Northside condo rental - The magnificent sunsets are very real, and beautiful
The magnificent sunsets are very real, and beautiful
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Northside Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

10% discount for bookings made before Nov 9 2012, 15% discount for stays of 7nigths or +.

What is the value to you of having your own private beach - complete with deck, chairs, and shower, where you can catch the sun, with or without your suit? This is it: a private sandy beach on one of the most beautiful sandy bays anywhere. It is a quiet place, a place undisturbed and surrounded on both sides by rocks, trees and flowers.

Magen's Bay, with its famous mile wide beach, is one of the treasures of the Caribbean. It is a mile wide, four mile long 'U' shaped bodies of water, stretching northwest to the Atlantic Ocean, Because of high hills on three sides, the Bay is protected and very calm, and the wind blows out the Bay, keeping the waters still and the bottom sandy.

St. Thomas is a US territory, more easily reached than any other Island in the US or British Virgin Islands. Direct flights reach the Island from every major city in the eastern half of the United States. The Beach is on the very quiet north side of the island, but the nightlife, restaurants, and shopping of the Island is just 20 minutes away by car. St. Thomas is widely regarded as having the best high end shopping of any place in the Islands.

Your 1000 sq. ft. condo unit is right above the beach, reached by a short walk down a stair war to the beach. The condo has a large living room, a good sized kitchen, and two bedrooms, one equipped with a king sized bed and the other with two twins. The unit has a 9' by 40' deck the whole length of the condo, with seating for four guests, a place to eat, barbecue, or just lounge and watch the spectacular sunsets and the lights of the houses across the Bay at night. The entire property was renovated in 2007, with new kitchens, baths, and furniture.

This condo is located as part of Villa Eau Claire, a gated private home located on Peterborg Road about a half mile from the main Beach. The owners upstairs in a one bedroom unit, but they are infrequently on Island and will provide you with privacy if they are there. The Condo has its own entrance and its own stairs down to the Beach.

The Villa is equipped with a 27K generator, providing constant power during the frequent breakdowns of power in St. Thomas. Power has been out at least several times a week for a long time and if you rental unit does not have an automatic generater, that will diminish the quality of your stay.

This condo is part of Villa Eau Claire, which has a larger and more expensive two bedroom, two bathroom, 1,400 sq ft residence that is also for rent. These two units can be rented at the same time, providing four bedroom, three bathrooms, and two kitchens. Please see listing #221807. If rented together, there is a 10 percent discount from the combined rental prices.

Keywords: Condominium, luxury, beachfront, private deck, water access, beautiful views, sand

More Details
Hide Details

Villa Eau Claire is one of three properties that Gordon and Annika Black own and rent on St. Thomas. We specialize in rehabbing the entire property, with Gordon taking responsibility for the purchase and the basic design of the rehab, and with Annika providing the furnishings and interior decoration. Annika is a European, and it shows in the taste applied to the furnishing of the property. This is the sisth property we have done together, having sold three other villas. Gordon was in his past life the founder, Chairman and CEO of Harris Interactive (HPOL). They spend about six months on St. Thomas and the rest of the time in Paris and traveling. Julia Quetel is the House Manager and John Cooper, who built the Villa, takes care of maintenance.

Gordon Black purchased this condo in 2006

Why this property? It is THE ONLY CONDO available directly on Magen Bay, with its own deck, shower, lawn chairs, and pocket beach. Villa Eau Claire is less than one half mile through the water -- a gentle sandy walk seldom above your knees -- to the main beach at Magen Bay. The views are spectacular; the sound of the waves is enticing; and the sand is wonderful. What more could anyone want? The property is gated and with good parking, and the lot is beautiful -- flowers, flowers everywhere! In addition, the villa is only five minutes away from the only 18 hole golf course on St. Thomas and very close to a couple of the best restaurants on the Island.

The condo is directly above the beach, with about 50 steps down to the deck below, and six steps to the beach itself. Also, the laundry room is directly below the deck. Although teh property is completely air-conditioned, most guests, particularly in winter, do not use the air-conditioning because they want to hear the water at night. The beach next door -- less than 100 yards away -- is the alternative lifestyle beach and the hope to nude bathing -- the only such beach on St. Thomas.

18 Reviews of Property 207564 in Northside, Virgin Islands

Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
Boston
5

Mageans Bay Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at this fabulous villa for 5 nights for a girl's getaway. We cannot say enough about our accommodations and the area. We rented a car, purchased food, and for the most part stayed right at "home" all week. The beach was easily accessible via staircase and we loved the fact that we had to climb those stairs in between rum punches. . . . . .We will definitely come back. . .hopefully by xmas. . . and will plan to ALWAYS stay there! We would highly recommend "the North Side Bistro" for dinner. . . truly and excellent dining experience with wonderful jazz nightly. We would also suggest Pesce and the Cellar in Red Hook for dinner as well. . .Wonderful Trip, . . . just as advertised. Julia the house assistant was very helpful as well. . . especially waiting for us as out flight was over an hour late. . . . This is a must place to stay. . ...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
5

Even better than expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family just returned from a week long stay and wanted to make sure to let everyone know that this property was even nicer than we anticipated. The property felt very secure, private, clean, and had excellent private beach access. Our teenage kids really enjoyed not having to drive to the beach every day and we were able relax so much easier without the worry of where to go every day. The master bedroom, with its huge king sized bed, was very peaceful at night with the sound of the waves and had a great view of the bay from the bed during the day. There is some shade on the deck by the private beach which made it a nice spot for reading. There was a great coffee/sandwich shop near by at the Magen's bay resort and we also had a nice meal at the golf club near by. I would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
5

Better than advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This place is the best kept secret on St Thomas, has a great private beach and deck just down the steps from the unit, and as mentioned in the ad, you can walk for miles in Magen's Bay in either direction in Hip-deep or less water exploring several other small beaches along the way. Calm water with smooth transition to deep. Bring your snorkel equipment so that you can enjoy swimming with the green turtles, and enjoy the show that the gulls and pelicans give daily on diving for fish! Condo is clean, great beds, TV's.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
-
5

A Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a very beautiful two bedroom villa with a large living area and porch, just steps down its own stairway to a private beach. It's attached to two (I think) other villas operated by the same owners. All are very pretty, and well-kept. We had small boys, who loved the clear water and perfect sandy bottom of Magen's bay. The actual Magen's bay beach is a ten minute swim (maybe 1/4 mile), which provides great privacy. There was another couple in one of the other villas, but we hardly noticed each other, as there is plenty of space and separation. I do not believe there is any other villa in this area with such perfect private access to the water. Annika was a pleasure to deal with, and the caretaker Julia was very pleasant, and completely helpful to our entire family. This was an A-plus, 4 star experience for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
Quebec/Canada
5

Fabulous place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place is a piece of heaven. St-Thomas is a busy island and this beautiful villa is in on one of the quiet peninsula. It is completely surrounded by green space so perfectly secluded. It has good security which was important to us having two smaller children.
The villa is spacious and well appointed but the best part is the deck. It has the most amazing views and you feel like your right on top of the ocean when you watch the sun set. We visited both St-John and St-Thomas during our stay and we did not see any other place that was so close to the ocean and yet private.
Having a small private beach was perfect for us. We could snorkel directly off the beach and even swim with the turtles. My 8 years old could see the sea Turtle right off the deck and ask to go swim with them. There were always 2 or 3 at swimming distance and they are not scared so you could snorkel with them.
We have done a lot of travelling and stayed many times at resorts and villa resorts but this was better! Private and magical.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
New Orleans, LA
5

Our best VRBO experience yet!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Pros:
1) The property manager met us at the airport, took us to get groceries, and then escorted us to the property.
2) The villa is high quality in every aspect, from appliances to bedding.
3) The porch overlooking the bay is great for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at night.
4) Magen's bay is pretty central on the island. We drove all over and pretty much got anywhere in 10 minutes.
5) The actual one mile long beach is only a 1 minute drive away.
6) If you don't feel like driving, there's a small beach to keep you occupied directly on the property.

Cons:
1) This place has no cons. But if you are looking for a place that is steps from a main beach, this isn't it. In fairness, you can't get that kind of access in anyplace on Magen's bay. If you want direct beach access to a main beach, you'll need to look at a different bay.

My wife and I are very excited about returning to this property one day soon.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
Fort Worth, Texas
5

Summer 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent 10 weeks (Jun 10 - Aug 18, 2012) in the Eau Claire and had the time of our lives. The place was clean, very comfortable and better than we expected. Julia was great and took care of any problems immediately. We got up each moring, had breakfast and then walked down the two dozen steps to the beach. Magen's Bay was wonderful. The snorkeling was great. We saw tons of fish,
including flounders, rays, parrot fish, and also several turtles. Next time we come to St. Thomas, we will definitely rent this condo again. Thanks Gordon and Annika for a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
Parker, TX
5

It is as good as it looks! Everything is as the promotional material says it is!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A fantastic place for a vacation. We stayed at the 'middle' size condo at Villa Eau Claire, there is one larger unit and one smaller unit. Pick the one that fits your purpose, we only had two people but selected the mid size unit because it had a lot of glass doors facing the water. All units have their own nice balcony, the pictures and descriptions do not do it justice. You just have to be there to experience how nice it is. You can sit on your balcony in the breeze and hear the water lapping on the beach....or walk down and sit with your feet in the water and just relax.

We saw several large iguana's sunning themselves in the palm trees as well as sea turtles in the bay, and as many pelicans diving for fish as you can count. The pelicans cruise by the balcony all the time, it is really neat to watch them soar. The private beach is just as nice as it looks...and just a short couple of steps from the beach you can see tropical fish wandering around the rocks and coral....really a nice thing to watch the wildlife in their natural habitat. Plus...you can take a shower with fresh water on the deck before going back up to your condo.

We were there from Thursday night to the following Tuesday morning, and don't worry about driving at night on the wrong side of the road when you get there. Julia, the nice lady who is the 'on island' owner representative will personally meet you at the plane and show you the way to the condo.

We found that the cruise boats generally arrive Monday through Wednesday...that means that if you stay over a weekend you get the island to yourself plus the few folks who flew in with you. We toured the island with our rent a car and had lots of space. Many of the shops are closed then, but you can just drop by for shopping when the boats arrive.

We gladly recommend this unit to our friends.....there is Coral World on St. Thomas and of course you can take your rent a car on the car barge to St. John's island (make sure your rental company allows it) and snorkel or just tour the national park there. A great place......
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
California
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife and I stayed at Villa Eau Claire as part of a friend's destination wedding. It turned out that our friend's wedding was right up the hill from the apartment which worked out perfectly. The apartment was immaculate and exactly as advertised -- a nice deck to sit on in the morning, great beach access for swimming right out in front, secluded from all the tourists and cruise ships and fully equipped to do as much (or as little cooking) as we wanted. There were huge iguanas hanging out in the trees off of the deck that we photographed a lot.

The entire process was great--from the greeting at the airport to the departure and all of our questions were answered along the way by one of the many people that Gordon and Annika have available to you when you rent this place.

We couldn't have asked for a better setting for our week in the Caribbean.

Thanks Gordon and Annika!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront 2 BED/1BATH condo - Private Beach on Magen's Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207564vb
+1 340-344-5355
Northside St. Thomas
Colorado
5

Beautiful, private beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I travel to USVI every other month, and Eau Clair has become my home away from home. It's a beautiful property, and Julia (the housekeeper) is wonderful. My favorite part is the private beach and patio. Nothing ends a long day better than a jump in Magen's Bay and drink on the patio. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We do the best we can with the description and pictures, and by a constant attention to keep the property in good shape, but we cannot do the water or the views they justice they deserve. So, thanks to you for doing it.

Gordon