Crescent City house rental - Looking over the South Fork of the Smith River and 16 miles from giant redwoods
Looking over the South Fork of the Smith River and 16 miles from giant redwoods
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps13
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Crescent City House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 9-13)

A gorgeous drive along the South Fork of the Smith River gets you to this luxurious river side house located in an area named 'Big Flat' as it is a big flat area high in the mountains where the inland tribes gathered to meet the coastal tribes. Rich in natural history and scenic beauty, this is the type of place one wants to check in, and 'check out'. Surrounded by the sights and sounds of the river rushing by as well as a multitude of songbirds and miles of majestic wilderness, there is opportunity for swimming, rafting, tubing, hiking, cycling, fishing, kayaking or just laying on the river view deck soaking up the sun in summer or snuggling by the fire in colder months.

The house affords the ability to rough it in great comfort as it has full amenities while being off the grid, we have equipped it with solar power and propane appliances.Due to the solar power system capacity--- microwaves,toasters,hairdriers and other resistance appliances will drain the system.

In addition to the river being on the property there are several small lakes with good fishing that can be driven to. Also there are several lakes that are good backpack trips in the higher mountains.We also have a trail head to the Kelsey trail near the house. The Kelsey trail is part of the Pacific Crest trail.For more information see the Six Rivers National Forest map....many things to do.....if you see a bear just make some noise and he will run away......harmless......just don`t leave tasty smelling food out that would attract them......Jim

remember.....no hairdriers,microwaves,toasters or toaster ovens,waffle irons or electric skillets...we are on a solar system....for lights mainly......

More Details
Hide Details

Outdoor lover and river lover.....perfect place for peace and quiet....raised my kids up there in the splendor........kids gone now so we can share with others

jim-melanie purchased this house in 1985

something for my family to enjoy .....for life times....very unique and special

clear clean river,waterfalls,fishing,big timber and a bueatiful house make of all native trees in the area....and more....off the grid

7 Reviews of Property 208209 in Crescent City, California

Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
5

Absolutely loved this place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 0470
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I spent a few days here to get away from it all...this place is perfect for just such a retreat. No road noise, no rowdy neighbors, no city smog. Just the serene sound of the rushing creek below and an incredible view of it from above. The house is beautifully crafted and the wood burning stove/fireplace tops off the coziness of the whole experience.
Jim (owner) led us out to the property on the night of our arrival and made sure all of our questions were answered before taking off. Very friendly and accommodating.
I cannot recommend this place enough; I'm really looking forward to going here next time with our kids!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
4

Tranquil stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin is beautifully constructed, loved the windows, the smell of the wood used to build cabin and the sound of the river below. It is 25 mins from Jed State Park where the Big Ones are! If you want to get away from it all...this is your destination.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
5

Heather and Robert Shepard

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time at your cabin. It was beautiful, relaxing, and just what the family needed. The river got a lot of use during the week. Thanks for everything. We hope to be back again sometime.

Heather and Robert Shepard
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
5

We had an awesome time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My Dad and I spent several days at Jim's River Retreat and we had an awesome time! Being tucked in the woods with the Smith River and the two waterfalls just out the door provided a soothing escape for us. There are rapids located in front of the cabin and you can always hear the sound of the river rumbling over the rocks, it lulls you to sleep very nicely.

We used the wood stove every evening and thoroughly enjoyed our first off the grid living experience!

If you want to escape from the crowds and enjoy the wilderness while still having the comforts of home this is the place!

We'll definitely be back!

Gary Hancq
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
5

Surpassed Our Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Jim,

Just wanted to let you know we thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations and stay on the Smith River. We prepared all of our evening meals there at the cabin. The visit to the river was worth the climb back up.

Everything was top notch. Pleasantly and Enjoyably, the word burning stove got plenty of use.

It is plain to see that you put considerable thought into making your guest's stay a very enjoyable experience. We wanted for Nothing. You were a Great Host.

Again -- A very pleasurable and enjoyable time in your secluded spot on the planet. Highly Recommended.

Extending our Thanks and Appreciation,

Gary and Gary
Owner's Response: Thanks.Gary...come again...Jim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
5

perfect retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We spent 3 great days at this hous right in the wilderness. Perfectly equiped with everything you need. No sounds of civilization, no disturbing mobile phone or internet, just relaxing. Beautiful view to the river, great places for swimming close by. Jim, the owner really tekes care of his guests. Thanks a lot once more to you!
We will come back!
Daniel
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Daniel...very nice to have your family visiting my special spot on the planet....Jim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 story house on Smith River- Private Beach, Trails,& More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p208209
+1 7072180463
Crescent City North Coast California
Eugene, Oregon
5

Great, secluded cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Beautiful surroundings! The curly redwood paneling in the house is so beautiful. We had a group of 8 and it slept everyone comfortably. It was a bit farther from town then we had originally thought, but once we were out there it was fantastic. Very close to Stout Grove redwoods.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Erika...hope to see you and the crew again.....Jim
Helpful votes: 1/1