. Take a short drive or even hike to the Westin Resort for lunch, bar, scuba, sail, and more. Nearby grocery store and restaurants.

Outside Beach Walk Villa: *5 min from Cruz Bay *15 minute walk to Westin Resort - scuba; sail; beach bar & more *Chocolate Hole Beach a hike from the villa *Grill on Great Room deck * Kayaks on site * Snorkel gear & life jackets provided *Tropical Reef on location *Deck with chaise, beach chairs *Outside table & chairs *Oceanside Spa *Oceanside Hammock

Inside Beach Walk Villa: *2 bedrooms with full baths plus loft and half bath or 4 bedrooms if Aussie Suite rented together with Beach Walk. *WiFi *Cable TV with DVD *Telephone *A/C throughout *iPod/iPhone dock *Full kitchen *Fresh linens * Beach towels & cooler *Washer/Dryer * Beds - 2 queens, 1 full futon, 1 sofa bed. Sleeps 6 or 10.

Aussie Suite is the lower unit to Beach walk and can be rented to sleep up to 10 or rented apart from Beach Walk. Aussie is a 2 bedroom suite with a small Great Room that has WiFi, tv, kitchenette, and small dining area.

Owner Profile: John and Vicky purchased Beach Walk Villa after searching years for their perfect Oceanside retreat. Since their honeymoon at Caneel in 1993 they have been back over 100 times. Finally finding this gem was a dream come true. Come visit our beautiful seaside property and share this special part of St John. We believe you will take home wonderful memories that will last a lifetime.

More Details
Hide Details

We are John and Vicky and are veterinarians in Virginia. We honeymooned on St John at Caneel in 1993 and have now returned over 100 times. We love to sail, snorkel, and listen to the sea breeze and surf just outside our panoramic windows at Beach Walk. Our daughter and dog also love Beach Walk. Especially exploring all the coral along the shore, finding hermit crabs, and spotting iguanas in the trees.

John and Vicky Daly purchased this villa in 2005

One of St John's best locations due to being located adjacent to a magnificent Tropical Reef. Very convenient to groceries, shopping, restaurants, Cruz Bay, and the north shore beaches.

Kayaks and Snorkel gear free of charge. Beach Walk is a rare find being located of some of St John's most beautiful waters. Swim and snorkel and kayak without always having to drive somewhere. The sounds and sights are remarkable at our waterside villa.

14 Reviews of Property 208763 in Chocolate Hole, Virgin Islands

Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
average rating of 4.909091 based on 14 reviews
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
4

Great week in St. John

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Beachwalk was in an ideal location! We were a pair of couples that we're looking to enjoy the various beaches of St. John. This property was right on a beautiful bay. We kayaked almost everyday. The kitchen was well equipped as we cooked in 5 of the 7 nights. Beds were comfortable and the house view was a postcard. The snorkeling in Chocolate Bay was very good but beware of the numerous sea urchins along the coast. It made for some difficult entries/exits form the bay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We love St. John … vacationed in 2001, married at Hawksnest Bay in 2005 and finally able to come back in 2013. We've stayed in a villa each visit and most recently stayed at Beach Walk. We are a family of 4 with younger (ages 4 and 6) children. The villa was perfect. It was very well kept, nicely furnished, and comfortable. With young kids having a washer and dryer was priceless! The snorkeling right off our doorstep was great! Our kids loved the kayaks and the hot tub. The view was spectacular. The Chocolate Hole location was great ... not only because its right on the water and in a quiet area, but it is easy to get into Cruz Bay for dinner and shopping.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
5

Amazing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Upon arrival, we knew this was going to be an amazing vacation! The villa has all the comforts of home and so much more! Gorgeous location with easy access to beaches and snorkeling! Our two children have truly enjoyed themselves as well. So glad we found this gem on St John! We hope to visit again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
Arcola, IL ,USA
5

Best birthday I've ever had

Best birthday I've ever had
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Everything about the house was correct. It was a beautiful site and was well taken care of. Steve and Lisa Smith greeted us and were very friendly and helpful with getting us to the house and showing us around and how to work things. We loved being able to walk right out the door and go snorkeling. The snorkeling there is awesome! Saw lots of fish, even schools of blue tang. The house was well equipped with everything we could need to cook in and it had a comfy feel to it. I really felt at home there. Everything was clean. We really didn't spend a lot of time in the house as we were hiking, snorkeling, scuba diving and shopping, but just knowing that we had a nice place to come back to made it worthwhile. The owners John and Vickie were great and I would definitely rent this house again.

Jody
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
Atlanta, GA
5

Felt like home in Chocolate Hole

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Beachwalk was fantastic. We felt at home the moment we arrived and both the owners and on-island villa representatives were professional and a pleasure to work with. After a long day at the north shore beaches, we relaxed in the hot tub, snorkled outside the house (which has incredible reef life) and enjoyed the view of the sun setting over Chocolate Hole from the patio right on the water. The house is well equipped and included everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Our kids especially enjoyed the iguanas surrounding the property. Note that the entry into the water behind the house is technically challenging due to rocks and urchins, but with care, you'll can get in fine and enjoy some of the best snorkeling on the island, all to yourself. Convenient to Cruz Bay including the grocery stores, Dolphin and Starfish Markets. We'll be back.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
5

Amazing vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Beach walk house is everything we hoped it would be and more. It was right on the beautiful bay and great snorkeling right out the door. We took the kayaks out, walked on the beach and enjoyed the beautiful view every day. It is very close to town, a clean, beautiful place to relax. If you enjoy a quiet, clean spacious house then this is the place for you. We enjoyed every minute, and it felt like our own welcoming home after only a day. Steve and Lisa were wonderful at getting us settled in and there for us if we had a question. Would love to come every year!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
5

Peaceful private waterfront home close to town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a special place. All the amenities you need are here with some rare perks as well, like being right on the shore and hearing the waves break throughout the night. When we arrived, we were escorted by a lovely couple, Steve and Lisa, to get a lay of the land, help with our jeep rental, and welcome us to the house. First-off, our kids (and us) were so excited to have iguanas nearby to watch- free entertainment! Other highlights included: lots of great snorkeling gear to share at the house, a nice grill to use (upon a small in-the-trees deck frequented by hummingbirds), laundry, iphone compatible radios, and a private location, close to town, but quiet.
The waterfront proximity is a treasure. We used one of the kayaks to get out past the rocks and go snorkeling with our 3 kids on day one, and on day two walked down the path to a Beach spot where we could snorkel some more.
Notes: Beds were comfy, home clean and well-maintained. We haven't used the a/c (nice breeze and lots of fans), the plumbing works great, the house has a nice relaxed feeling. What really made us feel welcome, was having all the amenities we needed present when we arrived, and then being able to restock as needed throughout the week. Enjoy!
P.S. snorkeling/beach favorites--Salt Pond Bay, Jumbie, and Hawksnest beaches.
Restaurant favs-Morgan's Mango, Skinny Legs in Coral Bay, grilling out at the house!
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
Swansea, Il
5

Great Island Home---Relaxing and Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We are one week into our two week stay at Beach Walk. We are two couples this week and we have enjoyed ourselves immensely. As I write this, I am sitting on the lower deck only 20' from the water on Chocolate Hole. The sound of the surf right outside our windows has provided us with a very soothing soundtrack to our mornings and evenings. The living area is just as pictured. It is very comfortable for lounging, cooking, and eating. The beds are comfortable. We have yet to turn on the AC as the ocean breeze has kept this island home comfortable. The snorkeling is good out in the bay with a good variety of fish of different shapes, colors and sizes. Bring your water shoes for the rocks. The grocery stores are just a couple of minutes away, as are all the terrific restaurants in Cruz Bay. And there are some outstanding restaurants in Cruz Bay! The string of world famous North Shore beaches are just a few minutes the other side of town. As I write this, I think I've reminded myself how awesome Beach Walk really is.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
5

paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The house was perfect, clean and well maintained. AC kept it cool during the late afternoons, but was not needed in the AM. The beds were very comfortable. The view is fantastic. The grounds are inhabited by a great variety of wild-life. If you wake up with bug bites just shut the windows while you sleep to keep the no-see-ums out- they come through the screens. It took me awhile to figure this out since we had been enjoying the tropical breezes while we slept. We saw octopus, crabs, and a multitude of fish while snorkeling right out from the house. The shrimp and jellyfish were fun to watch at night in the pond. We enjoyed the kayaks, and our kids loved the hot tub which was also well maintained. The north shore beaches can be accessed fairly easily to anyone with a suitable vehicle and the grocery store was a short drive. The owner was very professional and made sure we were ok with some construction being done on the first floor of the building before proceeding. (There is a separate unit downstairs.) The man doing the renovations was very quiet and considerate when planning his work, where to park, etc. He was also a nice guy and a good source of information about the island. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to rent in St John.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Hike to the Beach! Swimming, Snorkeling, Kayaking all right outside your door!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208763
+1 888 557-2005
Chocolate Hole St John
Clarkston, MI USA
5

luving the sun and water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The property was accurately represented. Loved the resident wildlife that visited daily, {iguanas, soldier crab, and chameleons} The arrangements were flawless,and the hosts that escorted us to the property were friendly, helpful, and explained everything about the house, and told us to call @ any time if questions arose. Loved the snorkeling 20 ft. from the house, encountered a ray the first morning there! Would definitely recommend this property and would consider a repeat future visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Irene, Vicky and I are so glad you had a nice time. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. The folks that read your comments will have a better sense of what staying at Beach Walk Villa is like. Hope you can come again some time! John
Helpful votes: 10/10