Mauna Kea condo rental - The ocean and golf course view from our lanai is the best in all of Kumulani
The ocean and golf course view from our lanai is the best in all of Kumulani
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 6 - 10 nights
 

Mauna Kea Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

You'll get the feel of Hawaii in this luxurious two bedroom, two bath residence with den which was originally selected and furnished as a model because of its sweeping uninterrupted view of ocean, golf course and lake. It is the largest of Kumulani's 3 different floorplans. You will enjoy breathtaking views from the 500 sq. ft. wrap-around lanai, the spacious great room, the master bedroom, and well appointed kitchen.

Our guests have all of the privileges of a guest at both the world renowned Mauna Kea Beach and Hapuna Beach Resort Hotels, including 36 holes of championship golf, tennis club rated best in Hawaii, fitness center, two pristine white sand beaches, two hotel swimming pools, and beach chairs and umbrellas. WE PAY ALL FEES for two adults* which enables you to enjoy beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, and fitness centers at both hotels at no charge to you. Tennis and golf are available at hotel guest rates. Surround yourself with the luxury, elegance, and all the amenities of one of the world's finest resorts. Free parking and free valet service are available at both hotels (you will have a special card for Mauna Kea).

It is fully air-conditioned and has ceiling fans in the great room, both bedrooms, the den and lanai.

You won't have to miss your favorite Sports and TV shows because we have provided a Digital Recorder in the den. There are four TVs -- in the great room, the den, and both bedrooms. There are three DVD players -- in the great room, the den and the master bedroom. Our new stereo system has an I-pod dock that will allow you to listen to your own music.

The master bedroom, with its comfy king sized bed, has its own private bath with twin sinks, shower, soaking tub, and walk in closet. The second bedroom has twin beds which can convert to king and has a second bathroom adjacent. Couches in both great room and den convert to Queen beds. You can comfortably sleep six in this tropical setting. For Internet users, we have high speed cable with wireless connectivity and a convenient computer desk in the master bedroom.

We provide boogie boards, masks and snorkels for your swimming pleasure. The unit is equipped with playing cards, Yahtzee, dominoes, card shuffler, foldout card table and four folding chairs (for the avid card player). The Kumulani recreation pavilion has its own private pool, Jacuzzi spa, chaise lounges, tables and chairs, and BBQ facilities.

Other condos at Kumulani may offer less expensive rates, but they do not include guest privileges at the hotels, and their views are interrupted by rooftops. Ours is unique!!! The view you see is only available from this building, although it is shown by others!

Call Rose Marie for more information and a free DVD with detailed pictures of condo, panoramic ocean and golf course views, and resort facilities.

*Additional one time charge - $50 for extra adult, $30 per child over 13

Hawaii Tax ID # W55156245-01

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

We are a retired couple who love Mauna Kea Beach and spend 4-5 months here every year. When this beautiful place with unbelievable unobstructed views became available, we couldn't pass it up. We closed escrow December 31, 2007 and have been enjoying our condo ever since. This picture was taken when our daughter visited in winter 2008.

Rose Marie Bauer purchased this condo in 2007

Mauna Kea Beach and Hapuna Beach are two of the most beautiful beaches in Hawaii. Rockefeller had the opportunity to build his luxury hotel - Mauna Kea- at any location in Hawaii and picked this location for it's beautiful beach and incomparable setting. Our condo has beautiful views of ocean and golf course and is the perfect vacation spot.

You have all the privileges of a guest at Mauna Kea Hotel with the spaciouness of a large condo with a breathtaking view.

16 Reviews of Property 208482 in Mauna Kea, Hawaii

Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

More than expected! Everything you could want and then some.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This lovely condo is very well appointed with absolutely everything you need for a wonderful vacation. The views are stunning and the two best beaches on the island are 2 minute drive away with full access at both the Mauna Kea and Hapuna Prince hotels.
No detail has been overlooked with loads of special thoughtful touches such as extra, easy to access outlets for all your electronics to plenty of coolers, beach toys and snorkel gear. The condo is immaculately clean and up to date with very tasteful decor. The beds are very comfortable with high quality linens. Papergoods, cleaning and laundry supplies and basic cooking condiments are there for you to use. The complex is very quiet and peaceful and this unit has a small lawn area plus that stunning view from almost every room. The owners could teach a class in exceptional service. The ownersmade the process of renting easy was very quick to respond and provides great information on how to access everything plus recommendations on what to do and where to eat. We loved the Red Water Cafe and Cafe Pesto for dinner- but also enjoyed sitting on our private lanai after fixing up our own meals (you have your own grill on the lanai).
This is our third trip to Big Island and have found our favorite place to stay- we will return to this condo in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Main land
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our first time renting a condo on the Big Island as we typically stay at the Mauna Kea Beach Resort Hotel or Mauna Lani. We traveled with our twin boys this time so for sanity purposes, we needed more room than a hotel room had to offer. We chose this condo based on location and signing rights/ amenities package for the Mauna Kea and Hapuna Hotel. This was perfect! The condo is more beautiful in person than the online videos and the location is wonderful. The only downside is that you do not hear the waves crashing outside your window (as you would in a beach hotel), but the sunset and view you get is breathtaking.
The location is great where you can easily drive to the neighboring towns (Waimea, Kawaihae harbor) for dinners or you can walk down to Hapuna (although the walk up is something less desired). We love the Big Island and will definitely go back to this condo again!
The owners are great to work with and have a nice reputation with the beach personnel at the Mauna Kea Beach. They supply everything that is needed for a great trip..all beach amenities as well as a well stocked condo. I would give this vacation and A+ and my husband and I both agree it was the easiest vacation with our boys to date.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
5

Hapuna/Mauna Kea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Rose Marie's condo delivered as promised. It is spacious and comfortable and has a beautiful lanai with a killer view. We enjoyed walking down and back to and from the Hapuna fitness center every morning for an extra workout (a little over a mile). Her access to the facilities on both properties is invaluable. We drove to the Mauna Kea hotel (about 2 minutes) and used that beach (and the hotel amenities, towels, cabanas, etc.) every day. We actually enjoyed the isolation and quiet of her condo away from the hotels. We stocked up at the costco and market near the airport upon arrival and didn't have to go out to any meals we didn't want to. This is the perfect place for a quiet getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
San Diego
5

Spectacular place, beautiful, clean, with perfect amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I recently stayed at this property in my first trip to the big Island. I had not idea what to expect prior to my arrival, but have to say this place exceeded all expectations. The privacy, beauty, and ease it represents is perfect for families, or singles. The actual place is bigger than I expected, with a huge outside to sit and enjoy the perfect weather. The views are million dollar. In addition to that, you have privileges at two world class resorts, that offer some of the best beaches on the Kona side! The pools, beach, and service are all first class. I also want to acknowledge how easy it was to deal with the owners. I have used VRBO for several years now, and have not always had the attention to my emails while I am visiting the property that I got here. They were very prompt in any question I had, left a ton of literature about the island and surrounding area, and lastly had all kinds of toys for my kids to use in the garage. Overall, it was one of my best visits to any island, and I am coming back for sure. Thank you Rose and Bud for letting my family enjoy your beautiful place, was well worth it!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Reno, NV
5

A Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were privileged to stay at the Bauer’s condo for two weeks this past June and had an absolutely wonderful time. This was our third stay in Kumulani and second stay in the Bauer’s home. My family loves this particular condo and the entire Mauna Kea experience. One of the reasons for choosing this unit is that Rose Marie is so incredibly responsive and easy to work with. Because this condo is also the owner’s personal residence, the unit is well stocked with everything you need to feel right at home; BBQ, beach chairs, scuba gear, etc. Plus you have the amenities of both of the hotels within Mauna Kea. You’ll enjoy panoramic views of the Pacific while overlooking the 4th hole of the Hapuna Golf Course. We would highly recommend this unit to anyone and are looking forward to our next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Pacific Grove, California
5

RE: 10 Days/Nights In Vacation Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
It's been 3 weeks since my family returned from a 10 night stay (5/28-6/7/12) at the Bauer's condo. And I have to post this review b/c the experience was uber-fantastic. First, let me say that I have taken my family, which includes two boys ages 8 and 6, to the Kohala coast two prior years. We generally stayed in the Mauna Lani resort area,, which is very nice. But that area does not have access to the best beach on the island, if not the best beach in all of the islands - the Mauna Kea. This year, we . So, this year we wanted to try out the Mauna Kea property. And the Bauer's home was simply stunning. Tremendous views of the Pacific, especially at Sunset. The Bauer's were great. They really helped us plan the trip. With their home, we were able to enjoy both the Hapuna and Mauna Kea hotels. We had charging privileges at either property - giving you access to pool & beach, hotel chairs/towels, and the golf courses. If you have never been to the Mauna Kea beach hotel, you are missing one of the world's best beaches and beach bar. The hotel is a classic and it's all about the beach. No other resort on the big island has anything close to that beach or the neighboring Hapuna beach. You feel like you walked into a postcard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
San Rafael, Ca
5

Better than advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We have just completed our week at the Bauer condo, and as the title of the review indicates, we were more than happy with our stay. Our family loved the condo, the Mauna Kea, the entire experience. Rose Marie was very easy to work with, and she was always very accessible. Our highlights for the condo: The photos really don't show how open and large the condo actually feels. The ceilings are very high, and natural light was fantastic. Large windows wrap around the unit, and the views of the ocean are un-obstructed. The condo was well stocked, and everything was in perfect working order. We would highly recommend this unit to anyone, and look forward to our return next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you enjoyed your vacation and were very pleased to hear that you found our lovely home "better than advertised". I can think of no better compliment.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Tiburon, CA
5

10 days is not enough

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband and I just returned from a wonderful, but too short, visit at this condo in the Hapuna Prince side of the Mauna Kea property. The owners, aside from being incredibly accommodating, actually spend time in the condo themselves, so it is fully stocked w/everything you need, indoors and out. And the master bed is so comfortable--not always the case, in condo rentals. The view of the ocean from indoors and from the patio is spectacular. Moreover, since the condo complex is high up over the golf course rather than right on the beach, the breezes kept us from baking in the afternoon sunshine. Having access to the best beach on TBI added to our enjoyment. One caveat: avoid the beachfront restaurant; stick w/ smoothies & drinks from the bar instead, and have lunch elsewhere. We look forward to our next trip: we'll bring family and friends (there's room for 6) and stay longer. Aloha
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you had such a good time. Hope you'll join us again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Kirkland, WA
5

Private, Quiet, Panoramic, Luxurious Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We would recommend this condominium to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway. The condo is beautifully decorated; it's airy, roomy and bright; luxury throughout; the beds are fantastic - so comfortable; the kitchen is outstanding for preparing meals and entertaining. Access to the Mauna Kea amenities (great beach, swimming, boogie boarding, snorkeling, beach chairs/umbrellas/towels/bar and food) took our stay from an A+ to an A++.
On reflection, everything was perfect. We'll definitely be back next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Ocean View*Free Amenities at Mauna Kea Hotel*Contact Owner For Discounts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208482vbi
(650) 342-2614
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
San Carlo
5

Spacious. Good light. Great Sunsets. Super location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The Positive: Great sunsets, nice Weber BBQ, good kitchen, comfortable couches, short drive to the beach, you get to use the Mauna Kea hotel facilities, terrific beach with great snorkelling, spacious, great light and breezes, groceries not too far away, equipment in the garage (boogie boards, snorkels), awesome air conditioning, a little lawn for the kids to play on.

The Picky: If you are super picky about your bed (I am), the bed in the master was a B-. My wife thought it was fine. The TVs are small, especially the one in the master bedroom. The kitchen's equipment won't support the production of a gourmet meal (but it was better than I have seen in most places and I am seriously nit picking here).
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We are delighted to get another 5 star review. We find our bed in Hawaii to be very comfortable -- as a matter of fact we prefer it to our "sleep number" bed at home. However, we know that beds are a very personal thing, We were pleased with the comments from last year's guests that "the beds were so comfortable".

Our kitchen is fully equipped with all of the items recommended by Mauna Kea Resort (they used to rent it for us). There are some things which we do not have in our own home (rice cooker for example) that we provide for our guests. We have received many positive comments about our kitchen - and one reviewer (4/25/10) refers to it as "fabulous".
Helpful votes: 0/1