Hall Quarry cottage rental - Deer Track and Seaweed from the water.
Deer Track and Seaweed from the water.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Hall Quarry Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Efficiency Type Cabin, 1 bathroom

Deer Track is located on a hill overlooking Somes Sound, a natural glacial fjord, you will enjoy an unbelievable view of Sargent and Parkman Mountain. Nestled in the woods, this cabin is perfect for those who are looking for a quiet area that is centrally located to all major towns and attractions.

Deer Track is perfect for 2 people, but can accommodate more with a futon for extra sleeping. On chilly evenings, cuddle up with a fire in the granite fireplace.

4 Reviews of Property 208547 in Hall Quarry, Maine

Oceanfront Cabin on Somes Sound
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cabin on Somes Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208547
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Cozy and rustic with an amazing view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My partner and I stayed at Deer Track (the cabin up the hill from Seaweed) for a week in October 2012 with our dog, and we absolutely loved it! And, as the name would suggest, we saw lots of deer!

The cabin is adorable and cozy with a prize-winning view. The open layout makes great use of the small space. We especially loved the expansive deck, the central fireplace, and the king size bed tucked into its own cozy nook. This cabin is comfortable but rustic. If you're looking for luxury, stay elsewhere. If you're looking for a comfortable and cozy place to sleep where you'll wake to a glorious sunrise over the fjord, this cabin is for you. The kitchen is small but nicely laid out. The bathroom is small and—with a curtain for a door—does not offer the privacy some might require, but it was perfect for us.

The uninterrupted view of Somes Sound and the mountains from high up on the cliff is stunning, and the location is perfect—on the quiet side of the island but close to everything. Mimi and Rick are great! They're friendly, helpful, and available. We always had plenty of firewood, towels, etc. Even the dog was sad to leave at the end of the week. It had become home. We're already planning our next stay at Deer Track!
business
Oceanfront Cabin on Somes Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208547
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Deer Track

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
It is about location, location, location. Deer Track has that for shore. A
very popular area on the water ways, Mountains area on the other side,
A cozy little cabin nestled in the tree's along the water front. Nice and quite. Everything you need is there and in the area to keep you busy enjoying all it has to offer. It was money well spent for the memories you
will have in exchange. I'm glad we found this cute little place to get away for the week. Until next time, so long from Florida.......
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Cabin on Somes Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208547
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Seaweed Is A Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My three young children and myself spent a week at Seaweed and we had a blast! There were no surprises from what the website showed and described to what we actually encountered. The house was clean, bright, fully equipped and came with a million dollar view. Upon arriving on our first day we were greeted with a view of 30-40 sailboats silently racing down Somes Sound. At night we had cool ocean breezes with only the cry of loons punctuating the silence. We all caught tinker mackerel and harbor pollack right off our dock, and we even caught several lobsters in our little crab trap tied to the dock. The kids went wild! We explored the immediate coastline in kayaks and saw starfish of various colors and sizes, explored tidal pools, saw osprey and a bald eagle and went swimming in nearby Echo Lake. The small town of Southwest Harbor was a short distance away and provided plenty of quiet small town charm, with a friendly, low-key atmosphere and great places to eat. The children were even able to take out books from the town library which was really a nice touch. Mimi and Rick were great hosts and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Rick even took us all out on his boat to watch him check his lobster pots while he gave us a history of the area and shared his lobster catching secrets. There are tons of activities to do, and I realized that we could explore this quiet side of Acadia National Park for years and never see all it has to offer. That is why we will be back, and we'll dream of little Seaweed until then.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Cabin on Somes Sound
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208547
Hall Quarry Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our time on Somes Sound couldn’t have been better. We have Deer Tracks and Hall Quarry Rentals to thank for that. The cottage is adorable and was impeccably clean upon arrival. While we had already acquired maps and points of interest to do while we were in the area there is no need! The renters had a binder in the cottage full of their suggestions of things to do in the area and previous guests had left a little note of their suggestions as well – a very nice touch. The cottage is completely equip with any cooking utensils and supplies you could need while on vacation, including a charcoal grill. My husband was thrilled! It was so nice to have access to the water and a dock – we kayaked right off the dock daily!
The cottage is perfectly located in the middle of Acadia National Park - between Bar Harbor (about 20 minute away) and Bass Harbor (about 15 minutes away). There is so much to do in the area: hiking, biking, site seeing, whale watching, dining out. While we did have a great time during the day out and about it was a relief to return to such a quaint and comfortable cottage each night! We can’t wait to return to Deer Tracks next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway