Santa Monica house rental - Our 'Himalaya' bedroom with desk & piano (unseen) offers lovely afternoon light
Our 'Himalaya' bedroom with desk & piano (unseen) offers lovely afternoon light
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Santa Monica House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Den, 1 Bath (Sleeps up to 5)

OUR HOME: Our fully furnished and richly decorated 2-bedroom, 1 bathroom 'Beethoven's Hideaway' crowns the top of an historic California Craftsman duplex -- a 1000 square-foot treasure situated only minutes from the ocean (right down our cross street). The private private offers a distant view of the silver-blue Santa Monica Bay and Mountains -- and you can pick lemons right off our lemon tree from the deck! The apartment is filled with Italian art and has

recently been exquisitely renovated with a respect for historical detail. It features new hardwood floors, Persian carpets, new furniture and fixtures. As an optional amenity, the apartment has central air conditioning available for an additional $10/day.

The large and airy master bedroom features casement windows (morning light) and a walk-in closet, reading nook and cedar linen chest. The equally large and sunny second bedroom, which can also be used as an office, includes a writing desk facing the casement windows (afternoon light) with a view of the neighborhood, and a beautiful studio upright piano in excellent condition (ideal for musicians).

Our cozy den features a new reclining armchair and sofa that can pull out to an additional guest bed, along with a widescreen hi-def television complete with DirecTV premium channels, DVD player, and a 5-CD stereo.

French doors in the den open to a spacious outside patio deck with a distant view of the mountains and ocean. The deck overlooks a charming backyard (lit by lanterns at night) that is home to our lemon and orange treesand framed by bougainvillea, a trickling fountain and an herb garden.

Laundry facilities are in a separate backyard cabin and are shared with the downstairs tenants. Entrance to the apartment is via a private stairway off the backyard.

OUR BACKYARD: The HIdeaway overlooks our bougainvillea and beautifully green and flowering backyard gardens with Italian fountains and fruit trees (a real hit with the hummingbirds!). After a day of sightseeing you can relax on the upper deck, pick a few lemons from our tress and make our own 'secret recipe' lemonade for a delicious salute to your day. Or, rustle up dinner on our charcoal barbecue, with all supplies provided. We also offer a laundry cabina in the backyard, with washer and dryer and complementary detergent and softener.

OUR NEIGHBORHOOD: Our lovely street and neighborhood is far less congested and noisy than properties right on the beach -- and you don't have to spend 20 minutes hunting for a space to park (as you do by the beach) -- WE OFFER FREE RESERVED OFF-STREET PARKING as well as COMPLIMENTARY BIKES to ride to the ocean or explore the neighborhood and the BUS TO THE BEACH stops right at the corner -- just steps from your door!

We are just minutes from Venice and Santa Monica Beaches and the famous Venice Canals, which are directly down our street. Venice Beach is a 20 minute walk, 10 minutes by bike. Cinemas, cares, shopping and freeways all within 5 minutes. The Santa Monica Pier and Promenade is only 9 minutes by car.

More Details
Hide Details

Entertainment journalist, author and filmmaker. Harvard College graduate. Passions include film, piano, literature (Shakespeare especially), Italy and travel. Speaker of English, Italian, some French and German.

James Ulmer purchased this house in 2001

A TERRIFIC AREA where the traffic and parking is not nearly as congested and stressful as at the beach traffic yet is only minutes away from the ocean. We're also very convenient to the cafes, cinemas, boutiques and shopping of the wonderful West side. A great location in what is already a world-class 'destination location.' Lovely backyard and patio deck, too!

Complementary reserved off-street parking -- a hard commodity to find in the beach area! Complementary use of 3 bikes to ride to the beach or explore the neighborhood -- or simply take the beach bus on the corner. Peaceful and quiet backyard terra-cotta patio (with charcoal BBQ) framed by bougainvillea and fountains looking out onto our lovely backyard garden and fruit trees. Complementary high-speed (6 megabyte) internet & Wi-Fi & 42' cable TV. During your home orientation when you arrive, James can also serve as your 'virtual concierge' to help you plan your stay in LA.

60 Reviews of Property 207376 in Santa Monica, California

Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 60 reviews
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Little Gem! Best vacation apartment rental in Los Angeles!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had the best experience at this darling apartment! It is super clean and homey! Very close to Venice Beach and Santa Monica. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us the evening we arrived and we enjoyed it on the charming balcony off of the living room. The kitchen is well-stocked with everything you need to feel at home and settle in easily. It exudes charm and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The landlord couldn't have been more accommodating and made us feel so welcome. He was very patient and kind to my elderly mother and showed her where everything was and even laughed at her jokes ;)! My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! I have been remiss in not getting this review posted earlier because it was a great experience and I can't wait to go back for another visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Los Altos, CA USA
5

Cozy and charming upstairs cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We've stayed in lots of VRBOs before but this is one of our favorites--very cozy, homey and spotlessly clean. Loved having a piano and made good use of it. Enjoyed all of the owner's travel memorabilia and artwork--much nicer than staring at blank walls! Also loved the view of the garden from the balcony--made me wish I lived there year-round. Used the bikes and the washing machine--all worked beautifully. Owner was out of town, but the property manager was super nice and responsive.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
New York, NY USA
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This apartment was perfect for a stay with two small children. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The deck was lovely with orange and lemon trees and bright flowers. The apartment is exactly as described and even better--comfortable and spotlessly clean. The location was perfect to visit both Venice Beach and Santa Monica, and the neighborhood is completely safe. When we arrived, a bottle of wine and an extensive binder about the area and restaurant recommendations were waiting for us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I highly recommend the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
San Leandro, CA
5

Beautiful apartment near Venice Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you James, for renting us your lovely apartment. You made the arrangements, which were last-minute, so easy. The apartment is spotlessly clean, completely equipped with tasteful items everywhere, comfortable, and well located for a visit to Santa Monica, Venice Beach, or any area in Los Angeles. We only wish we could have spent more time there.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
James, thank you for an incredible experience on the West Coast! We were able to explore the local beach scene while still fitting in time for some sightseeing. The house was perfect for when we needed rest after a busy day. We had a great time here, thank you so much and we can't wait to come back!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Seattle, WA
5

Recharged my batteries

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I was beyond exhausted with a busy job and not being able to take vacation for 2 years with other family commitments, so took a last minute trip to the ocean for a week, but was dreading it in one way in case the Hideaway proved to be a big let down, or dirty or noisy or something. My fears evaporated when I arrived ..... just bliss! Really clean, wonderfully quiet, and very conveniently located for the beach (I cycled to either Venice Beach or Santa Monica, depending on what mood I was in, there's a different vibe at each). Also, I realized that going in the other direction, I was only a couple of miles from the main Los Angeles freeways, so driving over to Hollywood was really easy, and up to Huntington Gardens in the Valley (top class botanical gardens and amazing art collection) was only a 45 mins drive, so I spent a dreamlike day there too. I found James was such a kind and considerate host! And I am very grateful to him for helping me plan my first couple of days, because I could hardly think straight when I first arrived! A week there and I really felt my batteries got fully recharged, so I'm making it an annual destination. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

We'll Definitely Be Back!

We'll Definitely Be Back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I have stayed at this wonderful home twice before, the last time was in May for a conference in Santa Monica. While I normally I don't bother writing reviews for websites, after reading what the guest from England wrote in his 3-star review, I felt compelled to write something. I can't imagine what neighborhood this guest was talking about, but it did not sound at all like the lovely one we stayed in on Beethoven Street. My wife and I walked everywhere, mostly to our favorite restaurant, the nearby C&O Cucina, and never once did we not feel completely safe,-- many families live in the area with a park and schools and golf course nearby, along with many trendy cafes and restaurants. The Hideaway itself was immaculate and clean and, as my grandmother used to say, "you could eat off the kitchen floor." To boot, the owner also enlivened our arrival with a nicely place bottle of wine and a welcome note. We felt at home right away.This fellow should stop whining, and next time reserve a generic, corporate-owned hotel and never leave his room! Anyway, thanks for letting me put in my two cents.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Matanza Beach, IL
5

Just like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you, James!  We had a wonderful second home-y time here at the Hideaway -- we love all the art and artifacts!  They make this seem so personal (compared to sterile chain accommodations) -- so charming and warm.  The bedrooms are roomy, the kitchen is well equipped, and the dining table is a perfect gathering spot. We love this area and hope to return many times.   -- Sherry, Samantha, Nicole and Alec (Illinois and San Diego) 
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Chicago, IL
5

A Perfect Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I stayed for a week at the Hideaway on this property with my family of 4...and we absolutely loved it! It is a very comfortable size for 4-5 people, if you're only renting the top floor "Hideaway" unit (many more people can stay comfortably if you were to rent both floors). We LOVED the Hideaway. A good size kitchen for our family that does a lot of our own cooking, beautifully furnished and decorated rooms, a gorgeous little deck with table and chairs and a lovely view, a comfortable and cozy living room...just divine! The backyard was beautifully landscaped and offered a lovely place to spend a few idle hours outdoors. We found our unit clean and in order as soon as we got there and there was a thoughtful and helpful guidebook that the owner left that helped us figure out things like the internet, how things work, etc. The neighborhood is quiet and lovely and I felt very comfortable taking early morning runs by myself each morning. The property is a short walk from a big grocery store, as well as within walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants that we enjoyed while staying. The owner is a lovely man and I would definitely recommend this property to anyone. Enjoy!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Last-Minute Special on Gorgeous Craftman Home Near Beach, with View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207376
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Warwickshire England
3

Family group

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The property was very comfortable for our family group and we appreciated the opportunity to experience a home away from home. Furnishings and equipment levels were very good and clean. I was a little disappointed that we were so far from the beach and so far from Santa Monica. As they say when it comes to property the three most important things are location, location, location. I thought from the description it would be closer to the beach and Santa Monica but it was a 10 min drive to the beach and then a search for a parking space. Santa Monica was even further. It is out of the question to walk to either and the bicycles provided needed some TLC before they could be safely used.The area around the property was downbeat and felt somewhat unsafe for pedestrians. Parking at the property was difficult too. It was very tight even for an average sized car and careful reversing was necessary to get out of a tight driveway and through a gate without scraping the car and then onto a road where you have to have help to safely exit.
I must admit I expected more and left a little disappointed after our stay. I would stay right in Santa Monica next time.
Owner's Response: As Gary said in his review, "location,location location!" and we LOVE our location! We happily reside near the border of Santa Monica (about 10 blocks away) and the beach itself its just 7 minutes by car straight down our street, past the famous Venice Canals. We're in a quiet, safe and very family-friendly neighborhood -- if it were not perfectly safe and family-friendly we would hardly have folks returning two or even three times to stay with us! Happily too, we are within easy walking distance to over 15 cafes and restaurants yet not too near the traffic congestion of the beach. Our guests can simply walk a half-block to our corner and hop on the green and clean beach bus, which they love for the convenience. As for driveway parking, we can easily accommodate normal-sized cars, and we let all our guests know that if they are driving a large SUV, which Gary was, they may find it easiest to park curbside on the street as our historic Craftsman home/driveway was built years before SUVs were even invented! It's great that Gary loved the Hideaway itself but we wish that like so many of our other guests he loved our convenience and friendliness and our location, too. As another saying goes, it's impossible to please everyone!
Helpful votes: 3/8