Bridport house rental - View up lake to Champlain Bridge
View up lake to Champlain Bridge
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Bridport House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Spectacular three-bedroom, three-bath, three-level lakefront house (sleeps 10). Gorgeous views up lake to Lake Champlain Bridge and Adirondacks. Beautiful, end-of-road location with 2 1/2 acres in Bridport in convenient central Vermont, 14 miles west of Middlebury. Close to wide range of activities and attractions. PLEASE SEE OUR PERSONAL WEBSITE FOR THE HOUSE AT THE LINK LISTED BELOW 'RATE DETAILS' AND 'VIEW CALENDAR'.

Wonderful year round home, the ideal location for your summer vacation and also winter activities including ice fishing, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, relaxing etc. Close to Middlebury, Vergennes, Bristol etc. for fine dining and shopping.

Perfect place to stay while visiting Middlebury College students and/or attending events such as parent's weeks, orientation, mid-year and May graduation. Also plenty of room for family reunions.

Main level: Great room with dining area, well-equipped kitchen and sitting area with queen size sofa bed, and two bedrooms (1 queen size bed and 2 twin beds), full bath, and relaxing wraparound deck overlooking lake.

Upper level: Large master bedroom loft (king size bed) with master bath and sitting area.

Lower level: Family room (sofa bed), office, bathroom, patio overlooking lake and washer/dryer.

Light, bright, spacious rooms. Wood floors. Gentle slope to beach with boat launching access. Large level lawns perfect for entertaining, lawn games or just relaxing. Separate garage/shop. No smoking please. Well behaved dogs o.k., $25/day pet fee (2 dogs maximum).

The adjacent cozy cottage owned by my brother, also overlooks the lake and is a separate property and can be rented by itself or with the main house. The cottage has its own stair to the beach and its own dock. It has been remodeled and is available to rent separately or as part of the main house. This is a fully furnished “vintage camp” and has a well equiped kitchen/living room, enclosed sleeping/eating porch, bathroom and a detached bunk house. A large deck off the enclosed sleeping porch overlooks the lake. Will sleep up to 6 people. Please go to VRBO listing No. 179306 for additional info.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Keywords: lake front house, fishing, boating, mountain view, waterfront, beach, foliage, ski, guest, escape, champlain, romantic, honeymoon, family reunion, college, middlebury

More Details
Hide Details

Our names are Duane, Lyndon and Roxy (our Bichon Frisé Poodle mix). We live in San Diego. Duane grew up in Bristol, Vermont with Vermont ancestors from has far back as anyone can track and is an Architect. Ended up in San Diego in 1976 after going to College in Boston and Tempe, Arizona. My entire family still lives in the Bristol area. Lyndon is a 5th generation Californian on his fathers side and grew up in Bishop, California. On his mothers side, his Great Great Grandfather came across the country from Stowe, Vermont in a covered wagon in the mid 1800's and his Great Great Grandmother sailed from Delaware by way of the horn of South America about the same time and both settled in Independence, California where they met when it was still pretty much the wild west. He works in social services. Roxy is a rescue from an area close to the Mexican border. She has flown back to Vermont about 6 times so far and loves the rural living.

Duane purchased this house in 2006

Some of my fondest memories growing up in Vermont were the times spent at our Lake Champlain camp my family owned with 3 other families and remained my favorite place on earth. It was always a dream of mine to buy a place on the lake. We have spent much of our time on our bi-yearly visits making improvements on the house as well as enjoying time with family and friends and many wonderful gatherings at the house for birthdays, reunions, Holidays etc.

The end of the road location makes for a relaxing and quiet refuge amongst nature and the wonderful lake and mountain views from most of the house. These were very important in selecting a place on the lake. The limited number of camps along the lane also make it possible to interact with others enjoying this bucolic spot surrounded by quant villages, dairy farms and country roads. The close proximity to Middlebury and other towns in the area make for unlimited possibility for interesting things to do and see.

18 Reviews of Property 113152 in Bridport, Vermont

*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 18 reviews
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
5

AMAZING VIEWS, BEAUTIFUL HOME!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent 4 days at this lovely home. The pics don't do the view justice. Absolutely beautiful in person. Duane is so pleasant and responds to emails quickly.
The house is equipped with everything you need. Spotless as well.
Tons of room. Comfortable beds. Convenience all around.
I look forward to going to back.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are pleased every time we hear that our hard work and commitment to our guests results in another satisfied visitor to our home! Yes, it is almost impossible to capture in a photo that view. We look forward to your next visit.
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
Fairfield, Connecticut
5

A Memorable Midd Graduation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented this property for our daughter's 2013 Middlebury graduation. Duane has furnished and appointed Heron's Watch as though it were his own full-time summer home, which we understand it once was. He does a wonderful job of communicating and is truly a pleasure to do business with.

The property is perfect for large groups: we were 6 adults, two teens, a child, and a dog. Our graduate and about 20 of her friends came out one day for an afternoon barbeque -- the house has two full decks, fire-pit, a dock, paddleboat and kayaks, two full-size gas grills, and plenty of room. Our guests enjoyed a beautiful early-summer day, off-campus in the great VT outdoors. Spectacular lake views and sunsets, and yes, we did see herons!

The common areas are spacious & comfortable, with many little touches, and the kitchen is well-equipped for cooking, even for large groups.

As previous reviews have noted - the pictures do not fully capture how great this property is!

Middlebury campus is 20 minutes away, through beautiful VT rolling farm country. The nearest full-service grocery store is also in Middlebury. The house location is quite remote, although that is a big part of the charm.

We certainly hope to return to Heron's Watch again someday, soon! Thanks Duane.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful, detailed review!! I am sure it will be very helpful to others looking for a place to stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
Mullica Hill, NJ
5

2 Families ~ 2 Dogs ~ 2 Boats ~ TOO Perfect !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay at Herons Watch was perfect. Plenty of room for our 2 families (this included teenage & adult children). The 3rd level of the house was like having a separate retreat for the kids ~ very spacious & their own bathroom, computer and mini fridge, what more could a mother ask for? The loft, another great escape with it's own sitting area with TV, desk & recliner & a very spacious bathroom. The kitchen was totally well stocked with all you needed to make meals. We also took our 2 dogs (8 month old Golden & 5 year old Doberman) they loved sitting out on the wrap around deck and there was plenty of area for them to run around & play. We also took advantage of the dock bringing both of our boats (one fishing ~ one pleasure) The water was very calm (cold) ~ there is a grass issue that really doesn't allow swimming from the dock, but heck you have a whole lake for that! The owner was great to deal with and returned our security deposit within 3 days of our check out date. This is a great vacation rental. You are away from it all, but only a 20 minute drive to local grocery stores & restaurants. We also enjoyed a boat ride to Burlington VT for lunch & some shopping. We hiked up Snake Mountain which is located right in Addison County ~ a 2 mile hike to the top and the views are Amazing, totally worth looking into if you visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay Joyce, it was a very nice thoughtful review and will be very helpful to future renters...I'm so glad you all enjoyed the house and had a good trip, it was a pleasure to have you and I'd love to have you stay again!
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
Gatineau, Québec, Canada
5

Wonderful and relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Quel beau séjour au Vermont! La réalité est encore plus belle que les photos. La maison est très bien décorée avec une touche champêtre, très approprié pour l'endroit. Tous les électro-ménagers sont neufs et vous avez tout ce qu'il faut pour cuisiner avec en plus une vue spectaculaire sur le lac. La salle à manger est spacieuse ainsi que les autres pièces de la maison. Il y a 3 salles de bain, une sur chaque étage, toutes impeccablement propres. Nous étions 4 adultes et notre petit-fils d'un an et nous trouvions la maison très grande. L'endroit est tellement calme et relaxant. Et le propriétaire est très sympathique et toujours disponible pour répondre à nos questions. Nous recommandons sans hésiter cette maison à notre famille et nos amis and we have to come back!
Nous en avons profité pour visiter Shelburne Farms qui est situé à environ 1 heure de route. C'est un site à voir absolument. Adultes et enfants aimeront ce domaine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at our lake house Herons Watch and hope to see you back. I used google for the english translation below, hope it did it justice.


What a beautiful stay in Vermont! The reality is even more beautiful than the photos. The house is very well decorated with a touch of rustic, very suitable for the place. All electrical appliances are new and you have everything you need to cook with more spectacular views of the lake. The dining room is spacious as well as other parts of the house. There are 3 bathrooms, one on each floor, all spotlessly clean. We were 4 adults and our small-year-old son and found the house very large. The place is so quiet and relaxing. And the owner is very friendly and always available to answer our questions. We would definitely recommend this house to our family and friends and we Have to come back! We took the opportunity to visit Shelburne Farms is located approximately 1 hour. This is a site to see. Adults and children will love this area.
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
NYC
5

Can't wait to return!

Can't wait to return!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Just got home from this lovely place. It was my first time staying in a vacation home, i was nervous to say the least. The owner was great and very helpful and returned all my e-mails even before i booked . The pictures do it no justice, It is very clean, modern and huge. There were 9 of us, 4 adults and 5 children and still had plenty of room. All the appliances were brand new and we enjoyed lighting the pellet fireplace in the family room on those cold vermont nights or lighting the fire pit outside. Brand new washer and dryer make it easy for a extanded stay. The children enjoyed the huge collection of kid friendly dvd's which were awesome on the family room big screen flat panel tv and the many board games provided by the owner. One of the most relaxing trips i have ever been on.Now i understand why it got so many 5 out of 5 reviews. You have to see it to believe it! We will be returning very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
NJ
5

Great time had on New Years 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place was everyhing that was advertised and more. I could not have asked for a better experience from communications with the owner, to the property it self. I am definitely planning on coming back.
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
Bel Air, Maryland
4

Fall Vermont Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a great vacation at this house. The lake is beautiful and the views are spectacular. The layout of the house provides lots of space for large groups; the large deck was awesome as were the grounds. We brought two large german shepherds that were able to run free without problems - they loved it!

What made all the difference was how accessible the owner was. He answered every one of our calls and followed up with us as needed. We felt secure that should there have been any problems he would have handled it immediately. Great peace of mind while on vacation.

I recommend this house for large groups/families with kids/dogs. We spent 10 days here and had a great time. We would rent this house again!
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
Philadelphia, PA
5

Felt like my own home on Lake Champlain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This house is lovely. Modern, well appointed and well equipped!
The kitchen had all we needed for meal prep and the house had lots of space and entertainment opportunity including a selection of books, games and videos.
The lake view from the back of the house was lovely.
Owner's communication with us was outstanding!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
West Islip, NY
5

Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I had a wonderful time in this beautiful house. It has plenty of space, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is stocked with everything you need. The kids enjoyed using the boats and jumping off the dock and just playing in the water.
During our stay we visited Lake Placid, Burlington, Fort Ticonderoga and went tubing at Ausable Chasm which we all enjoyed. Dinner at Fire & Ice in Middle bury was fabulous.
My favorite part of our stay was to sit on the dock and watch the beautiful sunset. The lake is so peaceful and the view is breathtaking.
Duane was very helpful with all our questions.
We hope to be back soon!
business
*Gorgeous Lake House*Spectacular Lake Views!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p113152vb
(619) 997-8444 Duane Brown (main house) (California, USA)
Bridport Lake Champlain Valley
MD
5

Great Vacation!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was superb, has excellent view, everytinhg we needed for the stay and more. The espresso machine was amazing, and the wrap around porch gives excellent views of the lake and moutains. This trip was enjoyed by the entire family including the dog! The use of the boats was the icing on the cake! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway