Kohala Ranch house rental - Stunning Architecture - Private Salt Water Pool & Fresh Water Spa.
Stunning Architecture - Private Salt Water Pool & Fresh Water Spa.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kohala Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy the 180 degree, unobstructed, ocean views from Maui to Kona in front of you and Mauna Kea behind you. You can watch the sunset from the completely private heated salt water pool or spa or almost any room in the house!

Kohala Ranch offers the security of staying in a gated community and the privacy offered by large lots. At the same time, it provides convenient access to the resort and coastline areas where you'll find beaches, water sports, golf, tennis, shopping, and fine restaurants. It's also close to Waimea, where you can find grocery stores, other necessities, and great restaurants. Purchase fresh fish from the fish house across from Kawaihae Marina and grill up at home or dine at the 4 or 5 casual and delicious restaurants in Kawaihae just below the ranch.

The house is located on more than three acres of ranch land, with cattle roaming the meadows and horses running free in the hills. I'm sure you'll enjoy the subtropical climate, home to many native Hawaiian plants and wildlife. The house is located in the Meadows, where the steady temperature and lower humidity eliminate the need for air conditioning.

A pair of deeply carved Balinese doors greets you. You open them to the panoramic view through the open plan living room and across the pool and jacuzzi to the ocean beyond. You can settle back into silk pillows on the built-in couch while you enjoy the view from the great room. Be inspired by the ocean as you play our Kawai Grand Piano or move outside to the lanai and relax on the patio furniture while you watch the sunset over the water. A teak table and chairs are on the lanai next to the outdoor barbecue, convenient for outdoor dining while you watch the sky change from rose to deep blue and the stars come out. The area surrounding the house is beautifully landscaped and you will be greeted by hundreds of small colorful birds in our front yard trees.

The home is ideal for one or two couples. There are 2 huge master bedrooms (24x20 - that's big!) located at opposite ends of the house for privacy. An enclosed den with a queen sleeper is available. Both bedrooms have king size beds and ocean views. You can enjoy the view through expansive windows, or watch television or DVDs. There is a DVR to record those important games! There are many books on the bedroom bookshelves, including several guidebooks to the Big Island. Bring your iPod and dock on the stereo system.

Extensive use of natural materials throughout includes distinctive marble and African Mahogany. The private lanai is finished in travertine, as are many of the floors inside the house. Three televisions are available. All are on cable. The whole house is a 'hot spot' for Internet use. The den is well stocked in case you have to do a little work from home. If you are a coffee lover no need to run to Starbucks! There is an espresso machine so bring some beans! Otherwise a grinder and drip coffee maker provided. The kitchen has the best full-size appliances and a built in TV screen. It also features granite counter tops, double convection oven, microwave, rice cooker and a variety of spices and well stocked pantry for your use.

The house includes high quality cotton linens, bath towels, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, boogie boards, pool floats, and snorkeling equipment for your use. Hairdryers are provided for each of the bedroom suites along with a curling iron. Washer Dryer with soap provided. The master bath features an inlaid marble floor, jacuzzi tub, large shower with multiple jets, and double sinks. The roomy second bath also has double sinks and a large shower. There is a third bathroom with shower for extra guests and an outdoor shower to bathe in the sun!

This house is eco-friendly stocked with 7th Generation fragrance free products - all dish, bar, and laundry soap provided fragrance free. We ask that our guests similarly avoid perfume to enjoy the natural scents of the island.

We hope you'll be one of those who have a chance to enjoy this house.

Mahalo

Keywords: Heated Salt Water Pool, Spa,

Kawai Grand Piano

2 Master Suites

Eco Friendly, Fragrance Free,

Bird Watcher,

Espresso Machine

Ocean Views From Every Room

More Details
Hide Details

Susan & Tony purchased the house in 2011 to begin their journey towards their next permanent residence. After many visits to all the islands we knew the Big Island was the place for us. Activities abound and the diversity of the Island offers endless opportunities for exploration. We love to snorkel and have found the beaches on the north end of the Big Island to be the most beautiful in all of Hawaii with the best coral and variety of fish. We continue to find secret coves all over the North Kohala coast for easy snorkel access.

Our house on Kohala Ranch had us at 'Hello'! The drive up to the house was amazing - watching the terrain changes, experiencing living on open range with cattle, horses, the occasional pig or turkey on the road and every drive up or down the exciting hill with new views and wildlife. We talked to folks who have lived there for years and they impressed us that it never loses its thrill.

The mild elevation gives way to exciting views from Maui to Kona and allows for the perfect climate requiring neither heat nor air conditioning year round. There is a seamless passage of outside to in.

The house immediately opens the doors to warm memories laughter and love. Since we are a few years from retirement we are renting it out and hope others will experience what we have found: a place to restore your spirits, ease your mind and delight your heart.

Susan Scanlan purchased this house in 2011

21 Reviews of Property 207907 in Kohala Ranch, Hawaii

Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
5

Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
It was a beautiful house. We had a very relaxed time over there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
oceanside, CA
4

Beautiful North Kohaha vacation home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is a beautiful and very well-maintained home. It has two master suites with ocean views and king size beds, providing a perfect rental for 2 couples. (No drawing straws over the big bedroom!) The location is a very good starting point for adventures in all directions and the beaches are gorgeous. While we would recommend this home, there are a few issues that could easily turn this "4" rating to a "5". 1. Provide very detailed step-by-step directions starting at the airport. Some of your guests have never been to the Big Island and are not familiar w/ highways especially some that have multiple names all of which are very confusing especially at night! We got very lost in the dark and called the caretaker George (who was not so good and was also not available), so we had to call the owner to "talk us" to the house. Our friends traveling with from the east coast had the same problem and we had to help them find the home too. Frustrating after a very long day traveling. A light on the front gate house number would help. 2. Due to all of the beautiful landscaping and windy conditions the pool is never clean. Pool guy was just OK. We suggest a pool sweeping robot. We have one and it works great! Our pool is always pristine and inviting. 3. A list of restaurants with phone numbers would be nice. Thanks for working to keep your home so inviting. Aloha
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
Tucson AZ
4

Kohala - Mango Sunsets

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home certainly deserves it's name. Set on a hillside above the Pacific we had beautiful sunsets each night some with just a hint of a "Green Flash". The house is ideally set up for two couples with king suites so we each had our privacy. Not too far from pleasant restaurants in Kawaihai the house also allowed us to self cater well and enjoy the evenings and the sunsets. From all we saw in our visit this is one of the best places to enjoy a stay on the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
Brownstown, Indiana
5

40th Anniversary Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This VRBO was everything it was advertised to be. The photos reflect the property as it really looks. All we can say is, WOW! It is a beautiful home that is well kept and very clean. We had a couple of conversations by phone and a few e-mails with Susan before our travels and she was very helpful with answering our questions. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and sharing the home with another couple. Having the two master suites afforded us privacy when we wanted it. We would recommend having dinner at The Bamboo Restaurant in Hawi sometime during your stay. Gary, the pool guy told us about a little beach area called Maume that was a delightful surprise.It is accessed through the Mauna Kea Resort. Our husbands went snorkeling there and swam with sea turtles. Obviously there is a lot to do on the Big Island. We went to a Luau, visited Volcano National Park, did the Atlantis Adventure submarine ride, golfed, and shopped. The part we enjoyed most was going back to our beautiful ranch and relaxing. The stars are amazing..be sure and check them out around 10;00.
Mahalo Susan, for sharing this piece of paradise with us.
The Hoosiers
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
5

The Perfect Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Mango Sunsets was the perfect honeymoon spot! We Spent most of our time there relaxing by the pool during the day, enjoying the sunset in the evening and stargazing from the jacuzzi at night. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and relaxing vacation! We highly recommend it!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
Los Angeles, Ca
5

Blissfully Relaxing Mango Sunsets!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family (from ages 7 months, 23-27, and 50-55 yrs) travelled to the Big Island and were blessed to stay in this beautiful, full size home located in the Kohala Ranch area. The views are truly breath taking, and on clear days you can see most of the coastline all the way down to Waikoloa. The location is centrally located for travelling anywhere on the island, and just far off the beaten path that you do not feel completely swamped by traffic or tourists. Mauna Kea, Hapuna, and A-Bay beaches are within a 20 minute drive of the house. Grocery stores are also within a 20 minute drive to Waimea, and a small market is located 5 minutes away for last minute items. Quite possibly THE BEST FISH MARKET ("Da Fish House") is also located 5 minutes away and literally fillets fresh fish caught that day off the Hawaiian coastline. Ahi, Mahi Mahi, Ono; you name it they have it! All that is needed is a quality grill - which the owner has in the backyard! Prices are very reasonable and kept my family returning almost every day.

As far as the home - absolute immaculate! Probably the cleanest vacation rental my family has ever stayed in. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you can imagine, including a coffee pot and espresso machine. The floors were clean and laundry room fully equipped in the garage. Large beach towels and beach toys were available and in good condition.

This particular vacation marked the first trip our family made with my infant son who is not yet walking. Susan (the owner) truly went above and beyond to accomodate us - even up to providing a Pack N' Play for our convenience. E-mail communication was quick with the owner, and the property manager (George) on site was a very kind man and weath of local knowledge.

Without a doubt my family plans on returning to Mango Sunsets. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a quiet and peaceful get away from the hustle of the big city. I know other reviews mention winds, but we did not mind them at all. During the time we stayed, the winds were strong in the evening hours but did not affect the rooms in the house and in fact kept the interior very cool and cozy. We were able to swim in the pool and enjoy the jacuzzi during the day time and afternoon without problem.

Aloha and a big thank you to the owners for allowing us to stay! This house transformed our vacation from normal to extroadinary, and provided us with memories that will truly last a lifetime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
Grand Haven, MI
5

Islanders

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Mango Sunsets is a truly amazing spot! The views are incredible & the home is paradise itself - you really don't have to leave to enjoy yourself. The home is gorgeous - from the double teak wood entrance doors to the beautiful marble floors & the handsome white pillars in the living room looking out to your own pool & Jacuzzi with the incredible ocean views beyond! We photographed some amazing sunsets and rainbows.
The caretaker - George - is fantastic & very knowledgable - & always available by phone if you should need something - but you won't! Susan was a dream to work with - she sent a list of her favorite spots & tips on things to do. We are so happy we had the opportunity to stay in her beautiful
home & we hope to again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
5

Beautiful home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were fortunate to have choosen this beautiful home for our 15 day vacation on the Big Island. The sunsets were amazing. The location was perfect for us as it is near several golf courses, close to some big resorts areas which we visited often for dining, shopping and activities. We visited Alii Dr more times than I wish to admit (as it is about a 40 minute drive) for some great food, shopping and entertainment. Rosa's Cantina was a favorite as they cooked our Ono and Randell Snapper (to perfection) that we caught while fishing on our "Hooked Up" fishing adventure. We visited several secluded beaches and stood in the ocean just feet away from the Sea Turtles (amazing). The home owners suggested Capt. Zodiac snorkel which we did, which did not disappoint. :) While sitting poolside at the house we watched the whales jumping in the ocean. Very exciting! The pool and spa were great to enjoy on a relaxing day or after a long day of adventures. To sum it all up, was the perfect vacation at the perfect location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
Fulshear, TX
5

It Just Gets Better!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I wanted to write a great review, but after reading all of the other traveler reviews, they have just about covered everything!! Mango Sunsets is incredible!! The owners have made just the right improvements to make this home outstanding!! We have stayed in the home a couple of times before they bought it and the house was great.....however, with the cosmetic changes they have made, it's hard to beat!! We have just returned from spending two of the best weeks that we have ever spent in Hawaii. The beauty of the sunset from the hot tub is amazing and the tradewinds rustling through the palms makes for great sleeping. The docking station for the iPod and new chairs in the living area were great improvements. We look forward to many return visits!! I might add that this is the FIRST home we have rented that has sharp knives in the kitchen!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best View Kohala Ranch 2 Master Suites 180*Ocean Pool/Spa Grand Piano
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207907vbi
253-222-4651
Kohala Ranch Kohala Coast
Virginia
5

Beyond a Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Mango Sunsets is paradise. A beautiful home set in a world of serenity. We cannot imagine a more perfect destination for a complete break from the distractions and stresses of everyday lives. George gave us a comprehensive home tour upon arrival and left his number in case we had any further needs or questions, but we had none, and we enjoyed an entire week of uninterrupted privacy. We were struck by the absolute quiet of the place. The home is situated at the center of the ranch, a good distance from both the mountain road and the ocean highway. After enjoying the symphony of birds awakening with each morning’s sunrise, we marveled the rest of the day and evening at the silence and stillness, broken occasionally only by a gentle breeze. The crystal clear night sky revealed to us the Milky Way, a sight never possible with the interference of urban lights back home. With consistent daily highs in the low 80’s and lows in the 70’s, we kept the windows open 24/7, enjoying the pure Pacific air even as we slept. And we slept in luxurious comfort. The home itself is a treasure befitting the natural grandeur of its surroundings. Inside and out, it is a magnificent work of architecture, and the furnishings and accoutrements are exceptional. We dreamt of this vacation-for-two for many months, compiling an unrealistic collection of hopes for just this single week, and without reservation, we can say our stay at Mango Sunsets was beyond a dream come true.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway