Ketchikan house rental - Just another beautiful sunset at Coho Beach House
Just another beautiful sunset at Coho Beach House
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Ketchikan House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

There's a magical feeling when you're at Coho Beach House -- one guest referred to it as 'The Healing House.'

Seeing marine life swim right under the deck; enjoying the weather and views (rain or shine) from any room; watching the bird activity, the passing boats and sea planes all lend to the pleasures of this home away from home.

This spot is known for having the best sunset views around. And if it's stormy, just cuddle up, listen to the waves, and watch from the warmth of the house. Or, if the water is calm, there are also kayaks available for paddling around Ward Cove and the nearby Channel Islands

This is the perfect place to relax, have a little romance, or if you are looking for outdoor activities like fishing or hiking, the beach house is just a short drive from anywhere on the island.

Even though our minimum stay is 4 nights, if you see a 'window' of three nights available, please feel free to submit an inquiry.

Friends for 40 years, partners in Coho Beach House since 2004. The Odells and the Hooks dreamed of living near the water for years, and when they became owners of this property it was a dream come true. Both couples live on 'The Point' by the beach house, and are available if needed, but also respect the privacy of guests. Three are life-long Alaskans, and the fourth has been here since 1979, so this is home for us.

Maura Odell purchased this house in 2004

The location of the beach house is known in the community as having the best sunsets in the area.

The beach house was built in the late '40's or early '50's and had been well used and loved by many, but it was in dire need of repair.

We considered demolishing it, but instead rebuilt it from the pilings to the roof. The interior layout remains the same, but it's much more comfortable now.

It was truly a labor of love, and we love to share its charm with our guests.

Outstanding wildlife viewing at your door. Watch the tide come and go; seals, sea lions, and the occasional whales swim by; and eagles in flight from the windows and deck at Coho Beach House.

The stairs to the beach offer easy access for tide pool exploring, and there are two kayaks available for paddling around Ward Cove and the nearby Channel Islands.

36 Reviews of Property 151440 in Ketchikan, Alaska

Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 36 reviews
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
North Carolina
5

Vacation Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
What a wonderful cabin! We really enjoyed our vacation there. We got a chance to see and film a couple of killer whales coming through and the bald eagles woke us up on more than one occasion in the mornings. Couldn't have asked for a finer wake up call!!
This was our first visit to Alaska and we hope to return. Thanks for letting us stay in your sweet cabin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/13
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
Washington CT USA
5

The house was everything advertised plus more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was fully equipped. The views spectacular.The owners terrific.
Lots to do Fish trips,seaplane rides,helicopter rides,zip lines,
Plenty of restaurants.We would do it again without hesitation.
We'd recommend to friends and family
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
5

AWESOME, peaceful, relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Sitting on the deck enjoying coffee each morning with the eagles overhead and the cruise ships quietly sailing by was priceless. You need to rent a car to stay at this property. It is about 10 minutes from town, but a whole other world of relaxation. We thoroughly enjoyed traveling north to Ward Lake and the wonderful beaches and parks at the road's end.
A few thoughts:
-Though the property is set back from the road, I was concerned about noise because it's on the main road. Noise was not a problem for us at all.
- The house was well-appointed with many extras - bug spray, fishing poles, lures,other fishing items, suntan lotion, laundry detergent, etc., so check the cabinets before shopping.
- The main road is busy and does not seem like a safe place for your daily runs or walks. I am a runner and drove 5 minutes north to the trails at Ward Lake to run each morning.
- The house is beautiful and you cannot beat the deck! Eagles right over your head and otters at your feet. It felt private and serene.
- The beds were very comfortable and the views from the bedrooms are amazing.
- The heat worked very well on chilly nights!!!
- Loved having the washer and dryer, which both worked very well.

This property was the best we've ever rented and we will return.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We want our guests to share any issues or concerns about the beach house, and I had wondered about the road noise myself, so it's nice to know it's not a problem. During the remodel, which was extensive, we also insulated all of the interior walls for extra sound proofing. Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit! Maura
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
Australia
5

Stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We (2 couples from Australia) spent 4 nights at Coho Beach House and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We found the owners were extremely helpful from our first contact with them via email, to our departure. The house was located out of the busy area of Ketchikan, was well set up for us to be able to cook for ourselves and included some everyday grocery items in the cupboards. The house was surrounded by a deck that was well used during our time there and we witnessed stunning sunsets over the 4 nights. The photos on the site are very accurate. Thank you for allowing us to unwind and relax after 2 busy weeks cruising on a small boat on the Inside Passage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
Chandler Az
5

Coho Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
If you are looking at this property..grab those dates that you want! You will not be sorry! Our week there was incredible. It probably is the best vacation ever! We went crabbing, charter fishing, ziplining, went on a float plane, a boat excursion to Misty Fjords and the came home each day to the beach house that felt like home. We spent plenty of time at the house besides those daily outings. The sunsets were beautiful and we enjoyed the daily viewing of the cruise ships and float planes. The house is spotless and the best stocked rental we have ever seen.
Like I said grab those dates..you won't regret it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
McHenry, IL
5

What a way to relax!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Not sure where to start!! Views amazing, watching float planes land and take off, cruise ships go by, the deck was beautiful to sit outside when weather permitted, and could keep our eyes on the men when they were out fishing. Grabbed a handful of berries each time left or returned from the house. Close to Ward Cove and town, but felt like we were in our own world when inside. Easy to cook meals in, everything we needed was there. Comfy beds and bedrooms, nice and open to have family over. Awesome to have kayaks to use. Great hosts/owners. Bathroom was really nice, and big, too. So convenient to be able to do laundry as well. Wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else next time we come! We got spoiled!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa! We'd love to see you again when you come back! Sorry we missed "da beef"!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
Lumberton, Tx
5

The scenic view is absolutely stunning!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house and property makes you think why didn’t I come up with this as a way to make a living. We got some great pictures of seals, eagles and the beautiful sunset as we paddled the kayaks around the cove and planning on display them in our home to remind us of a simpler life. I definitely recommending the Coho Beach House to my family, friends and to whom reads this review as the place to stay during your next trip to Ketchikan.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
5

breathtaking/ last name stoll

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
please find me land where i can build a similar house. the infinity like view from living room out onto the ocean was fabulous. air was fresh, landownders were friendly. i would love to go again and will soon. if i do will will you offer me a discount! house was clean, awesome to walk the beach (wear boots), i missed fishing and kayaking but the plane ride was worth the time and money. saw black bears and salmon and mountain goats. thank you for the hospitality and please allow me to come back when im free.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
Pagosa Springs, CO US
5

Fantastic views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our group of 7, including 4 adults and 3 children, really enjoyed the COHO Beach House. The owners were so accommodating and it was apparent upon our arrival that the Beach House was clean and well maintained. They lined up a pack n play and even brought movies and books for the kids. We enjoyed walking the beach, looking for sea shells, and watching the cruise ships, planes and float planes. The views from this house are absolutely beautiful and even the rain didn't hamper our enthusiasm for everything we could see from the expansive windows. The proximity to town was also a plus. We would be happy to return to this great place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Beach House/Stunning Views - Coho Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151440vb
+ 907-247-2324
Ketchikan Alaska
Naples FL
5

Great choice...we were not disappointed!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Four friends spent five nights in this very comfortable cottage that was just as described. We could not have been happier with what we found: clean, nicely decorated, spacious, and a wonderful deck for beautiful sunsets and cocktail hour, not to mention fishing! Watched cruise ships and other boats on a daily basis as they passed by. Seaplanes fascinated us as well. Owners were gracious and helpful. Our last night there, they gifted us with fresh, warm, smoked salmon for our appetizers! We also appreciated the binder in the living room with lots of local information. This property is located about 10 minutes from the main part of Ketchikan and our "Alaska Car Rental" took us on our daily outings! Thanks so much...we would stay there again in a nonosecond!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1