Gatlinburg chalet rental - Upstairs living area
Upstairs living area
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Gatlinburg Chalet Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 9, 2 living areas; Free wireless Internet Access

Relax with the convenience of a gas log fire on the main level, or play a game of pool in front of a wood burning fireplace on the lower level. With 4 private bedrooms on 3 levels and full baths on the main and lower level with a half bath in the loft, families have plenty of room to spread out. There is spacious parking for at least 4 cars without a steep driveway. Large deck with hot tub and winter views. Leave the sizzle of summer while enjoying shady mountain breezes with occasional sightings of bears. Ideal for adult retreats.

Guest Services at Chalet Village Owners Club: All guests have the use of facilities at the Chalet Village Owners Clubs. The South Club is located less than a mile from Bear Haven. The North Club is located about 1 1/2 miles from Bear Haven. The clubs have outdoor swimming pools, which are open in season which is roughly Memorial Day to Labor Day. There are also game rooms and tennis courts.

My wife and I are both educators. We bought Bear Haven primarily as a retreat to share with our sons. I grew up going to the Smoky Mountains on a semi-regular basis. Some of my favorite childhood memories are fall visits to see the leaves and nights walking the strip in Gatlinburg.

Johnny Duke purchased this chalet in 2006

We love the location since my sons and I hike and fly-fish in the mountains, while my wife and daughter-in-law have access to unlimited shopping and bargain hunting in the area.

We love the tongue and groove paneling and the stone fireplaces. The deck is a nice place to relax under the shade of trees in the summer. While we have neighbors within sight, this is in an older section of Ski Mountains where the cabins are more spaced out.

9 Reviews of Property 208741 in Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
5

Our Bear Haven Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
From East Coast (Asheville, NC, Knoxville, TN) to West Coast (San Diego, CA), the Basses met for vacation and made Bear Haven our home away from home.
It was more than we had hoped for or imagined. Everything we needed plus more was there. The nice clean cabin echoed the words "Welcome Home" when you unlocked the door.
The adults and grandkids enjoyed the pool table, hot tub, and swimming pool near by.
The hike and picnic in the mountains was so refreshing and our stroll downtown Gatlinburg was adventurous.
Our shared meals and board games around the table brought treasured memories to keep us smiling.
Owners Johnny and Vickie excel in customer service. We highly recommend this Vacation rental.
The Basses
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
East Prairie, Mo. usa
5

Bear Haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This property is nicely located close to Ober Gatlinburg and downtown Gatlinburg. The cabin was very clean and nicely laid out for family vacations. We enjoyed staying here as it was close to town but feels like you are away from it all. My family would stay there again anytime. The owners are very nice and helpful with anything you need.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Morton, IL
5

GREAT place to spend a week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We just returned from spending a great week at Bear Haven. This cabin is very comfortable, well maintained, and well outfitted for a relaxing getaway.

There we seven of us -- 5 kids from 7 through 18, and they loved the pool table, hot tub, and swimming pools. Plenty of space, well supplied kitchen, and all-around comfort. We had breakfast in every day, and dinner one night.

Was easy to find in a very quiet area. Saw a family of bears just a short distance away on the last day. Close to the clubhouses if you need them, and only minutes down the hill to Gatlinburg, about 2 mins from Ober G. and about 5 minutes from the bypass.

Can imagine this would be a fantastic place in the winter too.

Great value here. Perfect for family with kids or for a group of adults.

We would definately stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
5

Comfortable, clean, accurately represented.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We stayed at Bear Haven over President's Day weekend, 2010. The cabin was very comfortable and there were nice touches of comfort throughout the house. The linens were of high quality, and amble in quantity. In the kitchen the appliances were new, everything worked in the house. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of dishes,silverware, sharp knives...everything we needed to cook family dinners. The kitchen working area is a two person area. Cozy, but as the other review commented, it works.
The hot tub worked and was clean. The deck was spacious and wrapped around the house. Our kids enjoyed this feature. The view was wooded and accurately portrayed in the picture, but in the winter...it was a winter wonderland outside.
We did not have consistent cell phone service at the house, there are a few sweet spots, but that happens a lot with our service company. The owners were very generous in providing a land line phone, with free long distance, which we used to get messages. So it was not an issue.
I would recommend this property. We found our host, Johnny to be easy to work with and very hospitable, timely, and gracious. I would recommend a private self managed property, like Bear Haven, rather than the managed service properties.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Peru, IN
5

Family Vacation - Ages 57-86

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a very neat, clean cabin. We loved the decorations. Very nice deck with hot tub and eating area. We did spend one afternoon at the swimming pool. This was very nice.

Johnny was very easy to work with.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
5

Great vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The cabin looks just like the pictures. It was beautiful. The cabin has everything a family could want. The beds were comfy. The kitchen is a little small but it works. It has everything you need to cook. The cabin has a pool table that the family enjoyed. Something for everyone. We will go back again. We seen several bears. One was crossing the road just below the cabin. The next night we had one by the bottom deck. Oh my gosh what a sight. The cabin is a good place to make wonderful memories with your family. Johnny was very helpful and easy to talk to. Thanks for a wonderful vacation
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Holland, MI
5

your money's worth

your money's worth
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
This is a beautiful cabin, clean and well cared for. Close enough to town but far enough away to feel the peace and quiet of mountain life. If you like to walk this area is great for hill walking, quite a workout!! Johnny is so great to work with too. The hot tub felt great after a day of activity! We would definitely recommend this place! A great place for a very reasonable price.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Hattiesburg MS
5

Gotta love Gatlinburg!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We stayed at Bear Haven last week....couldn't ask to rent from nicer people! The cabin is conveniently located to all of Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area with many places to eat, shop, drink, sightsee in close proximity. It's located about a mile and half up Ski Mountain Road which is one of the better mountain roads (in my opinion) to maneuver.

The cabin was ready and was clean when we got there. I wouldn't recommend this cabin for anyone with mobility issues because you do have to climb stairs to get to the main level. Two bedrooms, bath and den/pool table are on the ground floor with the master, kitchen, bath & LR on the second floor. The third floor has a loft bedroom (with a door that you can close) and a half bath.

The deck is large with a hot tub. Ample room for a large family. There are about 4 other cabins that you can see so you're not totally secluded. The view is OK...mostly wooded as many are in the area.

We had a 16 yo and an 8 yo with us who REALLY enjoyed the new MagiQuest in Pigeon Forge. It allows them to be like Harry Potter, magic wand and all and solve quests. Their second most favorite was touring the Roaring Forks Motor Trail and Cades Cove. We were lucky enough to see 6 Black Bear on the trails which was the highlight of our wildlife sightings! One of them was only 4 ft. away from our car. Dixie Stampede was fun as always and I think the group we were with (30 in total) all enjoyed it a great deal even those that had been there before.

Our family had a great time in the area and enjoyed staying at this cabin very much. We're already planning a family trip back to the area next May. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gatlinburg & Great Smoky Mountains NP, 5 min.; Ober Gatlinburg 3 min.; Pet-free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208741
+1 706 232-9771
Gatlinburg Tennessee
fayetteville,Ga.
5

We have a found a new vacation place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We will plan to stay here again. It was nice being in the mountains but yet so close to town. We really felt at home here.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3