Lubec cottage rental - Be the First to See the Sunrise!
Be the First to See the Sunrise!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Lubec Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Balcony, Fire Pit, Shoreside Sitting Area, Sleeps 4

Lubec Bay Cottage is a classic Maine seaside cottage with fabulous bay views, surrounded by 3 oceanfront acres of bird-friendly organic gardens and lush wildflower meadows in a peaceful, rural setting. Stroll down our Boardwalk to our private shoreside sitting area with fire pit/grill, which is adjacent to the renowned Sand Bar birding marshes.This enchanting cottage is situated in a breathtaking setting with spectacular sunrises and is beautifully furnished with fine antiques and coastal decor; a picture-book Downeast cottage that has kept its original character and charm, while having all the comforts to make you feel at home. Our expansive deck is a wonderful space for grilling, dining, relaxing around the outdoor fireplace, and taking in the view. Close enough for walking to South Lubec beach, our Cottage is less than 2 miles from West Quoddy State Park with Lighthouse and 4 miles from town and Campobello Island with its Roosevelt Park.

Because our cottage is a Maine DEP-certified Environmental Leader implementing environmentally-friendly practices, you will feel safe during your stay. You can freely enjoy our gardens, lawn areas and meadow because they are organically maintained, and you won't have to worry about harsh chemicals because housekeeping only uses GREEN cleaning products.

Along with having an extraordinary cottage with beautiful surroundings we provide special touches that you will only find at Lubec Bay Cottage! Our cottage doesn't feel like a vacation rental - you will feel at home, like family.

We are very pet-friendly! Your pets will love it here. On the property, we have a lovely meadow and lawn area; are adjacent to the sand bar marshes;and are close to the expansive South Lubec beaches. We also supply pet food bowls. Not far away are numerous hiking trails for you and your pet to explore.

Lubec Bay Cottage is a special place you'll look forward to returning to after a day of adventure!

Romantic Getaway:

Lubec Bay Cottage is wonderful for honeymooners or for those celebrating an anniversary, birthday, or searching for a romantic getaway. In the morning, awake to a beautiful sunrise over the bay and sip your morning coffee or tea while relaxing on the balcony. While enjoying your lunch on the deck, watch the bald eagles flying over the bay. In the evenings, enjoy a fire either at the fireplace on the deck or at the shoreside fire pit; listen to the relaxing sounds of a fog horn; enjoy a romantic slow dance to your favorite song under the brilliant night sky. For indoor leisure time, play a game on the small-scale vintage tabletop pool table or choose one of the several popular board games; warm up to the fireplace while watching a movie chosen from our DVD library; read from our library of sea-themed and Maine-authored books. All this without leaving the property!

Artist's Dream:

You don't have to be an artist to enjoy Lubec Bay Cottage! But if you would like to bring your paints, brushes, and canvases for painting while on vacation there is a working studio for your use on the property. The situation is intended to complement the comfortable surroundings with an atmosphere of creativity. The Studio is an early 1900's rustic workshop that has been converted into a working studio with plenty of natural light, several work benches, a French easel with daylight lamp, drying rack, space station and cart, pack stool, designer's drafting table with ergonomic adjustable chair, and print rack. The picturesqueness and natural beauty of Lubec is truly inspiring and you will enjoy the luxury of having your own working studio. We only ask that the equipment not be used for children's play.

Birding Paradise:

Lubec Bay Cottage looks out onto the South Lubec Sand Flats, debatably one of the top ten places to bird in Maine. Migratory shorebird abundance and diversity is among the highest along the eastern U.S. coast. Whether you observe from the deck, the balcony or the shoreside observation area, you won't be disappointed. You may also access the Sand Flats from the property. A number of shorebirds have been spotted including the Short-billed Dowitcher, Black-bellied Plover, White-rumped Sandpiper, Bairds, Least Sandpiper, Dunlin, Semipalmated Plover, and Lesser Yellowlegs. The cottage is a short drive to other Downeast birding locations including Quoddy Head State Park overlooking the Grand Manan Channel, Carrying Place Cove Bog, Boot Head Preserve (notorious for its Spruce Grouse), and Campobello Island. For your use, we keep a copy of an excellent Maine birding resource, 'Maine Birding Trail' in our library.

Writer's Retreat:

Lubec Bay Cottage is extremely comfortable and so peaceful. It encourages inspiration in abundance. This classic, cozy cottage with its surroundings stimulates creativity, feeds your imagination and allows you to concentrate without distraction. It is a wonderful writer's retreat.

Lubec isn't another Bar Harbor or Acadia National Park - it offers all the beauty and adventure of those areas, but without the crowds!

More Details
Hide Details

Taking care of my Lubec cottage and guests and spending time in my gardens are my passions. Many of my guests return year after year because they miss Lubec, love the cottage, and trust that their time here will be as wonderful as it was during their previous stay. If you are considering a Lubec vacation, I'm certain that you would enjoy a stay at Lubec Bay Cottage.

Catherine Mettey purchased this cottage in 2008

Lubec reminds me of coastal Maine when I was a child - simple and carefree with beautiful scenery, plenty of things to explore, mouthwatering seafood, and friendly people. I have always had a picture in my mind of what my perfect Maine seaside cottage would look like - Lubec Bay Cottage is my dream that has become a reality.

I provide many special touches in hopes that you will feel right at home and have what you need to make your vacation wonderful. I want to make sure it's right for you. If you are celebrating an anniversary, birthday, or holiday during your stay please let me help with planning your special occasion! I look forward to hearing from you!

37 Reviews of Property 207410 in Lubec, Maine

Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
average rating of 4.9 based on 37 reviews
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

All the comforts of home and then some!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our second stay and my advice is to book quickly as the season books up fast. The kitchen has all the amenities one could require and then some. Each year the owner adds more and/or renovates to make it more welcoming and cozy. She thoughtfully provides extras such as a canvas tote with coffee, soap, candle, maple syrup and more and a delivery of produce and bread from a local farm. There is a TV for playing movies but no internet but the public library downtown has WiFi. We enjoy beachcombing, golfing, walking the trails in the area. There is a "Thunder Hole" similar to the one at Acadia out near the lighthouse (West Quoddy). Concerts in the summer and a music festival on Campobello are other activities one might enjoy.
Don't get left out, book now and you won't regret it!
Owner's Response: Hello Marcia and Dennis,
Yes, coming to Lubec and staying at my cottage is like stepping back in time. My guests enjoy spending quality time with each other while experiencing what Lubec has to offer. I look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Catherine
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Serenity Now!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife and I both loved the cottage and the area. It was all sublimely quiet and beautiful. Be prepared to relax and enjoy incredible sunrises and serenity! Catherine, thank you for a great week. It was just what the doctor ordered!
Ted and Brverly
Owner's Response: Hello Beverly and Ted,
Yes, it is that regenerating! Once you arrive, it doesn't take long for you to forget about the stresses of the outside world. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Sincerely, Catherine.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Even better than perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My wife is the smart one in our family. She had done plenty of research when we chose Lubec Bay Cottage, and as such we had a pretty good idea what to expect. When we got there, however, it didn't take long to realize it was even more than we hoped for.

Upon arriving, we saw it truly is a picture perfect down east cottage looking right out over the bay. Going inside we found it was just the right size, cozy and comfortable. The cottage is very nicely furnished, with everything in excellent condition and ranging from comfy to "I really really don't want to get out of this bed". My wife really wants a feather mattress now, by the way.
The view out the french doors from the dining room table is only beat by the view out the french doors from the master bedroom (and did I mention how awesomely comfortable the bed is?). I happen to enjoy cooking, and fell in love with the kitchen. It was spacious and very well appointed. I did think about stealing the stove and replacing it with something not quite as cool, but realized that wouldn't really be fair to other guests. Possibly illegal, too.
Both decks have very nice quality furniture, the upstairs cozy and the downstairs spacious. Had I read the fine print I might have known there was an outdoor fireplace and a swinging loveseat, but I didn't so it was a great surprise. The entire cottage has many thoughtful touches, so pleasant surprises were common. Seeing how great the artist studio was, for instance, made me want to take up painting. All in all the cottage is perfectly set up for a great stay.

One thing that really stood out, however, was how thoughtful Catherine is. Beyond how nice the cottage is, she had left a really nice welcome present with local goods. Included with that was an incredibly thoughtful and personal gift for our young son. So allow me to say thank you, Catherine, for sharing your cottage with us, and helping us have a most wonderful vacation.

Oh yeah, the Lubec area is charming and scenic, there is all sorts of good stuff to do, and it just has great character.
Owner's Response: Hi Katie, Brian and Grant!
I've read through your review at least three times - it makes me smile every time and reminds me of why I so enjoy sharing my cottage with my guests. Never do I want them returning home thinking that their stay was not as good as they had hoped for. So many tell me that they hated to leave and are so looking forward to their return.
That's fantastic that you had a most wonderful vacation - for me, that's what it's all about! I look forward to your return! Sincerely, Catherine
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Enchanting, Peaceful & Unplugged!

Enchanting, Peaceful & Unplugged!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had an absolutely amazing experience at Lubec Bay Cottage & can't wait to return. Every little detail was amazing from the comforts of the cottage to the amazing property & landscape. What a surprise to get a delivery of fresh local fruits/veggies as well as treats for our pups! The cottage is very well maintained with so many places to relax & unwind. Lubec is a wonderful destination with so many ways to enjoy oneself whether painting, fishing, hiking or just sitting! We loved Monica's Chocolates, The Water Street Tavern, & Jacie's Porch (Campobello), as well as Wags & Wool. Our hiking at Cutler & West Quoddy were amazing. We have already recommended the cottage to friends who are looking to travel to Lubec! Thanks, Catherine!
Owner's Response: Hi Valerie and Brandon,
I have heard stories from people who have rented elsewhere and were so disappointed - I never want that to happen to my guests! I take great pride in my cottage and gardens and want to do everything I can to amaze my guests, including some unique special touches and services. Thank you Valerie and Brandon for choosing LBC and I look forward to your return. Sincerely, Catherine.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

As perfect as it looks in the pictures!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cottage is beautiful and you can't beat the views. We had everything we needed and were very comfortable. There is plenty to do but it was just as nice to relax and enjoy the scenery. Exploring the sand bar was quite an experience! We toured the Roosevelt estate and later took the ferry to Deer Island and Eastport. We had a great experience with the house and Catherine. I Would definitely recommend Lubec Bay Cottage to anyone.
Owner's Response: Hi Julie, I'm so glad my photos show what Lubec Bay Cottage is really like - many of my guests say it's even better than the photos show. It's impossible, however for me to emulate the full experience - you need to stay at the cottage to understand why others return year after year. Yes, there are many things to do and explore in Lubec; some choose not to do much of anything. Whatever you choose, I want to make your stay comfortable and care-free. I hope we see you again in Lubec! Sincerely, Catherine.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Welcome and inviting with a fabulous deck a view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is our 4th time staying at Lubec Bay Cottage. Despite the rainy weather, the cottage was welcoming, warm and inviting. It was relaxing to watch the collection of DVDs and just read. Catherine has thought of everything- from providing dog dishes for the dogs to a delivery of fresh vegetables and bread from the local organic farm.

We went to SummerKeys and attended an interesting lecture on India at the Library.

We look forward to going back for 2 weeks next year.

Thanks Catherine.
Owner's Response: Hi Betsy & Barb,
Yes, we are very Pet-Friendly and Earth-Friendly! Our flower gardens and green areas are safe for guests with their pets because I only use organic gardening practices. I leave most of the property as meadow, which is home for so many birds and other wildlife - pets love it, too! Also I have planted trees and shrubs that produce berries - the birds love them and the birders that stay with us are amazed at the variety of birds they see!
My guests do enjoy the special touches, including the Organic produce and a gift bag full of Maine-made goodies. I provide amenities that other rentals don't think of!
I'm so glad you enjoyed your week this summer - see you next year! -Catherine
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Loved It!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We traveled to Lubec, Me. for the first time and decided to stay at Lubec Bay Cottage based on the reviews and the pictures. We were not disappointed! It was everything we had imagined and more! It is just as cozy and nice as the pictures show, and it is very clean. The sunrises viewed from the upstairs bedroom were beautiful, as was the cottage, and the property. Catherine makes every effort to make sure your stay is the best it can be, and you immediately feel right at home, or at the very least, like you are at a "friend's" house. All of the thoughtful treasures were very much appreciated and we can't thank Catherine enough for those, and for sharing her wonderful vacation home with us. The Lubec area is beautiful and lots to do and see. We hated to leave and hope we can return to Lubec and Lubec Bay Cottage soon!
Thank you for everything Catherine, it was perfect!
Owner's Response: Hi Gail and Doug,
I am so complimented that you chose to spend your 26th anniversary at my cottage and that you had an enjoyable stay. My guests find Lubec Bay Cottage to be a wonderful place for celebrating a variety of occasions - one reason is because they feel specially treated when they stay with us. I try to make each guest's stay as enjoyable as it can be. Thank you again for choosing LBC and I hope you stay with us again. Sincerely, Catherine
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
4

Lovely home away from home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This lovely cottage was a joy to come home to after a day of painting, hiking and sightseeing. It does really feel like a home. The kitchen is well-equipped, the living space is furnish with cozy and comfortable couch and chairs. The view of the sunset each morning was the icing on the cake. The property manager was on the ball and readily accessible by phone. I very much appreciated Catherine's pre-arrival materials and gracious follow-up when we returned home. The Lubec/Campobello area is bar none one of the friendliest places on the planet. The artisan chocolates at the store on Water Street in Lubec and at Monica's were superb!
Owner's Response: Hi Andi,
The at-home feeling of the cottage and Lubec is what my guests comment on time after time as one of the best things about their stay. I try to make the cottage very comfortable and welcoming so my guests never feel like strangers. And Lubec residents are so friendly they make everyone feel welcome. Thank you for choosing Lubec Bay Cottage and I look forward to your return someday. Sincerely, Catherine.
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
5

Lovely cottage, beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a wonderful few days in Lubec Bay Cottage. Our days were filled with painting the beautiful scenery around Lubec and on Campobello Island and, of course, eating seafood in local restaurants.

The cottage was even better than described with many personal touches - Catherine sent a goody bag and called to make sure everything was going well.

I'm looking forward to returning next year

Sue
Owner's Response: Hi Sue,
I'm so glad that the cottage was even better than you expected! The beautiful scenery of Lubec, the ever-changing view out our back door, and our artist studio brings our artist guests back year after year.. Thank you again for giving me one of your wonderful Lubec paintings to display in the cottage. I look forward to your return next year. Sincerely, Catherine
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Savor Coffee as you Watch the Sun Rise Over Campobello in Your Cozy Featherbed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207410
+1 2076459723
Lubec Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

So Memorable

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
It was only a brief visit to the cottage, but so memorable. My artist friends and I painted in the mist and in bright sun. I especially enjoyed painting a panoramic view from the balcony outside my bedroom of the meadow and marshy area leading to the water . I was up at 4am just to see the starry sky and wished that I could have somehow captured the sight on my camera. I did catch the sunrise from its first glimmer to the last glow. I took a dozen photos of the cottage interior while the sunrise lit its absolutely charming interior in a yellow hue.

It is a vacation filled with memories that will stay with me for a very long time. Thank you Catherine, for everything. Carol
Helpful votes: 16/16