Kingston apartment rental - The Carriage House
The Carriage House
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Kingston Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

This English Tudor carriage house has a newly renovated second story apartment containing a large open loft space suitable for a couple.

There is a beautifully furnished living room with its classic leather couch and over sized chairs invite you to just curl up with a good book and relax. The tastefully designed kitchen-dining area contain a farm table with seating for four. It is well equipped for the gourmet cook in you (or well stocked take-out menus from local restaurants.)

The comfortable bedroom area with its warm earth tones and queen sized bed, with French doors leading to a Juliette balcony compliment this space. The newly designed bathroom with tile floor and stall shower is equipped with plush white cotton towels.

Situated on a 1 acre parcel with a large Tudor home, adjacent views of a horse farm, mountain vistas and a golf course. The carriage house is located in a quiet residential neighborhood on the edge of town. Minutes from the old stockade district of Kingston. Explore its many shops, museums, restaurants, galleries, seasonal farmers market and its lively arts science.

Kingston, the first capital of New York state, offering walking tours of the historic stockade, with its many museums. The downtown strand area with its access to the Hudson River is ideal for exploring Kingston's historical past, its downtown area is a vibrant area for restaurants, cafes, galleries, boat excursions on the river or just relax and people watch.

This area is the perfect home base for exploring the surrounding area featuring, the popular Culinary Institute of America n Hyde Park, Bard College with its famous Performing Arts Center, Sunny New Paltz, Marist and Vassar Colleges.

Rich in history, Ulster County has been enchanting visitors with its picturesque beauty since Dutch explorers arrived in 1616. Bordered by the Hudson River and the renowned Catskill Mountains, Ulster County is home to Woodstock, the Artists Enclave, the Shawangunk Ridge (world famous for the best rock climbing on the East Coast). Also for the equestrians we have hits, horses in the sun, for international horse shows and events.

Keywords: Carriage House

More Details
Hide Details

Tony and I purchased Ambleside, the propertys name in 2005 and have restored it back to its full grandure. It was originally built in 1931 as a 12 acre horse farm and still has the stables with the carriage house apartment upstairs. We had to completely renovate it as it was in total despair and now we have a fantastic place where our guests can come for a wonderful getaway.

Angelo Bruno purchased this apartment in 2005

We were very lucky to acquire Ambleside and it truely was a labor of love to bring it back. Thankfully, almost all of the original details were in tact and being in the design business we new just what to do.

Relax, enjoy, tour the area, it is filled with things to do or stay in the loft, close the door and completely get away from it all!

34 Reviews of Property 167825 in Kingston, New York

Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
5

Great weekend retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My mom and I booked this beautiful carriage house for 3 nights to visit the NY Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck. We had the top floor unit, has a spacious open plan layout, with two beds (one in a bedroom area, and a single in the living room). The kitchen is large and has every modern convenience, including the incredibly necessary coffee maker and coffee. The carriage house is at the back of the property across the lawn from the owners' home, who greeted us warmly on Thursday and showed us around. We explored Kingston, took a riverboat cruise on the Hudson, took a short driver over the river to Rhinebeck for the festival, and visited the nearby Vanderbilt Mansion. There are great restaurants in the area--we took the short drive over to Woodstock for dinner one evening--and there are so many vegan options. The house was comfortable, modern, very clean, and close to interesting things to see and do. I would go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank yo so much for the great review. Sorry we didn't get to the wool festival but weekend company kept us on the property. I am glad you had such a great time.
Come back soon,
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
United States, NEPA
5

Impressed, they'll ask you how you found this gem...

Impressed, they'll ask you how you found this gem...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Although we weren't traveling from very far away (NEPA), I had my hopes up for a major change of scenery for the weekend. As we were driving through the neighborhood to get to the Carriage House, I was a little disappointed, thinking, "Well, this looks just like home." Upon arrival at the house though, you are whisked away. The stunning property sits at the end of a dead-end road and is nestled among well maintained yards and beautiful old trees.

We were greeted by Angelo, who was keen to our arrival time. He is welcoming, energetic, and interesting to talk to. We stayed in the loft apartment, which is on the second floor of the Carriage House. It is bright, airy, and artfully and comfortably appointed. Full kitchen, nice dining table, big leather couch, space to spread out!

We were particularly drawn to the privacy of this rental. You are removed from the main house, and are the only guests on the property. This scenario is fairly one-of-a-kind, in my considerable experience. The only drawback for me was that the bed was hard. Rest was not particularly restful. However, we are accustomed to a soft king bed.

If you're planning a weekend away with someone, they will be impressed by your "find" of this property. We look forward to using it as our home base next time we go exploring the Hudson Valley. Thank you, Angelo!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
Lafayette, LA
5

A Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We thought the loft was amazing! Full of charm, it was filled with light and beautifully decorated. The thoughtful use of space makes it feel much larger the photos portray, and the loft was a quiet, relaxing place to come “home” to after a day of visiting family and taking in the sights of the surrounding area. Thanks, Angelo, for the tour and for sharing this unique structure’s history with us. We would love to stay at the carriage house again on our next trip to the Hudson Valley.
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
5

OUR FIRST HOME AWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The loft apartment being our first home away experience was wonderful! This quiet location is just beautiful and very calming but still very convenient. Angelo's keen insight on design and decor makes the carriage house feel very special. It is so clean and inviting that you immediately feel comfortable. The bowl of NY state apples on the table were YUMMY! Thank you so much for all you did to make our stay here feel so special. We enjoyed the Hudson Valley area, especially our bike ride over the Hudson River and hope to return again soon.
Mike and Terry
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It was a pleasure meeting you both, sorry the weather wasn't better, maybe next time,
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
Brooklyn, New York
5

Wonderful, relaxing weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and i had loved the house. So quaint and quiet. Angelo was a fantastic host. Very close to the historic Uptown Stockade. Would certainly recommend and stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thanks Jason and congragulations on your wedding. It was great that you celebrated it here.
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
5

Idyllic spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This carriage house is everything a "homeaway" should be: spotless, very comfortably furnished with a queen bed and an extra single, quiet, on a beautiful property overlooking a horse farm with the Catskill mountains in the distance. Host Angelo has thought of everything. He even had ground coffee and organic milk in the fridge. The location in the Hudson valley can't be beat. There are more fine restaurants within 10 square miles than you can possibly enjoy in a week. We shall return!
Owner's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you. It was a pleasure having you here.
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
Savannah, GA
5

Lovely carriage House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Had a terrific stay. Drank my morning coffee outside on the patio area and had a lovely evening cooking and staying in. Loved it!
Owner's Response: I was glad we were able to accommodate you for the quick trip. Anytime!
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
5

Peace and Quiet with the Personal Touch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Angelo was very welcoming and provided all of the needed details that made our stay enjoyable. The unit is open and roomy with a full service kitchen, large living room area, comfortable bed and looks even better than the pictures. The carriage house is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood yet not far from all of the services in Kingston or activities in the Hudson Valey. We only stayed two nights but would definitely feel comfortable returning for a longer stay sometime in the future.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was so nice of you to write that great review. Someday soon we would like to see Halifax and just might look you up so you can show us around!
Thanks
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
Hollywood, CA
5

Designer Space in a Quiet Setting but Close to All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This place is exactly how it is pictured: Immaculate, beautifully furnished, relaxing.

There isn't much to say that hasn't already been said. The photos are a perfect representation of this place, it is actually nicer because you get to be in the space and experience all the windows (especially the large one looking out from the kitchen sink, that was a painting each and every day).

The biggest problem is the space is so pleasant you don't want to leave to explore any of the neighboring towns. We had one day we barely roused ourselves by 5pm to go out to Woodstock for dinner (Bear Creek Inn-Fabulous, worth the short trip, 20 min).

My only complaint and I have to say this to give Angelo a hard time, is that a good map of the area and places to buy food and such would be good. He insists it is easy :-), and it is once you know the area. But for foreigners like us, it took a bit to find the good store and to figure out how the streets are laid out. That is very minor, but I argued with Angelo about it, good naturedly, so I had to include it.

Thanks for a beautiful slay. My only regret is that we didn't have more time. I am figuring out when we can stay again. And I have Tony's vase you let me take on my buffet, I will send you a photo of it filled with flowers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, I know you had a great time and am sorry you found our town confusing! I will definitely make up a list of markets and directions so no one else has the same problem. You did finally get the hang of it!
Thanks again
business
Kingston Carriage House Loft Apartment
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167825vb
+ (845) 339-3907 (New York, USA)
Kingston Hudson Valley
5

the Carriage House Loft

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a beautifully renovated top floor of a carriage house on a lovely property backing up on a private horse farm. While the setting is pastoral it is within 5-8 minutes of downtown Kingston, the thruway, R & F Encaustic, and the waterfront area. It was an ideal place to come home to after a long day. It is private and includes all of the amenities the ad describes, plus a pleasant and private outdoor area. It was spotlessly clean, and decorated to provide interest and a calm, relaxed atmosphere. The owners were friendly and helpful, providing good directions when asked, and otherwise left me on my own. I would recommend this property to anyone and I plan to return when I'm in the area again.
Owner's Response: I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at the carriage house and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks for the great review!