Farmington cottage rental - Cottage is 20 feet from Sand Pond, great view from sleeping/dining porch
Cottage is 20 feet from Sand Pond, great view from sleeping/dining porch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Farmington Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Waterfront cottage on Sand Pond in the beautiful western Maine mountains, rustic but newly modernized, fridge and washer new in 2012, all other appliances and water heater new in 2008 or later, fully furnished kitchen, towels and linens provided. As a new owner in 2008 I've made it cozy and welcoming. One step up to cottage, bathroom and master bedroom on first floor, gentle slope and a few stairs to lakefront and dock make it feasible for elder guests. It is small (756 square feet) but sleeps 3-6 adults comfortably. Cathedral ceiling and new Hunter ceiling fan in living room make it feel spacious and airy. Living room with cathedral ceiling, screened in porch, and downstairs bedroom have ceiling fans; 2 upstairs bedrooms and each has a floor fan and cross-ventilation. This is a quiet (except during snowmobile season) winterized camp with a shallow (average depth 13 feet, 23 feet at its deepest point), warm, sandy pond, 40' dock with octagon, across a dead-end dirt road (and snowmobile trail, fun for mountain biking and hiking), so it may not be suitable for toddlers as other camps' residents do use the road. State certified as a Lake Smart house in August 2009, use of eco-friendly products required. Generator installed 2012.

BOATING AND FISHING: the pond is known to be full of large-mouth bass and white and yellow perch, and loons serenade each summer evening. 2-person canoe, 4-person pedal boat, 1 older kayak, 7 life vests provided. No large motorboats are present on the pond, but guests are welcome to bring a kayak, rowboat, or canoe.

PLEASURES AT THE CAMP:

This is a very rural area, not for those who want constant entertainment, but great for reading on the front porch (completely screened in during April 2009, only first two photos reflect this) overlooking the pond or on the large octagonal dock or sitting in front of the wood stove. There is also a propane heater for the colder months (year-round, insulated cottage). Fire pit and picnic table at the water's edge. Most popular activities: listening for the loons, sunset watching, swimming, boating, and hiking, berry picking, chilling in a porch rocking chair, lobster grilling, gathering with friends around the fire pit after sunset, board games. NEW FOR 2013: land line phone in cottage. Cell phone reception is good on the porch, at least for Verizon and Maine Cellular subscribers: iffy reception for ATT, TMobile, Sprint. HDTV Satellite/high speed internet/WiFi installed June 2009; tv reception cannot be guaranteed during cloudy weather.

THINGS TO ENJOY NEARBY:

You can quickly find small town life 10 miles away in Farmington and at the University of Maine, shopping, a movie theatre, summer concerts and summer theatre nearby, a couple of interesting restaurants, three independent bookstores, an ice cream stand and a summer farmer's market. 15 minutes to pick strawberries and blueberries in season and buy freshly caught lobster. Half an hour to Mt. Blue State Park, 45 minutes north to scenic Rangeley with brilliant fall foliage and dramatic mountain views (and you may see moose), skiing locally at Titcomb Mountain and it's equidistant from Saddleback, Sugarloaf, and Sunday River. Sand Pond is about 3 1/2 hours from Boston.

PRIVATE BUT NOT 'OFF THE GRID':

While you cannot see a neighboring camp, noise is amplified over water, so if someone nearby puts 20 people around their fire pit and has a party, you are going to hear it. This does not happen often, it's not a frat party area, mostly owner occupied, but absolute quiet cannot be guaranteed. Also, this is not the last camp on this dead-end road: 7 neighbors farther down the road do use it, so cars, trucks, ATVs, bicycles, people walking or running with their dogs do come right in front of the cottage.

WEEKEND RENTALS CONSIDERED DURING THE SPRING AND FALL SEASONS

Keywords: waterfront, lakefront,cottage, private, pet-friendly, 4-season, family-oriented, year-round

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a university administrator in New York City but need peace and quiet to balance that life. My great-grandfather bought a lakefront cottage in western Maine in the 1880s and I spent part of every summer of my childhood falling in love with this part of Maine and learning why generations of my family, mostly born in Jersey City, kept coming back to this very special place. Of course I brought my daughter here as a child to make sure she fell in love with it too!

Wendy Wright purchased this cottage in 2008

Sand Pond is 10 miles from a university town with some intellectual life, two good bookstores, a few good places to eat including a memorable ice-cream stand, a fresh-from-the-ocean lobster store, shopping for all the essentials, but not a mall in sight. It's too small for big noisy boats. There are only 30-odd camps on the pond and a similar number on Locke Pond right behind it off the same private road. I like the curvy country roads (in summer anyway), the warm shallow pond for swimming, the fact that I can't see or hear a neighbor but know several friendly folks are a phone call or a 2-minute drive away.

Compared to the last rental I took before buying, where a neighboring camp sounded like a remake of Animal House every weekend, this place is pristine and quiet. Loons serenade their partners every night. I like being able to build a fire in the wood stove, cook for my friends, sit on the porch with a glass of wine and a book, or on the dock with one hand in the pond. You can boat around the pond and never see another human, or wave to children on a floating dock. Most of these cottages have not been gentrified or razed and replaced by McMansions, so it feels like a step back to a saner time and simpler pleasures--board games, jigsaw puzzles provided. If this scene makes you smile like it does me, you'll enjoy a stay here.

24 Reviews of Property 207124 in Farmington, Maine

Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
5

Wonderful Setting for Fall Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Carol's cute and cozy home on Sand Pond was the ideal setting for a family reunion that included people from Louisiana, Missouri, and Massachusetts. I hope to continue renting this home for the month of October, as I have for the past several years. We never fail to have a great time. Once again, Lucky, our Husky/Shepherd also loved the Maine air, and lying in front of the wood stove. Thanks Carol.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
Rochester NY
5

Lovely week on the lake.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We just came back from a lovely, quiet week at Sand Pond. The cabin is very comfortable, the kitchen has everything ever needed. We loved paddling around the lake in both the paddle boat and canoe. My son spent hours fishing. Special thanks to Mike for his fishing advice. Enjoyed the spectacular view of a pair of loons feeding their one chick. Beautiful!
Local hiking is everything from easy to very challanging and the movie theater in Farmington is the best value around for a rainy day. Our family hopes to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
5

Wonderful!!!! A+++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wonderful cottage with everything you could need. Had a great time and was truly blessed to have a nice quiet waterfront property to relax. The residents of Sand Pond are friendly and they all set off fireworks for each other around the 4th of July. The kids had a great time using the kayaks, paddleboat and canoe. Thanks for sharing your special place!!
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
5

A wonderful time...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A beautiful place, lovely people, a wonderful time. We definitely want to go back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
New York, NY
5

A quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
A truly lovely place to spend a quiet vacation. The cabin has been furnished with loving care, with all amenities to make for a relaxed and comfortable stay. We provide rave reviews for the property owner and resident manager.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
Rocky Hill, CT
5

Blast at Pinehurst Too

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had an absolute blast at Pinehurst too. The accomodations were excellent. Very warm, welcoming and cozy cottage as well as very clean.. The dock was great for swimming and tanning. Best part was the paddle boat and fishing. The community around Sand Pond very friendly and the fire works on July4th were amazing. We watched right from the dock. Highly recommended. We will be back next summer for sure. Shopping close by in Farmington and the town of Farmington was so quaint. Loved Mooseville. Thanks Carol and Wendy for everything. Oh yes, the historical items around the cabin were very intresting and charming.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pleased to see the acknowledgment of my rental agent Wendy who along with property manager Mike and cleaner Stephi keep vacationing at my cottage easy. Farmington has some fun shops like Mooseville, Twice Told Tales for used books and Doak & Devaney for new, and a new Thai restaurant this year. Guests report the main draws remain the fishing, swimming, boating in an environment that makes people not want to leave.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
5

Everything...and then some

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
If you want to relax, unwind, and unplug, this is the place for you! With four children, three 10 year olds and an 11 month old, along with our beagle, we kept our fingers crossed this cabin was all it promised...it was, and more! The warm welcome we found on the table from the owner proved only the beginning of a fabulous retreat from the hectic pace of daily life. Over a bottle of wine we savored our first night together in the peace and quiet of Maine.

The kids took out the paddle boat, checking up on the ducklings that swam by the dock every morning, fished off the dock, and hardly believed it when Mom caught the biggest fish of everyone - and 18" largemouth bass. Though it rained a few days while we were up there, Farmington, as promised, was only a hop, skip and jump away; we also found a treasure trove of board games we didn't have (and hadn't heard of!) under the stairs.

If you're looking for a place to unwind, reunite with the family, hang outside to watch for shooting stars while making s'mores, this is the place to be. I appreciated being warned of the bugs; they were right on the money! Bug spray is a must....right there with a good book, watching the sunset, listening to the loons, and enjoying the finest Maine has to offer. A must visit again!
Owner's Response: Matching the expectations of guests is what I as an owner hope for! I clarified with my property manager just what bugs are present--June flies and no-see-ums, inevitable in the Maine woods--and confirmed that the consistent spraying we do for carpenter ants and mosquitoes has occurred. I will personally check out the effects when I arrive next week, restock the book case with summer reading, keep the board games fresh, and install a hammock.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
5

"Lucky in Maine" or "Husky does Sand Pond"

"Lucky in Maine" or "Husky does Sand Pond"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My elderly parents, my Husky dog, "Lucky", and my husband and I spent the month of October this year (2011) at Pinehurst Too on charming Sand Pond in Chesterville, Maine. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we are definitely considering spending a Fall month at this venue next year!
The quaint cottage is exactly as it is described here by the owner, in this listing, and the property was very clean and well-maintained when we arrived. We were welcomed by a fire that had been started in the stove by the property managers, so things would be nice and toasty for us when we arrived. Pictures you will see here give a very accurate depiction of the place, except the pictures are not able to reveal all of the charm that's here!
I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family. In fact, my son and his family are thinking about coming here for a vacation, after they paid us a visit, while we were staying here! A girlfriend of mine who visited said that she thought Pinehurst Too had the very best view of the water on Sand Pond, and we walked around the pond several times.
Carol, the owner, made sure that we had everything we wanted or needed, and she was kind enough to leave the dock, a paddle boat, and a canoe in the water for us, despite it beginning to get pretty chilly. We went out in the paddle boat one day with Lucky going along for the ride (he didn't do much paddling!), and when we came in to dock, he fell into the water! He's a Husky, so it was okay, but it is just one of the memorable stories we will have about our Sand Pond stay!
It's wonderful that Carol's property is "pet friendly" because that meant that we were able to bring Lucky along for the vacation, rather than leaving him at the kennel, as we frequently have to.
We particularly enjoyed Calzolaio Pasta Company in Wilton, which is apparently an old Bass Shoe Factory, converted to a very nice and interesting restaurant, but there was really nothing we saw or did here that we didn't like.
I wholeheartedly give this vacation destination five stars, and I would recommend it to young and old alike, as well as pet owners and non-pet owners alike. And Lucky likewise gives it five stars (despite that falling in the pond thing!), and recommends it to all kinds of dogs, even small, fluffy ones!

Hoping to see you in 2012, Carol!
Owner's Response: I particularly appreciate this guest's comment about the charm of the place, not as easily visible in the photos, as it is unpretentious and comfortable. I'm also glad to see the endorsement for the Calzolaio Pasta Company, which isn't just the best local restaurant, but can be favorably compared to more trendy vacation locales with more competitive restaurants. I also like that this review reflects my intention to do what I can to cater to a guest's requests: it certainly wasn't my property manager's preference to leave the dock in the water so late in the season, brrrr., he needed a wet suit to take it out! Also, fall is a really nice time to visit this area, with brilliant foliage and very few residents on the pond, so much solitude accompanied only by the sounds of nature.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
Peru, ME
5

Just About Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Wicked cute pond, cozy cottage stocked with everything we could have asked for, lovely weather, we could have happily stayed another week (at least until school started). Adults loved it, kids loved it, dogs LOVED it. Caretaker checked in with us, but wasn't the least intrusive, and his lovely daughters were polite and friendly, offering to hang out with our kids. If only every Joe and his cousin didn't feel the need to ride up and down the road on a four wheeler several times a day, it would have been truely perfect. But as the title says, it was just about perfect, and that is good enough for me to want to come back again someday.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm always happy when a guest has a great experience at my cottage, and takes the time to credit my property manager and his just right level of contact and readiness to ensure everything is in working order. I aim for "truth in advertising," and recently updated my description in my posting of the level of privacy and solitude in my cottage to reflect an increase in vehicle and ATV traffic on the dirt road between the cottage and the pond due to the addition of a seventh cottage between mine and the end of the dead-end road, that I had not observed until last month. That traffic is at its height in July and early August, but lessens nearer the end of the summer and in the fall and spring. I'm glad this guest's experience rated 5 stars and the yen to return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Booking for 2013/2014--Lakefront, Private, 3 Boats, Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207124vb
+1 (207) 778-4657 (Maine, USA)
Farmington Western Maine
Edinburgh, Indiana
5

Wonderful week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Spent a week at this cottage with a group of friends, and we had the nicest time! I loved the seclusion, and the use of the boats was extra special. I must say the nicest thing about this place is the caretakers. They went out of their way to answer all our silly questions, and made sure we were comfortable. They, along with a very nice neighbor lady, offered some great tips on places to go and where to shop!
Don't let the square footage in the description fool you. This cottage is laid out with great use of space. There were 6 of us, and we had plenty of room to move about. The beds are very comfortable too
The only complaint I had was that I wish I had brought my dog! The area is very dog-friendly, and nearly every person we saw (which really wasn't that many!) was walking a dog. Even our daily 4-wheeler with his running spaniel alongside was an amusing treat! Every single one of them stopped to say "Hey"...such friendly people in this neck of the woods!
The loons are wonderful. I wish I could have brought one home to sing to me. I will really miss that!
We hope to be back to Maine, and would not consider another place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1